Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Beringia at the oars

How the Chukchi seamans experience their strength and leather canoes

Struggle against the powerful and cold waves of the Bering Strait among the inhabitants of Chukotka in the blood. In order to survive and get some of the marine inhabitants, they went on a rally team on a modest leather boat. They had to overcome the force of currents, strong wind and cold. This ancient occupation is still alive. Every year in Chukotka, regattas are organized in canoes, but not for food, but for sporting interest and for tribute to ancestors.

Beringia at the oars
Photo: Department of Sports and Tourism of Chukotka
REVIVAL OF TRADITIONS

Photo by Maxim Antipin.jpg

The idea of ​​conducting competitions on races on leather baidaras appeared in 1991 year for the revival of national sports. Now this is a great cultural and sports festival, which is also organized for the development of event tourism in Chukotka. It is called "Beringia", also called the popular dog sled race, which takes place in Kamchatka, although these events have nothing in common. It was simply Beringia who called the region and the paleogeographical country, which once linked north-east Asia and the north-west of North America. Its territory also passed along the part of modern Chukotka.

- "Beringia" is a great holiday for the residents of the Okrug and especially for sea hunters, who are eager to measure their strength, skill and skill in making canoes with teams from other villages. Together with the hunters for this event, their wives and children began to come, who also take part in various sports. Within the framework of "Beringia" there are races on canoes among men's, women's and youth teams, single-kayak races, as well as competitions in national sports, "said Pavel Dyachkov, deputy head of the Sports and Tourism Department of the Department of Education, Culture and Sport of the Chukotka Autonomous District.

LEGENDARY ROUTE

The first regatta on leather baidaras "Beringia" took place in July 1992 and was held in the village of Uelen. The distance of the race was from Ratmanov Island to Uelen. In that year only two of the kayaks - from Lorino and Uelen - came to the start. Despite the minimum number of participants, this race has become legendary - its route stretches for 60 km. Before the Ratmanov baidaras and participants were delivered by a warship. After that, they made an impressive way to the final point on their own.

Now the race is held at more modest distances and in different villages. At the beginning of the revival, the Beringia did this to attract new participants. The hosts of the competitions began to prepare for them, recalled the technology of manufacturing the baidar, proceeded to trainings. In different years the race was held in the villages of Laurence, Lorino, Uelen, Novoe Chaplino, Inchoun.

THIS IS NOT A BIDARD TO YOU

It was from the time of the "Beringia" in Chukotka began to revive the construction of baidar. From kayaks they are significantly different. The skeleton of a kayak is made of wood, and then it is wrapped with a walrus-skinned hide and strapped with sea-hare skin straps or ropes. The design provides for and installation of the mast.

Due to the elasticity of the hull, the ship is very stable, which is why before the kayaks were the main mode of transport for hunting sea animals. Now small canoes are widely used in winter hunting, when it is necessary to move through polynyas or at the ice edge.

THREE FRAMES OF STUMBERS AND STEERING

The number of participants of races is multiplied. The only obstacle to participating in competitions and their conduct can be bad weather. The team consists of three pairs of rowers and the helmsman, which sets the direction and pace of rowing. And if before the race was strictly a man's business, then from 1999 year they are attended by women and teenagers. For many, participation in the "Beringia" is also an opportunity to earn - the prize fund of the competitions in the baidark races is almost two million rubles.



- The race attracted special interest when it was included in the program of the Cup for the Governor of the Chukotka Autonomous Okrug. Competitions began to take place with even greater interest and exciting struggle, more began to take part of residents from other even remote villages and municipalities. Now, to transport participants, and there are more than 100-120 people, organize a passenger flight, except for this, territorially neighboring communities of male hunters transport participants on their small boats to the venue and back, "said Pavel Dyachkov.

OFFSPRINGS OF HUNTERS

Photo courtesy of the Sports and Tourism Department of Chukotka (4) .jpg

The first owner of the Governor's Cup was the team of Alexei Otto from Lorino. Until now, hunters from this village are the strongest. They are trained under the guidance of their fathers - experienced hunters. Every year, rivals try to get around them and plan to train in their free time.

The program included various types of competitions for people of all ages: races in ordinary canoes and single-bird baidaras, whaleboats on oars and on motors. Following their husbands, the wives and children of hunters took part in the baidar races. The novelty of last year were family races - parents and children acted as one team.

MORE SPECTACLES

Photo courtesy of the Sports and Tourism Department of Chukotka (6) .JPG

In total in the program of the event up to 16 kinds of competitions. Participation in them take about 400 people. Spectators can not get bored, even if the race is no longer visible race, you can look at running with a stick, Eskimo jumping or throwing a harpoon, a zakidushki or chat. In 2011, a mass track and field athletics race was organized within the framework of the "Beringia" on the Lorino-Laurentia route. The inhabitants of these villages took part in it. They were joined by Leonid Fazylov from Anadyr and Italian Paolo Vinturini.

- This year from 21 on 22 July in the village of Novoe Chaplino 26-regatta has already passed. The rowers from Lorino, Lavrentia, Novy Chaplino, and Providence took part in it. As part of the regatta, the Second International Youth Sports Festival of Indigenous Peoples of the Arctic "Beringian Games - 2018" was held. Due to bad weather conditions, delegations from Sweden, Norway, Greenland, Alaska, Denmark, the Faroe Islands, France, and the United States could not take part in this period. More than 40 people waited for three days to improve the weather conditions of the delegation in Alaska in Nome and in Anadyr, - said Pavel Dyachkov.

Every year, in the regatta "Beringia" folklore festivals are held with the participation of groups, including children from the villages of Lavrentia, Lorino, Uelena, New Chaplin, Providence, Anadyr, Egvekinot, and in order to create a truly festive atmosphere, , the fair of decorative and applied carving and bone carving, hold competitions of masters for the best performance of national dance, throat singing, songs and tongue twisters in their native language. For women, contests of national clothes and competition for the title of the best mistress of the fire.

The photos were provided by the Sports and Tourism Department of the Chukotka Autonomous District

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

«Берингия» на веслах

Как чукотские мореходы испытывают на прочность себя и кожаные челны

Борьба с мощными и холодными волнами Берингова пролива у жителей Чукотки в крови. Чтобы выжить и добыть кого-то из морских обитателей они шли сплоченной командой в плавание на скромных кожаных лодках. Им приходилось преодолевать силу течений, сильный ветер и холод. Это древнее занятие живо до сих пор. Каждый год на Чукотке устраивают регаты на байдарах, но уже не для добычи пропитания, а для спортивного интереса и для дани памяти предкам.

«Берингия» на веслах
Фото: Управление спорта и туризма Чукотки
ВОЗРОЖДЕНИЕ ТРАДИЦИЙ

Фото Максима Антипина.jpg

Идея проведения соревнований по гонкам на кожаных байдарах появилась в 1991 году для возрождения национальных видов спорта. Сейчас это большой культурно-спортивный фестиваль, который организуют еще и для развития событийного туризма на Чукотке. Называется он «Берингия», также называется популярная гонка на собачьих упряжках, проходящая на Камчатке, правда ничего общего эти события не имеют. Просто Берингией называли область и палеогеографическую страну, когда-то связывающую северо-восточную Азию и северо-запад Северной Америки. Ее территория проходила и по части современной Чукотки.

- «Берингия» – это большой праздник для жителей округа и особенно для морских охотников, жаждущих помериться силами, мастерством и искусством в изготовлении байдар с командами из других сел. Вместе с охотниками на это мероприятие стали приезжать их жены и дети, которые тоже принимают участие в различных спортивных состязаниях. В рамках «Берингии» проходят гонки на байдарах среди мужских, женских и юношеских команд, гонки на байдарках-одиночках, а также соревнования по национальным видам спорта, - рассказал заместитель начальника управления спорта и туризма Департамента образования, культуры и спорта Чукотского АО Павел Дьячков.

ЛЕГЕНДАРНЫЙ МАРШРУТ

Первая регата на кожаных байдарах «Берингия» состоялась в июле 1992 года и прошла в селе Уэлен. Дистанция гонки проходила от острова Ратманова до Уэлена. В тот год на старт вышли всего две байдары – из Лорино и Уэлена. Несмотря на минимальное количество участников, эта гонка стала легендарной – ее маршрут протянулся на 60 км. До Ратманова байдары и участников доставляли на военном корабле. После этого внушительный путь до финальной точки они прошли самостоятельно.

Сейчас гонки проходят на более скромных дистанциях и в разных селах. В начале возрождения «Берингии» это делали для привлечения новых участников. Хозяева состязаний начинали готовиться к ним, вспоминали технологию изготовления байдар, приступали к тренировкам. В разнее годы гонку проводили в селах Лаврентия, Лорино, Уэлен, Новое Чаплино, Инчоун.

ЭТО ВАМ НЕ БАЙДАРКА

Именно с момента проведения «Берингии» на Чукотке стали возрождать строительство байдар. От байдарок они значительно отличаются. Каркас байдары делают из дерева, а затем обтягивают его выделанной шкурой моржа и стягивают ремнями из кожи морского зайца или веревками. Конструкцией предусматривается и установка мачты.

За счет эластичности корпуса судно очень устойчивое, именно поэтому раньше байдары были основным видом транспорта для охоты на морского зверя. Сейчас маленькие байдары широко используют при зимней охоте, когда нужно перебираться через полыньи или у кромки льда.

ТРИ ПАРЫ ГРЕБЦОВ И РУЛЕВОЙ

Умножается и количество участников гонок. Единственным препятствием для участия в соревнованиях и их проведении может стать плохая погода. В состав команды входят три пары гребцов и рулевой, который задает направление и темп гребле. И если раньше гонки были сугубо мужским делом, то с 1999 года в них участвуют женщины и подростки. Для многих участие в «Берингии» еще и возможность заработать – призовой фонд соревнований по гонкам на байдарах составляет почти два млн рублей.

- Особенный интерес гонка вызвала, когда ее включили в программу соревнований на Кубок Губернатора Чукотского автономного округа. Соревнования стали проходить с еще большим интересом и захватывающей борьбой, больше начало принимать участие жителей из других даже отдаленных сел и муниципальных образований. Сейчас для перевозки участников, а их бывает более 100-120 человек, организуют пассажирский рейс, кроме этого территориально соседские общины мужчин-охотников перевозят участников на своих маломерных судах к месту соревнований и обратно, - отметил Павел Дьячков.

ПОТОМКИ ОХОТНИКОВ

Фото предоставлено управленим спорта и туризма Чукотки (4).jpg

Первым обладателем Кубка Губернатора стала команда Алексея Оттой из Лорино. До сих пор охотники из этого села являются сильнейшими. Они готовятся под руководством своих отцов – опытных охотников. Каждый год соперники пытаются обойти их и планово тренируются в свободное от работы время.

В программу соревнований включали разные виды состязаний для людей любого возраста: гонки на обычных байдарах и байдарах-одиночках, на вельботах на веслах и на моторах. Вслед за мужьями в гонках на байдарах стали участвовать жены и дети охотников. Новинкой прошлого года стали семейные гонки – родители и дети выступали одной командой.

БОЛЬШЕ ЗРЕЛИЩ

Фото предоставлено управленим спорта и туризма Чукотки (6).JPG

Всего в программе мероприятия до 16 видов состязаний. Участие в них принимают порядка 400 человек. Зрители не смогут заскучать, даже если с берега уже не будет видно гонки, можно посмотреть на бег с палкой, эскимосские прыжки или на метание гарпуна, закидушки или чата. В 2011 году в рамках «Берингии» провели массовый легкоатлетический забег по маршруту Лорино – Лаврентия. Участие в нем приняли жители этих сел. К ним присоединились Леонид Фазылов из Анадыря и итальянец Паоло Винтурини.

- В этом году с 21 по 22 июля в селе Новое Чаплино прошла уже 26-а регата. Участие в ней приняли гребцы из Лорино, Лаврентия, Новое Чаплино, а также Провидения. В рамках регаты прошел второй международный молодежный спортивный фестиваль коренных народов Арктики «Берингийские Игры – 2018». Из-за плохих погодных условий в этот период не смогли принять участие делегации из Швеции, Норвегии, Гренландии, Аляски, Дании, Фарерских островов, Франции, и США. Более 40 человек три дня ждали улучшения погодных условий делегации на Аляске в Номе и в Анадыре, - отметил Павел Дьячков.

Ежегодно в рамках регаты «Берингия» проводят фольклорные фестивали с участием коллективов, в том числе и детских из сёл Лаврентия, Лорино, Уэлена, Нового Чаплино, Провидения, Анадыря, Эгвекинота, а чтобы создать по-настоящему праздничную атмосферу, организаторы помимо гонки устраивают игры, ярмарку декоративно-прикладного и косторезного искусства, проводят конкурсы мастеров на лучшее исполнение национального танца, горлового пения, песен и скороговорок на родном языке. Для женщин устраивают конкурсы национальной одежды и состязание за звание лучшей хозяйки костра.

Фотографии предоставлены Управлением спорта и туризма Чукотского АО