Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Putin's visit to Japan: economy defeats politics

Putin's visit to Japan: economy defeats politics
Photo by: kremlin.ru

Valery Kistanov

Head of the Center for Japanese Studies of the Institute of Far Eastern Studies
The visit of Russian President Vladimir Putin 15-16 December to the Land of the Rising Sun vividly highlighted the differences in priorities and expectations of the two countries from this trip. During the meeting and negotiations with him, Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe focused on concluding a bilateral peace treaty after settling the dispute over the territorial affiliation of the four southern islands of the Kuril chain - Shikotan, Habomai (in fact, a group of small islets), Kunashira and Iturup. The islands moved to the Soviet Union after the Second World War, but Japan disputes these results and demands the return of all four islands. Russia believes that the islands belong to it by right and do not see the subject of the dispute.

On the eve of the visit, Putin publicly and unequivocally made it clear once again that the territorial issue exists in the minds of Japanese politicians, but not Russian ones.

At the closing press conference, the Russian president spoke more about the areas that bind our countries and should serve as pillars in building wide and lasting bridges to deepen political understanding and strengthen economic cooperation. And this, in the understanding of the Russian leader, should smooth over the severity of the territorial impasse, help find a way out of it, and, ultimately, conclude a peace treaty between the two countries, on the necessity of which, obviously, Japan insists more than Russia.

At the same time, Moscow is ready to talk with Tokyo about the islands to which it claims. In Japan, Putin again stressed that the conversation should be conducted on the basis of the Joint Declaration of the USSR and Japan of 1956, which provides for the voluntary transfer (not return!) By the Soviet Union to the Land of the Rising Sun of only two islands (Habomai and Shikotana), and only after the conclusion of a peace treaty ... However, Japanese politicians and experts are alarmed by the words of the Russian president: the fact is that the declaration does not mention under what conditions and under whose sovereignty the islands will be transferred. In addition, the Japanese side believes that both problems are interconnected and should be resolved in the reverse order - first the islands (obviously, Japan), then the treaty.

At the same time, the Japanese leadership does not guarantee that if the southern Kurils ("northern territories", in Japanese terms) are received, they will not have US military bases, which would be contrary to the Japanese-American security treaty. And this is already troubling the Russian leadership, especially in the light of the fact that Tokyo is considering the deployment of THAAD, the newest American missile defense system, on its territory. Apparently, this topic, along with the North Korean nuclear missile potential and other acute international security problems, will be discussed at the Russian-Japanese consultations in the format 2 + 2 (foreign and defense ministers of both countries). The agreement on their renewal on the initiative of the Russian side was reached during Putin's stay on Japanese soil.

Nevertheless, in spite of the fact that in the sphere of politics everyone remained “with his own people,” the meeting between Putin and Abe can be considered quite successful. Moreover, not only for Moscow, but also for Tokyo, despite the criticism of the prime minister heard in Japan for the fact that, in exchange for the broad economic cooperation he proposed to Putin, Japan did not receive any dividends on the territorial problem. It is worth noting that such criticism comes not only from the opposition, but also from the depths of the ruling Liberal Democratic Party, headed by Abe himself. Indeed, in Japan they have not made and are not making a secret that the eight-point economic cooperation plan was proposed by the Japanese Prime Minister to Putin in Sochi in May of this year for a reason. It is calculated that Japan's "broad gesture" in the face of a difficult economic situation in Russia caused by falling hydrocarbon prices and Western sanctions will be appreciated and Moscow will soften its position on the territories.

At the same time, critics of Abe ignore the benefits that Japan itself will receive from the planned economic rapprochement with Russia. In it, the eight-point plan proposed by the Prime Minister of the country can serve as a good "screed". During the visit, these points were fully filled with six dozen joint projects totaling $ 2,54 billion. And although all of them will be carried out on Russian territory, one can hardly say that their implementation will become a one-way street. Suffice it to point to large-scale energy projects that will reduce Japan's dependence by 80% on energy supplies from the distant and explosive Middle East. Moreover, the country's nuclear power industry is actually in a frozen state after the accident at the Fukushima-1 nuclear power plant.

Finally, an important result of Putin's visit to Japan was a small but significant breakthrough on the territorial issue. The leaders of the two countries agreed on joint economic activities of Russia and Japan in the southern Kuriles. True, for its implementation it will be necessary to overcome the already revealed discrepancy as to the legal basis on which this activity should be carried out. Presidential aide Yuri Ushakov said in Tokyo that it was Russian. And Prime Minister Abe believes that joint management should be conducted not according to Russian, but also not according to Japanese laws. In his opinion, some special rules must be worked out for this. It appears that finding a common denominator in this regard will take time and skill in negotiation. After all, it touches upon the problem of sovereignty over the islands, which is painful for Tokyo.
September 29: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Визит Путина в Японию: экономика побеждает политику

Визит Путина в Японию: экономика побеждает политику
Фото: kremlin.ru
Визит президента России Владимира Путина 15-16 декабря в Страну восходящего солнца ярко высветил различия в приоритетах и ожиданиях двух стран от этой поездки. В ходе встречи и переговоров с ним японский премьер-министр Синдзо Абэ сосредоточился на заключении двустороннего мирного договора после решения спора о территориальной принадлежности четырех южных островов Курильской гряды – Шикотана, Хабомаи (на самом деле группа мелких островков), Кунашира и Итурупа. Острова перешли к Советскому Союзу по итогам Второй мировой войны, однако Япония эти итоги оспаривает и требует вернуть все четыре острова. Россия же считает, что острова принадлежат ей по праву и не видит предмета спора.

Накануне визита Путин публично и недвусмысленно еще раз дал понять, что  территориальный вопрос существует в умах японских политиков, но не российских.

На заключительной пресс-конференции российский президент больше говорил о сферах, которые связывают наши страны и должны послужить опорами в наведении широких и прочных мостов для углубления политического взаимопонимания и укрепления экономического сотрудничества. А это, в понимании лидера России, должно сгладить остроту территориального тупика, помочь найти из него выход, а, в конечном счете, заключить мирный договор между двумя странами, на необходимости которого, как очевидно, настаивает больше Япония, чем Россия.

Вместе с тем Москва готова беседовать с Токио и об островах, на которые он претендует. В Японии Путин снова подчеркнул, что разговор должен вестись на основе Совместной декларации СССР и Японии от 1956 года, которая предусматривает добровольную передачу (не возврат!) Советским Союзом Стране восходящего солнца лишь двух островов (Хабомаи и Шикотана), и только после заключения мирного договора. Однако японских политиков и экспертов настораживают слова президента России: дело в том, что в декларации не упоминается, на каких условиях и под чей суверенитет будут переданы острова.  К тому же японская сторона полагает, что обе проблемы взаимосвязаны и должны решаться в обратном порядке – сначала острова (понятно, что Японии), потом  договор.

При этом японское руководство не гарантирует, что, в случае получения южных Курил ("северных территорий", по японской терминологии), на них не появятся военные базы США, что шло бы вразрез с японо-американским договором безопасности. А это уже тревожит российское руководство, особенно в свете того, что Токио подумывает о размещении на своей территории THAAD – новейшей американской системы ПРО. Видимо, эта тема наряду с северокорейским ракетно-ядерным потенциалом и другими острыми проблемами международной безопасности будет обсуждаться на российско-японских консультациях в формате 2+2 (министров иностранных и дел и обороны обеих стран). Согласие об их возобновлении по инициативе российской стороны было достигнуто во время пребывания Путина на японской земле.

Тем не менее, несмотря на то, что в сфере политики каждый остался «при своих», встречу Путина и Абэ  можно считать вполне успешной. Причем не только для Москвы, но и для Токио, вопреки раздающейся в Японии критике премьера за то, что, в обмен на широкое экономическое сотрудничество, предложенное им Путину,  Япония не получила никаких дивидендов по территориальной проблеме. Стоит отметить, что подобная критика исходит не только от оппозиции, но и из недр правящей Либерально-демократической партии, возглавляемой самим Абэ.  Действительно, в Японии не делали и не делают секрета из того, что план хозяйственного сотрудничества из восьми пунктов был предложен японским премьером Путину в Сочи в мае этого года не просто так. Он рассчитан на то, что «широкий жест» Японии в условиях сложного экономического положения в России, вызванного падением цен на углеводороды и санкциями Запада, будет оценен по достоинству, и Москва смягчит свою позицию по территориям.

При этом критиками Абэ замалчиваются те выгоды, которые получит сама Япония от намеченного экономического сближения с Россией. В нем предложенный премьер-министром страны план из восьми пунктов может послужить хорошей «стяжкой». Эти пункты были полновесно наполнены во время визита шестью десятками совместных проектов на общую сумму в 2,54 млрд. долл. И хотя все они будут осуществляться на российской территории, вряд ли можно говорить, что их реализация станет улицей с односторонним движением.  Достаточно указать на крупномасштабные проекты в сфере энергетики, которые позволят снизить зависимость Японии на 80% от поставок энергоносителей с далекого и взрывоопасного Ближнего Востока. Тем более что атомная энергетика страны фактически находится в замороженном состоянии после аварии на АЭС  «Фукусима-1».

Наконец, важным результатом визитом Путина в Японию стал небольшой, но значимый прорыв и по территориальной проблеме. Лидеры двух стран договорились о совместной экономической деятельности России и Японии на южных Курилах. Правда, для ее реализации потребуется преодолеть уже выявившееся расхождение относительно того, на какой правовой базе должна осуществляться эта деятельность. Помощник президента Юрий Ушаков сказал в Токио, что на российской. А премьер Абэ считает, что совместное хозяйствование должно вестись не по российским, но и не по японским законам. По его мнению, для этого должны быть выработаны некие особые правила. Судя по всему, для нахождения общего знаменателя в этом отношении потребуется время и высокое мастерство переговорщиков. Ведь здесь затрагивается болезненная для Токио проблема суверенитета над островами.