Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

ASEAN focused on the Far East

The agreement to build a strategic partnership was the main result of the talks held between Russia and the ASEAN countries at the summit in Sochi

ASEAN focused on the Far East

As a result of the Russia-ASEAN Summit, successfully held in Sochi, its member countries adopted a declaration “Towards a mutually beneficial strategic partnership”, and also approved a plan of cooperation up to 2020. At the same time, no serious topics were raised in the public part of the meetings that took place during the summit. In general, the summit discussed substantively and from Russia gave clear answers to only a few proposals received from ASEAN countries.

Thus, at the summit, Malaysia voiced its desire to create, together with the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU), a free trade area (FTA). To which Alexei Ulyukayev, the Minister of Economic Development of the Russian Federation, declared Russia's interest in creating an FTA not with individual countries of the association, but with ASEAN as a whole. Such a zone, in his opinion, will be able to answer all the challenges that cannot be solved today for the World Trade Organization.

“I think that a variant of the FTA that would cover all the countries of the EAEU and all the countries of ASEAN is a possible format and, perhaps, even a desirable format,” announced Alexey Ulyukayev.

According to the adopted declaration, ASEAN will study Russia's proposal to create a free trade zone with the Eurasian Economic Union.

“Consider in ASEAN the proposal put forward by Russia to conduct a joint study of the prospects for creating a comprehensive free trade zone between the EAEU and ASEAN,” the document says.

No less important at the summit was the Indonesian Prime Minister’s nomination, which combined participation in the ASEAN summit with a state visit, the requirement to increase the supply of palm oil. Economic Development Minister Alexei Ulyukayev said that the Russian authorities are not going to impose restrictions on the export of palm oil from ASEAN countries. Since this is a matter of business, not big politics.

"It was a meaningful summit. The leaders of Russia and ASEAN recorded an understanding of common interests in East Asia and the world, agreed on the goals of their cooperation for the foreseeable future in the areas of politics and security, as well as trade, economic, humanitarian and socio-cultural, "said the director of the ASEAN Center at MGIMO-University Victor Sumy.

The expert drew attention to the fact that the series of working meetings held by Russian President Vladimir Putin on the margins of the summit opened with a conversation with the President of the Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank, which, in particular, raised the question of the participation of this bank in financing the expansion of the Trans-Siberian Railway Northern Sea Route.

"It was about projects that would significantly strengthen the ties between Eurasia and East Asia, thanks to building a bridge between them. ASEAN in these projects is intended for a considerable role, "- said Victor Sumsky.

During the summit, Viktor Sumsky noted, the issues of ASEAN joining projects for the development of Siberia and the Russian Far East were also raised, and the possibility of the participation of investors from a number of countries of the Association in the implementation of specific projects in this macro-region was considered.

Speaking about the idea of ​​Russia to create a free trade zone between the EAEU and ASEAN, he noted that both sides are already starting to create it by signing relevant agreements between the Union and individual countries of the Association. The main example of this is the agreement on the EEU free trade zone - Vietnam. According to him, such initiatives will test the feasibility of a free trade regime between the EAEU and ASEAN as a whole.

 “In 2014, Russia's trade with ASEAN countries exceeded 22 billion dollars, in 2015, it fell to 13 billion, largely due to the depreciation of the ruble, but now it is again showing an upward trend. Judging by the way the summit in Sochi was held, Russia and the ASEAN countries have grounds for optimism. But let us remember that the success of cooperation with ASEAN largely depends on the growth rate and diversification of the Russian economy. As for the desire of ASEAN countries to cooperate with Russia, there is no doubt about it - they clearly demonstrated it during the last summit, ”concluded Viktor Sumsky.

The declaration itself, adopted at the summit, contains the following points important for the further development of cooperation between Russia and the ASEAN countries. The countries that adopted the declaration, according to the document, intend to promote cooperation in the transport sector, including in civil aviation, as well as the creation of a network infrastructure for maritime, road and rail transport. The Declaration also provides for strengthening cooperation between Russia and the ASEAN countries in the fields of energy, agriculture, fisheries, science and innovation, investment cooperation and expanding financing for infrastructure projects. In addition, the document encourages “the expansion of cooperation in countering traditional and new challenges in the field of security, such as international terrorism and transnational crime. At the same time, the very progress of the implementation of the declaration will be reviewed on an annual basis through the existing mechanisms of cooperation between Russia and the ASEAN countries.

As for the Plan of Action approved at the summit, it determines the priorities and measures that Russia and ASEAN need to take to further deepen and expand cooperation in all areas, including politics, security, economics and socio-cultural sphere. Its implementation will also be reviewed regularly, and even more so - reports on its implementation will be analyzed at the annual ASEAN Post-Ministerial Conferences with Russia.

It should be noted that this Summit, held under the motto: “Towards a strategic partnership for the common good”, was timed to the 20 anniversary of the proclamation of Russia as an ASEAN dialogue partner (the dialogue partnership was formalized in 1996). At the same time, before him, Vladimir Putin had not met with the leaders of the states of Southeast Asia for more than 10 years. In other words, after several years the Kremlin persistently sought to participate in the East Asian Summit in order to be able to discuss security issues in the region, having received admission to it simultaneously with the US, he immediately lost interest in him. From 2011 to 2013, Russia was represented at this summit by Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov, in 2014-2015 - by Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev. At the same time, several months before the summit, information appeared that members of the association were discouraged from traveling to our country - mainly the West and Washington. The main pressure was put on them during the US-ASEAN summit, which was urgently organized in California. Although the chairman of the Association, the Prime Minister of Laos Thonglun Sisulit denies this information.

"We were not pressured to participate in this summit. Interaction with Russia is very important for us. All ASEAN member states hold the same opinion - the Sochi summit was to be held, "he said.

The best opinion about the outcome of the Russia-Asean summit is Russian President Vladimir Putin.

"Generally I really liked this meeting. It was very useful and very objective, "the Russian president said.

Completely positive information about the summit held in Sochi gives the Kremlin:

 “With the entrepreneurs of each of the ASEAN countries, a number of specific events are scheduled for the near future both in Russia and in the partner countries. The business community is set to actively develop trade and economic ties between our countries, ”the department said.

At the same time, Dmitry Peskov describes more calmly the current situation in the interaction of Russia with the ASEAN countries:

"It's wrong to talk about a strategic turn to the East, from my point of view. Being a Eurasian power, Russia can not only turn in one direction. We have never been the initiators of the marginalization of relations with this or that country and regret that it happened. But today and tomorrow the main priority is ASEAN, "he said.

ER Help

ASEAN - Association of Southeast Asian Nations is a political, economic and cultural regional intergovernmental organization of countries located in the region. Formed in 1967 year. It includes ten states: Brunei Darussalam, Vietnam, Indonesia, Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, Thailand and the Philippines. Russia is a full-scale partner in the dialogue with ASEAN since July 1996. The Lao People's Democratic Republic not only presides over ASEAN, but also coordinates the Russia-ASEAN dialogue partnership in 2015-2018. ASEAN's supreme body is the summit of leaders (heads of state and government) of member states, held twice a year. Usually the Summit is held for three days and is accompanied by meetings with the organization's partners in the region.

Photo from kremlin.ru

April 13: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

АСЕАН сфокусировали на Дальний Восток

Договорённость выстраивать стратегическое партнерство явилась главным итогом переговоров, проведённых между Россией и странами АСЕАН на саммите в Сочи

АСЕАН сфокусировали на Дальний Восток

В результате Саммита Россия-АСЕАН, успешно проведённого в Сочи, его странами-участницами принята декларация «На пути к взаимовыгодному стратегическому партнерству», а также утверждён план взаимодействия до 2020 года. При этом никаких серьезных тем в публичной части встреч, имевших место быть в рамках саммита, не поднималось. В целом на саммите были предметно обсуждены и со стороны России даны внятные ответы только на несколько предложений, поступивших от стран АСЕАН.

Так, в рамках саммита Малайзия озвучила своё желание создать вместе с Евразийским экономическим союзом (ЕАЭС) зону свободной торговли (ЗСТ). На что Алексей Улюкаев, Министр экономического развития РФ, заявил о заинтересованности России в создании ЗСТ не с отдельными странами ассоциации, а с АСЕАН в целом. Такая зона, по его мнению, сможет ответить на все неразрешимые сегодня для Всемирной торговой организации вызовы.

«Я думаю, что вариант ЗСТ, который охватывал бы все страны ЕАЭС и все страны АСЕАН – это возможный формат и, может быть, даже желательный формат», - объявил Алексей Улюкаев.

Согласно принятой декларации, АСЕАН изучит предложение России о создании зоны свободной торговли с Евразийским экономическим союзом.

«Рассмотреть в АСЕАН выдвинутое Россией предложение о проведении совместного исследования перспективы создания всеобъемлющей зоны свободной торговли между ЕАЭС и АСЕАН», – говорится в документе.

Не менее важным в рамках саммита было выдвинутое премьер-министром Индонезии, совмещавшим участие в саммите АСЕАН с государственным визитом, требование увеличения поставок пальмового масла. Министр экономического развития Алексей Улюкаев сообщил, что российские власти не собираются вводить ограничения на экспорт пальмового масла из стран АСЕАН. Так как это вопрос бизнеса, а не большой политики.

«Это был содержательный саммит. Лидеры России и АСЕАН зафиксировали понимание общих интересов в Восточной Азии и в мире, договорились о целях своего сотрудничества на обозримую перспективу в сферах политики и безопасности, а также торгово-экономической, гуманитарной и социо-культурной», – отметил директор Центра АСЕАН при МГИМО Виктор Сумский.

Эксперт обратил внимание на то, что серия рабочих встреч, проведенных президентом России Владимиром Путиным на полях саммита, открылась беседой с президентом Азиатского банка инфраструктурных инвестиций, на которой, в частности, поднимался вопрос об участии этого банка в финансировании работ по расширению Транссибирской магистрали и обустройству Северного морского пути.

«Речь шла о проектах, позволяющих значительно укрепить связи между Евразией и Восточной Азией, благодаря выстраиванию моста между ними. АСЕАН в этих проектах уготована немалая роль», – подчеркнул Виктор Сумский.

В ходе саммита, отметил Виктор Сумский, также поднимались вопросы подключения АСЕАН к проектам развития Сибири и российского Дальнего Востока, рассматривались возможности участия инвесторов из ряда стран Ассоциации в реализации конкретных проектов в данном макрорегионе.

Говоря об идее России создать зону свободной торговли между ЕАЭС и АСЕАН, он отметил, что обе стороны уже приступают к её созданию путем подписания соответствующих соглашений между Союзом и отдельными странами Ассоциации. Главный тому пример – соглашение о зоне свободной торговли ЕАЭС – Вьетнам. По его словам, в рамках таких инициатив пройдет тестирование целесообразности режима свободной торговли между ЕАЭС и АСЕАН в целом.

 «В 2014 году товарооборот России со странами АСЕАН превышал 22 млрд. долларов, в 2015 году он упал до 13 млрд., во многом из-за снижения обменного курса рубля, но сейчас он опять демонстрирует тенденцию к росту. Судя по тому, как прошел саммит в Сочи, у России и стран АСЕАН есть основания для оптимизма. Но будем помнить, что успех сотрудничества с АСЕАН в значительной степени зависит от темпов роста и диверсификации российской экономики. Что же касается желания стран АСЕАН сотрудничать с Россией, то в нём сомневаться не приходится – они наглядно продемонстрировали его в рамках прошедшего саммита», – заключил Виктор Сумский.

Непосредственно в самой декларации, принятой на саммите, содержатся следующие важные для дальнейшего развития сотрудничества между Россией и странами АСЕАН пункты. Принявшие декларацию страны, согласно документу, намерены способствовать развитию сотрудничества в транспортной сфере, в том числе в гражданской авиации, а также созданию сетевой инфраструктуры морского, автодорожного и железнодорожного транспорта. Декларация также предусматривает укрепление сотрудничества между Россией и странами АСЕАН в сферах энергетики, сельского хозяйства, рыболовства, науки и инноваций, инвестиционного сотрудничества и расширения финансирования инфраструктурных проектов. Кроме того, документ поощряет «расширение сотрудничества по противодействию традиционным и новым вызовам в сфере безопасности, таким как международный терроризм  и транснациональная преступность. При этом рассмотрение самого хода реализации декларации будет проводиться на ежегодной основе по линии существующих механизмов сотрудничества России и стран АСЕАН.

Что же касается утверждённого в рамках саммита Плана действий, то он определяет приоритеты и меры, которые требуется принять России и АСЕАН для дальнейшего углубления и расширения сотрудничества по всем направлениям, в том числе, в политике, безопасности, экономике и социально-культурной сфере. Ход его выполнения также будет рассматриваться регулярно, и даже более того - отчеты о его реализации будут анализироваться на ежегодных Постминистерских конференциях АСЕАН с Россией.

Следует отметить, что данный Саммит, проходивший под девизом: «Навстречу стратегическому партнерству во имя всеобщего блага», был приурочен к 20-летию провозглашения России партнером АСЕАН по диалогу (диалоговое партнерство было оформлено в 1996 году). При этом до него Владимир Путин не встречался с лидерами государств Юго-Восточной Азии более 10 лет. Иными словами, после того, как Кремль несколько лет настойчиво добивался участия в Восточноазиатском саммите, чтобы иметь возможность обсуждать вопросы безопасности в регионе, получив допуск на него одновременно с США, он сразу же утратил к нему интерес. С 2011 по 2013 год Россию на этом саммите представлял глава МИД Сергей Лавров, в 2014-2015 годах – премьер-министр Дмитрий Медведев. Вместе с этим, за несколько месяцев до саммита появилась информация, что членов ассоциации отговаривали от поездки в нашу страну – главным образом Запад и Вашингтон. Основное давление на них оказывалось в ходе срочно организованного в Калифорнии саммита США-АСЕАН. Хотя председатель Ассоциации премьер-министр Лаоса Тхонглун Сисулит данную информацию опровергает.

«На нас не оказывали никакого давления по поводу участия в этом саммите. Взаимодействие с Россией является очень важным для нас. Все государства-члены АСЕАН придерживаются такого же мнения - сочинский саммит должен был состояться», – заявил он.

Самого хорошего мнения об итогах саммита Россия-Асеан президент РФ Владимир Путин.

«Вообще мне эта встреча очень понравилась. Она была очень полезной и весьма предметной», - констатировал российский президент.

Полностью позитивную информацию о проведённом в Сочи саммите дает и Кремль:

 «С предпринимателями каждой из стран АСЕАН на ближайшее время намечен ряд конкретных мероприятий как в России, так и в странах-партнерах. Бизнес-сообщество настроено активно развивать торгово-экономические связи между нашими странами», – рассказали в ведомстве.

В то же время Дмитрий Песков более спокойно обрисовывает существующую сейчас ситуацию во взаимодействии России со странами АСЕАН:

«Говорить о стратегическом развороте в сторону Востока, с моей точки зрения, неверно. Будучи евразийской державой, Россия не может разворачиваться только в одну сторону. Мы никогда не были инициаторами маргинализации отношений с теми или иными странами и сожалеем, что это произошло. Но сегодня и завтра основной приоритет - это АСЕАН», - уточнил он.

Справка ER

АСЕАН – Ассоциация государств Юго-Восточной Азии – политическая, экономическая и культурная региональная межправительственная организация стран, расположенных в данном регионе. Образована в 1967 году. В её состав входят десять государств: Бруней-Даруссалам, Вьетнам, Индонезия, Камбоджа, Лаос, Малайзия, Мьянма, Сингапур, Таиланд и Филиппины. Россия является полномасштабным партнёром по диалогу с АСЕАН с июля 1996 года. Лаосская Народная Демократическая Республика не только председательствует в АСЕАН, но ещё и координирует диалоговое партнёрство Россия – АСЕАН в 2015–2018 годах. Высшим органом АСЕАН является саммит лидеров (глав государств и правительств) стран-членов, проводящийся дважды в год. Обычно Саммит проходит в течение трёх дней и сопровождается встречами с партнерами организации по региону.

Фото с сайта kremlin.ru