Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Art Traveling: Travel the world with a saw in your backpack

Khabarovsk sculptor Vadim Paulin went on a creative tour in three countries

This summer and autumn masters are waiting for international competitions in Germany, Finland and Turkey. In most cases, the gold and silver finalist of world competitions, who in Khabarovsk is known as the author of “Flies with a Five-Thousand-Day Bills”, will be the only master from Russia. Vadim Paulin told EastRussia how to fall in love with foreign organizers and travel for free, whether it is worth fighting vandalism and what surprised the most in the “import” mentality for 12 competitive years.

Art Traveling: Travel the world with a saw in your backpack
Photo: Baba Yaga. Vadim Polina's work in a sand sculpture competition in Portugal, 2019
TREE, TREE, ICE
Since July 17, Vadim Polin has already cut off all the excess from hard as a rock chestnut at the 26-th International Symposium of Wooden Sculpture in Turkish Gölcük (26th International Degirmendere Zuhtu Muridoglu Wooden Sculpture Symposium, Gölcük). There is nobody to talk in Russian to the master: this year local sculptors participate in the Symposium, there are also Italians and Iranians. All sculpt on the free theme. Khabarovsk resident saw a weighty hare in a log, who managed to escape from the matrix.

IMG_20190728_095556_753.jpg
Photo: "Two Worlds". Work on 26 International Wooden Sculpture Symposium,Golcuk, Turkey.

“My work is called“ Two Worlds ”. Today’s world is so immersed in digital reality that we learn more about actual reality from digital reality, ”explains the sculptor. “For example, if you type“ hare ”on the Internet, the screen will not have that wild hare that I saw in my childhood. But at the same time, if I want to make a sculpture of a hare, then I am guided by digital technologies: I look at anatomy, animal hair, and add dynamics. Unlike contests, where masters carve out sculptures to race, trying to impress the jury, and the award in the final goes to three, sculptors work more thoughtfully at the Symposia, and all participants get paid, ”adds Vadim Polin.

The host party pays the road, food and accommodation of the sculptors. Their works will remain on the streets of Golcuk as a decoration of the urban environment. Vadim's next goal is Finland. From 7 to 13 in August, a week of Arctic art (Arctic Art Week 2019, Kakslauttanen) will be held in Kakslauttanen in three areas: painting, wood paneling and sculpture. 20 sculptors from 12 countries will take part in the competition. Masters will be issued on the trunk length 180 cm, allowed to use glue and nails - within reasonable limits.

“In Finland, I will make a crow-traveler. This is probably my prototype, one essence of a crow, another flies out of it, and the third. I invented a sculpture with a height of 3 meters, it will be difficult to saw a log and make installation. Each cut will be part of the sculpture, ”says Vadim. “In general, on this trip I have a complicated logistics: I am going to Turkey, from Turkey I am flying to Moscow, from Moscow to Murmansk, from Murmansk by international taxi to Kakslauttanen, and from there by plane to the German city of Rostock.”

The birth of Baikal 2008, 1 place with Ivan. festival Baikal nerpa.jpg
Photo: "Birth of Baikal". The work of Vadim Polina, Ivan Loktyukhin and Lyubov Mamayevskaya at the competition "Crystal Seal-2008", I place


In Germany, Vadim Polin will work in tandem with Ivan Loktyukhin, an ex-Khabarovsk resident who has moved to the Murmansk region. They will go to the ice sculpture competition in Rostock for the fifth time. Russia in Germany will be represented by another master - Vladimir Barsukov. Also Khabarovsk.

“In Germany we will have the theme of“ Asia ”, we are Asians. 20 sculptors will present this trend, and everyone will have their own Asia: Asia of Thailand, Asia of Japan, and so on. We will make the Nanai three-world world: a man sailing between worlds, between reality and sleep. There will be a seven, a stylized Nanay on it, a boat floating in the air from the lower world to the upper one, ”shared our interlocutor.

In all cases, the carver won the “vouchers” abroad by sending his sketches in response to an invitation to participate. The bigger the event, the harder the selection: there is a 30 and 100 people in place.

In February and March, the 2020 creative duo set their sights on the most prestigious ice festival, Ice Alaska. Vadim Polin and Ivan Loktyukhin have already taken silver there. Also in their piggy bank is “gold” at the Russian Cup in Perm in 2016, and the first places of several European ice competitions, for example, in Helsinki in 2016. The most fruitful for awards for the masters working in 4 hands was the 2008 year, when Vadim and Ivan for the year took the 5 first places in Russian competitions.

in the darkness of Alaska 2017 sculpture dream spirit.jpg

Photo: "Sleep of the Spirit". The work of Vadim Polina, Ivan Loktyukhin, Eduard Ponomarenko and Sergey Zaplatin at the festival “Ice Alaska-2017”, II place.

How to “hook” the organizers to start inviting them to national and international competitions? Vadim's recipe for beginning sculptors is to show more zeal at low-budget or free city events, feel free to promote your work in social networks, not to be “wooden”. Sooner or later notice. Professional education and skills - Vadim graduated from the faculty of DPI of the Khabarovsk College of Art and worked in the sculptural workshop - they help to get a hand and also increase the chances of “getting into the clip”.

"ICEERS" PLANETS have nothing to share "
Over the 12 years, Vadim Polin traveled to 10 countries. He says Khabarovsk is a famous city in terms of sculpture in the world. The image of one of the ice capitals of Russia, Khabarovsk, has earned international ice competitions. In addition, the figures of wood and ice - the usual decoration for local parks and squares.

“To take a random international ice festival in Russia, there will be, let's say, 12 teams, including 3 foreign, and 2 from Khabarovsk. Or Germany, where sculptors from all over the world came to, and there a couple of people will certainly come from Khabarovsk! ”- shares the art-guest performer. “And they are treated like a sculptor, and not like a Russian, a Mongol, or a black one. We have a saying in our environment: cities, countries change, and the muzzles, forgive, are the same. There are not so many travel sculptors and everyone knows each other. I slowly learn English, the minimum necessary, how to find my way, and I already know how to ask for my salary, ”the master smiles.

The sculptor of each country has his own handwriting, Vadim Pauline notes. And although in recent years much has changed, it is still possible to unravel some national features in the creation.

“Before, Russians were easy to recognize by realism. For example, we made a fabulous story, but it was realistic. Europeans have always tried to create some kind of abstraction. The Americans went into action, but they are famous for it and now, the main thing is not what the sculpture is about, but how, on what does it stand, why does it not fall ?! Wow effect is important. An American can also work closely with a photo and make it exactly as in the photo, and this is also cool, ”the author shares.

“We have our own cultural codes, there is a place for fun,” adds Vadim. "For example, the sculpture" Mosquito abducting a reindeer. " I did it in Yar-Sale, it is near Salekhard. There are huge mosquitoes, and little deer, really, they have deer, like dogs! ”

Sculpture abduction of a deer by the northern chamber in Yakutia. Vadim Polin.jpg
Photo: "Mosquito abducting a reindeer." Vadim Polina's workno contest, Yar-sal.

The fact that the inhabitants of the frosty countries are the best ice craftsmen is a delusion, the sculptor is sure. For example, in warm Thailand and Cambodia, ice sculpture is taught in the institutes by the chefs: this skill is required for a beautiful table setting. This practice is in some American universities, because among the participants it is often possible to meet those who are equally adept at sawing and ladle.

“There is such a story about climate and difference of perception. Once at the Russian Cup in Perm masters from Thailand worked. The temperature on the street was -3 degrees the whole festival, thaw. Generally impossible to work! The ice is flowing, not glued, we walk in rubber boots, sweaty feet. We finished the sculptures, they have not the same color, in general, namuchalis. And here these Thais give Russian interviews: “You know, it was very cold, but we suffered and worked,” recalls the sculptor.



The peculiarity of Russia - in raw materials for future sculptures. It is customary in our country not to waste time on trifles and to install large ice blocks 2х2 m, while in other countries they are crushed to lifting pieces. The finished sculpture, like a puzzle, is glued into a homogeneous whole of the fragments on "liquid ice" (water in the slang of ice sculptors - East Russia). Abroad, the entire competitive ice is artificial, most often food, cocktail ice that is frozen in refrigerators. In Russia, it is customary to cut ice from natural bodies of water. In air bubbles, blades of grass and small fish have their own charm, but, according to the masters, it is more difficult to work with such material.

Vandalism, with which street artists and sculptors of all countries are familiar to different degrees, is easier to warn than to write out fines, the sculptor believes.

“The master must take into account where he works, with which contingent. If he does a tender, beautiful and graceful job in a dysfunctional area, it is in vain. The man-spectator does not think, they say, behold, I am a vandal, I will go and I shall obgazu, no! Man reaches for art. Out of pure love, he tries to climb and take a picture so that everyone can see it. And the author must create a work that can withstand the curiosity of a person! My colleague Ivan Loktyukhin had a tactic from the very beginning: the bottom of the figure is not killed, strong, and some kind of openwork mulk is put up. Specially corners were hewn so that it was impossible to climb. In Khabarovsk, a lot of such work, Mucha-tsokotuha on this principle is made. You can climb on it, stand up, make a selfie, and by the fly itself a healthy person will not climb, ”said Vadim Paulin.

Snowflake Perm 1 place on the Cup of Russia. 2014.jpg
Photo: "Native land". Rabot Vadim Polina and Ivan Loktyukhin at the "Cup of Russia" in Perm, 2011 g, I a place

TOYS IN ANOTHER'S CHUMBER
In addition to immersion in the cultural environment, each trip replenishes the luggage of everyday life impressions of the Khabarovsk sculptor. Almost always there is a day of sightseeing and free evenings. It would be time - one could become a travel blogger, broadcast what was remembered abroad, says Vadim Polin. We assume a start:

“Portugal really liked the simplicity and hospitality of the people, after a couple of weeks you become your board, and the language barrier is not a hindrance. We communicated in broken English.

In America, my favorite city is Los Angeles, although, I confess, I was in America 5 again, but I did not understand this country. For me, America is new every time, ”continues Pauline. “For example, in Russia they ask: how much does your work cost? You answer: well, let's think, think about how much it costs. And in America, if you did not immediately name the price tag, it is perceived as incompetence. You have to say clearly, but the person has already decided whether he needs it or not. In addition, there are long distances, and people are accustomed to thinking cars. They say how many minutes by car, but no one will say in kilometers. Once we needed to shop, we called, asked, take us. We drove, purchased and returned. And only on 5 year, we learned that the store is in 15 minutes on foot! For them, it’s not that unusual to walk; they could not even explain the way. When we asked why ride, they replied: “It's far away!” Walking is considered indecent. An acquaintance from Russia somehow went on her own two feet, and the baker told her: “Please, do not dishonor me, I will bring you bread home!”

When I first came to Chinese Harbin, I was surprised a lot, ”the master continues. “For example, a different attitude to food. In our country, a portion is imposed on a person, such as to eat at a time, and in China it is considered decent to fail, and such tables are huge. Eat so much physically impossible. In personal contact with the Chinese, it is very difficult to get the truth, for example, in the question, does my sculpture suit you or not? In China, everyone will tell you that you have a good sculpture, and everything, you will not understand your faults. The relationship between a man and a woman is incomprehensible to us there. For example, in a restaurant you cannot invite a girl to dance to a slow dance - it’s basically impossible, they won’t understand you.

In Germany, people are trapped in the norms of social behavior, ”Vadim switches to Europe. “Ecology of the environment, for example. It is dark all the time, the light is dim, it is dim everywhere in hotels, you cannot read a book in the evening, you have to do it during the day. You can not turn on the light bulb, the store simply can not buy the one that shines brightly. In crowded places, even children do not cry. The child opens his mouth, his tears flow, but he cries in a whisper. This is a rule of social behavior, it is impossible to make noise. If you go somewhere in the village, there is a dead silence. If you make noise, you have leverage, this is the police, and the society itself. Everyone will be chicking. On the one hand, it’s good that there is no rubbish on the streets, this is not the police with a machine gun running after people, people themselves are watching where someone threw the candy wrapper. If you are past an urn, a 5 person will come up to you and say that you should go to an urn, and they will not calm down until you correct it. Once I had to go on foot, and I got lost and walked along the road, and each car slowed down neatly, honked, and drove on. It turned out that I was walking in the wrong place, and people did not care. Then he realized that in 20 meters there is a footpath.

Abroad, the higher the salary, the higher the prices in the stores, ”remarks the Khabarovsk sculptor. “The highest wages are in Norway. Once we arrived at the ice competition, we were settled in the apartment of an ordinary private house. We plunged on Wednesday. I went to the store, I had 100 NOK. Went, walked, and came out with one pack of noodles in a soft package. More than anything did not dare to spend! The ratio to our prices was 1: 10. The same goes for housing. Norway asked: "What is your plot?" And I have a plot in Khabarovsk 22 weave. They looked strange and answered: “In principle, such land cannot be bought for any money!” - although there is a small population density, and the houses are far from each other. The funny thing is that they have large windows, but they do not hang curtains, because they have not taken to look through the windows. My aphorism was born: they do not hang curtains so that passersby do not look in the windows. Their bedrooms are mainly on the second floor. There are apartment buildings, but more private. In Norway there is a law that you can put up a tent on any land for one night, this is left from the time of the Vikings. You can travel comfortably with a tent and a bicycle. I also have a habit of swimming in any pond where there is no ice. And Norwegians have such a thing, do not ask what you want to do and why. Somehow we sit, we have lunch, and next is the fjords, the deep sea. I say I want to swim. Immediately to me: “Now!” In all seriousness, the waiter comes, gives a towel. And we are in a cafe! I went, bathed, dried, gave. It is their tolerance: if a person does something, and does not step on your heels, does not harm, you do not climb into his soul with questions. It seems to me a great tradition.

nutcracker 2019 Moscow gorky park decoration.jpg
Photo: The Nutcracker. Registration Gorky Park in Moscow, 2019

I think people are the same everywhere, around the globe, but society and its norms are different, ”sums up the sculptor. “From each trip I return a little different person and look at everything with new eyes. No longer as a Khabarovsk citizen, but as a man of the world. ”

All photos in the material provided by Vadim Polin.

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Арт-тревелинг: объездить мир с пилой в рюкзаке

Хабаровский скульптор Вадим Полин отправился на творческие гастроли в три страны

Этим летом и осенью мастера ждут на международных конкурсах в Германии, Финляндии и Турции. В большинстве случаев золотой и серебряный финалист мировых состязаний, которого в Хабаровске знают как автора «Мухи с пятитысячной купюрой», будет единственным мастером из России. Вадим Полин рассказал EastRussia, как влюбить в себя иностранных организаторов и путешествовать бесплатно, стоит ли бороться с вандализмом и что в «импортном» менталитете за 12 конкурсных лет удивило больше всего.

Арт-тревелинг: объездить мир с пилой в рюкзаке
Фото: "Баба Яга". Работа Вадима Полина на конкурсе песчаной скульптуры в Португалии, 2019 г.
ДЕРЕВО, ДЕРЕВО, ЛЁД
С 17 июля Вадим Полин уже отсекает всё лишнее от твердого, как камень, каштана на 26-ом Международном Симпозиуме деревянной скульптуры в турецком Гёльджюке (26th International Degirmendere Zuhtu Muridoglu Wooden Sculpture Symposium, Gölcük). Поговорить по-русски мастеру не с кем: в этом году в Симпозиуме участвуют местные скульпторы, также есть итальянцы и иранцы. Все ваяют на вольную тему. Хабаровчанин разглядел в бревне увесистого зайца, которому удалось сбежать из матрицы.

IMG_20190728_095556_753.jpg
Фото: "Два мира". Работа на 26-ом Международном Симпозиуме деревянной скульптуры, г.Гёльджюк, Турция.

«Моя работа называется «Два мира». Сегодняшний мир настолько погружен в цифровую реальность, что о фактической реальности мы больше узнаем из реальности цифровой», – объясняет скульптор. «Например, если набрать «заяц» в интернете, на экране будет не тот дикий заяц, которого я видел в детстве. Но при этом, если я хочу сделать скульптуру зайца, то ориентируюсь на цифровые технологии: смотрю анатомию, шерсть животного, и добавляю динамику. В отличие от конкурсов, где мастера вырезают скульптуры наперегонки, пытаясь впечатлить жюри, а награда в финале достается троим, на Симпозиумах скульпторы работают более вдумчиво, и зарплату получают все участники», – добавляет Вадим Полин.

Принимающая сторона оплачивает дорогу, питание и проживание скульпторов. Их работы останутся на улицах Гёльджука как украшение городской среды. Следующая цель Вадима – Финляндия. С 7 по 13 августа в Какслауттанене пройдет неделя арктического искусства (Arctic Art Week 2019, Kakslauttanen) по трем направлениям: живопись, деревянное панно и скульптура. В состязании поучаствуют 20 скульпторов из 12 стран. Мастерам выдадут по стволу длиной 180 см, разрешат использовать клей и гвозди – в разумных пределах.

«В Финляндии я буду делать ворона-путешественника. Это, наверное, мой прототип, одна сущность ворона, из нее вылетает другая, и третья. Я придумал скульптуру высотой 3 метра, буду сложно распиливать бревно и делать монтаж. Каждый спил будет частью скульптуры», – рассказывает Вадим. «Вообще в этой поездке у меня получается сложная логистика: я еду в Турцию, из Турции лечу в Москву, из Москвы – в Мурманск, из Мурманска на международном такси в Какслауттанен, а уже оттуда самолетом в немецкий город Росток».

рождение байкала 2008, 1 место с иваном. фестиваль байкальская нерпа.jpg
Фото: "Рождение Байкала". Работа Вадима Полина, Ивана Локтюхина и Любови Мамаевской на конкурсе "Хрустальная нерпа-2008", I место


В Германии Вадим Полин будет работать в паре с Иваном Локтюхиным – экс-хабаровчанином, переехавшем в Мурманскую область. На конкурс ледовой скульптуры в Росток они поедут в пятый раз. Россию в Германии будет представлять еще один мастер – Владимир Барсуков. Тоже хабаровчанин.

«В Германии у нас будет тема «Азия», мы же – азиаты. Это направление представят 20 скульпторов, и у каждого будет Азия своя: Азия Таиланда, Азия Японии и так далее. Мы сделаем нанайское трехмирье: человека, проплывающего между мирами, между явью и сном. Там будут сэвэн, на нем стилизованный нанаец, лодка плывет по воздуху из нижнего мира в верхний», – поделился наш собеседник.

Во всех случаях заграничные «путёвки» резчик выиграл, отправив свои эскизы в ответ на приглашение участвовать. Чем событие масштабнее, тем жёстче отбор: бывает и 30, и 100 человек на место.

В феврале-марте 2020 творческий дуэт нацелился на самый престижный ледовый фестиваль «Ice Alaska». Вадим Полин и Иван Локтюхин уже дважды брали там «серебро». Также в их копилке «золото» на кубке России в Перми в 2016-ом, и первые места нескольких европейских ледовых состязаний, например, в Хельсинки в 2016-ом. Самым урожайным на награды для мастеров, работающих в 4 руки, стал 2008 год, когда Вадим и Иван за год заняли 5 первых мест на российских конкурсах.

в темноте аляска 2017 скульптура сон духа.jpg

Фото: "Сон духа". Работа Вадима Полина, Ивана Локтюхина, Эдуарда Пономаренко и Сергея Заплатина на фестивале «Ice Alaska-2017», II место. 

Как «зацепить» организаторов, чтобы начали приглашать на всероссийские и международные конкурсы? Рецепт Вадима для начинающих скульпторов – проявлять больше рвения на низкобюджетных или бесплатных городских мероприятиях, не стесняться пиарить свои работы в соцсетях, не быть «деревянным». Рано или поздно заметят. Профессиональное образование и навыки – Вадим оканчивал факультет ДПИ хабаровского Колледжа искусств и работал в скульптурном цеху – помогают набить руку и также увеличивают шансы «попасть в обойму».

«ЛЕДОЖНИКАМ» ПЛАНЕТЫ НЕЧЕГО ДЕЛИТЬ»
За 12 лет Вадим Полин объехал 10 стран. Говорит, Хабаровск – известный город в плане скульптуры в мире. Имидж одной из ледовых столиц России Хабаровск заработал международными ледовыми конкурсами. Кроме того, фигуры из дерева и льда – привычная декорация для местных парков и площадей.

«Взять рандомный международный фестиваль льда в России, там будет, скажем, 12 команд, из них 3 иностранных, и 2 – из Хабаровска. Или Германия, куда съехались скульпторы со всего мира, так и там пара человек непременно будет из Хабаровска!» – делится арт-гастролер. «И там относятся как к скульптору, а не как к русскому, монголу, или черному. У нас в среде есть поговорка: меняются города, страны, а морды, простите, одни и те же. Скульпторов-путешественников не так много и все друг друга знают. Я потихоньку учу английский, необходимый минимум, как найти дорогу, и как попросить свою зарплату, уже знаю», – улыбается мастер.

У скульптора каждой страны свой почерк, отмечает Вадим Полин. И хотя в последние годы многое поменялось, но разгадать в творении кое-какие национальные черты всё же можно.

«Раньше русских было легко узнать по реализму. Например, мы делали сказочный сюжет, но он был реалистичным. Европейцы всегда старались создать какую-то абстракцию. Американцы уходили в экшн, но они славятся этим и сейчас, главное, не о чем скульптура, а как, на чём она держится, почему не падает?! Вау-эффект это важно. Американец может также плотно работать с фотографией и сделать в точности, как на фотографии, и это тоже круто», – делится автор.

«У нас свои культурные коды, находится место и приколам», – добавляет Вадим. «Например, скульптура «Комар, похищающий северного оленя». Я делал ее в Яр-Сале, это возле Салехарда. Там огромные комары, и маленькие олени, реально, у них олени, как собаки!».

Скульптура похищение оленя северным камором в Якутии. Вадим Полин.jpg
Фото: "Комар, похищающий северного оленя". Работа Вадима Полина вне конкурса, Яр-Сала. 

То, что жители морозных стран – лучшие ледовых дел мастера – заблуждение, уверен скульптор. Например, в теплых Таиланде и Камбодже ледовая скульптура преподается в институтах у поваров: этот навык обязателен для красивого оформления стола. Подобная практика есть в некоторых американских вузах, потому среди участников нередко можно встретить тех, кто одинаково ловко владеет пилой и поварешкой.

«Про климат и разницу восприятия есть такая история. Как-то на кубке России в Перми работали мастера из Таиланда. Температура на улице была -3 градуса весь фестиваль, оттепель. Вообще работать невозможно! Лед течет, не клеится, мы ходим в резиновых сапогах, ноги потные. Доделали мы скульптуры, у них и цвет не тот, в общем, намучались. И тут эти тайцы дают русским интервью: «Вы знаете, было очень холодно, но мы терпели и работали», - вспоминает скульптор.



Особенность России – в сырье для будущих скульптур. У нас принято не мелочиться и ставить крупные ледовые блоки 2х2 м, а в других странах их дробят до подъемных кусков. Готовая скульптура, подобно паззлу, клеится в однородное целое из фрагментов на «жидкий лёд» (вода на сленге ледовых скульпторов – East Russia). За рубежом весь конкурсный лёд – искусственный, чаще всего, пищевой, коктейльный, который намораживают на хладокомбинатах. В России лёд принято выпиливать из естественных водоемов. В пузырьках воздуха, травинках и мелких рыбках есть свой шарм, но работать с таким материалом, по признанию мастеров, труднее.

Вандализм, с которым в разной степени знакомы уличные художники и скульпторы всех стран, проще предупредить, чем потом выписывать штрафы, считает скульптор.

«Мастер должен учитывать, где он работает, с каким контингентом. Если он делает в неблагополучном районе нежную, красивую и изящную работу, это он зря. Человек-зритель не думает, мол, вот, я вандал, пойду и обгажу, нет! Человек тянется к искусству. Он из чистой любви пытается залезть и сфотографироваться, чтобы все это видели. И автор должен создавать работу, способную выдерживать любопытство человека! У нас с коллегой Иваном Локтюхиным с самого начала была тактика: низ фигуры делается не убиваемым, прочным, а наверх ставится какая-нибудь ажурная мулька. Специально углы обтесывали, чтобы нельзя было залезть. В Хабаровске много таких работ, Муха-цокотуха по такому принципу сделана. На нее можно залезть, встать, сделать сэлфи, а к самой мухе здоровый на голову человек не полезет», - уверен Вадим Полин.

снежинка пермь 1 место на кубке россии. 2014.jpg
Фото: "Родной край". Работа Вадима Полина и Ивана Локтюхина на "Кубке России" в Перми, 2011 г, I место
  
ИГРУШКИ В ЧУЖОЙ ИЗБУШКЕ
Кроме погружения в культурную среду, каждая поездка пополняет багаж бытовых жизненных впечатлений хабаровского скульптора. Почти всегда есть день на экскурсию и свободные вечера. Было бы время – можно было бы стать еще и тревел-блогером, транслировать то, что запомнилось заграницей, говорит Вадим Полин. Будем считать, начало положено:

«Португалия очень понравилась простодушием и гостеприимством людей, там через пару недель ты становишься своим в доску, и языковой барьер – не помеха. Мы общались на ломанном английском.

В Америке мой любимый город – Лос-Анжелес, хотя, признаюсь, в Америке я был 5 раз, но так и не понял эту страну. Для меня Америка каждый раз новая» - продолжает Полин. «Например, в России спрашивают: сколько стоит твоя работа? Ты отвечаешь: ну давайте подумаем, придумаем, сколько стоит. А в Америке, если ты сразу не назвал ценник, это воспринимается как некомпетентность. Ты должен сказать четко, а человек уже решит, нужно это ему или нет. Кроме того, там большие расстояния, и люди привыкли мыслить автомобилями. Говорят, сколько минут на машине, но никто не скажет в километрах. Однажды нам было нужно в магазин, мы звонили, просили, отвезите нас. Ехали, закупались и возвращались назад. И только на 5-й год мы узнали, что магазин находится в 15 минутах пешком! Для них не то, что несвойственно ходить, они даже не могли объяснить дорогу. Когда мы спросили, зачем ездить, они ответили: «Это же далеко!» Ходить пешком считается неприлично. Знакомая из России как-то пошла на своих двоих, а булочник ей говорит: «Вы, пожалуйста, меня не позорьте, я вам буду привозить хлеб домой!»

Когда я впервые попал в китайский Харбин, меня многое удивило», – продолжает мастер. «Например, другое отношение к еде. У нас человеку накладывают порцию, такую, чтобы съесть за раз, а в Китае считается приличным недоесть, и такие столы крутящиеся огромные. Съесть столько невозможно физически. В личном общении от китайцев очень сложно добиться правды, например, в вопросе, устраивает вас моя скульптура или нет? В Китае тебе каждый скажет, что у тебя хорошая скульптура, и всё, своих недочетов ты не поймешь. Отношения между мужчиной и женщиной там для нас непонятные. Например, в ресторане девушку нельзя пригласить потанцевать на медленный танец, – это в принципе невозможно, тебя не поймут.

В Германии человек зажат нормами общественного поведения», – переключается на Европу Вадим. «Экология окружающей среды, например. Там все время темно, свет тусклый, в гостиницах везде тускло, ты не можешь вечером почитать книжку, это нужно делать днём. Ты не можешь включить лампочку, в магазине просто не купишь ту, что светит ярко. В людных местах даже дети не плачут. Ребенок открывает рот, у него слезы текут, но плачет он шепотом. Это правило общественного поведения, нельзя шуметь. Если идешь где-то в деревне, там мертвая тишина. Если будешь шуметь, на тебя есть рычаги давления, это и полиция, и само общество. Все будут шикать. С одной стороны, хорошо, что на улицах нет мусора, это не полиция с автоматом бегает за людьми, люди сами следят, куда кто кинул фантик. Если мимо урны, к тебе 5 человек подойдет и скажет, что надо в урну, и не успокоятся, пока ты не исправишься. Однажды мне пришлось пешком идти, и я заблудился и шел вдоль трассы, и каждая машина аккуратненько притормаживала, сигналила, и ехала дальше. Оказалось, я шел в неположенном месте, и людям было не всё равно. Потом сообразил, что в метрах 20 есть пешеходная дорожка.

За рубежом, чем выше зарплаты, тем выше цены в магазинах», – замечает хабаровский скульптор. «Самые высокие зарплаты – в Норвегии. Однажды мы приехали на ледовый конкурс, нас поселили в квартире обыкновенного частного дома. Мы окунулись в среду. Я пошел в магазин, у меня было 100 норвежских крон. Пошел, походил, и вышел с одной пачкой лапши в мягкой упаковке. Больше ни на что не решился потратиться! Соотношение к нашим ценам было 1:10. То же касается жилья. Норвеги спрашивали: «Какой у тебя участок?» А у меня участок в Хабаровске 22 сотки. Они смотрели странно и отвечали: «Здесь такую землю в принципе нельзя купить за любые деньги!», – хотя там маленькая плотность населения, и дома друг от друга находятся далеко. Самое забавное, что у них большие окна, но они не вешают штор, потому что у них не принято заглядывать в окна. У меня афоризм родился: они не вешают шторы, чтобы прохожие в окна не заглядывали. Спальни у них находятся, в основном, на втором этаже. Есть многоквартирные дома, но больше частные. В Норвегии есть закон, что ты можешь поставить палатку на любой земле на одну ночь, это со времен викингов осталось. С палаткой и велосипедом можно комфортно путешествовать. Еще у меня есть привычка купаться в любом водоеме, где нет льда. А у норвегов такая фишка, не спрашивать, что ты хочешь сделать и зачем. Как-то сидим, обедаем, а рядом – фьорды, глубокое море. Я говорю, хочу искупаться. Мне сразу: «Сейчас!» На полном серьезе приходит официант, дает полотенце. А мы находимся в кафе! Я пошел, искупался, вытерся, отдал. Это их толерантность: если человек что-то делает, и не наступает тебе на пятки, не вредит, – ты к нему не лезешь в душу с расспросами. Мне кажется, прекрасная традиция.

щелкунчик 2019 г москва парк горького оформление.jpg
Фото: "Щелкунчик". Оформление Парка им.Горького в Москве, 2019 г.

Я думаю, люди везде одинаковые, на всем земном шаре, а вот общество и его нормы – разные», – резюмирует скульптор. «Из каждой поездки я возвращаюсь немного другим человеком и смотрю на всё новыми глазами. Уже не как хабаровчанин, а как человек мира».

Все фотографии в материале предоставлены Вадимом Полиным.