Notice: curl_setopt(): CURLOPT_SSL_VERIFYHOST no longer accepts the value 1, value 2 will be used instead in /home/admin/web/eastrussia.ru/public_html/gtranslate/gtranslate.php on line 101
Vasily Bogoyavlensky on combating oil spills of man and nature - EastRussia |

Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

It is impossible to tolerate catastrophes on the shelf

Vasily Bogoyavlensky on combating oil spills of man and nature

The consequences of the release of oil on the platform Deepwater Horizon in the Gulf of Mexico in 2010 eliminated almost 50 thousand people. At an international symposium on the topic of fighting such disasters on the Arctic shelf, experts discussed how much Russian companies are ready for prompt liquidation of spills. How cooperation with foreigners will help in this, says Vasily Bogoyavlensky, Corresponding Member of the Russian Academy of Sciences, professor, deputy director of the Institute of the Oil and Gas Problems of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

It is impossible to tolerate catastrophes on the shelf
Photo: Organizing Committee of the Symposium
- What is the main purpose of the symposium?
- To gather international experts, share experience on overcoming difficulties in the liquidation of oil spills on the example of the tragedy that occurred 20 April 2010 year in the Gulf of Mexico, when one of the most modern drilling platforms in the world, there was an outflow of oil and gas mixture with fire. Then eleven people died, within a day the platform was burnt and drowned. For 87 days there was a struggle to eliminate the consequences, stop the flow of the well from the seabed. A huge oil spot reached the shore, pollution was over two thousand kilometers of the coastline. According to the updated data, which were sounded at the symposium, at the peak of the work to eliminate the consequences, more than 48 thousand people were involved, over 6 thousand ships and various boats and more than 2 thousand km of barrage booms.

- Would people have coped without the ability to self-purification of nature itself?
- The warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico have made their positive contribution to the elimination of the consequences, the bacteria helped to cope with the pollution of the aquatic environment, although most of the oil still settled to the bottom, evaporated into the atmosphere or was ashore. And even in such sub-equatorial conditions favorable for the liquidation of the Gulf of Mexico, only about 25 percent of the oil was collected or burned, and nature struggled with the remaining 75 percent. In addition, there was a large emission in the water column and the atmosphere of no account of associated gas. American colleagues told us in detail how they coped with the consequences of the disaster in the Gulf of Mexico, understanding our interest in this issue, because Russian companies are increasing their oil and gas production on the shelf of six seas, including the Arctic. Also, foreign experts acquainted us with the results of various experimental works on the elimination of spills, which they conduct in arctic conditions on the shelf of Alaska.

- How relevant is the experience of American scientists to Russia?
- For us, it is undoubtedly relevant. For example, in the United States, great attention during the liquidation of such spills is paid to the burning and use of dispersants, which help to decompose oil into less harmful components. And for each specific application of dispersants, we still need a special permit from Rosprirodnadzor, which requires time for approval. Dispersants must be purchased abroad, or create their own. Some Russian organizations have already created or are creating analogues, and, perhaps, even better than foreign, mixtures of compounds for eliminating such consequences. Today we are talking about conducting experimental work and obtaining various approvals for their application.

- How modern are the methods of eliminating technological accidents on the shelf of the Arctic seas in Russia?
- So far, as already mentioned, we do not use dispersants. And we actually need to seriously address this issue, because it is not reliably clear what harms nature more: the actual spilled oil or chemistry, which we then pour there. Apparently, for this reason, we have not yet regulated the use of these chemical compounds. In addition, I still do not see that any experimental work was carried out in this direction, research funding was allocated. So far this is only an initiative of a number of institutes, including the Academy of Sciences. On the Russian shelf, the main functions for the elimination of pollution as a result of man-made accidents are assigned to the Morspasluzhba, which is part of Rosmorrechflot. The head of this service, Andrei Khaustov, made a report at the symposium and told about the oil spill response tests conducted in the area of ​​the Prirazlomnaya platform, and the next tests, by the way, were held in ice conditions just two weeks ago. Also in the Russian Arctic Ministry of Emergency Situations, several spill response centers have been created and additional centers are being created. That is, work is underway, but it is important that they go not with a lag, but ahead of schedule with respect to the development of shelf resources.



- What problems of anthropogenic character in the development of the shelf are the main ones?
- Having analyzed large amounts of data and the results of field development both on the Russian shelf and on land, and in other regions of the world, I see that, despite the technological progress, the quality of well cementing is still low. A frequent problem is the flow of gas primarily along the caving area: the gas spreads and generates technogenic deposits that need to be identified, contoured and extracted, even if it is unprofitable work. Because hydrocarbons under the influence of the gravitational effect tend to reach the surface and can disrupt the ecosystem not only during the production of hydrocarbons, but also after many years. I believe that in the Gulf of Mexico, the bulk of the numerous oil and gas outlets on the surface is not of a natural nature, as the American colleagues think, but man-made. And it happened first of all because of poorly mothballed or badly liquidated wells, of which more than 30 thousand. Russia in the large-scale development of the Arctic shelf is important to prevent such a situation. We need to learn from other people's mistakes in order to minimize the number of our own, which are inevitable even at the highest technological level. The human factor, because of which the majority of accidents and disasters occur, will not be exterminated.

- What role do experts make? The Arctic Council and the Antarctic Council of the Federation Council In the matter of minimizing man-made threats?
- Recently, we held a joint meeting of experts from various organizations in the field of environmental management, environmental and economic security in the development of hydrocarbons in the Federation Council. It was a very useful meeting, which brought together about a hundred participants. Based on its results, a resolution was prepared, which will be approved by the heads of all expert councils, including the chairman of the Council on the Arctic and Antarctic Vyacheslav Shtyrov. Then it will be sent to the governing bodies of the country to implement the recommendations.

- Is it possible to say that the intensification of attention to this problem is connected with the Year of Ecology in Russia?
- At the symposium, we managed to gather experts from various organizations, there were many representatives of Gazprom, Rosneft, and leading institutions. This work is important because it allows you to share experiences, improve the skills of experts. Science develops in parallel in different organizations, countries, someone ahead of someone, creates fundamentally new technologies and technical means that must be promptly implemented in production. I want to emphasize that the International Symposium held is not a tribute to the current moment. He systematically prepared for about a year, experts from the Russian Academy of Sciences, the IM Gubkin University in collaboration with the World Wildlife Fund (WWF), experts, experts and scientists from around the world. We see a strong reciprocal desire for interaction from the United States of America. Our colleagues from the United States are open, a very fruitful, friendly atmosphere was created at the symposium. I believe that such meetings are necessary, this is how not only scientific and friendly relations between specialists from different industries are strengthened, but also trusting friendly relations between countries.

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Катастрофы на шельфе допускать нельзя

Василий Богоявленский о борьбе с разливами нефти человека и самой природы

Последствия выброса нефти на платформе Deepwater Horizon в Мексиканском заливе в 2010 году устраняли почти 50 тысяч человек. На международном симпозиуме по теме борьбы с подобными катастрофами на арктическом шельфе эксперты обсудили, насколько российские компании готовы к оперативной ликвидации разливов. Как в этом поможет сотрудничество с иностранцами, рассказывает член-корреспондент РАН, профессор, заместитель директора Института проблема нефти и газа РАН Василий Богоявленский.

Катастрофы на шельфе допускать нельзя
Фото: Оргкомитет симпозиума
– Какова основная цель проведения симпозиума?
– Собрать международных экспертов, обменяться опытом по преодолению трудностей при ликвидации разливов нефти на примере трагедии, произошедшей 20 апреля 2010 года в Мексиканском заливе, когда на одной из самых современных в мире буровых платформ произошел выброс нефтегазовой смеси с возгоранием. Тогда погибло одиннадцать человек, в течение суток платформа сгорела и утонула. В течение 87 дней шла борьба по устранению последствий, остановке фонтанирования скважины с морского дна. Огромное пятно нефти достигло берега, загрязнение составило свыше двух тысяч километров береговой полосы. По обновленным данным, которые прозвучали на симпозиуме, на пике работ по ликвидации последствий было привлечено более 48 тысяч человек, свыше 6 тысяч судов и различных плавсредств и более 2 тыс. км заградительных бонов.

— Люди справились бы без способностей к самоочищению самой природы?
— Теплые воды Мексиканского залива внесли свой позитивный вклад по устранению последствий, бактерии помогли справиться с загрязнением водной среды, хотя наибольшая часть нефти все равно осела на дно, испарилась в атмосферу или оказалась на берегу. И даже в таких благоприятных для ликвидационных работ субэкваториальных условиях Мексиканского залива было собрано или сожжено всего около 25 процентов нефти, а с оставшимися 75 процентами боролась природа. Кроме того, произошла большая эмиссия в водную толщу и атмосферу никем не учтенного попутного газа. Американские коллеги детально рассказали нам, как они справлялись с последствиями катастрофы в Мексиканском заливе, понимая нашу заинтересованность в этом вопросе, ведь российские компании наращивают объемы нефтегазодобычи на шельфе шести морей, включая арктические. Также зарубежные эксперты ознакомили нас с результатами различных экспериментальных работ по ликвидации разливов, которые они проводят в арктических условиях на шельфе Аляски.

– Насколько для России актуален опыт американских ученых?
Для нас он несомненно актуален. Например, в Соединенных Штатах большое внимание при ликвидации таких разливов уделяется сжиганию и применению диспергентов, которые помогают разложить нефть на менее вредные составляющие. А у нас на каждое конкретное применение диспергентов пока требуется специальное разрешение Росприроднадзора, что требует времени на согласование. Диспергенты необходимо закупать за рубежом, либо создавать свои. В некоторых российских организациях уже созданы или создаются аналоги, и, может быть, даже лучшие, чем зарубежные, составы смесей для ликвидации таких последствий. Сегодня речь идет о том, чтобы провести экспериментальные работы и получить различные согласования для их применения.

– Насколько современны методы устранения техногенных аварий на шельфе арктических морей в России?
– Пока, как уже было сказано, мы не применяем диспергенты. И нам на самом деле надо серьезно подходить к этому вопросу, потому что достоверно неясно, что больше наносит природе вред: собственно разлившаяся нефть или же химия, которую мы потом туда заливаем. Видимо, по этой причине у нас пока не регламентировано применение этих химических составов. Кроме того, я пока не вижу, чтобы проводились какие-либо экспериментальные работы в этом направлении, выделялось финансирование на исследования. Пока это лишь инициатива ряда институтов, в том числе Академии наук. На российском шельфе основные функции по ликвидации загрязнений в результате техногенных аварий возложены на «Морспасслужбу», которая входит в состав «Росморречфлота». Руководитель этой службы Андрей Хаустов на симпозиуме выступил с докладом и рассказал, какие проводились испытания по ликвидации разливов нефти в районе платформы «Приразломная», очередные испытания, кстати, прошли в ледовых условиях буквально две недели назад. Также в российской Арктике МЧС создано несколько центров по ликвидации разливов и создаются дополнительные. То есть работы идут, но важно, чтобы они шли не с отставанием, а с опережением по отношению к освоению ресурсов шельфа.

– Какие проблемы техногенного характера при освоении шельфа являются основными?
– Проанализировав большие объемы данных и результаты освоения месторождений как на российских шельфе и суше, так и в других регионах мира, я вижу, что несмотря на достигнутый технологический прогресс качество цементирования скважин по-прежнему невысоко. Частой проблемой являются перетоки в первую очередь газа по заколонному пространству: газ распространяется и формирует техногенные залежи, которые надо выявлять, оконтуривать и извлекать, даже если это нерентабельная работа. Потому что углеводороды под действием гравитационного эффекта стремятся выйти на поверхность и могут нарушить экосистему не только во время добычи углеводородов, но и спустя многие годы. Я считаю, что в Мексиканском заливе основная часть многочисленных выходов нефти и газа на поверхность имеет не природный характер, как считают американские коллеги, а техногенный. И произошло это в первую очередь из-за плохо законсервированных или плохо ликвидированных скважин, которых более 30 тысяч. России при широкомасштабном освоении арктического шельфа важно не допустить такой ситуации. Нужно учиться на чужих ошибках, чтобы минимизировать число собственных, которые неизбежны даже при самом высоком технологическом уровне. Человеческий фактор, из-за которого происходит большинство аварий и катастроф, не истребим.

– Какую роль вносят эксперты Совета по Арктике и Антарктике при Совете федерации в дело минимизации техногенных угроз?
– Недавно в Совете Федерации мы провели объединенное заседание экспертов из разных организаций в области рационального природопользования, экологической и экономической безопасности при освоении углеводородов. Это было очень полезное совещание, собравшее около ста участников. По его итогам подготовлена резолюция, которая будет утверждаться руководителям всех экспертных советов, в том числе и председателем Совета по Арктике и Антарктике Вячеславом Штыровым. Дальше она будет направлена в руководящие органы страны для исполнения рекомендаций.

– Можно ли говорить о том, что активизация внимания к этой проблематике связана с Годом экологии в России?
На симпозиуме нам удалось собрать экспертов из разных организаций, было много представителей «Газпрома», «Роснефти», ведущих институтов. Эта работа важна, поскольку позволяет обмениваться опытом, повышать квалификацию экспертов. Наука развивается параллельно в разных организациях, странах, кто-то кого-то опережает, создает принципиально новые технологии и технические средства, которые необходимо оперативно внедрять в производство. Хочу подчеркнуть, что проведенный Международный симпозиум - не дань текущему моменту. Он планомерно готовился около года, экспертами РАН, Университета имени И.М.Губкина в сотрудничестве со Всемирным фондом дикой природы (WWF), экспертами, специалистами и учеными из разных стран мира. Мы видим сильное встречное стремление к взаимодействию со стороны Соединенных Штатов Америки. Наши коллеги из США открыты, на симпозиуме создалась очень плодотворная, дружественная обстановка. Я считаю, что такие встречи необходимы, именно так укрепляются не только научные и дружественные взаимосвязи между специалистами различных отраслей, но и доверительные дружеские отношения между странами.