Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Cross-border tourism

Most tourists in the Far East - the Chinese

The Far East, having a wide range of natural resources, is rightfully one of Russia's main resource assets. However, the macro-region has a serious tourist potential, which is currently not fully disclosed. Recent legislative initiatives and development tools currently being implemented, such as TOR and the free ports regime, are designed to improve the situation of the tourism and recreation industry and make the Far East a center of attraction for compatriots and tourists from abroad.

Cross-border tourism

Rostislav Turovsky

Doctor of Political Sciences, Professor of HSE, Scientific Editor East Russia

In the absence of a brand

Speaking about the current situation of the industry, it should be noted right away that the Far East does not have world-famous tourist brands. Work in this direction is not being carried out quickly enough, so there is no reason to hope for a sharp increase in the number of foreign tourists in most of the Far Eastern regions.

For example, visiting one of the most beautiful places in the Magadan region - Lake Jack London - is almost impossible because of the lack of roads. A trip to the Kurile Islands is based on the purchase of a paper ticket for the ship: the travel document can be bought at a single ticket office on Sakhalin, it can not be done via the Internet. A huge number of natural beauties and attractions remain inaccessible due to the lack of the simplest infrastructure and transport.

As a consequence, most of the tourists on most destinations are enthusiastic travelers from the regions adjacent to the Far East and the Far Eastern territories themselves, ready to accept the difficulties.

Another significant problem is the greater remoteness of the Far East from the European part of Russia and the high cost of travel. The government is trying to maintain regional air access by subsidizing Far Eastern transportation. We introduce the so-called "flat tariffs" - single tariffs with a fixed price, which does not depend on the date of purchase. However, in the summer, it's quite problematic to fly to the Far East - because of the growing passenger traffic and a small number of carriers, prices fly up to 2-3 times. In addition, the "flat tariff" is unprofitable for the company, which has been repeatedly stated by the largest air carrier of the country "Aeroflot". Thus, these measures contribute to the availability of air travel, but slightly affect the growth of the tourist flow. In addition, we must not forget that the flight, for example, from Moscow to the ski resort in Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk is quite long - about 8 hours, so the tourist is likely to prefer a place to relax closer.

The launch of the territories of advanced development has stepped up the process of the formation of attractive regional tourist brands, but the main focus at the moment is on "megaprojects" and attracting foreign tourists.

Guests from the East

The main foreign tourist flow in the Far East is provided by tourists from the Asian region, mainly - China, which are most active in Primorsky Krai. As a result of 2015, Primorsky Krai is leading in the Far Eastern Federal District in terms of the number of foreign visitors - almost 465 thousand people, of which the overwhelming majority are tourists from China - about 329 thousand people (70%), which is 14,9% more than in 2014. Guests from South Korea on the basis of 2015 year arrived much less - only 22 thousand. Primorsky Krai is on the third place in terms of the number of Chinese tourists in the country, second only to Moscow and St. Petersburg. On the second place in the Far Eastern Federal District the Amur region is located, which was visited by 70,5 thousand foreigners (+ 32%), of which almost all - 67 thousand people (+ 43%) arrived from China on visa-free regime. Next comes the Khabarovsk Territory, where 2015 hosted 23,5 thousands of foreign tourists, of which 12 thousand from the PRC. The remaining regions of the Far East, unfortunately, do not differ with serious indicators of inbound tourism, despite, for example, the long-standing interest of many foreign tourists to Kamchatka and its popularity among fans of extreme and ecological tourism.

The growing popularity of trips to Primorye and Russia is associated with a simplified visa regime for tourist groups, according to which groups from 5 to 50 people can stay in Russia for 15 days. Such a “visa-free regime” with China operates from the 2010 year, and since then the number of tourists has increased by 4,3 times - from 158 to 677 thousands in 2015 year. At the moment, the Far East is in second place in Russia in terms of the number of “visa-free” guests - the macro-region accounts for 36% of such trips (about half of them to Primorsky Krai), in the first place is the Central Federal District (55%) The federal district is significantly lagging behind the DFO and has a share of only 9%.

Attractive for foreign tourists was also the decline in the cost of recreation in Russia due to the devaluation of the ruble, which had a significant impact on the growth of tourist traffic in recent years.

State support

In the Far East, there are many drivers of growth in the tourism industry. In the long term, the growth of tourism in the Far East will be provided by the projects of Vladivostok's priority development territories and free port, the creation of tourist clusters within the framework of the state program, the removal of visa barriers, and the development of transport infrastructure.

Of the 13 established at the moment, the TOPs have a tourist-recreational profile. In March 2016, in the Sakhalin region, the TOP "Mountain air" was established, which involves the modernization of the ski resort of the same name. As a result of reconstruction of sports and leisure infrastructure, the complex should interest not only residents of the Sakhalin region and other regions of the Far East, but, according to the developed plan, before 2020 year to become an international ski resort. Anchor investors of the TOP "Mountain Air" plan to implement seven investment projects for a total amount of over 6,1 billion rubles. In the Kamchatka Territory, Kamchatka Territory will create a recreational center Tuluach, which will include a hotel complex, and in the future there will also be a ski resort organization. The volume of investments will be about 1,3 billion rubles. The status of the resident of the TOP was also received by the sanatorium "Pearl of Kamchatka", in the territory of which there are two thermal wells, the initial investment volume - 50 million rubles. Unfortunately, the development of Russky Island in Primorsky Krai remains undervalued by investors. Earlier on the island, a special economic zone (SEZ) was created, in which no resident has been registered since 2010, and now it is subject to closure.



It should be noted the state support of the Far Eastern tourist industry in the framework of the Federal Program "Development of domestic and incoming tourism in the Russian Federation (2011-2018 years)", which involves federal co-financing of construction of engineering and transport infrastructure. The program includes four projects: a tourist-recreational cluster "Amur" in the Amur region (1 076,8 million rubles allocated from the state budget for the entire period of the program), three seaside projects - "Emerald Ring", "Primorskoe Ring" and " (750 million rubles for all projects), the Yakut Northern Mosaic (279 million rubles) and the Khabarovsk cruise cluster "Bolshoi Ussuriiskiy Island - Shantars" (177 million rubles).

Also, the federal authorities are trying to eliminate administrative barriers as much as possible and to simplify the entry of foreign tourists. First, preferences for tourists are provided within the regime of the Free Port of Vladivostok. At the moment, in the process of preparation is the organization of visa-free stay of foreign citizens from any state on the territory of the Free Port for 8 days. It is assumed that the tourist can get a visa immediately on the border at the entrance to the territory. Unfortunately, the bandwidth regime should have been earned since 1 January 2016, but its launch was delayed due to organizational problems, interagency coordination, and also due to the risks of uncontrolled migration flows. In any case, in the foreseeable future this idea will be implemented and will contribute to the development of the tourism industry of Primorsky Krai. Together with the visa-free regime, tourists should be expected to grow thanks to the development of the integrated entertainment zone Primorje, which includes the casino Tigre de Cristal, the yacht club and other tourist facilities.

Secondly, in the future, tourist growth will be carried out thanks to the adoption of a federal law that simplifies the rules for foreign cruise ships to enter ports in the Arctic and the Far Eastern Federal District. Administrative barriers are eliminated: the principle of “one window” is established to obtain permission to conduct cruises, and tourists on board will no longer need to receive passes to the border zone. The law came into force on July 2016, so the first results can be summed up in the fall, and, undoubtedly, we should expect an increase in the number of cruise routes and tourist flow. Special emphasis on this is being done in Kamchatka and Sakhalin, where the authorities intend to develop cruise tourism and reconstruct port complexes for this purpose.

Thirdly, it should be noted that in the fall of 2015 Vladivostok's international airport Knevichi was the first and only in Russia to receive the status of "open skies". Foreign airlines have the right to unimpeded flights to the capital of Primorye and can make transit flights with a stop in Vladivostok, which should also contribute to the growth of the inbound flow.

The development of inland inbound tourism in the Far East is currently hampered by the weak infrastructure of border crossings, the lack of roads and bridges. Promising are the routes through the Amur River for visiting Blagoveshchensk, Khabarovsk, etc. To promote the development of tourism is called the construction of a bridge across the river. Amur in the area of ​​the cities of Blagoveshchensk and Heihe (China), which should be built by the year of 2019 - a corresponding concession agreement was concluded between the Russian and Chinese sides. Amur Region, thanks to the project, hopes to increase the tourist flow in the long term from 70 thousand to 1 million people per year. In the Khabarovsk Territory there is a project for the development of tourism on the island of Bolshoy Ussuriysk, located near Khabarovsk and at the border with China.

Thus, the federal and regional authorities face the difficult task of developing the tourism industry in the Far East. Tourism in the Far East currently closes mainly in Primorsky Krai, mainly represented by travelers from China and at the same time demonstrates positive dynamics due to already working initiatives. Now the main goal is not only to increase the tourist flow, but also in its diversification: a) in different regions of the Far East; b) for the countries from which the guests arrive; C) by types of tourism. Although the implementation of new projects, the TOP may meet the demands of tourists from European Russia, but the problem of long distances and expensive air tickets still will not significantly increase the domestic tourist flow. Potential for travel from some regions of the Far East to others is, but limited because of the small population. In general, the development of the industry in the macroregion will be carried out due to the influx of foreign tourists and travel of the Far Eastern travelers themselves, which is favored by all recent initiatives of the federal authorities.

August 12: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ
Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск
Биробиджан
Владивосток
Магадан
Хабаровск
Южно-­Сахалинск
Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Приграничный туризм

Большинство туристов на Дальнем Востоке – китайцы

Дальний Восток, обладая широким спектром природных богатств, по праву является одним из главных ресурсных активов России. Однако макрорегион имеет и серьезный туристический потенциал, который на данный момент раскрыт не полностью. Последние законодательные инициативы и внедряемые на данный момент инструменты развития, такие как ТОР и режим свободных портов призваны улучшить положение туристcко-рекреационной отрасли и сделать Дальний Восток центром притяжения соотечественников и туристов из-за рубежа.

Приграничный туризм

В отсутствии бренда

Говоря о текущем положении отрасли, следует сразу отметить, что Дальний Восток не имеет раскрученных туристических брендов мирового уровня. Работа в данном направлении ведется недостаточно быстро, поэтому надеяться на резкое увеличение числа иностранных туристов в большинстве дальневосточных регионов не приходится.

Например, посещение одного из красивейших мест Магаданской области – озера Джека Лондона – практически невозможно из-за отсутствия дорог. А путешествие на Курильские острова упирается в покупку бумажного билета на теплоход: проездной документ можно купить в единственной кассе на Сахалине, через интернет этого сделать нельзя. Огромное количество природных красот и достопримечательностей остаются недоступными из-за отсутствия простейшей инфраструктуры и транспорта.

Как следствие, основную часть туристов на большинстве направлений составляют путешественники-энтузиасты из прилегающих к Дальнему Востоку регионов и самих дальневосточных территорий, готовые смириться с трудностями.

Еще одна существенная проблема – большая отдаленность Дальнего Востока от европейской части России и  высокая стоимость путешествия. Правительство пытается поддерживать авиадоступность регионов, субсидируя дальневосточные перевозки. Вводятся так называемые «плоские тарифы» – единые тарифы с фиксированной ценой, которая не зависит от даты приобретения. Однако в летний период улететь на Дальний Восток достаточно проблематично – из-за растущего пассажиропотока и малого числа перевозчиков цены взлетают в 2–3 раза. Кроме того, «плоский тариф» убыточен для компании, о чем не раз заявлял крупнейший авиаперевозчик страны «Аэрофлот». Таким образом, данные меры способствуют доступности авиаперевозок, но незначительно влияют на рост туристического потока. К тому же нельзя забывать, что полет, например, от Москвы до горнолыжного курорта в Южно-Сахалинске является достаточно долгим – около 8 часов, поэтому турист, скорее всего, предпочтет место для отдыха поближе.

Запуск территорий опережающего развития активизировал процесс становления привлекательных региональных туристических брендов, однако основная ставка на данный момент делается на "мегапроекты" и привлечение зарубежных туристов.

Гости с Востока

Основной зарубежный туристический поток на Дальнем Востоке обеспечивают туристы из азиатского региона, преимущественно – Китая, которые наиболее активно посещают Приморский край. По итогам 2015 года Приморский край лидирует в ДФО по числу иностранных гостей – почти 465 тысяч человек, из которых подавляющую долю составляют туристы из КНР – около 329 тысяч человек (70%), что на 14,9% больше, чем в 2014 году. Гостей из Южной Кореи по итогам 2015 года приехало значительно меньше – всего 22 тысячи. Приморский край находится на третьем месте по числу китайских туристов в стране, уступая лишь Москве и Санкт-Петербургу. На втором месте в ДФО расположилась Амурская область, которую посетили 70,5 тыс. иностранцев (+32%), из которых практически все – 67 тыс. человек (+43%) прибыли из КНР по безвизовому режиму. Далее следует Хабаровский край, где в 2015 году побывало 23,5 тысячи иностранных туристов, из которых 12 тысяч из КНР. Остальные регионы Дальнего Востока, к сожалению, не отличаются серьезными показателями въездного туризма, несмотря, например, на давний интерес многих зарубежных туристов к Камчатке и ее популярность среди любителей экстремального и экологического туризма.

Рост популярности поездок в Приморье и Россию связан с упрощенным визовым режимом для туристических групп, согласно которому группы от 5 до 50 человек могут находиться на территории России в течение 15 суток. Такой «безвизовый режим» с Китаем действует с 2010 года, и с тех пор турпоток возрос в 4,3 раза - со 158 до 677 тысяч в 2015 году. На данный момент Дальний Восток находится на втором месте в России по числу «безвизовых» гостей – на макрорегион приходится 36% таких поездок (из них около половины – на Приморский край), на первом месте - Центральный федеральный округ (55%), а Сибирский федеральный округ от ДФО заметно отстает и имеет долю лишь 9%.

Привлекательным для иностранных туристов стало также снижение стоимости отдыха в России вследствие девальвации рубля, что оказало значительное влияние на рост турпотока в последние годы.

Государственная поддержка

На Дальнем Востоке появилось и множество своих драйверов роста туристической отрасли. В долгосрочной перспективе рост туризма на Дальнем Востоке будет обеспечиваться благодаря проектам территорий опережающего развития и свободного порта Владивосток, созданию туристических кластеров в рамках государственной программы, устранению визовых барьеров, а также развитию транспортной инфраструктуры.

Из 13 учрежденных на данный момент ТОР две имеют туристско-рекреационный профиль. В марте 2016 года в Сахалинской области была учреждена ТОР «Горный воздух», которая предполагает модернизацию одноименного горнолыжного комплекса. В результате реконструкции спортивно-досуговой инфраструктуры комплекс должен заинтересовать не только жителей Сахалинской области и остальных регионов Дальнего Востока, но, согласно разработанному плану, до 2020 года стать международным горнолыжным курортом. Якорные инвесторы ТОР «Горный воздух» планируют реализовать семь инвестиционных проектов на общую сумму свыше 6,1 млрд. рублей. В ТОР «Камчатка» в Камчатском крае будет создан рекреационный центр «Тулуач», в состав которого войдет гостиничный комплекс, а в перспективе там тоже планируется организация горнолыжного курорта. Объем инвестиций составит около 1,3 млрд. рублей. Статус резидента ТОР получил и санаторий «Жемчужина Камчатки», на территории которого находятся две термальные скважины, начальный объем инвестиций – 50 млн рублей. К сожалению, недооцененным со стороны инвесторов остается развитие острова Русский в Приморском крае. Ранее на острове была создана особая экономическая зона (ОЭЗ), в которой с 2010 года не зарегистрировался ни один резидент, и сейчас она подлежит закрытию.

Следует отметить государственную поддержку дальневосточной туристической отрасли в рамках ФЦП «Развитие внутреннего и въездного туризма в Российской Федерации (2011-2018 годы)», которая предполагает федеральное софинансирование строительства инженерной и транспортной инфраструктуры. В состав программы входят четыре проекта: туристско-рекреационный кластер «Амур» в Амурской области (выделено 1 076,8 млн рублей субсидий из государственного бюджета на весь период реализации программы), сразу три приморских проекта - «Изумрудное кольцо», «Приморское кольцо» и «Пидан» (750 млн рублей за все проекты), якутская «Северная мозаика» (279 млн рублей) и хабаровский круизный кластер «Остров Большой Уссурийский – Шантары» (177 млн рублей).

Также федеральные власти стараются максимально устранить административные барьеры и упростить въезд иностранных туристов. Во-первых, преференции для туристов предусмотрены в рамках режима Свободного порта Владивосток. На данный момент в процессе подготовки находится организация безвизового пребывания иностранных граждан из любых государств на территории Свободного порта в течение 8 суток. Предполагается, что визу турист сможет получить сразу на границе при въезде на территорию. К сожалению, пропускной режим должен был заработать еще с 1 января 2016 года, но его запуск затянулся из-за организационных проблем, межведомственных согласований, а также в связи с рисками неконтролируемых миграционных потоков. В любом случае, в обозримой перспективе данная идея будет осуществлена и внесет свой вклад в развитие туристической отрасли Приморского края. В совокупности с безвизовым режимом стоит ожидать роста туристов благодаря развитию интегрированной развлекательной зоны «Приморье», которая включает казино Tigre de Cristal, яхт-клуб и другие туристические объекты.

Во-вторых, в будущем прирост туристов будет осуществляться благодаря принятию федерального закона, упрощающего правила захода иностранных круизных судов в порты Арктики и Дальневосточного федерального округа. Устраняются административные барьеры: для получения разрешения на проведение круизов установлен принцип «одного окна», а туристам на борту больше не потребуется получение пропусков в пограничную зону. Закон вступил в силу с июля 2016 года, поэтому первые итоги можно будет подводить уже осенью, и, несомненно, стоит ожидать увеличения числа круизных маршрутов и роста туристического потока. Особую ставку на это делают на Камчатке и Сахалине, где власти намерены развивать круизный туризм и реконструировать с этой целью портовые комплексы.

В-третьих, стоит отметить, что осенью 2015 года международный аэропорт Владивостока «Кневичи» первым и единственным в России получил статус «открытого неба». Иностранные авиакомпании имеют право беспрепятственных полетов в столицу Приморья и могут совершать транзитные рейсы с остановкой во Владивостоке, что также должно способствовать росту въездного потока.

Развитию сухопутного въездного туризма на Дальнем Востоке на данный момент мешают слабая инфраструктура пограничных переходов, нехватка автомобильных дорог и мостов. Перспективными являются маршруты через реку Амур для посещения Благовещенска, Хабаровска и др. Способствовать развитию туризма призвано возведение мостового перехода через р. Амур в районе городов Благовещенск и Хэйхэ (Китай), который должны построить к 2019 году, – между российской и китайской сторонами заключен соответствующий концессионный договор. Амурская область благодаря реализации проекта надеется увеличить в долгосрочной перспективе туристический поток с 70 тысяч до 1 млн человек в год. В Хабаровском крае существует проект развития туризма на острове Большой Уссурийский, расположенном вблизи Хабаровск и у границы с Китаем.

Таким образом, перед федеральными и региональными властями стоит непростая задача развития туристической отрасли на Дальнем Востоке. Туризм на Дальнем Востоке на данный момент замыкается преимущественно на Приморском крае, представлен в основном путешественниками из Китая и при этом демонстрирует положительную динамику благодаря уже работающим инициативам. Сейчас главная цель состоит не только в увеличении туристического потока, но и в его диверсификации: а) по различным регионам Дальнего Востока; б) по странам, из которых прибывают гости; в) по видам туризма. Хотя реализация новых проектов ТОР может удовлетворить запросы туристов из европейской части России, но проблема больших расстояний и дорогих авиабилетов все-таки не позволит значительно увеличить внутренний туристический поток. Потенциал для путешествий из одних регионов Дальнего Востока в другие есть, но ограничен из-за небольшого населения. В целом развитие отрасли в макрорегионе будет осуществляться за счет притока зарубежных туристов и поездок самих дальневосточных путешественников, чему благоприятствуют все последние инициативы федеральных властей.