Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Tambourine of friendship

How to preserve the unique culture of small indigenous peoples of the North

Tambourine of friendship

In Moscow, at the All-Russian Festival of Folklore and Nature "Primordial Russia", the Udege group "Su gagpai" from the Khabarovsk Territory performed. The head of the traditional culture department of the Regional Scientific and Educational Creative Association of Culture of the Ministry of Culture of the Khabarovsk Territory, Nadezhda Kimonko, discusses whether the voice of the Far East was heard in the capital.

- What activities are being conducted in the Khabarovsk Territory to demonstrate the activities of the communities of the small indigenous peoples of the North?

- The Department of Traditional Culture of the Regional Educational Scientific Creative Association of Culture conducts the summer shift "Amur's Children: Life and Creativity" for children's creative teams, arts and crafts studios, sections on national types in the places of compact residence of indigenous small peoples of the North of the Khabarovsk Territory Sport.

Annually during 10 years in the municipal districts of the region there is a festival-relay race of folklore and ceremonial holidays "Tambourine of Friendship". Last year it was organized in the rural settlements of Bulava and Bogorodskoye Ulchi municipal district of the Khabarovsk Territory. Such kind of events are held in the most remote areas and villages, where work to preserve the sources is not conducted or is only being revived. So we bring to this case the executive authorities of the municipal districts, and the public organization of the indigenous small-numbered peoples of the North of the Khabarovsk Territory. Every year the festival expands its geography, visitors come to us from the Republic of Sakha (Yakutia), the Amur Region, the Chinese People's Republic. The process is in progress: for groups, stage costumes, props, national tambourines are purchased, repairs are carried out in rural cultural houses, national cultural centers, new collectives and cultural and leisure establishments are created. Positive shifts are evident.

In addition, the regional contest of narrators "Nigman" ("Fairy Tale") is popular, where people of different ages take part - carriers, informants of folklore and native language, adolescents, youth.

- Ensemble "Su gagpai", which performed in Moscow as part of the presentation of the Khabarovsk Territory at the exhibition "Primordial Russia", also supports the traditions of small peoples. Tell us more about it.

- Many of our teams are over 60 years old. Creative groups of indigenous small-numbered peoples of the North are a kind of stabilizing cell in the environment of a rural settlement. The Udege ensemble "Su gagpay" from the taiga village of Gvasyugi of the Lazo district has not been to Moscow for a long time. He often came here in the 1950s-60s to perform at the All-Union Congresses. "Su gagpai" translated from Udege means "Rays of the sun". The permanent leader of the group is Valentina Tunsyanovna Kyalundzyuga, laureate of the Russian Federation Government Prize "Soul of Russia" in the nomination "folk storyteller". The guys - a permanent group of 10 people - perform at regional holidays, festivals, including in European countries. The leader went as a bearer of folklore to the International Festival of Storytellers, held in the Yukon province (Canada), where she told Udege tales.

Udegey folklore is interested in scientists - ethnographers, ethnomusicologists - not only from Russia, but also from other countries - Japan, Canada, Poland, South Korea, America. In Poland, the Udege-Russian dictionary (2 volumes) was published, in Canada "Udege fairy tales", in Japan Exupery "The Little Prince" (translated by VT Kälundzyuga). Valentina Kälundzyuga is the author and developer of the Udege alphabet. Now she is working on the publication of textbooks on the Udege language for primary classes. I sometimes get the feeling that people abroad know more about us than in our country.

- Who sews such beautiful costumes to artists?

“The costumes are sewn by themselves, they are traditional and combine embroidery, applications from fish skin using metal elements, shell-kaori. The most interesting gowns from fish skin. By tradition, they were worn in the spring, summer, and early fall. By the way, Amiri wedding clothes are also curious. At Nanai girl begins to sew a wedding gown from childhood. In general, any clothing of small nations is a talisman, the main property of which is to protect a person from evil spirits.

- Are there ethnographic villages on the territory of the Khabarovsk Territory, where one can get acquainted with the traditional way of life of indigenous small peoples?

- There are no ethnographic villages in the Khabarovsk Territory. Orochi, Udege, Nanais and other peoples live in ordinary wooden houses. In the Udege village of Gvasugi is located territorially- Neighbor community of small peoples "Ude", which deals with traditional activities: hunting, fishing, collecting wild plants, making products, souvenirs of decorative and applied art. Under the Ude community there is a national cultural center with an open-air museum, an exhibition of household goods, arts and crafts, premises for master classes and performances of a folklore ensemble. In the open-air museum, ritual ceremonies of the Udege are held.

- Indigenous peoples still try to live apart? Or the impact of civilization is still great - do young people leave for the city and forget their roots?

- I want to note that eight indigenous small peoples live on the territory of the Khabarovsk Territory: Nanais, Negidals, Nivkhs, Orochi, Udege, Ulchi, Evenki, Evens. Total 22549 people (data for 2010 year). The most numerous are Nanais-11009 people, small ones - Udege (620 person), Negidals (480 person) and Orochi (441 people). In terms of the number of indigenous peoples, the Khabarovsk Territory ranks sixth in Russia.

Indigenous peoples live in remote villages and districts of the Khabarovsk Territory. Not in all settlements of the Khabarovsk Territory young people leave for large cities. Some, getting education in Khabarovsk, return to their native places. Young professionals are financially stimulated. For example, Marina Ychya, after receiving a second higher education in Moscow, currently works as a chief specialist in the administration of the Ulchi municipal district. Young people began to enter the Khabarovsk State Institute of Arts and Culture more often. After graduation, the specialists work in national cultural centers, inter-settlement centers of national cultures, rural houses of culture, etc. This is again connected with the fact that the Khabarovsk Territory has created a department for indigenous peoples' affairs under the Ministry of Natural Resources of the Khabarovsk Krai Government, departments in municipal administrations Areas. This is facilitated by the Regional Association of Indigenous Peoples of the North, the Regional Educational and Creative Cultural Union and other organizations. In the Khabarovsk Territory the state target program "Development of Indigenous Peoples of the North, Siberia and the Far East of the Russian Federation Living in the Khabarovsk Territory" was adopted. Of course, from the northernmost areas, and not all of them, from the Okhotsk region, for example, young people, having received an education, move to large cities.

- What traditions are important for small peoples to preserve?

- With the help of folklore, we would like to save our native language. In our Udege language (and I am Udegeika), young people barely speak, and the language loses a certain status. If young people do not see the point, then people of 40-50 years begin to realize that it is important to maintain their native language. The language preserves the culture and even saves in piquant situations when it is inconvenient to speak some words in society. Alive language - the people live. This is now followed by the smallest ethnic groups - the Negidals. In the Evenk village of Arka, Okhotsk District, almost all children in the school speak their native language.  

We pay attention to traditions and rituals. They are used in certain localities. They say that the Orochi are an endangered people, but this is not so. People still identify themselves with their nationality, they have a desire to deal with their Oroch culture. They established an association in the Soviet-Gavan region - the national cultural center "Kia Khala" ("Native Land"). Of course, the Orochi no longer know their native Oroch language, but they sing songs, dances, and rituals. And while there is this desire - the people's roots will be preserved. Peoples are also reviving recipes for national cuisine. So, in Udege this is tala, which is made from raw fish, cooks a daktu - a thin soup of rice or millet, add the softened red caviar there (brewed 2-3 minutes with caviar).

- What rituals are preserved?

- Rituals more trade, associated with the traditional way of life - hunting, fishing, gathering. Before going hunting, men, even young ones, near the sacred tree, ask God Enduri to bring good luck, make an offering, thank the spirits of the taiga, mountains, forests, rivers. There are such signs among hunters as well: if a person finds a frog, a snake, a butterfly in winter, it means that luck has come to you in hunting. We must take a sacred souvenir for ourselves, hide it and not show it to anyone, otherwise luck will pass to another hunter.

The culture of the indigenous minorities of the North is connected with the notions of the animal world. People believed that a person comes from a beast or a bird and that animals understand everything, can be reborn after death and even avenge the killing of a relative. That is why on many holidays, rites were always held to remove guilt for killing the beast. Tigger as the owner of the taiga, places are also given in legends. According to one Udege legend, two hunters decided to get the eagle chicks in the taiga. They climbed high on the rock, but could not get down. Men turned to God for help - no one knew where the tiger came from and helped hunters get off the cliff.

In the Nanaian legend, hunters have lost their way in the taiga. Hungry and tired, they turned to the spirit of the tiger for help. Suddenly a tiger appeared from the thicket with roe deer. The beast threw roe deer to the hunters and disappeared. The hunters recovered and found their way to the village.

- You said that various laws are being adopted that contribute to the development of the indigenous peoples of the Khabarovsk Territory. In this regard, has the demographic situation changed in recent years?

- Of course, the number of our peoples is not growing as fast as in other ethnic groups. We do not have a high birth rate, as before, when there were 5-6 children in families. But we hope that demographic programs will help improve the situation. And this is important. I would like our people to develop to have more initiative leaders. To do this, we are carrying out the shifts "Amur Children" in summer camps for teenagers and youth, where we collect all the "aboriginals" of Khabarovsk Krai so that young people are engaged in this direction, could develop their economy in the countryside and understand that the future depends on them.

March 6: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Бубен дружбы

Как сохранить уникальную культуру малых коренных народов Севера

Бубен дружбы

В Москве на Общероссийском фестивале фольклора и природы «Первозданная Россия» выступила удэгейская группа «Су гагпай» из Хабаровского края. О том, услышали ли голос дальневосточников в столице, рассуждает завотделом традиционной культуры «Краевого научно-образовательного творческого объединения культуры» министерства культуры Хабаровского края Надежда Кимонко.

- Какие мероприятия проводятся в Хабаровском крае, чтобы продемонстрировать деятельность общин коренных малочисленных народов Севера?

- Отдел традиционной культуры Краевого научно-образовательного творческого объединения культуры проводит в местах компактного проживания коренных малочисленных народов Севера Хабаровского края летнюю смену «Дети Амура: жизнь и творчество» для детских творческих коллективов, студий по декоративно-прикладному и изобразительному искусству, секций по национальным видам спорта.

Ежегодно в течение 10 лет в муниципальных районах края проходит фестиваль-эстафета фольклорных и обрядовых праздников «Бубен дружбы». В прошлом году он был организован в сельских поселениях Булава и Богородское Ульчского муниципального района Хабаровского края. Подобного вида мероприятия проводятся в самых отдаленных районах и селах, где работа по сохранению истоков не ведется или только возрождается. Так мы приобщаем к этому делу и исполнительные органы власти муниципальных районов, и общественную организацию коренных малочисленных народов Севера Хабаровского края. С каждым годом фестиваль расширяет географию, к нам приезжают гости из республики Саха (Якутия), Амурской области, Китайской народной республики. Процесс идет: для коллективов приобретают сценические костюмы, реквизит, национальные бубны, осуществляется ремонт в сельских домах культуры, национальных культурных центрах, создаются новые коллективы и культурно-досуговые учреждения. Положительные сдвиги налицо.

Кроме того, популярен и краевой конкурс сказителей «Нигман» («Сказка»), где принимают участие люди разных возрастов - носители, информаторы фольклора и родного языка, подростки, молодежь.

- Ансамбль «Су гагпай», который выступал в Москве в рамках презентации Хабаровского края на выставке «Первозданная Россия», тоже поддерживает традиции малочисленных народов. Расскажите о нем поподробнее.

- Многим нашим коллективам уже более 60 лет. Творческие группы коренных малочисленных народов Севера своего рода стабилизирующая ячейка в среде сельского поселения. Удэгейский ансамбль «Су гагпай» из таежного села Гвасюги района имени Лазо давно не был в Москве. Он часто приезжал сюда в 1950 -60-е годы на выступления в рамках Всесоюзных съездов. «Су гагпай» в переводе с удэгейского означает «Лучи солнца». Бессменным руководителем коллектива является Валентина Тунсяновна Кялундзюга - лауреат Премии Правительства Российской Федерации «Душа России» в номинации «народный сказитель». Ребята – постоянная группа из 10 человек - выступают на краевых праздниках, фестивалях, в том числе и в странах Европы. Руководитель ездила как носитель фольклора на Международный фестиваль сказителей, проходивший в провинции Юкон (Канада), где рассказывала удэгейские сказки.

Удэгейским фольклором интересуются ученые – этнографы, этномузыковеды - не только из России, но и из других стран - Японии, Канады, Польши, Южной Кореи, Америки. В Польше был издан удэгейско-русский словарь (2 тома), в Канаде «Удэгейские сказки», в Японии Экзюпери «Маленький принц» (перевод В.Т. Кялундзюга). Валентина Кялундзюга является автором и разработчиком удэгейского букваря. Сейчас она работает над изданием учебников по удэгейскому языку для начальных классов. У меня порой складывается ощущение, что за рубежом больше о нас знают, чем в нашей стране.

- Кто шьет артистам такие красивые костюмы?

- Костюмы шьют сами, они традиционные и сочетают в себе вышивку, аппликации из кожи рыбы с использованием металлических элементов, ракушек-каори. Наиболее интересны халаты из рыбьей кожи. По традиции их носили весной, летом и в начале осени. Кстати, любопытна и свадебная одежда «Амири». У нанайцев девочка начинает шить свадебный халат с детства. Вообще, любая одежда у малочисленных народов является оберегом, основное свойство которого защитить человека от злых духов.

- Есть ли на территории Хабаровского края этнографические деревни, где можно ознакомиться с традиционным бытом коренных малочисленных народов?

- Чисто этнографических деревень в Хабаровском крае нет. Орочи, удэгейцы, нанайцы и другие народы живут в обыкновенных деревянных домах. В удэгейском селе Гвасюги находится территориально- соседская община малочисленных народов «Удэ», которая занимается традиционными видами деятельности: охотой, рыболовством, сбором дикоросов, изготовлением изделий, сувениров декоративно - прикладного искусства. При общине «Удэ» находится национальный культурный центр, где работает музей под открытым небом, выставка – экспозиция изделий быта, декоративно- прикладного искусства, помещения для проведения мастер- классов и выступления фольклорного ансамбля. В музее под открытым небом проводят ритуальные обряды удэгейцев.

- Коренные народы до сих пор стараются жить обособленно? Или влияние цивилизации все же велико – молодежь уезжает в город и забывает свои корни?

- Я хочу отметить, что на территории Хабаровского края проживают восемь коренных малочисленных народов: нанайцы, негидальцы, нивхи, орочи, удэгейцы, ульчи, эвенки, эвены. Всего 22549 человек (данные на 2010 год). Самыми многочисленными являются нанайцы -11009 человек, малочисленными – удэгейцы (620 человек), негидальцы (480 человек) и орочи (441 человек). По численности коренных малочисленных народов Хабаровский край занимает шестое место в России.

Обособленно живут коренные народы в отдаленных селах и районах Хабаровского края. Не во всех поселениях Хабаровского края молодежь уезжает в крупные города. Некоторые, получая образование в Хабаровске, возвращаются в родные места. Молодых специалистов финансово стимулируют. Например, Марина Ыча, получив второе высшее образование в Москве, в настоящее время работает главным специалистом в администрации Ульчского муниципального района. Молодежь стала чаще поступать в Хабаровский государственный институт искусств и культуры. После окончания специалисты работают в национальных культурных центрах, межпоселенческих центрах национальных культур, сельских домах культуры и др. Это опять-таки связано с тем, что в Хабаровском крае созданы управление по делам коренных народов при министерстве природных ресурсов Правительства Хабаровского края, отделы в администрациях муниципальных районов. Этому способствуют и Краевая ассоциация коренных малочисленных народов Севера, Краевое научно-образовательное творческое объединение культуры и другие организации. В Хабаровском крае принята государственная целевая программа «Развитие коренных малочисленных народов Севера, Сибири и Дальнего Востока Российской Федерации, проживающих в Хабаровском крае». Конечно, из самых северных уголков, и то не изо всех, из Охотского района, например, молодые люди, получив образование, переезжают в крупные города.

- Какие традиции малочисленным народам важно сохранить?

- С помощью фольклора мы хотели бы сохранить свой родной язык. На нашем удэгейском языке (а я удэгейка) молодежь почти не разговаривает, и язык теряет определенный статус. Если молодые люди не видят в этом смысла, то люди 40-50 лет начинают осознавать, что важно поддерживать родной язык. Язык сохраняет культуру и даже спасает в пикантных ситуациях, когда в обществе неудобно говорить какие-то слова. Жив язык – жив народ. Этому сейчас следуют самые малочисленные этносы – негидальцы. В эвенском селе Арка Охотского района в школе почти все дети разговаривают на родном языке.  

Мы уделяем внимание традициям и обрядам. Их используют в отдельных населенных пунктах. Говорят, что орочи - вымирающий народ, но это не так. Люди по-прежнему идентифицируют себя со своей национальностью, у них желание заниматься именно своей орочской культурой. Они создали в Советско-Гаванском районе объединение - национальный культурный центр «Киа Хала» («Родной край»). Конечно, орочи уже не владеют родным орочским языком, но песни, танцы, обряды исполняют. И пока есть это стремление – народные корни будут сохранены. Народы возрождают и рецепты национальной кухни. Так, у удэгейцев это тала, которую делают из сырой рыбы, варят дякту – жидкий суп из риса или пшена, добавляют туда размягченную красную икру (варят 2-3 минуты с икрой).

- Какие обряды сохранились?

- Обряды больше промысловые, связанные с традиционным укладом жизни – охотой, рыболовством, собирательством. Перед походом на охоту мужчины, даже молодые, возле священного дерева просят Бога Эндури, чтобы он принес удачу, совершают приношение, благодарят духов тайги, гор, лесов, рек. Бывают среди охотников и такие приметы: если находит человек лягушку, змею, бабочку зимой, то это означает, что тебе пришла удача в охоте. Надо взять священный сувенир себе, спрятать и никому не показывать, иначе удача перейдет другому охотнику.

Культура коренных малочисленных народов Севера связана с представлениями о животном мире. Люди считали, что человек происходит от зверя или птицы и что звери все понимают, могут возродиться после смерти и даже отомстить за убийство сородича. Именно поэтому на многих праздниках всегда проводились обряды для снятия с себя вины за убийство зверя. Тигру как хозяину тайги, уделяется место и в легендах. По одной удэгейской легенде, два охотника решили добыть в тайге птенцов орла. Они забрались высоко на скалу, но слезть не смогли. Мужчины обратились к богу о помощи - неизвестно откуда появился тигр и помог охотникам слезть со скалы.

В нанайской легенде охотники заблудились в тайге. Голодные и усталые, они обратились за помощью к духу тигра. Вдруг из чащи появился тигр с косулей в зубах. Зверь бросил косулю охотникам и исчез. Охотники подкрепились и нашли дорогу в деревню.

- Вы сказали, что принимаются различные законы, которые способствуют развитию коренных малочисленных народов Хабаровского края. В связи с этим изменилась ли в последние годы демографическая ситуация?

- Конечно, численность наших народов растет не так быстро, как у других этносов. У нас нет высокой рождаемости, как раньше, когда в семьях было по 5-6 детей. Но мы надеемся, что демографические программы будут способствовать улучшению ситуации. И это важно. Хотелось бы, чтобы наши народы развивались, чтобы было больше инициативных лидеров. Для этого мы и проводим смены «Дети Амура» в летних лагерях для подростков и молодежи, где собираем всех «аборигенов» Хабаровского края, чтобы молодые люди занимались этим направлением, могли развивать свою экономику на селе и понимали, что будущее зависит от них.