Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

The surplus of ports and the shortage of railways

In the medium term, the export potential of the ports of the Far East will be in demand. But if RZD does not accelerate with the expansion of railway approaches, the possibilities of the port infrastructure will remain uncovered

The surplus of ports and the shortage of railways
Editorial EastRussia has repeatedly turned to the topic of growth in the port capacities of the Far East. The largest stevedores continue to build up their capabilities: thus, in 2017, the third stage of Vostochny Port JSC will be put into operation. A similar project in the same port is implemented by the "Sum" group; Earlier it was announced that the terminal for 20 million tons of coal will be earned from 2018 year. Obviously, the supply of Russian coal to the east will continue to grow. Will the ports handle them?

- The development of the port complex in the Russian Far East as a whole responds to the growth of export cargo flows of coal, which has largely concentrated in the direction of the countries of the Asia-Pacific region (APR), - comments Nadezhda Malysheva, Director for Development of the PortNews IAA. - As a result of 2015, the Russian seaports of the Far Eastern Basin provided transshipment of about 70 million tons of coal, increasing this figure by 2014% compared to 6 year, and doubling for the last 5 years. In the first half of the year 2016 this trend was preserved: coal handling in the Far East seaports increased by 18%.

A further increase in the shipment of export coal through seaports is impossible without the introduction of new port capacities. At present, several such projects have been announced, but not all of them, firstly, will be brought to the launch, and, secondly, not all will be provided with cargo.

The construction of a new specialized high-tech port takes an average of five years. At the same time, the volume of investments will be significant - about 20-25 million dollars for 1 million tons of transshipment facilities. This is in addition to the time and money spent on designing and approving the project. However, port investors have begun to implement a number of coal infrastructure projects in the Far East.

The most successful of them will be the third stage of JSC "East Port" (Primorsky Krai), which is put into operation the very first - in 2017 year. This project will not only collect all the additional export volumes of coal that gravitate towards the ports of Primorye, but also choose the available Transsib capacities, which are being reconstructed, but not in proportion to all the stevedoring projects announced in the region. The statement of JSC "East Port" about the transshipment of 39 million tons of coal for export in 2019 is very realistic.

Following in the “demand rating” of the new port infrastructure for coal transshipment, it is worth mentioning three new coal complexes in the port of Vanino (Khabarovsk Territory) with a total volume of more than 40 million tons. These projects have their own cargo base and, to a large extent, are provided by the already increased capacity of BAM.

The growth in demand for sea transshipment of Russian coal in the ports of the Far East is likely to continue in the medium term. But, as in any market, soon satiety is possible here. Therefore, it can be predicted that after 2020 there will be a surplus of port coal infrastructure in the region with a significant deficit in the capacity of railways.
May 18: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Профицит портов и дефицит железных дорог

В среднесрочной перспективе экспортный потенциал портов Дальнего Востока будет востребован. Но если РЖД не ускорится с расширением железнодорожных подходов, то возможности портовой инфраструктуры останутся не раскрытыми

Профицит портов и дефицит железных дорог

Надежда Малышева

Директор по развитию ИАА «ПортНьюс»
Редакция EastRussia не раз обращалась к теме роста портовых мощностей Дальнего Востока. Крупнейшие стивидоры продолжают наращивать свои возможности: так, в 2017 году будет запущена в эксплуатацию третья очередь АО «Восточный порт». Аналогичный проект в том же порту реализуют группа «Сумма»; ранее заявлялось, что терминал на 20 млн тонн угля заработает с 2018 года. Очевидно, поставки российского угля в восточном направлении будут расти и дальше. Справятся ли с ними порты?

– Развитие портового комплекса на Дальнем Востоке России в целом отвечает росту экспортных грузопотоков угля, который в значительной мере сконцентрировался в направлении стран Азиатско-Тихоокеанского региона (АТР), – комментирует Надежда Малышева, директор по развитию ИАА «ПортНьюс». – По итогам 2015 года российские морские порты Дальневосточного бассейна обеспечили перевалку около 70 млн тонн угля, увеличив этот показатель по сравнению с 2014 годом на 6%, а за последние 5 лет – вдвое. В первом полугодии 2016 года этот тренд сохранился: перевалка угля в морских портах Дальнего Востока выросла на 18%.

Дальнейший прирост отгрузки экспортного угля через морские порты невозможен без ввода новых портовых мощностей. В настоящее время заявлено несколько таких проектов, однако не все они, во-первых, будут доведены до запуска, а, во-вторых, не все окажутся обеспечены грузами.

Строительство нового специализированного высоктехнологичного порта занимает в среднем пять лет. При этом объем инвестиций потребуется значительный – порядка 20-25 млн долларов на 1 млн тонн перевалочных мощностей. Это помимо денежных и временных затрат на проектирование и согласование проекта. Однако портовые инвесторы приступили к реализации ряда угольных инфраструктурных проектов на Дальнем Востоке.

Наиболее успешным из них станет Третья очередь АО «Восточный Порт» (Приморский край), которая вводится в эксплуатацию самой первой – в 2017 году. Этот проект не только соберет все дополнительные экспортные объемы угля, тяготеющие к портам Приморья, но и выберет имеющиеся пропускные способности Транссиба, реконструкция которого ведется, однако не пропорционально всем заявленным в регионе стивидорным проектам. Заявление АО «Восточный Порт» о перевалке 39 млн тонн угля на экспорт в 2019 году представляется весьма реалистичным.

Следом в «рейтинге востребованности» новой портовой инфраструктуры для перевалки угля стоит назвать три новых угольных комплекса в порту Ванино (Хабаровский край) совокупным объемом более 40 млн тонн. Эти проекты имеют свою грузовую базу и, в значительной мере, обеспечены уже возросшей пропускной способностью БАМа.

Рост спроса на морскую перевалку российского угля в портах Дальнего Востока, скорее всего, сохранится в среднесрочной перспективе. Но, как на любом рынке, здесь возможно скорое пресыщение. Поэтому можно прогнозировать, что после 2020 года в регионе появится профицит портовой угольной инфраструктуры  при значительном дефиците пропускной способности железных дорог.