Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

What do corruption in Indonesia and Russia have in common?

What do corruption in Indonesia and Russia have in common?

Alexey Friendov

Doctor of Political Sciences, Chief Researcher, Institute of Oriental Studies, RAS

Alexey Drugov, Doctor of Political Science, Chief Researcher, Institute of Oriental Studies, RAS:

- If we take the origin of corruption in Russia and Indonesia on the one hand, and, say, in the United States on the other, then in the second case they go to power through money, while in Russia and Indonesia they go through power to money for a long time. 

Traditionally, the voivode was sent to feed, part of the money he sent to the treasury, and some (not always regulated) left to himself - no transparency. And if in the Russian history Peter the Great arranged a break in this respect, although not very successfully, in Indonesia, thanks to the conservative policy of the colonialists, these feudal and semi-feudal orders were preserved. In the American version, a person claims to be a business leader capable of earning money, and after that he is promoted to any state post - or he seeks power and seeks enrichment, as he can lose his job at any moment. This is the main difference. Hence the preference for a bureaucratic career before the career of an entrepreneur and some contempt for it - which, incidentally, is similar to Russian realities. Pre-revolutionary history of Russia illustrates this perfectly well-the nobility looked down on the bourgeoisie, and until 1917, it was not allowed to rule the country.

Corruption in Indonesia is said to have become a culture. However, when power is alienated from the population (even if it has a "divine origin"), it is not a product of its choice and expression of will - it can be deceived. This is where corruption comes from. Corruption, by the way, exists in different forms. When the military regime was overthrown in 1998, we fought against the KKN (Corruptions, Collusion, Nepotism) - corruption, collusion (illegal agreements between certain persons) and family ties. It is very important that this triad has become a way of being.

When the military regime was established (the middle of the 60 of the last century - ed.), Corruption persisted, but took a more organized form. For example, if an entrepreneur came to a general in Jakarta and gave him a bribe or simply appointed him a director in his board or board of directors with the appropriate salary, he could be sure that his company on a remote island would enjoy benefits. The system worked as a clear vertical - the general will order the lieutenant, he obeys the order. With democratization and reforms, the culture of corruption has changed somewhat. The order became smaller, corruption was decentralized and with the expansion of the rights of local officials and a sharp increase in the number of local officials, all three of the above-mentioned phenomena "went deep". In addition, a thirty-year, generally quite successful, development of capitalism in Indonesia took place under the conditions of the military regime, that is, without the necessary conditions for long-term development - transparency, free competition and sufficient legislative support. Ultimately, the decision was left for the local general, colonel or lieutenant. Hence the deepening of corruption as a way of existence and survival.

The military left power, but corruption has not gone away. Of course, together with the process of democratization, the most important thing that has to be done in the long run is to fight corruption. There was some transparency - people even started talking about corruption. I can not say that this immediately gave its results, and that's why. Capitalism, about which I speak, brought inequality, and inequality generates social envy. Social envy, in turn, gives rise to the feeling "I, too, can", "if you can someone - you can and me."

This is very important, because it is corruption in the literal sense. After all, "corruption" in English is not stealing or bribery, but decay or decay. And the corruption of consciousness, the pawning in it of the thought that it is possible to steal, affected the situation with corruption and still plays a role. And one more thing - the capital until recently, and now, is not too interested in democratization. He is more afraid of the population when the social inequality worsens and deepens than a corrupt official who will have something to extort from them.

Is there a process to overcome this trend? I think, yes. Over the past seven years, a commission has been set up to combat corruption. Her slogan was "If you love Indonesia - love the commission." It is interesting that her previous chairman is about to be put on trial for bribery. Nevertheless, she brought to trial the cases of 17 members of parliament, three ministers, six governors, the head of the Central Bank and four of his deputies, 19 mayors and heads of districts. As you can see, the commission is acting, but it can not act quickly. The same Griboedov question pops up - and who are the judges? The judge's corps is also not completely clean from corruption.

To fight corruption, maximum transparency is necessary, firstly, and a clear legislative base - secondly. As Lee Kuan Yew saidFormer Prime Minister of Singapore, architect of reforms and one of the founders of the "Singapore economic miracle" - Ed.): "We decided to focus the commission's attention on major bribe takers in the higher echelons of power. With small fry, we intended to fight by simplifying decision-making procedures and removing all ambiguity in the laws by issuing clear and simple rules, including the abolition of permits and licensing in less important areas of public life. Since we were faced with the problem of convicting corrupt officials in the courts, we began to gradually tighten the laws. "

This process is underway in Indonesia, but it is going on slowly, because there is a lot of resistance. The elite that came to power, deformed decades of authoritarianism. She was accustomed to adapt to power, and when the regime suddenly collapsed, having done so much for the development of capitalism and the economy and for changing the personality of the average Indonesian who had become more independent, a crisis ensued. The power has fallen on the elite, and they know what to do with it — for their own benefit, but in order to gain benefit for the people, the situation is much more complicated. Each party pulls the blanket over itself, and the population believes that it is still possible to steal, and the culture that generates corruption does not go away.

Another process that is directly related to what is happening is the strengthening of the role of religion. People always have a desire for some clear and simple traditional laws regarding honesty, kindness towards other people and mutual help. As a result, we are faced with the growing problems of Islamism and the radicalization of the traditionally soft Muslim community in Indonesia, which is now becoming more and more radical. This is also due to the fact that corruption persists and some moral laws are needed. When state laws do not work, Sharia law comes into play.

To summarize, we can say that the changes are really taking place. The arrests of officials is an unprecedented situation, especially since the top are not particularly involved in corruption. Publicity and openness are immeasurably higher, but in just 24, the culture, mentality and psychology of the 240-million people (Indonesia is the fourth largest country in the world) cannot be completely changed.

The material is prepared on the basis of a report from the round table HSE "Cultural perception of corruption in Indonesia and the Philippines."

March 6: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Что общего у коррупции в Индонезии и в России?

Что общего у коррупции в Индонезии и в России?

Алексей Другов

Доктор политических наук, главный научный сотрудник Института востоковедения РАН

Алексей Другов, Доктор политических наук, главный научный сотрудник Института востоковедения РАН:

- Если взять происхождение коррупции в России и Индонезии с одной стороны, и, допустим, в США с другой – то во втором случае через деньги идут к власти, а в России и Индонезии с давних времен идут через власть к деньгам. 

Традиционно воеводу отсылали на кормление, часть денег он направлял в казну, а часть (не всегда регламентированную) оставлял себе – никакой прозрачности. И если в российской истории Петр Первый устроил некоторый перерыв в этом отношении, хотя и не слишком успешно, то в Индонезии благодаря консервативной политике колонизаторов эти феодальные и полуфеодальные порядки сохранялись. В американском варианте человек утверждает себя как деловой лидер, способный зарабатывать деньги, и после этого его выдвигают на какой-либо государственный пост – или он добивается власти и стремится к обогащению, так как может в любой момент потерять должность. В этом заключается главная разница. Отсюда и предпочтение чиновничьей карьере перед карьерой предпринимателя и некоторое презрение к ней – что тоже, кстати, похоже на российские реалии. Дореволюционная история России прекрасно это иллюстрирует – дворянство свысока смотрело на буржуазию, и до 1917 года к управлению страной ее не допускали.

Говорят, что коррупция в Индонезии стала культурой. Однако когда власть отчуждается от населения (даже если она имеет «божественное происхождение»), не является продуктом его выбора и волеизъявления – ее можно обманывать. Вот отсюда и появляется коррупция. Коррупция, к слову, существует в разных формах. Когда свергали военный режим в 1998 году, то боролись против ККН (Corruptions, Collusion, Nepotism) – коррупции, сговора (незаконных соглашений между теми или иными лицами) и родственных связей. Очень важно, что эта триада стала способом существования.

Когда установился военный режим (середина 60-х годов прошлого века – прим.ред.), коррупция сохранилась, но приняла более организованную форму. Например, если предприниматель пришел к генералу в Джакарте и дал ему взятку или просто назначил его директором у себя в правлении или совете директоров с соответствующей зарплатой, то он мог быть уверен, что его предприятие на отдаленном острове будет пользоваться льготами. Система работала как четкая вертикаль – генерал прикажет лейтенанту, тот исполняет приказ. С демократизацией и реформами культура коррупции несколько изменилась. Порядка стало меньше, коррупция децентрализовалась и с расширением прав местного чиновничества и резким увеличением количества местных чиновников все три вышеупомянутых явления «ушли вглубь». Плюс к этому, тридцатилетнее, в общем довольно успешное, развитие капитализма в Индонезии протекало в условиях военного режима, то есть без необходимых условий для долгосрочного развития – прозрачности, свободной конкуренции и достаточного законодательного обеспечения. В конечном счете, решение оставалось за местным генералом, полковником или лейтенантом. Отсюда углубление коррупции как способа существования и выживания.

Военные оставили власть,но коррупция никуда не делась. Конечно, вместе процессом демократизации пришло самое главное, что нужно в долгосрочном плане для борьбы с коррупцией. Появилась некоторая прозрачность – люди хотя бы заговорили о коррупции. Не могу сказать, что это сразу дало свои плоды, и вот почему. Капитализм, о котором я говорю, принес неравенство, а неравенство порождает социальную зависть. Социальная зависть, в свою очередь, порождает ощущение «мне тоже можно», «если можно кому-то – можно и мне».

Это очень важно, потому что это коррупция в прямом смысле. Ведь «коррупция» по-английски - это не воровство или взяточничество, а разложение или распад. И коррумпирование сознания, закладывание в него мысли, что воровать можно, сказалось на ситуации с коррупцией и до сих пор играет свою роль. И еще одно – капитал до последнего времени, да и сейчас, не слишком заинтересован в демократизации. Он больше боится населения при обострении и углублении социального неравенства, чем коррумпированного чиновника, который будет у них что-то вымогать.

Идет ли процесс преодоления этой тенденции? Да, пожалуй. За последние семь лет была создана комиссия по борьбе с коррупцией. Ее лозунгом стало «Если любите Индонезию – любите комиссию». Интересно, что предыдущего ее председателя вот-вот посадят за взяточничество. Тем не менее, она довела до суда дела 17 членов парламента, трех министров, шести губернаторов, главы Центробанка и четырех его заместителей, 19 мэров и глав округов. Как видите, комиссия действует, но действовать быстро не может. Всплывает все тот же грибоедовский вопрос – а судьи кто? Судейский корпус тоже не до конца чист от коррупции.

Для борьбы с коррупцией необходимо максимум прозрачности, во-первых, и четкая законодательная база - во-вторых. Как говорил Ли Куан Ю (бывший премьер-министр Сингапура, архитектор реформ и один из создателей «сингапурского экономического чуда» - прим.ред.): «Мы решили сосредоточить внимание комиссии на крупных взяточниках в высших эшелонах власти. С мелкой сошкой мы намеревались бороться путем упрощения процедур принятия решений и удаления всякой двусмысленности в законах путем издания ясных и простых правил, вплоть до отмены разрешений и лицензирования в менее важных сферах общественной жизни. Так как мы столкнулись с проблемой осуждения коррупционеров в судах, мы начали постепенно ужесточать законы».

Этот процесс в Индонезии идет, но идет медленно, потому что существует большое сопротивление. Элита, которая пришла к власти, деформирована десятилетиями авторитаризма. Она привыкла приспосабливаться к власти, и когда вдруг режим рухнул, сделав очень многое для развития капитализма и экономики и для изменения личности рядового индонезийца, который стал более независимым, - наступил кризис. На элиту власть свалилась, и они знают что с ней делать – с выгодой для себя, но чтобы извлечь при этом пользу для народа – с этим ситуация обстоит куда сложнее. Каждая партия тянет одеяло на себя, а население считает что воровать все-таки можно, и культура, порождающая коррупцию, никуда не девается.

Еще один процесс, напрямую с вязанный с происходящим, – усиление роли религии. У людей всегда есть стремление к каким-то ясным и простым традиционным законам в отношении честности, доброты по отношению к другим людям и взаимопомощи. В итоге мы сталкиваемся с нарастанием проблем исламизма и радикализацией традиционно мягкой мусульманской общины Индонезии, которая сейчас становится все более и более радикальной. Это происходит в том числе и за счет того, что коррупция сохраняется, и нужны какие-то нравственные законы. Когда не работают законы государства, то в дело идут законы шариата.

Если подвести итог, можно сказать, что изменения действительно происходят. Аресты чиновников – ситуация беспрецедентная, тем более что сейчас верхи не особенно замешаны в коррупции. Гласность и открытость неизмеримо более высоки, но всего за 24 года культуру, менталитет и психологию 240-миллионного народа (Индонезия – четвертая по населению страна в мире) изменить полностью невозможно.

Материал подготовлен на основе отчета с круглого стола НИУ ВШЭ «Культурное восприятие коррупции в Индонезии и Филиппинах».