Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Far Eastern migration: how to manage?

The state presented two concepts for regulating migration in the Far East. Analyzes and compares the expert EastRussia

Far Eastern migration: how to manage?
Photo: shutterstock.com

Nikita Mkrtchyan

Leading Researcher of the Institute of Demography of the National Research University of Higher School of Economics, Leading Researcher of the INSAP RASHiGS
Almost simultaneously, two documents are presented to the court of experts, demonstrating the state vision of the migration problems of the Far East and proposing ways to solve them. We are talking about the projects of the concept of the dempolitics of the Far East for the period up to 2025 (developed by the Ministry of the Interior of Russia) and the Concept of the Migration Policy of the Russian Federation prepared by the Ministry of the Interior. The last document, unlike the current 2012 Concept Concept, is with an unclear implementation horizon, but it involves the adoption of an action plan for the period of 2018-2020.

What is proposed in terms of addressing migration in the east of Russia? Both texts mention the need to "stimulate" internal migration to the regions of the Far East and Transbaikalia from other regions of the country, the priority resettlement of immigrants from other countries. The concept of dempolitics, in addition, contains measures to reduce the outflow of population from the region, including youth. The second approach is more complex, but from this it does not become more realistic.

It is also planned to stop migration outflow from the eastern regions of Russia in the current Concept of Migration Policy for the period up to 2025 (the document developed by the Ministry of Internal Affairs proposes to abolish it), such concepts were also adopted in the 2003 Concept of Regulation of Migration Processes in the Russian Federation.

Measures are offered basically the same, comparable, for example:

- active economic and urban development policies in these regions, including the development and implementation of investment programs, the development of social, transport and market infrastructure (Document 2003)

- Increase the investment attractiveness of the regions of the Far East, Siberia, border and strategically important territories in order to create the necessary social and transport infrastructure for resettlement, as well as reduce transport isolation from the regions of Central Russia (Concept - 2012)

- Increasing the investment attractiveness of the regions of the Far East, the Baikal region, the border and strategically important territories in order to create the social and transport infrastructure necessary for resettlement, as well as reducing the transport isolation from the regions of Central Russia (A project proposed by the Ministry of Internal Affairs).

Almost 15 years have passed, why does nothing change?

In 2003, the migration loss of the population of the regions of the Far East was 25 thousand people, in 2012 - 20 thousand people, in 2015 - 24 thousand people. The outflow in internal migration has even increased somewhat, but in recent years it has been somewhat compensated by international migrants. Investment projects are being carried out in the regions (there was even a mega-project timed to coincide with the APEC-2012 Summit), but it turns out that they do not in any way affect the migration balance. And they could not influence, given that the main money of the country is still spinning in Moscow, and investments are flowing there. Urban planners expect that as a result of the implementation of projects in the "old" and "new" Moscow and around it, the population of the country's largest agglomeration will reach 30 million people, the "Big Sochi", Crimea is developing ... Meanwhile, not only the Far East is emptying, but also the entire Russian hinterland, even indigenous, populated for centuries - Tver, Novgorod, Kostroma, Pskov, Smolensk regions. Bad roads, the closure of schools and hospitals - such phenomena are common outside of large cities.

The Concept for the Development of the Far East places hopes on attracting compatriots living abroad to the region. The corresponding State Program was adopted in 2007, from the very beginning it applies to many regions of the Far East, here for compatriots more significant lifting ones were provided for than in other regions. But over 10 years, the number of participants in the State Program in the regions of the Far East amounted to 33 thousand, or less than 6% of their number in the country. The main incentive to participate in the program for compatriots is not "lifting", but the possibility of a simplified acquisition of Russian citizenship, but for this it is not necessary to go to the Far East. The state program is already operating in the vast majority of regions of Russia. Now a lot is written about the Old Believers, as if people even from Latin America were drawn to the Far East. The media are susceptible to the exotic, but, apparently, things are bad, since the stake is placed on Russians from Bolivia or Uruguay.

The Draft Concept of the Ministry of Internal Affairs proposes a measure, which is most often written: "Increase of the amount of state support provided for one employee, attracted within the framework of the regional program to increase labor mobility in the constituent entities of the Russian Federation, the recruitment of labor resources to which is a priority, included in the Far Eastern Federal District, to 1 million rubles". Let's say that 10 billion rubles will be allocated to DFO regions, this will attract 10 thousand employees. Together with family members, they can "flow" 25-30 thousand people, for several years. Quite a lot, but the migration outflow, as mentioned above, is about 20-25 thousand people per year.

And there is a question: will this support be provided only to those who come from the western regions? If residents of the Far East regions are deprived of such support, it will not only be unfair, but also lead to the fact that people can travel to other regions, and then enter as "attracted from outside." So it was in the USSR, when the introduced coefficients to wages in the Far North and in the equated areas first spread to specialists who came from other regions and did not apply to local workers. And the second important question: if high-productivity jobs are created in the region, is it not the employer's question to provide the employee with such salary bonuses? Or the business climate in the region such that only one million can lure those who want to "do something" ...

The Far East was, and, alas, remains a distant outskirts of Russia, and measures of migration policy that relies on attracting migrants from other regions of the country, this problem can not be solved. In a territory that is larger than the EU, there is not a single city with a million population (the nearest Russian near-millionaire is Krasnoyarsk). Many residents have never been to the European part of Russia, and among residents of the western regions in the Far East there were only a few percent - road tickets. This for the power of the region can be "strategically important" and "geopolitically significant." People when choosing a place of residence think in other categories.

It should be borne in mind that the Far East is in general a region with complex natural and climatic conditions, it is no coincidence that most of the territory belongs to the Far North and the areas equated to it. By the standards of the planetary North, the Far East is not so badly populated. And this despite the fact that even the south of the region, where there are a few large cities, in natural and climatic terms is inferior to cities located on the same latitudes, for example, Canada. Khabarovsk with a population of a little more than 0,6 million is close to the position of Canadian Winnipeg with about the same population. Vladivostok (0,6 million, with an agglomeration - under a million) is south of Vancouver (the same 0,6 million, but with an agglomeration - more than two million). However, the climate in Vancouver is softer, while in Vladivostok "latitude is Crimean, and longitude is Kolyma." Anchorage in Alaska (0,3 million), located at the latitude of our Magadan (less than 0,1 million), by natural conditions is much more comfortable for living and comparable, rather, with Vladivostok. And in the higher latitudes of the American continent there is nothing like, for example, Yakutsk (0,3 million). So reducing the population to certain limits, especially in the north of the region - the process is quite natural.

September 21: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Дальневосточная миграция: как управлять?

Государство представило сразу две концепции по регулированию миграции на Дальнем Востоке. Анализирует и сравнивает эксперт EastRussia

Дальневосточная миграция: как управлять?
Фото: shutterstock.com

Никита Мкртчян

ведущий научный сотрудник Института демографии НИУ ВШЭ, ведущий научный сотрудник ИнСАП РАНХиГС
Почти одновременно «на суд» экспертов представлены два документа, демонстрирующие государственное видение миграционных проблем Дальнего Востока и предлагающие пути их решения. Речь идет о проектах концепции демполитики Дальнего Востока на период до 2025 года (разработана Минвостокразвития России) и подготовленной МВД РФ Концепции миграционной политики РФ. Последний документ, в отличие от ныне действующей Концепции образца 2012 года — с неясным горизонтом реализации, но он предполагает принятие плана действий на период 2018-2020 годов.

Что предлагается в плане решения проблем миграции на востоке России? В обоих текстах говорится о необходимости «стимулирования» внутренней миграции в регионы Дальнего Востока и Забайкалья из других регионов страны, о приоритетном расселении в них иммигрантов из других стран. Концепция демполитики, помимо этого, содержит меры по сокращению оттока населения из региона, в том числе молодежи. Второй подход — более комплексный, но от этого он не становится более реалистичным.

Остановить миграционный отток населения из восточных регионов России планируется и в ныне действующей Концепции миграционной политики на период до 2025 года (документ, разработанный МВД, предлагает ее отменить), такие замыслы были и в принятой еще в 2003 году Концепции регулирования миграционных процессов в Российской Федерации.

Меры предлагаются в основном те же, сравним, например:

- проведение активной экономической и градостроительной политики в указанных регионах, включая разработку и реализацию инвестиционных программ, развитие социальной, транспортной и рыночной инфраструктуры (документ 2003 г.)

- повышение инвестиционной привлекательности регионов Дальнего Востока, Сибири, приграничных и стратегически важных территорий с целью создания необходимой для переселения социальной и транспортной инфраструктуры, а также снижение транспортной оторванности от регионов Центральной России (Концепция - 2012)

- повышение инвестиционной привлекательности регионов Дальнего Востока, Байкальского региона, приграничных и стратегически важных территорий с целью создания необходимой для переселения социальной и транспортной инфраструктуры, а также снижение транспортной оторванности от регионов Центральной России (проект, предложенный МВД).

Прошло почти 15 лет, почему же ничего не меняется?

В 2003 году миграционная убыль населения регионов Дальнего Востока составляла 25 тыс. человек, в 2012-м  – 20 тыс. человек, в 2015-м – 24 тыс. человек. Отток во внутренней миграции даже несколько усилился, но в последние годы его несколько компенсируют международные мигранты. В регионах осуществляются инвестиционные проекты (был даже мегапроект, приуроченный к Саммиту стран АТЭС-2012), но получается, что они никак не влияют на миграционный баланс. И не могли повлиять, учитывая, что основные деньги страны все равно вертятся в Москве, и инвестиции текут туда же. Градостроители ожидают, что в результате реализации проектов в «старой» и «новой» Москве и вокруг нее население крупнейшей в стране агломерации достигнет 30 млн. человек, развивается «Большой Сочи», Крым… Между тем, пустеет не только Дальний Восток, но и вся российская глубинка, даже коренная, веками заселенная Россия – Тверская, Новгородская, Костромская, Псковская, Смоленская области. Плохие дороги, закрытие школ и больниц – такие явления за пределами крупных городов повсеместны.

В Концепции демразвития Дальнего Востока возлагаются надежды на привлечение в регион соотечественников, проживающих за рубежом. Соответствующая Госпрограмма принята в 2007 году, с самого начала она распространяется на многие регионы Дальнего Востока, здесь для соотечественников предусматривались более весомые, чем в других регионах, подъемные. Но за 10 лет число участников Госпрограммы в регионах Дальнего Востока составило 33 тыс., или менее 6% от их численности по стране. Главный стимул участия в программе для соотечественников – не «подъемные», а возможность упрощенного получения российского гражданства, но для этого на Дальний Восток ехать не обязательно. Госпрограмма уже действует в подавляющем большинстве регионов России. Сейчас немало пишут о старообрядцах, будто на Дальний Восток потянулись люди даже из Латинской Америки. СМИ падки на экзотику, но, видно, плохи дела, раз ставка делается на русских из Боливии или Уругвая.

Проект Концепции МВД предлагает меру, о которой пишут чаще всего: «повышение размера государственной поддержки, предоставляемой на одного работника, привлеченного в рамках региональной программы повышения мобильности трудовых ресурсов в субъекты Российской Федерации, привлечение трудовых ресурсов в которые является приоритетным, входящие в состав Дальневосточного федерального округа, до 1 миллиона рублей». Допустим, будут выделены на регионы ДФО 10 млрд. рублей, это позволит привлечь 10 тыс. работников. Вместе с членами семьи их может «притечь» 25-30 тыс. человек, в течение нескольких лет. Немало, но миграционный отток, как уже говорилось выше, составляет порядка 20-25 тыс. человек в год.

И есть вопрос: эта поддержка будет оказываться только тем, кто приедет из западных регионов? Если жителей регионов Дальнего Востока лишить такой поддержки, это будет не только несправедливо, но и приведет к тому, что люди могут выезжать в другие регионы, а потом въезжать как «привлеченные извне». Так было в СССР, когда введенные коэффициенты к заработной плате на Крайнем Севере и в приравненных к нему местностях поначалу распространялись на специалистов, приехавших из других регионов, и не распространялись на местных работников. И второй немаловажный вопрос: если в регионе создаются высокопроизводительные рабочие места, разве не вопрос работодателя обеспечивать работнику такие зарплатные бонусы? Или деловой климат в регионе такой, что только миллионом можно заманить желающих «что-то предпринимать»…

Дальний Восток был и, увы, остается дальней окраиной России, и мерами миграционной политики, делающей ставку на привлечение мигрантов из других регионов страны, эту проблему не решить. На территории, по размеру превосходящей ЕС, нет ни одного города с миллионным населением (ближайший российский околомиллионник – Красноярск). Немало жителей никогда не бывали в Европейской части РФ, и среди жителей западных регионов на Дальнем Востоке бывали считанные проценты – билеты дороги. Это для власти регион может быть «стратегически важным» и «геополитически значимым». Люди при выборе места жительства мыслят иными категориями.

Надо иметь в виду, что Дальний Восток – это в целом регион со сложными природно-климатическими условиями, неслучайно бОльшая часть территории относится к Крайнему Северу и приравненным к нему местностям. По меркам планетарного Севера Дальний Восток населен не так плохо. И это при том, что даже юг региона, где есть немногочисленные крупные города, в природно-климатическом отношении уступает расположенным на тех же широтах городам, например, Канады. Хабаровск с населением немногим более 0,6 миллиона близок по положению к канадскому Виннипегу с примерно таким же населением. Владивосток (0,6 миллиона, с агломерацией - под миллион) находится южнее Ванкувера (те же 0,6 миллиона, но с агломерацией — более двух миллионов). Однако климат в Ванкувере мягче, а у Владивостока «широта — крымская, а долгота — колымская». Анкоридж на Аляске (0,3 миллиона), расположенный на широте нашего Магадана (менее 0,1 миллиона), по природным условиям гораздо комфортнее для проживания и сопоставим, скорее, с Владивостоком. А в более высоких широтах американского континента нет ничего похожего, например, на Якутск (0,3 миллиона). Так что сокращение населения до определенных пределов, особенно на севере региона – процесс вполне естественный.