Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Brand new features

The thesis on the development of the Far East as Russia's national priority for the entire 21st century set a new vector for the movement of the macroregion

Brand new features
Photo: TASS

Olga Merkulova

Managing Director EastRussia
The thesis on the development of the Far East as Russia's national priority for the whole XXI century, announced by the country's president three years ago, set a new vector for the movement of the macroregion. As the saying goes, “status obliges”: for the past time, we have witnessed the fact that the Far East has indeed begun to sound - both in the reports of officials of various levels, in the statements of large corporations, and in the news of the central channels.

The state has gone further than talk - special laws have been passed, funding has been opened for fundamentally new models, the first success stories have appeared. Great hopes are placed on the upcoming 2017 year - it is he who must show what really works and will have an effect, and that for some reason will remain unclaimed. Or, worse, due to the inertia of the law-enforcement practices, it will be buried under administrative and bureaucratic pressure.

We especially feel many contradictions, working on a specialized resource EastRussia.ru. This information project exists since 2013 year, and it was originally created as an expert platform for exchanging views on everything that happens in the regions of the East of Russia. Weekly, we publish the EastRussia newsletter, whose subscribers are the "first persons" of many companies and institutions, and therefore our editorial team has quick and direct feedback.

What is most obvious is that the region of the Far East is too large to make many generalizations. Here, Kamchatka and the Sakhalin region provide impressive growth in industrial production in January – October of the year 2016 (112,1% and 106,6%, respectively). The Amur region and the Jewish Autonomous Region, on the contrary, are falling (90% and 87,4%). But on average in the Far East - 100,2%, the result, while not particularly relevant to the priority development.

How much people living in the regions of the Far Eastern Federal District consider themselves to be Far Easterners? As far as people are concerned about the problems of neighboring regions: the inhabitants of Yakutia - the problems of Primorye, the inhabitants of the Amur region - the concern of the Kamchatka people? And, finally, as far as any business, any investor is ready to "come to the Far East" - in fact, it comes to the Russian Federation, to some specific location.

That's what really is the same for the entire Far East today - these are new opportunities that open for people and entrepreneurs against the backdrop of increased state attention. I want to sincerely believe that this "brand of opportunity" will be strong enough to withstand both internal contradictions, and reasonable criticism, and a crisis of the first setbacks.


Published in the tab "East of Russia"
(Joint project of the newspaper Izvestia and EastRussia)

February 26: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Бренд новых возможностей

Тезис о развитии Дальнего Востока как национальном приоритете России на весь XXI век задал новый вектор для движения макрорегиона

Бренд новых возможностей
Фото: ТАСС

Ольга Меркулова

управляющий директор EastRussia
Тезис о развитии Дальнего Востока как национальном приоритете России на весь XXI век, объявленный прези­дентом страны три года назад, задал новый вектор для дви­жения макрорегиона. Как го­ворится, «статус обязыва­ет»: за прошедшее время мы стали свидетелями того, что Дальний Восток действитель­но зазвучал — и в докладах чи­новников разного уровня, и в заявлениях крупных корпо­раций, и в новостях централь­ных каналов.

Государство пошло дальше разговоров — приняты специ­альные законы, открыто финан­сирование по принципиально но­вым моделям, появились первые истории успеха. На предстоящий 2017 год возлагаются большие на­дежды — именно он должен по­казать, что реально сработает и даст эффект, а что в силу каких-либо причин останется невостре­бованным. Или что, того хуже, окажется в силу инерции право­применительных практик погре­бенным под административным и бюрократическим прессингом.

Мы особенно чувствуем мно­гие противоречия, работая над специализированным ресурсом EastRussia.ru. Этот информаци­онный проект существует с 2013 года, и он изначально создавал­ся как экспертная площадка для обмена мнениями обо всем, что происходит в регионах Востока России. Еженедельно мы издаем информационно-аналитический бюллетень EastRussia, подписчи­ками которого являются «первые лица» многих компаний и учреж­дений, и поэтому наша редакция имеет быструю и прямую обрат­ную связь.

Что наиболее очевидно — так это то, что регион Дальнего Вос­тока слишком большой, чтобы делать многие обобщения. Вот Камчатка и Сахалинская об­ласть дают впечатляющий рост промпроизводства за январь–ок­тябрь 2016 года (112,1% и 106,6% соответственно). Приамурье и ЕАО, наоборот, падают (90% и 87,4%). Но в среднем по Дальне­му Востоку — 100,2%, результат, пока не особо соответствующий опережающему развитию.

Насколько люди, живущие в ре­гионах ДФО, сами себя считают дальневосточниками? Насколь­ко людей волнуют проблемы со­седних регионов: жителей Яку­тии — проблемы приморцев, жи­телей Приамурья — заботы кам­чатцев? Да и, наконец, насколько любой бизнес, любой инвестор го­тов «приходить на Дальний Вос­ток» — на деле-то он приходит в Российскую Федерацию, в какую-то определенную локацию.

Вот что действительно едино для всего Дальнего Востока се­годня — так это новые возмож­ности, которые открываются для людей и для предпринимателей на фоне повышенного внимания государства. Хочется искренне верить, что этот «бренд возмож­ностей» будет достаточно силен, чтобы выдержать и внутренние противоречия, и разумную кри­тику, и кризис первых неудач.


Опубликовано во вкладке «Восток России»
(совместный проект газеты «Известия» и EastRussia)