Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Far East logs are not welcome at home

The authorities propose to produce pulp from the forest and build houses from it, and exporters of round timber - to stop the duties

At the third Eastern Economic Forum, Russian President Vladimir Putin kicked off the work of the second Far Eastern center for deep wood processing in Amursk, and the project has already invested more than 12 billion rubles. The Primorsky Territory Administration signed an agreement at the forum on setting up a production for deep processing and reforestation. Its scale is more modest, but nevertheless the volume of capital investments will amount to 650 million rubles. In general, the state secretary-deputy minister of industry and trade of the Russian Federation Viktor Yevtukhov cited data at the special session of the WEF, in recent years the volume of investments in the industry has reached 39 billion rubles, plus this is estimated at 20 billion rubles in the announced projects. In his view, this suggests that "enterprises are interested in development." EastRussia has tracked what else was said at the WEF about the forest.

Far East logs are not welcome at home
Photo: shutterstock.com
Went to growth?

In addition to the fact that most of the Russian forest resources are concentrated in the Far East, the county has one more competitive advantage. It is in close proximity to the markets - China, Japan, South Korea, which consume almost all the products produced here: raw timber, lumber, veneer, pellets.

Another thing is that this product is still not so much, although experts state the growth. Thanks to active investments in the framework of investment projects and priority investment projects, the output of at least two types of products over the past three years has significantly increased: veneer production by a third, pellet production by 175 percent.

But at the same time sending abroad a roundwood, one of the oldest and most serious problems, is still characteristic of the region. This is easier and much less costly than organizing reprocessing, so these exporters (some of them are trading companies) here around 500. From them, the Russian forest - actually raw materials for subsequent processing, is sent, according to Viktor Yevtukhov, to "global competitors" - to China and Japan. In the same place there are organized production, which give jobs, added value and profit to the treasury of another state. That is why the forest industry in the region faces the task of reducing exports of raw timber and increasing production capacity.

Measures taken?

For this purpose, in particular, the Ministry proposes to introduce from December 2017 tariff quotas for the export of rough timber of Far Eastern breeds and reduce within the quotas the rates of export customs duties - from 25 to 6,5 percent. The quota will be distributed among the enterprises that created the processing capacities. Those companies that want to simply export round timber will not receive quotas, and rates outside of them until 2021 year will gradually increase from 40 to 80 percent.

The work on a new strategy for the development of the timber industry complex, calculated before 2030, is coming to an end.

- We have drawn all the sectoral community to its development, it contains the main guidelines, prospective sales markets, the volume of investments, support measures that the state can provide, both monetary and regulatory. This document, I hope, will become a good navigator for future investors. A separate section is devoted to the Far East and the development of the timber industry complex here. One of the key areas of the timber industry complex, which will improve the processing efficiency, utilize low-grade wood, is the development of pulp mills. Here, in the Far Eastern Federal District, it is a priority, - stressed the Deputy Minister of Industry and Trade.

According to forecasts, in the coming years, demand for pulp in the world will increase by at least 20 million tons. And in Russia it is produced at times less than in China or America. Calculations show that in our country at least four pulp and paper mills can be built. If there are investors.

Another promising direction, which determines the upcoming strategy, is the development of wooden housing construction.

- We consider it as one of the most promising, with high added value, great involvement of forest resources in deep processing. Regions in the Far East should use forest more actively in the construction of various facilities in the implementation of social programs. We already have regions that build from a tree house for settlers from dilapidated and emergency housing, and feldsher-midwife points, kindergartens, schools, sports complexes. And there are large facilities, for example, a swimming pool in Kazan, - Victor Yevtukhov cited the example.

Where is the money?

Konstantin Lashkevich, President of RFP Holding, recalls billions in investment in production, in which the question of long-term guarantees for investors comes first.

"Today no company in the Far East, including us, can independently implement such a project, we need an industrial partner. Now we are considering China Paper, a financial partner, for example, Vnesheconombank, and, of course, the state. And without this conglomeration it is impossible to realize a project of this scale, he is sure. - Why are so many projects announced, but not implemented? Because it is a question of the complexity of the approach, if the risks persist, the investor will not go into the project. "

The availability of financial resources is one of the most important problems. In our country, very expensive money, and loans that are related to world cost, have close to zero rates, Mr. Lashkevich sums up. Viktor Evtukhov also indicates the availability of credit resources. Now the ministry's specialists cooperate with Vnesheconombank and Sberbank, which are developing special packages for enterprises-investors in the timber industry complex.

In addition, Vladimir Solodov, deputy plenipotentiary representative in the Far Eastern Federal District, reminds that lumbermen can benefit from the regime of territories of advanced development. And the projects of the pulp and paper mill, being priority, can count on the whole range of state support measures. For example, the Development Fund of the Far East provides funds for 5 percent per annum. Will this be enough for the timber merchants, and whether they will appreciate innovations and measures taken, will become clear literally in a couple of years.
September 30: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Дальневосточному бревну не рады дома

Власти предлагают производить из леса целлюлозу и строить из него дома, а экспортеров кругляка – останавливать пошлинами

На третьем Восточном экономическом форуме российский президент Владимир Путин дал старт работе второго завода "Дальневосточного центра глубокой переработки древесины" в Амурске, в проект уже вложено более 12 млрд рублей. Администрация Приморья подписала на форуме соглашение о создании производства по глубокой переработке леса и лесовосстановлению. Масштабы его скромнее, но тем не менее объем капитальных вложений составит 650 млн рублей. В целом же, привел данные на специализированной сессии ВЭФ статс-секретарь — замминистра промышленности и торговли РФ Виктор Евтухов, за последние годы объем инвестиций в отрасль достиг 39 млрд рублей, плюс к этому еще в 20 млрд рублей оцениваются заявленные проекты. По его мнению, это говорит о том, что "предприятия заинтересованы в развитии". EastRussia проследило, что еще говорили на ВЭФ о лесе.

Дальневосточному бревну не рады дома
Фото: shutterstock.com
Пошли в рост?

Помимо того, что на Дальнем Востоке сосредоточена большая часть российских запасов леса, у округа есть еще одно конкурентное преимущество. Он находится в непосредственной близости к рынкам сбыта – Китаю, Японии, Южной Корее, которые потребляют практически всю производимую здесь продукцию: необработанные лесоматериалы, пиломатериалы, шпон, пеллеты. 

Другое дело, что продукции этой до сих пор не так уж и много, хотя эксперты констатируют рост. Благодаря активным инвестициям в рамках инвестиционных проектов и приоритетных инвестиционных проектов, объем выпуска как минимум двух видов продукции за последние три года значительно увеличился: производство шпона – на треть, производство пеллет – на 175 процентов.

Но при этом отправка за границу леса-«кругляка», одна из самых давних и серьезных проблем, до сих пор характерна для региона. Это проще и куда менее затратно, чем организовывать переработку, поэтому таких экспортеров (часть из них являются торговыми компаниями) здесь около 500. От них российских лес – фактически сырье для последующей переработки, отправляется, по выражению Виктора Евтухова, к «глобальным конкурентам» – в Китай и Японию. Там же организовываются производства, которые дают рабочие места, добавленную стоимость и прибыль в казну другого государства. Именно поэтому перед лесной отраслью региона стоят задачи снизить экспорт необработанной древесины и нарастить производственные мощности.

Меры приняты?

Для этой цели, в частности, министерство предлагает ввести с декабря 2017 тарифные квоты на экспорт необработанной древесины дальневосточных пород и снизить в рамках квот ставки вывозных таможенных пошлин – с 25 до 6,5 процентов. Квота будет распределяться между предприятиями, создавшими перерабатывающие мощности. Те компании, которые хотят просто экспортировать «кругляк», квоты не получат, а ставки вне их до 2021 года поэтапно повысятся с 40 до 80 процентов.

Подходит к завершению работа над новой стратегией развития лесопромышленного комплекса, рассчитанной до 2030 года.

– К ее разработке мы привлекли все отраслевое сообщество, в ней заложены основные ориентиры, просчитаны перспективные рынки сбыта, объем инвестиций, меры поддержки, которые может предоставить государство, как монетарные, так и регуляторные. Это документ, я надеюсь, станет хорошим навигатором для будущих инвесторов. Отдельный раздел посвящен Дальнему Востоку и развитию здесь лесопромышленного комплекса. Одно из ключевых направлений лесопромышленного комплекса, которые позволит повысить эффективность переработки, утилизировать низкосортную древесину, – развитие целлюлозных производств. Здесь, в ДФО, оно является приоритетом, – подчеркнул замминистра промышленности и торговли.

Согласно прогнозам, в ближайшие годы спрос на целлюлозу в мире вырастет минимум на 20 миллионов тонн. А в России пока производится в разы меньше, чем, в Китае, или Америке. Расчеты показывают – в нашей стране могут быть построены как минимум четыре целлюлозо-бумажных комбината. Если найдутся инвесторы.

Другое перспективное направление, которое определяет готовящаяся к выходу стратегия, – развитие деревянного домостроения.

– Мы считаем его одним из самых перспективных, с высокой добавленной стоимостью, большим  вовлечением лесных ресурсов в глубокую переработку. Регионы на Дальнем Востоке должны активнее использовать лес при строительстве различных объектов при реализации социальных программ. У нас уже есть регионы, которые строят из дерева дома для переселенцев из ветхого и аварийного жилья, и фельдшерско-акушерские пункты, детсады, школы, спорткомплексы. Причем есть крупные объекты, например, плавательный бассейн в Казани, – привел пример Виктор Евтухов.

Где взять деньги?

Константин Лашкевич, президент холдинга RFP, напоминает о миллиардных вложениях в производство, при которых в первую очередь стоит вопрос о долгосрочных гарантиях для инвесторов.

«Сегодня ни одна компания на Дальнем Востоке, включая нас, не может самостоятельно реализовать такой проект, нам требуется индустриальный партнер. Сейчас мы рассматриваем China Paper, финансовый партнер, например, «Внешэкономбанк», и, естественно, государство. И без этой конгломерации реализовать проект такого масштаба невозможно, – уверен он. – Почему столько проектов было заявлено, но не реализовано? Потому что это вопрос комплексности подхода, если риски сохраняются, инвестор в проект не пойдет».

Доступность финансовых ресурсов – одна из самых важных проблем. В нашей стране очень дорогие деньги, а кредиты, соотносящиеся с мировой стоимостью, имеют близкие к нулю ставки, резюмирует господин Лашкевич. Виктор Евтухов тоже указывает на доступность кредитных ресурсов. Сейчас специалисты министерства сотрудничают с Внешэкономбанком и Сбербанком, которые разрабатывают специальные пакеты для предприятий-инвесторов в лесопромышленный комплекс.

Кроме того, напоминает заместитель полпреда в ДФО Владимир Солодов, лесопромышленники могут воспользоваться режимом территорий опережающего развития. И проекты ЦБК, являясь приоритетными, могут рассчитывать на весь комплекс мер государственной поддержки. Например, Фонд развития Дальнего Востока предоставляет средства под 5 процентов годовых. Хватит ли этого лесопромышленникам, и оценят ли они нововведения и принятые меры, станет ясно буквально через пару лет.