Notice: curl_setopt(): CURLOPT_SSL_VERIFYHOST no longer accepts the value 1, value 2 will be used instead in /home/admin/web/eastrussia.ru/public_html/gtranslate/gtranslate.php on line 101
Blitz-interview of Kamchatka's most famous kamyur Andrey Semashkin on the eve of the launch of Beringia-2018 - EastRussia |

Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

"We also ask ourselves: why does the dog run?"

Blitz-interview of the most famous Kamchatka cameraman Andrei Semashkin on the eve of the launch of "Beringia-2018"

This year, the dog sledding race "Beringia", traditionally starting in Kamchatka, will reach Chukotka for the second time in history and for the first time in the world will pass for the mark of 2100 kilometers along the length. On the eve of the launch of the masters who are to overcome all the hardships of cross-country traffic, EastRussia asked the four-time winner of the Beringia and the winner of the Beringia-2018 race prologue, Andrei Semashkin, what could happen with the sled on the road and why should dogs run ahead.

"We also ask ourselves: why does the dog run?"
Photo: Dmitry Shcherbakov
20180304_112535.jpg

- By what principle do you form the team: dogs in your nursery "Snow Dogs" more than a hundred, and for the current race you need to select 16?

- Usually everything is determined during the training: who keeps the pace, how quickly gets tired, how he listens. So gradually you determine who will remain in the team and who will not. As a rule, for the race I take dogs of the same litter, or just young, but of the same age, and then I deliver to them experienced.

- Why littermates?

- First, they have about equal physical qualities, one growth, one color. Secondly, they know each other by smell, if you can say so, "by blood." They have their own hierarchy from puppyhood. So it's easier to work with them, sometimes, one or two dogs are excluded from the litter, the rest can be worked on. And this is easier than forming a team harness.

- It happens that dogs do not get along with each other, do they quarrel?

- Anything can happen. But the most important leader in this pack is me. And the dogs act and work on the basis of my wishes. They must hear and listen to my voice. Some short-term skirmishes are permissible: it is entangled with a paw, not jumped there. But some serious fights in the teams, at least, I do not. It is unacceptable.

- Can a dog not recognize the authority of a caviar?

- There are such dogs, very strong in character. If they have good working qualities to include them in the team, they have to "break". I had a dog that did not feed. I had to fight to the blood, I earned a bunch of scars. As a result, an amazing working dog turned out to be four years old. They just need to work with, and love them.

- This race will be the longest in history - for 2 thousands of kilometers. Any special approach to the selection in this regard was? For example, on endurance?

- First they wanted to make this race linear, not stage. In a linear race, everyone can adjust the mileage and the duration of the run and rest. But the choice was made all the same in favor of a stage race. The race promises to be quite heavy, not everywhere there will be snow. There will be many long transitions, and dogs need a full rest. For long distances we, the cavalry, so to speak, do not go every day. So we'll go into the villages, rest somewhere even for two days, so that everyone eventually reaches the finish line.

- The race is not easy. Is there a moment when a "second wind" opens for a mule and a dog?



- Many people refer to the race as an additional training. For example, if someone's dog does not have time to make a foray, it can be done during the race itself. "Second wind" opens somewhere in the middle of such a long distance: the dogs begin to work more actively.

- What are the main difficulties faced by the guards on the track?

- Usually dogs must first be held so that they do not waste their energy, do not let them go to high speed. It is always necessary to be guided by the situation, by the presence of snow. There are many difficulties.

- Are there any cases when dogs are injured?

- Of course. In 2011 year I went with the team to the stage length of about 130 kilometers. Due to the fact that there was almost no snow, they changed the route. We went to the bare ice, it was very hot. Many of my dogs cut their paws. Because of this, their immunity has weakened, and at some point the "case" has begun: they did not die, of course, but just started to drop out. We shot them one after another, and I prisshshelos, reaching only Palana, get out of the race to save his team.

- "Beringia" - one of the main events of the year for the cue. And for dogs? Do they feel the significance of the moment?

- Yes, and very good. They are "charged" for long distances, ready for the fact that these will be long transitions. The spirit of dogs can always be seen even by the audience. Leaving the start fairly quickly, the dogs, tuned for a big race, move to the fast lynx. Dogs ready for a sprint at 10 kilometer will gallop the entire distance. My dogs have already calmed down, tune in to a long route and do not waste their energy.

- Do dogs rest after "Beringia"?

"A maximum of two or three days." And then we again bring the dogs into working mode. This is very important: the constant work of the heart. Because there have been cases if the dog is left for a long time in after the race, she just falls asleep and does not wake up.

- Do they themselves feel such a tension of power?

- I think yes. If the dog "is not high," she will never run. We often ask ourselves: why does the dog run? Runs in a pack, and all work clearly, smoothly. Even in snowstorm, when you can not see the rear dogs, I'm sure you will always be taken out.

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

«Мы тоже спрашиваем себя: почему собака бежит?»

Блиц-интервью самого известного каюра Камчатки Андрея Семашкина накануне старта "Берингии-2018"

В этом году гонка на собачьих упряжках "Берингия", традиционно стартующая на Камчатке, во второй раз в истории дойдет до Чукотки и впервые в мире перевалит за отметку 2100 километров по протяженности. Накануне старта каюров, которым предстоит преодолеть все тяготы передвижения по пересеченной местности, EastRussia поинтересовалась у четырехкратного победителя "Берингии"  и победителя гонки-пролога "Берингии-2018" Андрея Семашкина, что может случиться с упряжкой в пути и зачем вообще собакам бежать вперед. 

«Мы тоже спрашиваем себя: почему собака бежит?»
Фото: Дмитрий Щербаков
20180304_112535.jpg

- По какому принципу вы формируете упряжку: собак у вас в питомнике "Снежные псы"  больше сотни, а на нынешнюю гонку нужно отобрать 16?

- Обычно все определяется в процессе тренировки: кто как держит темп, как быстро устает, как слушается. Так постепенно определяешь, кто останется в команде, а кто нет. Как правило, на гонку я беру собак одного помета, либо просто молодых, но одного возраста, и потом доставляю к ним опытных. 

- Почему именно однопометники?

- Во-первых, у них примерно равные физические качества, один рост, один окрас. Во-вторых, они знают друг друга по запаху, если можно так сказать, "по крови". У них с щенячьего возраста устанавливается своя иерархия. Так что с ними работать проще, бывает, из помета исключается одна-две собаки, с остальными можно работать. И это легче, чем формировать сборную упряжку.

- Бывает, что собаки между собой не ладят, враждуют?

- Все бывает. Но самым главным вожаком в этой стае являюсь я. И собаки действуют и работают исходя из моих пожеланий. Они должны слышать и слушать мой голос. Какие-то кратковременные стычки допустимы: запуталась лапой, не туда перепрыгнула. Но каких-то серьезных драк в командах, по крайней мере, у меня, нет. Это недопустимо.

- А может собака не признавать авторитет каюра?

- Есть такие собаки, очень сильные по характеру. Если у них хорошие рабочие качества, чтобы включить их в команду, приходится их "ломать". У меня была собака, которая никак не подавалась. Приходилось бороться до крови, заработал кучу шрамов. В итоге к четырем годам получилась изумительная рабочая собака. С ними просто нужно работать, и любить их.

- Эта гонка будет самой длительной за историю - за 2 тысячи километров. Какой-то особый подход к отбору в связи с этим был? Например, по выносливости?

- Сначала эту гонку хотели делать линейной, а не этапной. В линейной гонке каждый может для себя регулировать километраж и продолжительность бега и отдыха. Но выбор был сделан все-таки в пользу этапной гонки. Гонка обещает быть достаточно тяжелой, не везде будет снег. Будет много долгих переходов, и собакам нужен полноценный отдых. На большие дистанции мы, каюры, так скажем, ходим не каждый день. Так что будем заходить в поселки, отдыхать где-то даже по два дня, чтобы всем в итоге дойти до финиша. 

- Гонка непростая. Есть момент, когда у каюра и собак открывается "второе дыхание"?

- Многие к гонке относятся как к дополнительной тренировке. Например, если чья-то собака не успела сделать набег, его можно сделать во время самой гонки. "Второе дыхание" открывается где-то на середине такой большой дистанции: собаки начинают работать активнее.

- С какими основными трудностями сталкивается каюр на трассе?

- Обычно собак приходится сначала придерживать, чтобы они не тратили силы, не давать им переходить на быстрый ход. Ориентироваться приходится всегда по ситуации, по наличию снега. Сложностей много. 

- А бывают случаи, когда собаки травмируются? 

- Конечно. В 2011 году я пошел с упряжкой на этап протяженностью около 130 километров. Из-за того, что снега почти не было, поменяли маршрут. Вышли на голый лед, было очень жарко. Многие мои собаки посрезали лапы. Из-за этого ослаб их иммунитет, и в определенный момент начался "падеж": они не погибали, конечно, но просто начали выбывать. Мы снимали их одну за другой, и мне прищшлось, дойдя только до Паланы, выйти из гонки, чтобы сберечь свою команду. 

- "Берингия" - одно из главных событий года для каюра. А для собак? Они чувствуют значимость момента?

- Да, и очень хорошо. Они "заряжаются" на длинные дистанции, готовы к тому, что это будут долгие переходы. Настрой собак всегда можно увидеть даже зрителям. Уходя со старта довольно быстро, настроенные на большую гонку собаки переходят на быструю рысь. Собаки, готовые к спринту на 10 километрову, будут галопировать всю дистанцию. Мои собаки уже успокоились, настроились на длительный маршрут и не расходуют попусту сил. 

- Собаки отдыхают после "Берингии"?

- Максимум два-три дня. И тут же мы снова приводим собак в рабочий режим. Это очень важно: постоянная работа сердца. Потому что были случаи, если собаку надолго оставить в после гонки, она просто засыпает и не просыпается.  

- Им самим такое напряжение сил доставляет удовольствие?

- Думаю, что да. Если собаке "не по кайфу", она никогда не побежит. Мы сами себя часто спрашиваем: почему собака бежит? Бежит в стае, и все работают четко, ровно. Даже в пургу, когда не видно задних собак, я уверен: тебя всегда выведут.

Дни Дальнего Востока в Москве – 2018
3–9 декабря, Тверская площадь. 13–15 декабря, Экспоцентр. Официальный сайт мероприятия ddv.moscow