Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Asbestos showed an export character

Export of products to the countries of the Asia-Pacific region allowed producers of chrysotile-asbestos to gain a foothold in the rating of the largest exporters of Russia

Asbestos showed an export character
Photo: Infographics EastRussia
Russian raw materials, which received a good impetus against the background of the devaluation of the ruble, continue to develop in export markets. The rating of the largest domestic exporting companies, prepared by the Expert magazine, gives the dynamics, first of all, in terms of traditional resources - oil, gas, coal, metal. At the same time, one cannot fail to note the “newcomers” of the rating - four companies in the segment of the building materials industry were included in the list of 200 largest exporters at once, two of which produce chrysotile asbestos.

Asbestos-based building materials are traditionally considered one of the cheapest - this natural mineral allows us to produce high-quality products with a long service life. Russia possesses the world's largest raw material base for chrysotile asbestos. The state balance includes 11 mineral deposits with total reserves of more than 100 million tons. Russian mining enterprises operate three deposits - Bazhenovskoye, Kiembaevskoye and Ak-Dovurakskoye. Their total reserves are 77,8 million tons of chrysotile.

The companies "Uralasbest" and "Orenburg minerals", marked in the rating of the largest domestic export companies, occupy 142 and 153 places respectively. According to statistics, for 2015 year the total volume of exports of these enterprises amounted to 171,7 million dollars.

In recent years, the total production of chrysotile asbestos in Russia has consistently exceeded 1 million tons per year. At the same time, the order of 75% of raw materials is exported to more than 20 countries, primarily in the Asia-Pacific region. According to the customs statistics of the foreign trade of the Russian Federation, the largest importers of Russian asbestos in 2015 and 2016 were India (more than 300 thousand tons), China (more than 162 thousand tons), Indonesia (more than 142 thousand tons), Vietnam (over 78 thousand tons). Sri Lanka (more than 55 thousand tons) and Thailand (more than 40 thousand tons).

According to experts interviewed by EastRussia, the demand for Russian asbestos could be much higher (and the companies' figures are impressive), if it were not for the policy of individual states to close their markets for these products. "It's abnormal when half of the world, as we see, is actively consuming Russian chrysotile asbestos for the production of building materials - and the other half is belligerently ignoring this product," said one expert.

As noted by AIF, for several years the so-called anti-asbestos lobby has developed in the West, which advocates a ban on the use of asbestos materials at the level of entire states. The publication describes the history of asbestos as one of the most striking examples of international commercial wars. So, the success of the lobby was the total closure of the markets of a number of countries for asbestos materials. Due to the crowding out of one of the cheapest and durable building materials, the markets were filled with more expensive synthetics, in addition, a fundamentally new market was formed - by the widespread disposal of asbestos, its traces and its derivatives.

The steady growth of the economies of the countries of South-East Asia increases the need for mass production of practical and wear-resistant materials. What is important, with similar physical indicators, products based on chrysotile-asbestos are consistently cheaper and more durable. "In terms of industrial safety policy that India, that China, and even more so - Thailand, it is long ago not the countries that they were ten years ago, at a stage of rapid growth," the expert continues. - Today, these countries are much more concerned about the environment, the working conditions for their citizens, the comfort for residents of cities and villages. Therefore, their choice in favor of supplies of building materials from Russia is a conscious decision, which is primarily dictated by their national economic interests. "

In the chrysotile industry of Russia, as well as in interrelated industries, about 30 thousand industrial-production personnel are employed. At the same time, a significant part of industry enterprises are city-forming. Given this factor, the extraction of chrysotile and the production of materials and products from it affects the interests of at least 250 thousands of people.

At the same time, it is difficult to assess the development potential of the Russian chrysolite industry today. Despite the development of ties with the APR market, there are reasons for skepticism in Russia: a decrease in the volume of state construction, problems with maintaining single-industry towns, marketing losses from the impact of the anti-asbestos campaign. Research carried out in Russia by the Higher School of Economics has shown that even a small increase in the share of chrysotile-containing materials in housing and communal services will lead to annual multi-billion dollar savings in budgetary funds, create new jobs and provide several single-industry towns with constant orders. True, for some reason this is not yet happening: apparently, despite the crisis, we have not yet learned how to economize on construction in the same way as our neighbors in the APR do. 


EastRussia Help

Contrary to the scandalous statements of Western activists, neither in Russia, nor in other countries producing and using chrysotile-asbestos, there is no negative impact from the mineral. Moreover, all new studies only confirm that the controlled use of chrysotile-containing materials can not cause harm to health.

The results published in January 2016 on the portal oem.bmj.com The study "The attitude of professional activity and the impact of asbestos on the risk of developing mesothelioma and lung cancer", conducted by a number of large specialists, refute the theory on which a large-scale campaign was launched to discredit and ban asbestos: the connection between chrysotile and lung diseases was not found in any of the affected. Most importantly, the authors of the report are experts who previously published articles directed against the mineral.

May 15: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ
Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск
Биробиджан
Владивосток
Магадан
Хабаровск
Южно-­Сахалинск
Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Асбест показал экспортный характер

Экспорт продукции в страны Азиатско-Тихоокеанского региона позволил производителям хризотил-асбеста закрепиться в рейтинге крупнейших экспортеров России

Асбест показал экспортный характер
Фото: Инфографика EastRussia
Российское сырье, получившее неплохой импульс на фоне девальвации рубля, продолжает развитие на экспортных рынках. Рейтинг крупнейших отечественных компаний-экспортеров, подготовленный журналом «Эксперт», дает динамику в первую очередь по традиционным ресурсам – нефти, газу, углю, металлу. Вместе с тем, нельзя не отметить и “новичков” рейтинга – в список из 200 крупнейших экспортеров попали сразу четыре компании в сегменте промышленности строительных материалов, две из которых производят хризотил-асбест.

Строительные материалы на основе асбеста традиционно считаются одними из самых дешевых – этот природный минерал позволяет производить качественную продукцию с длительным сроком службы. Россия обладает крупнейшей в мире сырьевой базой хризотил-асбеста. Государственным балансом учтены 11 месторождений минерала с суммарными запасами более 100 млн тонн. Горнодобывающими предприятиями России эксплуатируются три месторождения – Баженовское, Киембаевское и Ак-Довуракское. Их суммарные запасы составляют 77,8 млн тонн хризотила.

Компании «Ураласбест» и «Оренбургские минералы», отмеченные в рейтинге крупнейших отечественных компаний-экспортеров, занимают 142 и 153 места соответственно. Согласно статистике, за 2015 год суммарный объем экспорта этих предприятий составил 171,7 млн долларов.

В последние годы суммарная добыча хризотилового асбеста в России устойчиво превышает 1 млн тонн в год. При этом порядка 75% сырья поставляется на экспорт в более чем 20 стран, прежде всего в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе. Согласно данным таможенной статистики внешней торговли Российской Федерации, крупнейшими импортерами российского асбеста в 2015 и 2016 году стали Индия (более 300 тыс. т), Китай (более 162 тыс. т), Индонезия (более 142 тыс. т), Вьетнам (более 78 тыс. т). Шри-Ланка (более 55 тыс. т) и Таиланд (более 40 тыс. т).

По мнению экспертов, опрошенных EastRussia, спрос на российский асбест мог бы быть значительно выше (а показатели компаний – внушительнее), если бы не политика отдельных государств по закрытию своих рынков для этой продукции. “Это ненормально, когда половина мира, как мы видим, активно потребляет российский хризотил-асбест для производства строительных материалов, – а другая половина воинственно игнорирует этот товар", – отмечает один из экспертов.

Как отмечает АиФ, за несколько лет на Западе успело сложиться так называемое антиасбестовое лобби, которое выступает за запрет на использование асбестовых материалов на уровне целых государств. Издание называет историю вокруг асбеста одним из ярких примеров международных коммерческих войн. Так, успехом лобби стало тотальное закрытие рынков целого ряда стран для асбестовых материалов. За счет вытеснения одного из наиболее дешевых и долговечных строительных материалов рынки были заполнены более дорогостоящей синтетикой, кроме того, сформировался принципиально новый рынок – по повсеместному избавлению от асбеста, его следов и его производных.

Неуклонный рост экономики стран Юго-Восточной Азии увеличивает потребность в массовом производстве практичных и износоустойчивых материалов. Что важно, при схожих физических показателях, изделия на основе хризотил-асбеста стабильно оказываются и дешевле, и долговечнее. “В плане политики производственной безопасности что Индия, что Китай, а тем более – Таиланд, – это уже давно не те страны, которыми они были десять лет назад, на этапе бурного роста, – продолжает эксперт. – Сегодня эти страны гораздо более заботятся об экологии, об условиях труда для своих граждан, о комфорте для жителей городов и сел. Поэтому их выбор в пользу поставок строительных материалов из России – это сознательное решение, которое продиктовано в первую очередь их национальными экономическими интересами”.

В хризотиловой индустрии России, а также во взаимосвязанных производствах занято около 30 тыс. человек промышленно-производственного персонала. При этом значительная часть предприятий индустрии является градообразующими. С учетом этого фактора добыча хризотила и производство материалов и изделий из него затрагивает интересы не менее 250 тысяч человек.

Вместе с тем оценить потенциал развития российской хризолитов отрасли сегодня  сложно. Несмотря на развитие связей с рынком АТР, в России есть причины для скепсиса: это снижение объемов государственного строительства, проблемы с поддержанием моногородов, маркетинговые потери от воздействия антиасбестовой кампании. Исследования, проведенные в России Высшей школой экономики, показали, что даже небольшое увеличение доли хризотилсодержащих материалов в ЖКХ приведет к ежегодной многомиллиардной экономии бюджетных средств, позволит создать новые рабочие места и обеспечить постоянными заказами несколько моногородов. Правда, этого почему-то пока не происходит: видимо, не смотря на кризис, на строительстве у нас еще не научились экономить так, как это происходит у наших соседей по АТР. 


Справка EastRussia

Вопреки скандальным заявлениям западных активистов, ни в России, ни в других странах, производящих и использующих хризотил-асбест, не наблюдается негативного воздействия от минерала. Более того, все новые исследования лишь подтверждают, что контролируемое использование хризотилсодержащих материалов вреда здоровью нести не может.

Результаты опубликованного в январе 2016 г. на портале oem.bmj.com исследования «Отношение профессиональной деятельности и воздействия асбеста к риску развития мезотелиомы и рака легких», проведенного целым рядом крупных специалистов, опровергают теорию, на которой была построена масштабная кампания по дискредитации и запрету асбеста: связь между хризотилом и заболеваниями легких не нашли ни у одного из пострадавших. Что особенно важно, в числе авторов доклада присутствуют специалисты, ранее публиковавшие статьи, направленные против минерала.