Notice: curl_setopt(): CURLOPT_SSL_VERIFYHOST no longer accepts the value 1, value 2 will be used instead in /home/admin/web/eastrussia.ru/public_html/gtranslate/gtranslate.php on line 101
From Cossacks to TOR residents: who lives the Russian Far East, studies EastRussia - EastRussia | Opinions

Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

To be a Far Eastern!

From Cossacks to TOR residents: who lives the Russian Far East, studies EastRussia

To be a Far Eastern!

Leonid Blyakher

Professor, Head of the Department of Philosophy and Culturology of the Pacific State University, Doctor of Philosophy
Ending. Start reading here: "Who are the Far Easterners".

So, as in all of Russia, the Soviet government happened in the Far East. It happened here later, than in the rest of the country, in the first half of the 20-ies of the XX century. It began not very boldly. These places are not clear. The peasants are hurt, and the industrial people are spoiled by freemen. Until the end of the 20-ies there was a forest stock exchange in Vladivostok, which set prices for forests in the whole macroregion, until the middle of the 30-ies there was private fishing, home ownership, entrepreneurship. But all this comes to an end. Actually, it was clear from the outset that the death of all this is a matter of time. It is for this reason that not so much the capital elite fled to Harbin and further, how many tens and hundreds of thousands of peasants, craftsmen, merchants fled "beyond the river" from Soviet happiness. Their descendants still live in the northern provinces of China.

The region is again empty. In the neighborhood with Japan and the United States, which are quite interested in exploiting its natural resources, and even having a good experience in the region (American and Japanese enterprises have been working here since the end of the 19th century), this meant a gradual loss of territory. Organized mass resettlement (for example, "working Jews" at the end of the 20-ies) at that time was not possible. Therefore, the military plan for the development of the Far East was adopted. First hold, and then we'll see. As a result, a specific stream of migrants flowed into the Far East: military personnel with families and special contingents (without families). Of course, there were fishermen with sailors, peasants and hunters. Only the military, prisoners and workers of the defense plants under construction prevailed. According to the estimates of the researchers, only the military and the families were 15-18% of the able-bodied population of the Far East.

The activities that these people were engaged in, of course, are important and necessary, but did not directly affect the economy of the region. Like the work of defense workers. However, consumption here remained regional. As a result, less than a third of the population had to produce products that could feed the population of the region. Since this task did not work out, the region was dependent on supplies from outside. So there is a special situation of a "developing" region that does not go into developed. Developing it because, in fact, the regional economy and did not develop. M.b. with the exception of fishing, also referred to the strategic areas of development of the territory.

Since supplies to the region were not particularly rhythmic, the population is slowly returning to self-sufficiency practices, though often outside formal rules and ideological norms. Hunting, fishing, harvesting of wild plants, working on subsidiary plots ("cottages"), breeding of livestock and poultry becomes for a large number of residents no less significant than the official salary. The authorities, knowing the situation, had to "turn a blind eye" to these exercises, which are sometimes carried out during working hours. The most important regional quality - the ability to negotiate - is manifested here. Gradually small and shadow enterprises start to grow out of individual and side practices. Someone catches and sells fish, someone grows piglets and sells meat, fat and sausage. People live and give to others. Only in the years of the Kosygin reform (60-e - 70-ies) were attempts to develop, in fact, the regional economy. True, "ideological alienation" and soaring oil prices have led to their gradual winding-up. So people remained in the Far East themselves with their problems. So, willy-nilly or not, they acquired the main quality of the Far East - the ability to live with others, the ability to find a common language.



It is this quality that has become for the Far East, more precisely, for its residents saving in difficult post-Soviet years. For the Far East, the disintegration of the USSR meant, first of all, a sharp reduction in supplies from the outside, the lack of demand for tanks, submarines, ships and military aircraft produced here. The attempt to convert military plants was unsuccessful. Huge enterprises are curtailing. A region that is not particularly densely populated is unexpectedly labor-surplus for itself. The people ran west, beyond the Urals. Almost for the post-Soviet period, the outflow was almost a quarter of the population. But three-fourths remained.

The remaining inhabitants were forced to learn a qualitatively new world: a world where norms were absent (they needed to be created), there were no sustainable practices of economic activity (they had to be invented), there were no grounds for communication. In the shortest period of time, all this arose. The Komsomol bureaus, workers' brigades and even scientific research institutes turned into business networks, engaged in "business" of very different profiles. Moreover, this business was for the first time directly related to the region. Not tanks and airplanes, but fish, timber, ore raw materials flowed along the trade routes. Most of them were oriented not to the west, but to the east. The reason is not so much in the low patriotism of the Far Eastern countries, but in the things that are pragmatic: they paid more, the reliability of buyers was higher, and the region was extremely interested in the "opposite" flows. Machines and consumer goods, computers and food products - all this flowed into the region.

From local markets associated exclusively with the local community, a transition is made to the markets of foreign partners that cover the subject of the federation, the entire region. Since the institutional conditions for such interaction were not particularly clear, for economic, and other contacts, there are friendly networks covering the vast space of the macroregion, which insure this contacts. It is within the framework of such friendly networks that a regional identity is created. Just businessmen and officials, journalists and teachers and many other Far Eastern people from different regions personally know each other. In conditions of a rare population and dense and constant contacts, this was quite enough to "conduct business" in the Far East. The deeds were conducted. Gradually the base of the Far East again crystallized: the absence of xenophobia in any form, the ability to negotiate, get along, the ability to adapt to circumstances and adapt circumstances to oneself.

In the conditions of oil and gas abundance these qualities were "in the shade". In those years, it was enough to be "right" to have a golden shower spilled on its native land. Today, in new, not very simple conditions, they again come to the fore. On the question - how to survive in the Far East in our difficult times - there is only one answer: to be a Far East!

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Быть дальневосточником!

От казаков до резидентов ТОРов: кем живет российский Дальний Восток, изучает EastRussia

Быть дальневосточником!

Леонид Бляхер

профессор, зав.кафедрой философии и культурологии Тихоокеанского государственного университета, доктор философских наук
Окончание. Начало читайте здесь: “Кто такие дальневосточники".

Итак, как и во всей России, на Дальнем Востоке случилась советская власть. Случилась она здесь попозже, чем в остальной стране, в первой половине 20-х годов XX века. Начиналась она не особенно смело. Уж больно места эти непонятные. Уж больно крестьяне, да промышленный люд разбалованы вольницей. До конца 20-х годов работала лесная биржа во Владивостоке, на которой устанавливались цены на лес во всем макрорегионе, до середины 30-х годов существовало частное рыболовство, домовладение, предпринимательство. Но всему этому приходит конец. Собственно, было понятно изначально, что гибель всего этого – вопрос времени. Именно поэтому не столько столичная элита бежала в Харбин и далее, сколько десятки и сотни тысяч крестьян, мастеровых, купцов бежали «за речку» от советского счастья. Их потомки до сих пор живут в северных провинциях КНР.

Регион вновь опустел. В условиях соседства с Японией и США, вполне заинтересованных в эксплуатации его природных богатств, да еще и имеющих изрядный опыт работы в регионе (американские и японские предприятия работали здесь с конца XIX века), это означало постепенную потерю территории. Организовать массовое переселение (например, «трудящихся евреев» в конце 20-х годов) в тот период не удалось. Потому был принят военный план развития Дальнего Востока. Сначала удержим, а потом посмотрим. В результате, на Дальний Восток потек достаточно специфический поток переселенцев: военнослужащие с семьями и спецконтингент (без семей). Конечно, были здесь и рыбаки с моряками, крестьяне и охотники. Только военные, заключенные и рабочие строящихся оборонных заводов преобладали.  По подсчетам исследователей только военные с семьями составляли 15-18% трудоспособного населения Дальнего Востока.

Деятельность, которой занимались эти люди, безусловно, важная и нужная, но имела к хозяйству региона далеко не прямое отношение. Как и деятельность работников оборонных заводов. Однако потребление и здесь оставалось региональным. В результате менее трети населения были должны производить продукцию, способную прокормить население региона. Поскольку с этой задачей  справляться не выходило, регион оказывался зависимым от поставок извне. Так возникает особая ситуация «развивающегося» региона, никак не переходящего в развитый. Развивающийся же он потому, что, собственно, региональное хозяйство и не развивали. М.б. за исключением рыболовства, тоже отнесенного к стратегическим направлениям развития территории.

Поскольку же поставки в регион были не особенно ритмичными, население потихоньку возвращается к практикам самообеспечения, правда, часто находящимися за пределами формальных правил и идеологических норм. Охота, рыбалка, сбор дикоросов, работа на подсобных участках («дачах»), разведение домашнего скота и птицы становится для большого числа жителей не менее значимыми, чем официальная зарплата. Начальство, зная ситуацию, вынуждено было «закрывать глаза» на эти занятия, осуществляемые порой и в рабочее время. Важнейшее региональное качество – способность договариваться – проявляется и здесь. Постепенно из индивидуальных и побочных практик начинают вырастать небольшие теневые предприятия. Кто-то ловит и продает рыбу, кто-то растит поросят и продает мясо, сало и колбасу. Живут люди и другим дают. Только в годы «косыгинской реформы» (60-е – 70-е годы) были попытки развивать, собственно, региональное хозяйство. Правда, «идеологическая чуждость» и взлетевшие цены на нефть привели к их постепенному сворачиванию. Так и оставались люди на Дальнем Востоке сами со своими проблемами. Так, волей или неволей приобретали главное качество дальневосточника – умение жить с другими, умение находить общий язык.

Именно это качество стало для Дальнего Востока, точнее, для его жителей спасительным в трудные постсоветские годы. Для Дальнего Востока распад СССР означал, прежде всего, резкое сокращение поставок извне, отсутствие востребованности танков, подводных лодок, кораблей и военных самолетов, производящихся здесь. Попытка конверсии военных заводов оказалась неуспешной.  Огромные предприятия сворачиваются. Не особенно плотно населенный регион неожиданно для себя оказывается трудоизбыточным. Народ побежал на запад, за Урал. В целом за постсоветский период отток составил едва ли не четвертую часть населения. Но три четвертых остались.

Оставшиеся жители были вынуждены осваивать качественно новый мир: мир, где отсутствовали нормы (их нужно было создать), отсутствовали устойчивые практики хозяйственной деятельности (их нужно было придумать), отсутствовали основания для общения. В кратчайший период времени все это возникло. Комсомольские бюро, рабочие бригады и даже НИИ развернулись в деловые сети, занялись «бизнесом» самого разного профиля. Причем, этот бизнес впервые имел непосредственное отношение к региону. Не танки и самолеты, а рыба, лес, рудное сырье потекли по торговым путям. Большая часть из них были ориентированы не на запад, а на восток. Причина не столько в низком патриотизме дальневосточников, сколько в вещах прагматических: там платили больше, надежность покупателей была выше, да и во «встречных» потоках регион был крайне заинтересован. Машины и ширпотреб, компьютеры и продукты питания – все это потекло в регион.

От локальных рынков, связанных исключительно с местным сообществом, осуществляется переход к рынкам удаленных, охватывающим субъект федерации, весь регион, зарубежных партнеров.  Поскольку институциональные условия для такого взаимодействия были не особенно понятными, для хозяйственных, да и других контактов возникают дружеские сети, охватывающие огромное пространство макрорегиона, страхующие это контакты. Именно в рамках таких дружеских сетей и создается региональная идентичность. Просто предприниматели и чиновники, журналисты и педагоги и многие другие дальневосточники из разных регионов лично знают друг друга. В условиях редкого населения и плотных и постоянных контактов этого вполне хватало, чтобы «вести дела» на Дальнем Востоке. Дела и велись. Постепенно вновь выкристаллизовывалась основа дальневосточника: отсутствие ксенофобии в каком-либо виде, умение договариваться, ладить, умение приспосабливаться к обстоятельствам и приспосабливать обстоятельства к себе.

В условиях нефтегазового изобилия эти качества были «в тени». В те годы достаточно было быть «правильным», чтобы золотой дождь пролился на родную землю. Сегодня, в новых, совсем не простых условиях они вновь выходят на первый план. На вопрос – как выжить на Дальнем Востоке в наше непростое время – есть только один ответ: быть дальневосточником!