Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Diamond smoke over Vladivostok

Let's create a diamond exchange in Vladivostok ...

Trutnev from the Davos rostrum calls on foreign capitalists to work in the Far East. Well, for example, buy diamonds. We have diamonds in Yakutia, pinned to the Far East, whole kimberlite pipes. Enough to sell them to De Beers with raw materials. Let's create a diamond exchange in Vladivostok ...

Diamond smoke over Vladivostok
And I remembered. The beginning of the XNUMXs. A swarthy, smiling, plump, short gentleman with that amazing English, in which there was such a soft accent in the pronunciation of all unpronounceable letters, was by all means at all meetings of the consuls, the number of which grew every year. At all events in the Primorye administration, where it was a question of "international cooperation". At all banquets and parties with the participation of deputies and journalists, and everywhere he was with a flock of tall, thin Russian girls, instantly taking seductive poses.
He got to know everyone, made friends with everyone, invited everyone to parties and took out his cards from his business card holder as if they were covered with diamond dust. "Choron Diamond" was written on the card, and below is Sunil Gandhi.
The Indian Consulate in Vladivostok appeared in 1992, earlier than the American and Japanese ones. And we drank Indian tea, but we didn't understand the varieties of Chinese yet.

Sunil became so familiar to everyone that it seemed that being him was a business in itself. But then the then vice-governor Viktor Gorchakov, who was in charge of international activities, announced that on March 19, 2003, the Primorskiy Almaz cutting factory was opening in Vladivostok. Indian partners have invested half a million dollars in equipment, created a hundred jobs to turn small Yakut diamonds weighing less than a quarter of a carat (they were called "Indian") into jewelry.

After the presentation of the factory, the angels around Sunil became even taller and more beautiful, and he shone like the moon surrounded by stars. Things were going great. The staff grew from a hundred people to 150, and the Indians left, and the local residents began to work. It was planned to produce products per year for $ 30 million and the plans were exceeded (in Yakutsk, the first Indian cutting factory opened a few years earlier, but it was stuck at the 20 million mark). Sunil was asked if he would expand production in Primorye, and he added that he was ready to look for diamonds here too. Rings, pendants, necklaces, bracelets of "Primorsky Almaz" were made gracefully, in an unusual design, affordable and sold in their own store in Vladivostok and sent to South-East Asia.

- Sunil, why do you face such a trifle, you don't have enough money for big money? I teased him.

“My friend, Jews cut large diamonds, there are few of them, but there are many of us Indians, and you, Russians, are many — small ones are enough for everyone,” the wise Sunil answered.

Sunil was not happy for long how things were going in Primorye. As soon as it got promoted, it only paid 50 million rubles to the budget for its first year and a half, when in 2005 ALROSA found it easier and more profitable to wholesale its entire diamond harvest at once than to bargain with small clients. Sunil rushed to the regional administration for support. After all, an "investment pioneer". They assure that the then governor Sergei Darkin personally called the President of the Sakha Republic Vyacheslav Shtyrov, whose dad, by the way, served as a rear admiral in the Pacific Fleet's intelligence.

But intercession did not help. Sunil stopped the factory, his shop lasted until the 2008 crisis. And now he does business in South Africa in Bloemfontaine and visits Vladivostok. Sunil was welcoming but humble, and I was surprised to find his name on Bloomberg and his company Sunraj Diamond Export Ltd listed on the Mumbai Stock Exchange.

And what about the development of relations between India and Primorye? Sunil in his second year in his "Primorsky Diamond" has a turnover of $ 40 million. It was 2005. And for 11 months of 2015, the share of Primorye in trade with India pulls as much as $ 9 in exports and $ 21 in imports: some medicines, fruits, spices, tea ... the meat was brought in for processing.

So, the "diamond exchange" is correct, it is global, but the experience of Sunil Gandhi shows that sometimes a small enterprise gives more jobs, and a business - it depends not so much on "preferences" as on how global players behave in this market.
March 1: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Бриллиантовый дым над Владивостоком

Давайте во Владивостоке алмазную биржу создадим…

Трутнев с Давосской трибуны зовет иностранных капиталистов работать на Дальнем Востоке. Ну, например, алмазы покупать. Алмазов у нас Якутии, пришпиленной к Дальнему Востоку, целые кимберлитовые трубки. Хватит их Де Бирсу сырьем продавать. Давайте во Владивостоке алмазную биржу создадим...

Бриллиантовый дым над Владивостоком
И я вспомнил. Начало нулевых. Смуглый, улыбчивый, полноватый, невысокий господин с тем удивительным английским, в котором существовал такой мягкий акцент в произношении всех непроизносимых букв, был непременно на всех встречах консулов, число которых с каждым годом росло. На всех мероприятиях в администрации Приморья, где речь шла о «международном сотрудничестве». На всех банкетах и вечеринках с участием депутатов и журналистов, и везде он был со стайкой высоких тоненьких русских девушек, мгновенно принимавших соблазнительные позы.
Он со всеми знакомился, со всеми дружил, всех звал на вечеринки и доставал из визитницы свои карточки так, словно они были усыпаны бриллиантовой пылью. «Чорон Даймонд» было написано на карточке, а ниже Сунил Ганди.
Консульство Индии во Владивостоке появилось в 1992 году, раньше, чем американское и японское. И пили мы индийский чай, а в сортах китайского еще не разбирались.

Сунил так всем примелькался, что казалось, что быть им — сам по себе бизнес. Но вот тогдашний вице-губернатор Виктор Горчаков, курировавший международную деятельность, объявил, что во Владивостоке 19 марта 2003 года открывается гранильная фабрика «Приморский алмаз». Индийские партнеры вложили полмиллиона долларов в оборудование, создали сто рабочих мест, чтобы превращать мелкие якутские алмазики весом меньше четверти карата ( их так и звали «индийскими») в ювелирные украшения.

После презентации фабрики ангелочки вокруг Сунила стали еще выше и красивее, а он сиял, как луна в окружении звёзд. Дела шли прекрасно. Со ста человек персонал вырос до 150, причем индусы уехали, а стали работать местные жители. Продукции в год планировалось выпускать на 30 млн долларов и планы были превышены (в Якутске первая индийская гранильная фабричка открылась на несколько лет раньше, но так и застряла на 20 млн рубеже). Сунила спрашивали, будет ли он расширять производство в Приморье, а он добавлял, что готов и алмазы здесь искать. Кольца, подвески, ожерелья, браслеты «Приморского алмаза» были сделаны изящно, в непривычном дизайне, доступны по цене и продавались в собственном магазине во Владивостоке и рассылались по Юго-Восточной Азии.

— Сунил, почему такую мелочь гранишь, на большие денег не хватает? — дразнил его я.

-Друг мой, крупные алмазы евреи гранят, их мало, а нас индийцев — много, и вас, русских, много —мелких всем хватит, — отвечал мудрый Сунил.

Недолго Сунил радовался, как идут дела в Приморье. Только он раскрутился, только заплатил 50 млн рублей в бюджет за свои первые полтора года, как в 2005 году АЛРОСА сочла, что проще и выгоднее сразу весь свой урожай алмазов продать оптом, чем торговаться с маленькими клиентами. Сунил кинулся за поддержкой в администрацию края. Как никак, «пионер инвестиций». Уверяют, что тогдашний губернатор Сергей Дарькин лично звонил президенту Республики Саха Вячеславу Штырову, чей папа, кстати, служил контр-адмиралом в разведке ТОФ.

Но заступничество не помогло. Сунил остановил фабрику, его магазинчик продержался до кризиса 2008 года. А теперь он ведёт дела в южной Африке в Bloemfontaine и во Владивостоке бывает наездами. Сунил вел себя радушно, но скромно, и я был удивлён, найдя его имя в справочнике Bloomberg, а его компанию Sunraj Diamond Export Ltd зарегистрированной на Мумбайской бирже.

А что с развитием отношений между Индией и Приморьем? Сунил на второй год в своём «Приморском алмазе» вышел на оборот в 40 млн долларов. Это был 2005 год. А за 11 месяцев 2015 года доля Приморья в торговле с Индией тянет аж на 9 тысяч долларов экспорт и на 21 тысячу — импорт: немного медикаментов, фруктов, пряностей, чая...мясо вот привезли на переработку.

Так что, «биржа алмазов» — это правильно, это глобально, но опыт Сунила Ганди показывает, что иногда маленькое предприятие дает рабочих мест больше, а бизнес — он не столько от «преференций» зависит, сколько от того, как ведут себя глобальные игроки на этом рынке.