Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

They were the first to set foot on Yaya

Russian oceanographers have measured the Northern Sea Route and have mapped a new island

They were the first to set foot on Yaya

In October, an unusual ship entered the port of Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky. The oceanographic research vessel "Admiral Vladimirsky" completed the passage along the Northern Sea Route and made a short stop during its circumnavigation.

The main joy of hydrographers is that they got the honor of being the first to set foot on a new Russian land - an island in the Arctic Ocean called Yaya. Helicopter pilots were the first to discover the island last year. For our country, this is not only a piece of land a little less than a meter above sea level. According to international law, this is a significant expansion of the boundaries and economic zone in the Arctic.

“We were very lucky with the weather,” says Alexei Kornis, a member of the Admiral Vladimirsky expedition, head of the Hydrographic Service Department of the Northern Fleet. - After all, there are constant storms in those places in the fall. But, as ordered, on this day the sea gave us fabulous weather, it was absolutely calm. We got from the ship to a motor boat and went in search. The ship's radar found the island, but it was very difficult to see it. After all, the height of the island is only one meter above sea level. From the boat we went down into the sea and walked for a long time waist-deep in the water. When they saw Yaya, they experienced a feeling of opening, they shouted "Earth!"

Yaya is a land area of ​​150 at 400 meters, it is located in the Laptev Sea between the mainland of the north of Russia and the island of Stolbova in the Novosibirsk archipelago. Once upon a time in this shallow place was a large Vasilievsky glacier, which melted in the 50-x years of the 20-th century. Last year, the earth was discovered from a helicopter.

- When the pilots saw this place for the first time, each of them shouted that he was the pioneer: “I!”, “I!” As a result, the island was called Yaya. There is such a legend among us, - Alexander Boldarev, the third assistant captain of the Admiral Vladimirsky OIS, smiles as he flips through the cards.

He marks the point on the map, and immediately becomes visible how small and alone this northern islet: to the nearest shore 90 nautical miles.

"Small is not small, but gave Russia another 450 square miles of territory," said Oleg Osipov, the head of the expedition, deputy head of navigation and oceanography department of the Russian Defense Ministry. - And what is this for Russia? This is the right to subsoil, natural resources, inland navigation, and other consequences. We were very pleased to have made such a gift to the country.

Indeed, the 12 nautical miles of inland territorial waters, outlined around Yaya, gave such a good increment to the territory of the country. On the map of the island is not yet, in the sea shipments, it will fall at best only next year. The shape of Yaya resembles an atoll. Inside it is a lagoon flooded with water, around two capes. There is no vegetation on the island, only sand.

"We conducted a topographic survey, shallow drilling to make sure that we really are an island, not the remnants of a glacier that may disappear." We looked, we became convinced that this is a long-term geographic object, - continues the story Alexei Kornis. "There is an animal on the island." These are crustaceans similar to cockroaches. We called them that. And then, with surprise at the Pevek Museum, they discovered that they really are called sea cockroaches. Belenky such ...

Found members of the expedition on the island and the bones. To whom they belong, so far it is difficult to say. Scientists are going to take them to the Museum of the World Ocean.

Paving the Northern Sea Route

The landing on the new island and its description became only a small episode of the expedition. In fact, its tasks are much broader. We can say that these are the pioneers of the Northern Sea Route, followed by the new development of the Russian North.

The expedition started 18 August from the middle harbor of Kronstadt. For the first time in the world, a scientific vessel has laid a route for round-the-world voyage across the Northern Sea Route. This, by the way, is the first Russian scientific round-the-world expedition for the past 30 years.

For two months of navigation, the navigational and hydrographic situation was assessed in the ports of Dixon, Tiksi and Pevek, reconnaissance of a number of abandoned military facilities on the Novaya Zemlya islands, the infrastructure of the Northern Sea Route, and extensive material for correcting navigational charts. Since the beginning of the campaign, 18000 kilometers of route measurements have been completed, inspected from the sea and on the shore of 306 surveying signs and navigation aids.

"In the East Siberian Sea and the Laptev Sea," white spots "were examined, the information of the submariners of the Northern Fleet was verified about the substantial divergence of the location of the isobaths shown on the map with the actual depths in the Chukchi Sea. In addition, the map of 200 isobaths and 2500 meters, which are of great importance in maritime international legal issues, has been clarified. During the survey of the bottom relief near the north-eastern coast of the Northern Earth Islands, no doubtful or distinctive depth was confirmed.

“For the first time, a route has been developed that pursues not only the goals of studying the World Ocean, but also large-scale exploration of the Northern Sea Route. After all, the study and development of our Arctic is now a priority, - said the captain of the oceanographic research vessel "Admiral Vladimirsky" Alexander Pyshkin. - Following us will be mastered the territory. We, in particular, are exploring the possibility of settling empty lands, studying where people can live, how to conduct electricity there, and build communications. All this will be reflected in our final report and in the Arctic coastal shipments. ”

And the first conclusion in this report is perhaps the most important: “The possibility of ice-free voyage along the Northern Sea Route of a non-ice-class vessel was confirmed. During the transition, the ice, somehow affecting the movement, "Admiral Vladimirsky" never met. "

During the voyage hydrographers revealed significant changes in the terrain associated with the destruction of the glaciers of the northern islands. In 2015, these discoveries are planned to "put on cards." To obtain this data, dozens of scientists worked in fourteen laboratories of the vessel, studies were carried out at 153 one-time drift oceanographic stations.

The naval flag and the flag of the Russian Geographical Society were hoisted by expedition members on the island of Pankratiev, the capes of Zhelaniya and Chelyuskin, the islands of Andrey, Stolbova, Wrangel, and Cape Dezhnev. Memorial events were also held here, dedicated to the famous predecessors-researchers of the North, and on the island of Wrangel, in addition to the tradition of polar expeditions of the last century and in honor of the 90 anniversary of the establishment of state sovereignty, a food depot was laid.

From Kamchatka "Admiral Vladimirsky" went to Vladivostok, then his path lies in Nicaragua, through the Panama Canal the ship will fall into the Atlantic Ocean, stop in Havana, and by December it should reach the shores of Europe. Then through the Channel to the North Sea and end his journey where it began - in the Baltic Sea, in the harbor of Kronstadt. The whole world tour should take 125 days.

Admiral Vladimirsky

What was the reconnaissance

In recent years, each of the countries of the "Arctic Five" (Russia, USA, Norway, Canada and Denmark) has been trying to increase its presence in the northern latitudes. This is not surprising. The richest reserves of oil and gas are concentrated there, and the very location of the "ice cap of the earth" makes it possible to air communications between Eurasia and America, bypassing any countries. Which is undoubtedly important from a military point of view. Thus, against the background of increased military activity of the NATO bloc states, Russia is resuming polar airfields for the development of long-range aviation, building new border outposts, deploying air defense systems, radar stations for airspace control.

The Ministry of Defense creates in the Arctic six military towns and two mobile churches - at Cape Schmidt and Wrangel Island. One of them opened in early October. The Orthodox chapel on Wrangel Island was built in just 14 days in 20 meters from the military town of the modular type "Polar Star". And if already now they think about the temples, then Russia will be there for a long time.

As for the resources, it is so tidbit that many countries in the world that are not part of the Arctic Five, are fighting for their possession. This fall, Russia turned to the UN with a request to acknowledge the fact that the Lomonosov Ridge and the Mendeleev Rise is a continuation of the Russian continental shelf in the Arctic Ocean. If this is confirmed, our country will have at its disposal even more than a million square kilometers of territory, on which, according to oil and gas exploration data, more than 5 billions of tons of hydrocarbons are concentrated, which is 25% of the global reserves.

Industrial production is already developing in the Arctic. At the Yuzhno-Tambeyskoye field in Yamal, a gas production plant is being completed. At full capacity, it will work in four years. Liquefied gas from the new port of Sabetta will also be supplied to the Asia-Pacific region. To go through the Suez and Panama canals is unprofitable: the path lengthens more than twice.

With such tasks, the issue of increasing cargo traffic and the reliability of the Northern Sea Route becomes urgent. A lot needs to be done to make it work. After all, this is not just the escort of caravans of cargo ships under the supervision of icebreakers. This is the creation of an extensive network of bases where it would be possible to bunker ships, replenish water supplies, and in the event of a breakdown, quickly and efficiently repair ... And the solution of issues with Russian legislation, which now believes that the path between ice along the coast of Russia is a chain of entrances and exits to / on Russian territory, for each of which you need to pay; and cleaning of territories contaminated in due time; and the restoration of those cities and towns, in which a lot of money was invested at one time and which were forgotten for decades.

This is a huge job. And at the same time - absolutely necessary for the development of the country. In addition, the potential North Sea Route should pay off and bring the country a great profit. Already, businessmen of Asian countries look at him with hope. They are attracted by a shorter route (you can save on fuel and freight), relative safety (no pirates), lack of large fees, levies and queues (as in the Suez and Panama canals).

Information:

The Northern Sea Route or the Northern Sea Corridor is the shortest sea route between the European part of Russia and the Far East; Russian legislation defines it as "the historically established national unified transport communications of Russia in the Arctic."

The Northern Sea Route passes through the seas of the Arctic Ocean (Kara, Laptev, East Siberian, Chukchi) and partly the Pacific (Beringovo). The length of the Northern Sea Route from the Kara Gates to the Bay of Providence is about 5600 km. Now it serves the ports of the Arctic and large rivers of Siberia (import of fuel, equipment, food, removal of timber, minerals).

The western sector of the Arctic - from Murmansk to Dudinka - is served by icebreakers of the Murmansk Shipping Company. The eastern sector of the Arctic - from Dudinka to Chukotka - is served by icebreakers of the Far Eastern Shipping Company.

Published in the "Fisherman of Kamchatka" newspaper. EastRussia.ru is an information partner of the "Rybak Kamchatka" newspaper.

April 23: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ
Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск
Биробиджан
Владивосток
Магадан
Хабаровск
Южно-­Сахалинск
Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Они первыми ступили на Яя

Российские океанографы промерили Севморпуть и нанесли на карту новый остров

Они первыми ступили на Яя

В октябре в порт Петропавловска-Камчатского зашел необычный корабль. Океанографическое исследовательское судно «Адмирал Владимирский» завершило переход по Северному морскому пути и сделало небольшую остановку во время кругосветного плавания.

Главная радость гидрографов – им досталась честь первыми ступить на новую российскую землю – остров в Северном ледовитом океане под названием Яя. Первыми остров в прошлом году обнаружили вертолетчики. Для нашей страны это не только клочок земли чуть меньше метра от уровня моря. По международному праву это существенное расширение границ и экономической зоны в Арктике.

– Нам очень сильно повезло с погодой, – рассказывает участник экспедиции «Адмирала Владимирского», начальник отделения гидрографической службы Северного флота Алексей Корнис. – Ведь осенью в тех местах постоянные шторма. Но, как по заказу, в этот день море подарило нам сказочную погоду, был абсолютный штиль. Мы с корабля пересели на моторную лодку и отправились на поиски. Радиолокатор судна обнаружил остров, но увидеть его было очень трудно. Ведь высота островка — всего метр над уровнем моря. С лодки спустились в море и долго брели по пояс в воде. Когда увидели Яя, испытали чувство открытия, закричали «Земля!».

Яя – это участок суши всего 150 на 400 метров, он находится в море Лаптевых между материковой частью севера России и островом Столбовой Новосибирского архипелага. Когда-то на этом мелководном месте был большой ледник Васильевский, который растаял в 50-х годах 20-го столетия. В прошлом году землю обнаружили с вертолета.

– Когда летчики увидели это место в первый раз, каждый из них закричал, что именно он является первооткрывателем: «Я!», «Я!» В результате островок назвали Яя. Среди нас ходит именно такая легенда, – улыбается, листая карты, третий помощник капитана ОИС «Адмирал Владимирский» Александр Болдарев.

Он отмечает точку на карте, и сразу становится видно, как мал и одинок этот северный островок: до ближайшего берега 90 морских миль.

– Маленький не маленький, а дал России еще 450 квадратных миль территории, – подчеркивает, руководитель экспедиции, заместитель начальника управления навигации и океанографии Министерства обороны РФ Олег Осипов. – А что это для России? Это права на недра, на природные ресурсы, внутреннее судоходство, и другие последствия. Нам очень приятно было сделать такой подарок стране.

Действительно, 12 морских миль внутренних территориальных вод, очерченные вокруг Яя, и дали такое неплохое приращение к территории страны. На карте острова еще нет, в морские лоции он попадет в лучшем случае только в следующем году. По форме Яя напоминает атолл. Внутри него — лагуна, заливаемая водой, вокруг два мыса. На острове нет растительности, только песок.

– Мы провели топографическую съемку, неглубокое бурение, чтобы удостовериться, что под нами действительно остров, а не остатки ледника, которые могут исчезнуть. Посмотрели, убедились, что это долговременный географический объект, – продолжает рассказ Алексей Корнис. – На острове есть живность. Это такие ракообразные, похожие на тараканов. Мы их так и назвали. А потом с удивлением в музее Певека обнаружили, что они действительно называются морские тараканы. Беленькие такие...

Нашли члены экспедиции на острове и кости. Кому они принадлежат, пока сказать трудно. Ученые собираются отвезти их в Музей мирового океана.

Прокладывая Северный морской путь

Высадка на новый остров и его описание стали лишь небольшим эпизодом экспедиции. На самом деле задачи ее намного шире. Можно сказать, что это пионеры Северного морского пути, следом за которыми начнется новое развитие российского Севера.

Экспедиция стартовала 18 августа из Средней гавани Кронштадта. Впервые в мире научное судно проложило маршрут кругосветного плавания через Северный морской путь. Это, кстати, первая российская научная кругосветная экспедиция за минувшие 30 лет.

За два месяца плавания была выполнена оценка навигационно-гидрографической обстановки в портах Диксон, Тикси и Певек, произведена рекогносцировка ряда заброшенных военных объектов на островах Новая Земля, изучены объекты инфраструктуры Северного морского пути, собран обширный материал для корректировки навигационных карт. С начала похода выполнено 18000 километров маршрутного промера, осмотрены с моря и на берегу 306 геодезических знаков и средств навигационного оборудования.

В Восточно-Сибирском море и Море Лаптевых были обследованы «белые пятна», проверена информация подводников Северного флота о существенном расхождении местоположения изобат, показанных на карте, с фактическими глубинами в Чукотском море. Кроме этого, произведено уточнение положения на картах изобат 200 и 2500 метров, имеющих важное значение в морских международно-правовых вопросах. В ходе съёмки рельефа дна в районе северо-восточного побережья островов Северная Земля не подтвердилась ни одна сомнительная или отличительная глубина.

«Впервые разработан маршрут, который преследует не только цели изучения Мирового океана, но и масштабную разведку Северного морского пути. Ведь изучение и развитие нашей Арктики сейчас является приоритетной задачей, – рассказал капитан океанографического исследовательского судна «Адмирал Владимирский» Александр Пышкин. – Следом за нами будут осваиваться территории. Мы, в частности, изучаем возможность заселения пустующих земель, изучаем, где могут жить люди, как туда провести электроэнергию, проложить коммуникации. Все это найдет отражение в нашем итоговом отчете и в лоциях Арктического побережья».

И первый вывод в этом отчете, пожалуй, самый важный: «Подтверждена возможность безледокольного плавания по трассе Северного морского пути судна неледового класса. За время перехода льды, сколь-нибудь влияющие на передвижение, «Адмиралу Владимирскому» так и не встретились».

Во время плавания гидрографы выявили существенные изменения местности, связанные с разрушением ледников северных островов. В 2015 году эти открытия планируется «положить на карты». Чтобы получить эти данные, работали десятки ученых в четырнадцати лабораториях судна, были выполнены исследования на 153 разовых дрейфовых океанографических станциях.

Военно-морской флаг и флаг Русского географического общества члены экспедиции подняли на острове Панкратьев, мысах Желания и Челюскин, островах Андрея, Столбовой, Врангеля, на мысе Дежнева. Здесь же были проведены памятные мероприятия, посвящённые знаменитым предшественникам-исследователям Севера, а на острове Врангеля, кроме того, в традициях полярных экспедиций прошлого века и в честь 90-й годовщины установления государственного суверенитета было заложено продовольственное депо.

С Камчатки «Адмирал Владимирский» отправился во Владивосток, далее его путь лежит в Никарагуа, через Панамский канал судно попадет в Атлантический океан, остановится в Гаване, а к декабрю оно должно дойти до берегов Европы. Затем через Ла-Манш выйдет в Северное море и закончит свое путешествие там, где оно начиналось — в Балтийском море, в гавани Кронштадта. Вся кругосветка должная занять 125 дней.

Адмирал Владимирский

Для чего проводилась разведка

В последние годы каждая из стран "Арктической пятерки" (Россия, США, Норвегия, Канада и Дания) старается нарастить свое присутствие в северных широтах. И это не удивительно. Там сосредоточены богатейшие запасы нефти и газа, а само расположение «ледовой шапки земли» дает возможность воздушных сообщений между Евразией и Америкой, минуя какие-либо страны. Что, несомненно, важно с военной точки зрения. Так на фоне усиления военной активности государств, входящих в блок НАТО, Россия для развития дальней авиации возобновляет полярные аэродромы, строит новые пограничные заставы, размещает системы ПВО, радиолокационные станции контроля воздушного пространства.

Министерство обороны создает в Арктике шесть военных городков и два мобильных храма — на мысе Шмидта и острове Врангеля. Один из них открылся в начале октября. Православную часовню на острове Врангеля возвели всего за 14 дней в 20 метрах от военного городка модульного типа «Полярная звезда». И если уже сейчас там думают о храмах, значит, Россия там надолго.

Что же касается ресурсов, то это настолько лакомый кусок, что многие страны мира, не входящие в «Арктическую пятерку», борются за обладание ими. Россия этой осенью обратилась в ООН с просьбой признания факта, что хребет Ломоносова и поднятие Менделеева — это продолжение российского континентального шельфа в Северном Ледовитом океане. Если это будет подтверждено, наша страна получит в своё распоряжение еще более миллиона квадратных километров территории, на которой по данным нефте- и газоразведки сосредоточено более 5 миллиардов тонн углеводородов, что составляет 25% общемирового запаса.

В Арктике уже развивается промышленное производство. На Южно-Тамбейском месторождении Ямала достраивается завод по добыче газа. На полную мощность он заработает через четыре года. Из нового порта Сабетта сжиженный газ будут поставлять в том числе и в Азиатско-Тихоокеанский регион. Идти через Суэцкий и Панамский каналы невыгодно: путь удлиняется больше, чем в два раза.

С такими задачами вопрос увеличения грузопотока и надежности Северного морского пути становится актуальным. Чтобы он заработал, предстоит сделать немало. Ведь это не просто проводка караванов грузовых судов под присмотром ледоколов. Это и создание обширной сети баз, где можно было бы бункеровать суда, пополнять запасы воды, а в случае поломки быстро и качественно отремонтироваться… И решение вопросов с российским законодательством, которое сейчас считает, что путь между льдами вдоль побережья России — это цепочка входов и выходов в/на российскую территорию, за каждый из которых нужно заплатить; и очистка загаженных в свое время территорий; и восстановление тех городов и поселков, в которые в свое время были вложены огромные деньги и о которых забыли на десятилетия.

Это огромная работа. И вместе с тем — абсолютно необходимая для развития страны. К тому же потенциально Северный морской путь должен окупиться и принести стране большую выгоду. Уже сейчас бизнесмены азиатских стран с надеждой смотрят на него. Их привлекает более короткий маршрут (можно сэкономить на топливе и фрахте), относительная безопасность (нет пиратов), отсутствие больших плат, поборов и очередей (как в Суэцком и Панамском каналах).

Справка:

Северный морской путь или Северный морской коридор — кратчайший морской путь между европейской частью России и Дальним Востоком; законодательством России он определен как «исторически сложившаяся национальная единая транспортная коммуникация России в Арктике».

Северный морской путь проходит по морям Северного Ледовитого океана (Карское, Лаптевых, Восточно-Сибирское, Чукотское) и частично Тихого океана (Берингово). Длина Северного морского пути от Карских Ворот до бухты Провидения — около 5600 км. Сейчас он обслуживает порты Арктики и крупных рек Сибири (ввоз топлива, оборудования, продовольствия; вывоз леса, природных ископаемых).

Западный сектор Арктики — от Мурманска до Дудинки — обслуживается ледоколами Мурманского морского пароходства. Восточный сектор Арктики — от Дудинки до Чукотки — обслуживают ледоколы Дальневосточного морского пароходства.

Опубликовано в газете "Рыбак Камчатки". EastRussia.ru - информационный партнер газеты "Рыбак Камчатки".