Notice: curl_setopt(): CURLOPT_SSL_VERIFYHOST no longer accepts the value 1, value 2 will be used instead in /home/admin/web/eastrussia.ru/public_html/gtranslate/gtranslate.php on line 101
In Sakhalin for the transport of tourists they want to revive an abandoned narrow gauge railway - EastRussia |

Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Road to Devil's Bridge

In Sakhalin for the transport of tourists they want to revive an abandoned narrow gauge railway

In Sakhalin, the investor plans to resume train traffic along the old Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk-Kholmsk line, built at the beginning of the 20 century and closed at the end of the same century. This destination promises to be one of the most popular tourist destinations in the region, but serious investments are needed to restore the infrastructure. At the initial stage, it is proposed to resume movement along the section where the railway track has still been preserved.

Road to Devil's Bridge
Photo: Pavel Usov

Japanese heritage

The railway between Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk and Kholmsky was built in the 1920's. Almost immediately after the outcome of the Russian-Japanese war 1904-1905, the south of Sakhalin withdrew to Japan, the new authorities began to actively create a network of railway communications. First, movement along the eastern and western coasts opened, after which the question arose of connecting these lines. The economy demanded that the railway link the ice-free port of Maoka (now Kholmsk) with the administrative center of Toyohara (Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk).

Laying the road was not easy. The builders had to overcome three mountain ranges and many rivers. 83 tunnels and 15 bridges were built on the 35-kilometer highway. The movement of trains here began in 1928, along the road settlements began to grow rapidly: Futomato (Chaplanovo), Osaka (Pyatirechye), Shimizu (Chistovodnoe), Nakano (Ozhidaevo).

In terms of operation, this was one of the most difficult sections on the entire island highway.

“For drivers, the Kholmsk-Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk section served as a serious school. Many curved sections of the path, steep slopes. It was especially difficult in the winter. Snow is piling under the brake pads, once it slows down, two - the snow turns into ice. You do the release of the brakes again, it should slow down, but it carries you. Imagine how you need to press the pads so that the ice melts, and they begin to slow down, as expected. This happened repeatedly on the pass section, ”said Yury Proselkov, a veteran of the Sakhalin Railway, a former head of the Vzmorye locomotive depot.


The Kholmsk - Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk line has long served for freight and passenger transportation. It began to lose its significance gradually - after the opening of the ferry with the mainland in the 1970's. When the ferry arrived on Sakhalin, the cargo was moved from the mainland to the local carriage, which was expensive. Then, having installed special jacking equipment, in Kholmsk they began to rearrange wagons with wagons designed for a narrow Sakhalin track. However, carrying mainland rolling stock through oversized Japanese tunnels was not easy.

“In order to increase the dimensions of the tunnels, as far as they could, they lowered the path, somewhere by 300 mm, but this was still not enough,” Yuri Proselkov explains.

Over time, all freight trains from Kholmsk went around - somewhat to the north, through the Ilinsk-Arsentyevka section, which connected both coasts of Sakhalin in the 1971 year. Towards the end of the 1980's, passenger trains ran mainly along the line Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk - Kholmsk. This road did not bring incomes, on the contrary, large sums of money were annually required to maintain a difficult section of the track. All this led to the fact that in 1994 the movement was closed there.

Unforgettable old

Ideas to reanimate the movement of trains along the Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk - Kholmsk section arose periodically, primarily for tourists traveling, since such an experience already existed.

“Shortly before the line was closed, there was a tourist retro train: a steam locomotive and several wagons. The Japanese came, among them were those who once served this site, ”recalls veteran railwayman Nikolai Chekrygin. - Of particular interest to tourists was the so-called Devil's Bridge - a unique denouement. The train first drove into the lower tunnel, made a semicircle and climbed out onto the hillside. Then he dived into another tunnel, crossed the bridge and went downhill, thus making a dizzying loop ”.



Now Rosa Khutor LLC, the operator of the ski resort of the same name in Sochi, decided to take up the development of a tourist route (the project was called Sakhalin Express). The company has not yet detailed their plans. In a recent interview with Interfax, the chairman of the board of directors of Rosa Khutor LLC, Sergey Bachin, said that the project is in the stage of reflection. In his opinion, Sakhalin Express has a chance to become a branded travel product by analogy with Glacier Express in Switzerland or Skyway in Alaska.

“This is an interesting historical railway with beautiful views. It goes through tunnels, passes and can become the backbone of the development of the tourism industry in the region, ”said Sergey Bachin.

To organize an end-to-end tourist route, a large investment is needed. Money is needed to rebuild the infrastructure: for the most part, the track has been dismantled, it is necessary to conduct an examination of the condition of abandoned bridges and tunnels, and also decide what rolling stock can carry traffic in this direction, since the service life of the last Sakhalin diesel locomotives of the TG-16 series operating on a narrow with a width of 1067 mm ends.

The Rosa Khutor company proposes at the initial stage to restore traffic from the Kholmsk station to the village of Chaplanovo, where the Devil's Bridge is located. There is still a route on this 24-kilometer section, and there is also a suburban connection on the six-kilometer stretch Kholmsk – Nikolaychuk.


Track for tourists

As noted in the government of the Sakhalin Oblast, great prospects are opening up for the island today in the light of passenger traffic. This year, a large amount of reconstruction of the region’s railway infrastructure to all-Russian standards was completed. Since autumn, the movement of trains along the 1520 mm track is carried out along the main length of the island highway.

Now they make a big bet on this type of transport, since it can be useful for the development of tourism in the region. Sakhalin Express could be another attraction for guests, especially from Japan.


Inbound tourism in the Sakhalin region shows a stable growth trend. In the 2018 year, the region was visited by 285 thousand tourists - compared with almost a decade ago, this is 1,6 times more. True, the growth driver is domestic tourism (in terms of the rate of increase in domestic tourist flow, Sakhalin is second only to Kamchatka among all regions of the Far Eastern Federal District), while the island has underused the potential to attract foreign tourists. In the case of the implementation of the plans included in the development strategy of the Sakhalin Region up to 2035 year, by 2024 year the tourist flow in the region may increase to 500 thousand people, and by 2035-th - up to 1,5 million.

However, for the development of tourism, not only quantitative growth is important, but also an increase in the decrease in the amount of funds that travelers leave on Sakhalin. If in 2015, about one 3500 rubles of paid services fell on one tourist in the region, then in 2018 the same indicator amounted to 2 050 rubles. To increase these numbers, it is necessary to offer guests attractive new tourist products, including such as a trip along the old railway, which serves as a kind of monument to the history of the development of the island region.

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Дорога на Чертов мост

На Сахалине для перевозок туристов хотят возродить заброшенную узкоколейку

На Сахалине инвестор планирует возобновить движение поездов по старой линии Южно-Сахалинск – Холмск, построенной в начале 20 века и закрытой в конце того же столетия. Это направление обещает стать одним из популярных туристических маршрутов в регионе, однако нужны серьезные вложении для восстановления инфраструктуры. На первоначальном этапе предлагается возобновить движение по участку, где еще сохранился железнодорожный путь.

Дорога на Чертов мост
Фото: Павел Усов

Японское наследие

Железную дорогу между Южно-Сахалинском и Холмском строили в 1920-х. Практически сразу после того, как по итогам русско-японской войны 1904-1905 годов юг Сахалина отошел Японии, новые власти начали активно создавать сеть железнодорожных сообщений. Сначала открылось движение по восточному и западному побережьям, после чего встал вопрос о соединении этих линий. Экономика требовала связать железной дорогой незамерзающий порт Маока (ныне Холмск) с административным центром Тоехара (Южно-Сахалинск).

Прокладка дороги шла непросто. Строителям предстояло преодолеть три горных хребта и множество речек. На 83-километровой трассе возвели 15 тоннелей и 35 мостов. Движение поездов здесь началось в 1928 году, вдоль дороги стали быстро расти населенные пункты: Футомато (Чапланово), Осака (Пятиречье), Симидзу (Чистоводное), Накано (Ожидаево).

С точки зрения эксплуатации это был один самых сложных участков на всей островной магистрали.

«Для машинистов участок Холмск – Южно-Сахалинск служил серьезной школой. Много кривых участков пути, крутые уклоны. Особенно сложно приходилось зимой. Под тормозные колодки набивается снег, раз притормозил, два – снег превратился в лед. Делаешь снова выпуск тормозов, должен тормозить, а тебя несет. Представьте, как нужно прижимать колодки, чтобы лед растаял, и они начали тормозить, как положено. На перевальном участке так случалось неоднократно», – рассказал ветеран Сахалинской магистрали, бывший начальник паровозного депо Взморье Юрий Проселков.


Линия Холмск – Южно-Сахалинск долго служила для грузовых и пассажирских перевозок. Она стала утрачивать свое значение постепенно – после открытия паромной переправы с материком в 1970-х. Когда на Сахалин прибывал паром, груз перемещали из материкового в местный вагон, что было затратно. Тогда, установив специальное домкратное оборудование, в Холмске стали переставлять вагонам тележки, рассчитанные на узкую сахалинскую колею. Однако везти материковый подвижной состав через негабаритные японские тоннели оказалось непросто.

«Чтобы увеличить габариты по тоннелям, в них, насколько смогли, опустили путь, где-то на 300 мм, но этого было все-таки недостаточно», – объясняет Юрий Проселков.

Со временем все грузовые составы из Холмска пошли в обход – несколько севернее, через участок Ильинск – Арсентьевка, которым соединили оба побережья Сахалина в 1971 году. К концу 1980-х по линии Южно-Сахалинск – Холмск ходили преимущественно пассажирские поезда. Доходы эта дорога не приносила, наоборот, большие средства ежегодно требовались на содержание сложного участка пути. Все это привело к тому, что в 1994-м движение там закрыли.  

 

Незабытое старое

Идеи реанимировать движение поездов по участку Южно-Сахалинск – Холмск возникали периодически, в первую очередь для путешествий туристов, поскольку подобный опыт уже был.

«Незадолго до закрытия линии там ходил туристический ретро-поезд: паровоз и несколько вагонов. Приезжали японцы, среди них были и те, кто когда-то обслуживал этот участок, – вспоминает ветеран-железнодорожник Николай Чекрыгин. – Особый интерес у туристов вызывал так называемый Чертов мост – уникальная развязка. Поезд сначала въезжал в нижний тоннель, делал полукруг и выбирался на склон сопки. Затем нырял в другой тоннель, проходил мост и шел на спуск, делая таким образом головокружительную петлю».



Сейчас за разработку туристического маршрута (проект получил название «Сахалин Экспресс») решило взяться ООО «Роза Хутор» – оператор одноименного горнолыжного курорта в Сочи. В компании пока не детализируют свои планы. В недавнем интервью «Интерфаксу» председатель совета директоров ООО «Роза Хутор» Сергей Бачин уточнил, что проект находится в стадии осмысления. По его мнению, «Сахалин Экспресс» имеет шансы стать брэндовым турпродуктом по аналогии с Glacier Express в Швейцарии или Skyway на Аляске.

«Это интересная историческая железная дорога с красивейшими видами. Она идет через туннели, перевалы и может стать хребтом развития туристической отрасли региона», – отмечает Сергей Бачин.

Чтобы организовать сквозной туристический маршрут, нужны большие инвестиции. Деньги необходимы на восстановление инфраструктуры: путь по большей части демонтирован, необходимо провести экспертизу состояния заброшенных мостов и тоннелей, а также решить, какой подвижной состав сможет выполнять перевозки на этом направлении, поскольку срок службы у последних сахалинских тепловозов серии ТГ-16, работающих на узкой колее шириной 1067 мм, завершается.

Компания «Роза Хутор» предлагает на первоначальном этапе восстановить движение от станции Холмск до поселка Чапланово, где расположен Чертов мост. На этом 24-километровом участке сохранился путь, к тому же на перегоне Холмск – Николайчук протяженностью шесть км действует пригородное сообщение.


Колея для туристов

Как отмечают в правительстве Сахалинской области, для острова сегодня открываются большие перспективы в свете пассажирских перевозок. В этом году выполнен большой объем переустройства железнодорожной инфраструктуры региона на общероссийские стандарты. С осени движение поездов по колее 1520 мм осуществляется на основном протяжении островной магистрали.

Сейчас на такой вид транспорта делают большую ставку, поскольку он может быть полезен для развития туризма в регионе. «Сахалин Экспресс» может стать еще одной достопримечательностью для гостей, особенно из Японии.


Въездной туризм в Сахалинской области показывает стабильную тенденцию роста. В 2018 году регион посетили 285 тыс. туристов – по сравнению с почти десятилетней давностью это больше в 1,6 раза. Правда, драйвером роста выступает внутренний туризм (по темпам увеличения внутреннего турпотока Сахалин среди всех регионов ДФО уступает только Камчатке), в то время как на острове недоиспользован потенциал для привлечения иностранных туристов. В случае реализации планов, вошедших в стратегию развития Сахалинской области до 2035 год, к 2024 году турпоток в регионе может увеличиться до 500 тыс. человек, а к 2035-му – до 1,5 млн.

Однако для развития туризма важен не только количественный рост, а еще и повышение снижение объема средств, которые путешественники оставляют на Сахалине. Если в 2015 году на одного туриста в регионе приходилось порядка 3500 рублей платных услуг, то в 2018-м этот же показатель составил 2 050 руб. Чтобы увеличивать эти цифры, необходимо предлагать гостям новые привлекательные турпродукты, в том числе такие, как поездка по старой железной дороге, служащей своеобразным памятником истории освоения островного региона.