Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Beringia - a real storehouse of characters and plots

Beringia - a real storehouse of characters and plots

Vera Serebrovskaya

the journalist, the leader of information releases on the TV channel "Vesti 24"

Vera Serebrovskaya, journalist, presenter of news broadcasts on the Vesti 24 TV channel:
The Kamchatka blizzard swept through in a day, leaving a snowfall in the rear. Morning of the first day of "Beringia". There is silence in the forest camp of mushers. From behind meter-long snowdrifts, only the heads of the dogs are visible: they peer intently into the distance, waiting for their owners. The first appears, and the dog barking literally explodes the space. He is discordant: someone bass, someone yapping in falsetto, someone howling with backing vocals. But in each - the cry of a dog's soul: "Run!"

"You have not heard yet how those who have not been harnessed will howl," says Valery Sokolov, a kayur from the village of Oszor and a repeated participant in the Beringia, "these dogs can not live without movement." And yesterday there was a blizzard, and they sat all day on a leash. " When the owner chooses the first dog and puts a plum on him, the degree of impatience grows: in order to attract attention, the dogs jump on their shoulders, dig their feet with their paws, break off from the leash.

In the dog confusion the media muzzle flashes. This Tikhon is the official mascot of "Beringia-2014" - a blue-eyed mestizo of malamute and Alaska husky. In Kamchatka there was no pure breed at all: the Kamchatka sled was actively destroyed in the Soviet years. And since that time the pickers themselves pick and cross the dogs, and to exchange the blood, they exchange puppies. So on last year's race happened with Tikhon, his Viktor Tykhonov gave a gift to another kayura, Valery Sokolov. Having traveled in the sleds the whole distance, he became a universal favorite, and now everywhere - his portraits.

But today the owner does not take Tikhon into the harness. "Because the crafty one," says Valery, and explains with an inquiring glance, "sly and with laziness. If you do not want to, you can not quickly escape. In the main race, Tikhon, of course, will participate. But he's a bad sprinter. "

10-kilometer sprint race is the traditional "Prologue of Beringia". A holiday for the spectators, for the participants, is a check of the readiness of the dogs. For the first time it takes place in Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky, at the stadium of the biathlon complex.

This year, the route "Beringia" in general decided to change. It is now longer, almost 1300 kilometers, laid first along the center, and then along the eastern coast of the peninsula. Start - in Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky, finish - in Tilichiki. "We studied the world experience of dog sledding," says the head of the organizing committee of the Beringia-2014, Alexei Voitov, "and took the Alaskan race of the marathon class" Iditarot ", the most prestigious in the world. There every time - a new route. We also decided to alternate: one year to start from Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky, another - from the village of Esso, as it was before, and extend the distance at the expense of new control points. "

"Beringia" appeared in 90-e, as a revival of the traditions of driving dog breeding. And there is a lot of traditional here. Most of the kayurs are indigenous: Koryaks, Evens, Itelmen. There are even those who live in the forest, hundreds of kilometers from civilization. With dogs go to the bear and do sledges on ancient technologies - from stone birch, soaked in water. One of the couches shows a family heirloom: to him from his father, and to his father from his grandfather passed the leg of a dagger-a pointed stick made of stained wood, which was traditionally used as a brake for harness. But the technology of ancestors is harder to compete with modern technologies. The last two years in the "Beringia" defeated Andrei Semashkin, and for him, racing on the sled is primarily a sport. Andrei is half Aleut, and he also has traditional sledges, but they are more in his kennel as an exhibit for tourists. And for the race - a model of light alloy materials. And it does not sit in it, as in traditional sledges, but only stand. Or even run alongside to help the dogs - for 5-6 hours from start to finish the finish at the checkpoint.

The race-prologue and the first stage of the main route confirmed that Semashkin is again the favorite of the "Beringia". But ahead - a long marathon to the north of Kamchatka. And there is a completely different, more severe climate. And the native land of many "indigenous" kayurs. They say that dogs, sensing that the house is near, are starting to run faster ...

And for me, "Beringia" has become a real storehouse of characters and stories. The lives of the Coujers are both heroic exploits, and a unique experience of survival in the wild, and a unique love story stretching through a chain of dramatic events. What to say about the life of dogs - the owner is ready to tell about each of them about days. Now I am in the firm belief that the material shot is enough for several films. I hope that I will soon be able to present them to the general public.

March 6: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Берингия – настоящий кладезь характеров и сюжетов

Берингия – настоящий кладезь характеров и сюжетов

Вера Серебровская

журналист, ведущая информационных выпусков на телеканале "Вести 24"

Вера Серебровская, журналист, ведущая информационных выпусков на телеканале "Вести 24":
Камчатская пурга пронеслась за сутки, оставив арьергардом снегопад. Утро первого дня «Берингии». В лесном лагере каюров тишина. Из-за метровых сугробов видны лишь головы собак: напряженно вглядываются вдаль, в ожидании своих хозяев. Появляется первый, и собачий лай буквально взрывает пространство. Он разноголосый: кто-то басит, кто-то тявкает фальцетом, кто-то подвывает бэк-вокалом. Но в каждом – крик собачьей души: «Бежать!»

«Вы еще не слышали, как будут выть те, кого не взяли в упряжку», – говорит Валерий Соколов, каюр из поселка Оссора и неоднократный участник «Берингии», – эти собаки не могут жить без движения. А вчера была пурга, и они целый день просидели на привязи». Когда хозяин выбирает первого пса и надевает на него алык, градус нетерпения нарастает: чтобы привлечь к себе внимание, собаки прыгают на плечи, роют лапами землю, рвутся с привязи.

В собачьей неразберихе мелькает медийная морда. Это Тихон – официальный талисман «Берингии-2014» – голубоглазый метис маламута и аляскинской хаски. На Камчатке вообще не осталось чистой породы: камчатскую ездовую в советские годы активно уничтожали. И с тех пор каюры сами подбирают и скрещивают собак, а чтобы обновить кровь, обмениваются щенками. Так на прошлогодней гонке случилось и с Тихоном, его каюр Виктор Тихонов подарил другому каюру, Валерию Соколову. Проехав в нартах всю дистанцию, он стал всеобщим любимцем, и вот теперь повсюду – его портреты.

Но сегодня хозяин в упряжку Тихона не берет. «Потому что лукавый, – говорит Валерий, и на вопросительный взгляд поясняет, – хитрый и с ленцой. Если не захочет, быстро бежать его не заставишь. В основной гонке Тихон, конечно, участвовать будет. Но спринтер он плохой».

10-ти километровая спринтерская гонка – традиционный «Пролог Берингии». Праздник для зрителей, для участников, – это контрольная проверка готовности собак. Впервые она проходит в Петропавловске-Камчатском, на стадионе биатлонного комплекса.

В этом году маршрут «Берингии» вообще решили изменить. Он теперь длиннее, почти 1300 километров, проложен сначала по центру, а затем по восточному побережью полуострова. Старт – в Петропавловске-Камчатском, финиш – в Тиличиках. «Мы изучили мировой опыт проведения гонок на собачьих упряжках, – говорит руководитель оргкомитета «Берингии-2014» Алексей Войтов, – и взяли за основу аляскинскую гонку марафонского класса «Айдиторот», самую престижную в мире. Там каждый раз – новый маршрут. Мы тоже решили чередовать: один год стартовать из Петропавловска-Камчатского, другой – из поселка Эссо, как это было раньше, и удлинять дистанцию за счет новых контрольных пунктов».

«Берингия» появилась в 90-е, как возрождение традиций ездового собаководства. И традиционного здесь, действительно, много. Большинство каюров – коренные: коряки, эвены, ительмены. Есть даже те, кто живет в лесу, в сотнях километров от цивилизации. С собаками ходят на медведя и делают нарты по древним технологиям - из каменной березы, вымоченной в воде. Один из каюров демонстрирует семейную реликвию: ему от отца, а отцу от деда перешел по наследству остол – заостренная палка из мореного дерева, которую традиционно использовали в качестве тормоза для упряжки. Но технологиям предков все сложнее конкурировать с современными. Два последних года в «Берингии» побеждал Андрей Семашкин, а для него гонки на упряжках это в первую очередь – спорт. Андрей наполовину алеут, и у него тоже есть традиционные нарты, но они стоят в его питомнике больше как экспонат для туристов. А для гонки – модель из легкосплавных материалов. И в ней не сидят, как в традиционных нартах, а только стоят. Или даже бегут рядом, чтобы помочь собакам, – по 5-6 часов от старта до промежуточного финиша на контрольном пункте.

Гонка-пролог и первый этап основного маршрута подтвердили, что Семашкин – вновь фаворит «Берингии». Но впереди – длинный марафон до севера Камчатки. А там совсем другой, более суровый климат. И родные края многих «коренных» каюров. Говорят, собаки, почуяв, что рядом дом, начинают бежать быстрее...

А для меня «Берингия» стала настоящим кладезем характеров и сюжетов. Жизни каюров – это и героические подвиги, и уникальный опыт выживания в диких условиях, и уникальная история любви, протянувшаяся через цепь драматических событий. Что говорить о жизни собак – о каждой из них хозяин готов рассказывать сутками. Сейчас я в твердой уверенности, что снятого материала хватит на несколько фильмов. Надеюсь, что скоро смогу представить их широкой публике.