Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Budget Trends

How the regions of the Far East are struggling for funding

Budget Trends

Rostislav Turovsky, Vice-President of the Center for Political Technologies, continues to talk about fiscal policy in the DFO regions.

In 2013, it became clear that the Far East is a kind of protected article of the federal budget: if transfers across the country fell by more than 6%, for the Far East they increased by 28,8%. Nevertheless, in the situation in 2013, the Far East was “helped” by misfortune: the center was forced to subsidize overcoming the consequences of a catastrophic flood, and therefore the sharpest growth in transfers was noted in the Amur Region, the Jewish Autonomous Region and the Khabarovsk Territory. Therefore, one should not say that the federal center, even in the worst national situation, will increase funding for the Far East. This will be clear at the end of 2014-15.

Among the Far Eastern regions, the most unstable are the situations with federal funding of Chukotka and Primorsky Krai. Chukotka, as it is already clear, has one of the most volatile budget histories in Russia. Transfers to this region more than halved in 2010, then increased by 60% in 2011 and then gradually decline. Primorye received huge federal money in 2009 (more than 50 billion), and all subsequent years transfers to this region decreased - to almost 22 billion in 2013. The growth of transfers, on the contrary, was constant in Yakutia, which became the largest recipient of federal financial aid in Russia (over 72 billion in 2013), and the Khabarovsk Territory (up to 34,6 billion in 2013). The rest of the regions had recessions, and in very different years, which, obviously, was determined by the current conjuncture of the implementation of certain projects.

A clear change in the trend occurred on Sakhalin, which is an example of the most successful region of the Far East in terms of increasing its own revenue base in the process of implementing fuel and energy projects. Therefore, the federal center consistently reduced its funding to 2011, inclusive (when there was the sharpest decline - by 40%), but then began to gradually increase the volume of transfers, which is partly due to the implementation of the Kuril FTP.

Table. 4. Gratuitous receipts to regional budgets (billion rubles / index to the previous year)

2013

2012

2011

2010

2009

Far Eastern Federal District

Zones

Zones

Zones

Zones

Zones

The Republic of Sakha (Yakutia)

Zones

Zones

Zones

Zones

Zones

Amur Region

Zones

Zones

Zones

Zones

Zones

Kamchatka

Zones

Zones

Zones

Zones

Zones

Khabarovsk Krai

Zones

Zones

Zones

Zones

Zones

Primorsky Krai

Zones

Zones

Zones

Zones

Zones

Trans-Baikal Territory

Zones

Zones

Zones

Zones

Zones

Magadan region

Zones

Zones

Zones

Zones

Zones

Sakhalin Region

Zones

Zones

Zones

Zones

Zones

Jewish Autonomous Region

Zones

Zones

Zones

Zones

Zones

Chukotka

Zones

Zones

Zones

Zones

Zones

As is already clear, the regions of the Far East are highly subsidized, and some of them are among the most subsidized subjects of the federation (Table 5, data on consolidated budgets, ie taking into account local government). In particular, the federal authorities actively subsidize the remote northern regions, where Russia has the highest costs of economic activity. For this reason, most federal money, as already mentioned, is received not only in the Far East, but throughout the country, Yakutia, and depending on federal transfers, Kamchatka and the Magadan Oblast are among the Russian leaders.

In the Far East, in terms of the level of subsidy, starting from 2009, Kamchatka Krai is steadily leading, in the budget of which the share of gratuitous transfers exceeds 60% (and in the first half of 2014 it reached a record 68,4%). This was preceded by the situation when one of the most subsidized regions of Russia was the Koryak Autonomous District, which united with the Kamchatka Oblast. Obviously, Kamchatka is in a similar situation due to its weak own revenue base and high infrastructure costs. In some years, more than half of their incomes (or slightly less, as now) were received from the federal budget by the economically backward Jewish Autonomous Region. About 45% of revenues come from the federal budget, filling the budget of the Magadan region (but more than half of them were in the past (for example, in 2008-10). A high level of subsidy, exceeding the average for Russia, is different in Yakutia, the Amur Region and the Trans-Baikal Territory, Chukotka. Impressive, given the small number of people in remote regions, the figures of the amount of donations per capita that in Kamchatka amounted to 2013 118,5 thousand rubles, and in Chukotka 107,7 thousand. These figures are great in the Magadan region (83,3 thousand) and Yakutia ( 75,8 thousand). The most modest against this background is the Primorsky Territory, for each inhabitant of which 11,2 thousand rubles are accounted for. Federal transfers.

On the contrary, in essence, the only example of a region that has practically overcome the subsidy dependency is Sakhalin in the Far East. For example, in 2008-10. the share of transfers in its budget still exceeded 20%, after which it plummeted, making up 2012-13. less than 10%. In the first half of 2014, it is clear that the center practically ceased financing Sakhalin, since the share of non-repayable payments amounted to record low 2,1%. At the same time, such financial “freedom” should not at all please the Sakhalin residents. Recall that the Federal Target Program for the socio-economic development of the Kuril Islands is implemented in the region, which, although significantly inferior in terms of financing the “main” Far Eastern Federal Target Program, is of great importance for remote island territories.

As for the two key regions of the Far East, the Primorsky and Khabarovsk Territories, they are large recipients of federal aid, but they also have quite good own incomes. For this reason, the level of their subsidies is noticeably lower than in other regions of the Far East (not counting Sakhalin), but more often than not it still exceeds the average Russian. It is not surprising that in 2009, the subsidy of Primorye exceeded 50%, but this was a special case. To date, it has dropped to more modest 20%, which is comparable to the Khabarovsk Territory (but its subsidies, on the contrary, increased in 2013 in connection with federal assistance to combat flooding).

Table. 5. Share of gratuitous receipts in revenues of consolidated regional budgets (%).

2014, 1 half year

2013

2012

2011

2010

2009

Kamchatka

68,4

65

66

67,3

62,7

63,4

Chukotka

53,7

29,7

35,1

37,4

32,7

49,1

Jewish Autonomous Region

47,1

58,1

50,1

48,8

52,4

52,9

Magadan region

45,5

45,2

43,1

46,1

50,7

54,8

The Republic of Sakha (Yakutia)

45

43,6

39,9

42,2

45,3

50

Trans-Baikal Territory

40

40,4

37,3

37,5

39,6

44,2

Amur Region

24,3

49,5

33,6

39

37,7

40,4

Primorsky Krai

20,6

22,7

23,4

37,3

40

51,7

Khabarovsk Krai

19,5

32,3

22

23

23,7

26,4

Sakhalin Region

2,1

8,1

9,4

10,7

22,5

20,6

June 17: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Бюджетные тенденции

Как регионы Дальнего Востока борются за финансирование

Бюджетные тенденции

Вице-президент Центра политических технологий Ростислав Туровский продолжает рассуждать о бюджетной политике в регионах ДФО.

В 2013 г. стало ясно, что Дальний Восток является своего рода защищенной статьей федерального бюджета: если по стране трансферты упали более чем на 6%, то для Дальнего Востока они выросли на 28,8%. Тем не менее, в ситуации 2013 г. Дальнему Востоку «помогло» несчастье: центр был вынужден субсидировать преодоление последствий катастрофического наводнения, в связи с чем самый резкий рост трансфертов отмечался в Амурской области, Еврейской АО и Хабаровском крае. Поэтому говорить о том, что федеральный центр даже в самой плохой общегосударственной ситуации будет наращивать финансирование Дальнего Востока все-таки не следует. Это как раз будет понятно по итогам 2014-15 годов.

Среди дальневосточных регионов наиболее неустойчивыми являются ситуации с федеральным финансированием Чукотки и Приморского края. Чукотка, как уже ясно, отличается одной из самых нестабильных бюджетных историй в России. Трансферты в этот регион снизились более чем в два раза в 2010 г., затем выросли на 60% в 2011 г. и далее постепенно снижаются. Приморье получило огромные федеральные деньги в 2009 г. (более 50 миллиардов), а все последующие годы трансферты в этот регион снижались – до почти 22 миллиардов в 2013 г. Рост трансфертов, напротив, был постоянным в Якутии, которая стала самым крупным получателем федеральной финансовой помощи в России (более 72 миллиардов в 2013 г.), и Хабаровском крае (до 34,6 миллиардов в 2013 г.). У остальных регионов были спады, причем в самые разные годы, что, очевидно, определялось текущей конъюнктурой реализации тех или иных проектов.

Отчетливая смена тенденции произошла на Сахалине, который является примером наиболее успешного региона Дальнего Востока с точки зрения наращивания собственной доходной базы в процессе реализации топливно-энергетических проектов. Поэтому федеральный центр последовательно снижал его финансирование до 2011 г. включительно (когда был самый резкий спад – на 40%), но потом стал постепенно повышать объем трансфертов, что отчасти связано с реализацией курильской ФЦП.

Табл. 4. Безвозмездные поступления в региональные бюджеты (млрд. руб. / индекс к предыдущему году)

2013

2012

2011

2010

2009

Дальневосточный федеральный округ

243,4 / 128,8

188,9 / 94,7

199,6 / 106,9

186,6 / 94,7

197 / 138,5

Республика Саха (Якутия)

72,3 / 122,8

58,9 / 109,8

53,6 / 111,7

48 / 100,65

47,7 / 147,5

Амурская область

40,2 / 229,7

17,5 / 89,7

19,5 / 110,2

17,7 / 105,8

16,7 / 108,7

Камчатский край

37,9 / 110,2

34,4 / 93,4

36,9 / 129,5

28,5 / 115,7

24,6 / 144,5

Хабаровский край

34,6 / 162,2

21,3 / 106,3

20,1 / 105,3

19,1 / 109,95

17,3 / 121,1

Приморский край

21,8 / 84,5

25,8 / 65

39,7 / 99,3

40 / 78,9

50,6 / 225,5

Забайкальский край

21,2 / 119,65

17,7 / 103,3

17,2 / 99

17,3 / 96,2

18 / 113

Магаданская область

12,5 / 108,85

11,5 / 110

10,5 / 95,8

10,9 / 102,6

10,6 / 118

Сахалинская область

10,1 / 119,9

8,4 / 108,8

7,7 / 60,3

12,8 / 98,9

12,9 / 72,5

Еврейская АО

8,4 / 170,2

5 / 121

4,1 / 82,2

5 / 100,8

5 / 126,4

Чукотский АО

5,4 / 89,5

6,1 / 81

7,5 / 160,25

4,7 / 41

11,4 / 115,8

Как уже ясно, регионы Дальнего Востока отличаются высоким уровнем дотационности, и некоторые из них входят в число самых дотационных субъектов федерации (табл. 5, данные по консолидированным бюджетам, т.е. с учетом местного самоуправления). В частности, федеральные власти активно дотируют удаленные северные регионы, где в России самые высокие издержки экономической деятельности. По этой причине больше всего федеральных денег, как уже сказано, получает не только на Дальнем Востоке, но и по всей стране Якутия, а по зависимости от федеральных трансфертов в число российских лидеров стабильно попадают Камчатка и Магаданская область.

На Дальнем Востоке по уровню дотационности, начиная с 2009 г., устойчиво лидирует Камчатский край, в бюджете которого доля безвозмездных перечислений превышает 60% (причем за первое полугодие 2014 г. она достигла рекордных 68,4%). Этому предшествовала ситуация, когда одним из самых дотационных регионов России являлся Корякский АО, объединившийся с Камчатской областью. Очевидно, что Камчатка оказывается в подобной ситуации в связи со слабой собственной доходной базой и большими расходами на инфраструктуру. В отдельные годы более половины своих доходов (либо немногим менее, как сейчас) получала из федерального бюджета экономически отсталая Еврейская АО. Порядка 45% доходов идут из федерального бюджета, наполняя бюджет Магаданской области (но более половины их доля составляла в прошлом (например, в 2008-10 гг.)). Высоким уровнем дотационности, превосходящим средний по России, отличаются Якутия, Амурская область и Забайкальский край, Чукотка. Впечатляют, учитывая малочисленность населения дальних регионов, цифры объемов безвозмездных поступлений на душу населения, которые на Камчатке составили в 2013 г. 118,5 тыс. руб., а на Чукотке 107,7 тыс. Велики эти показатели в Магаданской области (83,3 тыс.) и Якутии (75,8 тыс.). Наиболее скромно на этом фоне выглядит Приморский край, на каждого жителя которого приходится 11,2 тыс. руб. федеральных трансфертов.

Напротив, в сущности, единственным примером региона, который практически преодолел дотационную зависимость, является на Дальнем Востоке Сахалин. Например, в 2008-10 гг. доля трансфертов в его бюджете еще превышала 20%, после чего резко упала, составив в 2012-13 гг. менее 10%. По итогам первого полугодия 2014 г. ясно, что центр практически перестал финансировать Сахалин, поскольку доля безвозмездных перечислений составила рекордно низкие 2,1%. В то же время подобная финансовая «свобода» отнюдь не должна радовать сахалинцев. Напомним, что на территории региона реализуется ФЦП социально-экономического развития Курильских островов, которая, хотя и значительно уступает по объемам финансирования «главной» дальневосточной ФЦП, имеет огромное значение для удаленных островных территорий.

Что же касается двух ключевых регионов Дальнего Востока – Приморского и Хабаровского краев, то они являются крупными получателями федеральной помощи, но при этом располагают и неплохими собственными доходами. По этой причине уровень их дотационности заметно ниже, чем в остальных регионах Дальнего Востока (не считая Сахалина), но чаще всего все-таки превышает среднероссийский. Неудивительно, что в 2009 г. дотационность Приморья превысила 50%, но это был особый случай. К настоящему времени она снизилась до более скромных 20%, что сопоставимо с Хабаровским краем (но его дотационность, напротив, возрастала в 2013 г. в связи с федеральной помощью для борьбы с наводнением).

Табл. 5. Доля безвозмездных поступлений в доходах консолидированных региональных бюджетов (%).

2014, 1-е полугодие

2013

2012

2011

2010

2009

Камчатский край

68,4

65

66

67,3

62,7

63,4

Чукотский АО

53,7

29,7

35,1

37,4

32,7

49,1

Еврейская АО

47,1

58,1

50,1

48,8

52,4

52,9

Магаданская область

45,5

45,2

43,1

46,1

50,7

54,8

Республика Саха (Якутия)

45

43,6

39,9

42,2

45,3

50

Забайкальский край

40

40,4

37,3

37,5

39,6

44,2

Амурская область

24,3

49,5

33,6

39

37,7

40,4

Приморский край

20,6

22,7

23,4

37,3

40

51,7

Хабаровский край

19,5

32,3

22

23

23,7

26,4

Сахалинская область

2,1

8,1

9,4

10,7

22,5

20,6