Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Japan-Russia: oil, gas, politics

For the Russian-Japanese relations an economic framework is being built

Japan-Russia: oil, gas, politics
The political outcome of Russian President Vladimir Putin's visit to Japan is a topic for discussion, the effectiveness of which depends on the awareness and insight of their participants. But as far as the sphere of the economy is concerned, it is becoming more and more evident. Signed about 70 documents, the degree of their study is different, but the key ones are undoubtedly agreements on cooperation in the oil sector between Rosneft and the largest Japanese companies. And this, by the way, is also politics, big politics.

Let me remind you: according to the Russian oil giant, Rosneft and a consortium of Japanese companies in the Marubeni Corporation, Japan Oil, Gas and Metals National Corporation (JOGMEC) and INPEX CORPORATION signed an Agreement on the main terms of cooperation for joint exploration, development and production of hydrocarbons for License area in the shelf zone of Russia.

The document in the presence of Vladimir Putin and Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe was signed by the CEO of Rosneft Igor Sechin, President and CEO of Marubeni Corporation Fumiya Kokubu, JOGMEC President Keisuke Kuroki and President and CEO of INPEX CORPORATION Toshiaki Kitamura.

Rosneft believes that these agreements confirm the successful implementation of the company's strategy to attract partners to capital-intensive offshore projects. Thus, Rosneft monetizes shares in promising projects and accelerates their development. Involvement of strategic partners-leaders of the global oil and gas industry in the Russian offshore projects will also ensure effective exploration and production of hydrocarbons and share geological risks.

Following the signing of the documents, Igor Sechin said: "The signed agreement is aimed at effective monetization of oil and gas resources, including in the promising Japanese market, and is a logical continuation of the agreements between the Russian President and the Japanese Prime Minister on strengthening and developing Russian-Japanese relations."

A second document was also signed there - the Agreement on Cooperation in the Joint Feasibility Study for the project for the construction of a gas-chemical complex in the Far East of Russia. In accordance with the terms of the signed document, Rosneft, together with Japanese partners, will conduct a world-class feasibility study of a gas chemical complex using advanced Japanese technologies. The new complex will be located in the Far East of Russia. Location location will be determined on the basis of a joint study.

The construction of a gas chemical complex was selected by the Japanese government as one of the projects, the implementation of which will be carried out within the framework of Russian-Japanese cooperation. It is expected that the project will receive financial support from the Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry of Japan.

The topic of oil production in the Far East was always the most important aspect of Russian-Japanese relations. In the 20-s, the restoration of diplomatic relations between the USSR and Japan, which implied in particular the abolition of the Japanese occupation of northern Sakhalin, was preceded by the most difficult negotiations on granting Japan concessions in the Okha area.

In the end, the Soviet government decided to give the Japanese half of the oil fields for a period of 45 years. 20 January, 1925 in Beijing, the Deputy People's Commissar for Foreign Leo Karakhan and the representative of the Japanese side signed the convention "On the basic principles of the relationship between the USSR and Japan," which in fact meant the restoration of diplomatic relations. Two protocols were attached to the convention. The first was the deadline for the withdrawal of Japanese troops from Northern Sakhalin - 15 May 1925. The second - an agreement was reached on the conditions for the Japanese concern "Kita Sagaren Seki Kige Kumiai" to receive a concession for Sakhalin oil. Such a linkage.

By the way, this concession was canceled only in 1943 year, and before that was an important source of oil for Japan, which at that time was at war with the United States.
In the 60-70-ies, on the wave of Soviet-Japanese contacts, Japanese companies again showed a clear interest in Sakhalin hydrocarbons. The reasons are obvious - the need to diversify sources of oil and gas, as well as gravitation to the most geographically close oil-bearing areas. Actually thanks to large-scale projects of economic cooperation, Sakhalin-1 and Sakhalin-2 offshore projects were launched during this period, which became vivid examples of mutually beneficial cooperation, despite significant differences in the political sphere.

A new stage can be the agreements put on paper during Putin's current visit to Japan. What is their political meaning?

Russian-Japanese relations need an economic framework. These are, first of all, large-scale projects in the strategic sectors of the two countries. Only they can create the economic interdependence of Russia and Japan, which will make the political dialogue on the most sensitive issues - including the territorial one - uncontested. Hydrocarbons are a proven tool in this approach.

This is how economic cooperation with the PRC, especially in the energy sphere, develops despite all the problems. And it is not for nothing that the president of Russia, referring to the Japanese audience, constantly cites the example of establishing a strategic partnership with the PRC on the basis of large-scale projects. Enumerating achievements, Putin stressed in his conversation with Japanese journalists on the eve of the visit to Tokyo: "Therefore, we can justifiably speak, and I note with great satisfaction that with China we have really friendly relations, and in so many key directions , Without any exaggeration, attitudes that are strategic in nature. "

The task is worthwhile and Russian-Japanese relations lead to the highest possible level of trust. Without Rosneft's projects, this historic matter can not be avoided.
September 23: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Магадан
Хабаровск
Южно-­Сахалинск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Япония-Россия: нефть, газ, политика

Для российско-японских отношений строится экономический каркас

Япония-Россия: нефть, газ, политика
Политические итоги визита президента России Владимира Путина в Японию – тема для дискуссий, результативность которых зависит от меры осведомленности и прозорливости их участников.  А вот что касается сферы экономики, то тут все более наглядно. Подписано около 70 документов, степень их проработки разная, однако ключевыми, несомненно, являются соглашения по сотрудничеству в нефтяной сфере между «Роснефтью» и крупнейшими японскими компаниями. И это, кстати, тоже политика, большая политика.

Напомню: согласно сообщению российского нефтяного гиганта, «Роснефть» и консорциум японских компаний в составе Marubeni Corporation, Japan Oil, Gas and Metals National Corporation (JOGMEC) и INPEX CORPORATION подписали Соглашение об основных условиях сотрудничества в отношении совместной разведки, разработки и добычи углеводородов на лицензионном участке в шельфовой зоне России.

Документ в присутствии Владимира Путина и премьер-министра Японии Синдзо Абэ подписали Главный исполнительный директор компании «Роснефть» Игорь Сечин, Президент и Генеральный директор Marubeni Corporation Фумийа Кокубу, Президент JOGMEC Кейсуке Куроки и Президент и Генеральный директор INPEX CORPORATION Тошиаки Китамура.

В «Роснефти» полагают, что эти договоренности подтверждают успешность реализации стратегии компании по привлечению партнеров в капиталоемкие шельфовые проекты. Таким образом, «Роснефть» монетизирует доли в перспективных проектах и ускоряет их разработку. Привлечение в российские шельфовые проекты стратегических партнеров-лидеров мировой нефтегазовой отрасли также позволит обеспечить проведение эффективной разведки и добычи углеводородов и разделить геологические риски.

По итогам подписания документов Игорь Сечин заявил: «Подписанное соглашение направлено на эффективную монетизацию нефтегазовых ресурсов, в том числе на перспективном рынке Японии, и является логическим продолжением договоренностей Президента России и Премьер-министра Японии по укреплению и развитию российско-японских отношений».

Там же был подписан и второй документ – Соглашение о сотрудничестве по совместному технико-экономическому обоснованию проекта строительства газохимического комплекса на Дальнем Востоке России. В соответствии с условиями подписанного документа «Роснефть» совместно с японскими партнерами проведет ТЭО газохимического комплекса мирового класса с использованием передовых японских технологий. Новый комплекс будет располагаться на Дальнем Востоке России. Локация строительства будет определена по итогам совместного исследования.

Строительство газохимического комплекса было выбрано японским правительством как один из проектов, реализация которого будет осуществляться в рамках российско-японского сотрудничества. Ожидается, что проект получит финансовую поддержку Министерства экономики, торговли и промышленности Японии.

Тема нефтедобычи на Дальнем Востоке было всегда важнейшим аспектом российско-японских отношений. В 20-е годы восстановлению дипломатических отношений СССР и Японии, что предполагало в частности отмену японской оккупации северного Сахалина, предшествовали труднейшие переговоры по предоставлению Японии концессии в районе Охи.

В конечном итоге советское правительство решило предоставить японцам половину нефтяных полей сроком на 45 лет. 20 января 1925 года в Пекине заместитель наркома иностранных Лев Карахан совместно с представителя японской стороны подписали конвенцию «Об основных принципах взаимоотношений между СССР и Японией», что фактически означало восстановление дипломатических отношений. К конвенции прилагались два протокола. Первым устанавливался крайний срок вывода японских войск с Северного Сахалина – 15 мая 1925 г. Вторым – зафиксирована договоренность об условиях получения японским концерном «Кита Сагарен Сэкию Киге Кумиай» концессии на сахалинскую нефть. Такая увязка.

Кстати концессия эта была аннулирована только в 1943 году, а до этого была важным источником нефти для Японии, воевавшей в то время с США.
В 60-70-е годы на волне налаживания советско-японских контактов японские компании вновь проявили понятный интерес к сахалинским углеводородам. Причины очевидны – необходимость диверсификации источников нефти и газа, а также тяготение к наиболее географически близким нефтеносным районам. Собственно благодаря крупномасштабном проектам экономического взаимодействия в этот период был дан старт шельфовым проектам «Сахалин-1» и «Сахалин-2», ставшим яркими примерами взаимовыгодного сотрудничества, несмотря на существенные расхождения в политической сфере.

Новым этапом могут стать договоренности, положенные на бумаге во время нынешнего визита Путина в Японию. В чем их политический смысл?

Российско-японским отношениям нужен экономический каркас. Это – прежде всего крупномасштабные проекты в стратегических отраслях двух стран. Только они могут создать экономическую взаимозависимость России и Японии, что сделает политический диалог по самым чувствительным проблемам – включая и территориальную – безальтернативным. Углеводороды – проверенный инструмент в таком подходе.

Так развивается, несмотря на все проблемы экономическое взаимодействие с КНР, прежде всего в энергетической сфере. И не зря президент России, обращаясь к японской аудитории, постоянно приводит пример налаживания стратегического партнерства с КНР на основе крупномасштабных проектов. Перечисляя достижения, Путин подчеркнул в беседе с японскими журналистами накануне визита в Токио: «Поэтому мы с полным основанием можем говорить, и я отмечаю это с большим удовлетворением, что с Китаем у нас сложились по-настоящему дружеские отношения, и в очень многих ключевых направлениях, без всякого преувеличения, отношения, которые носят стратегический характер».

Задача стоит и российско-японские отношения привести к максимально высокому уровню доверия. Без проектов «Роснефти» в этом историческом деле не обойтись.