Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Far Eastern governor

Far Eastern governor

Artem Lukin

Associate Professor, Department of International Relations, Eastern Institute - School of Regional and International Studies, FEFU, PhD in Political Science

Artem Lukin, Deputy Director, School of Regional and International Studies, FEFU, Candidate of Political Science:
One of the traditions of the Russian state is the institute of governors. The Vicar is a dignitary, vested with the sovereign's special trust and special powers, appointed to manage a vast part of the country and reporting directly to the first person of the state. As a rule, governors are imprisoned in those provinces of the empire, which are difficult to manage from the capital in the usual way - either because of their remoteness, or because of the increased complexity of the local situation. In tsarist Russia there were governors in the Caucasus, Poland, the Far East and in some other regions.

Formally, as a federation, Russia largely remains an empire. And one of the proofs of this is the revival of the practice of governorship. In fact, the “deputy governor” in the Caucasus is presidential plenipotentiary and vice-premier Alexander Khloponin. And recently the governorship appeared in the Far East, which was headed by Yury Trutnev in the rank of plenipotentiary and deputy prime minister in August last year.

The tasks of the two "governors" are different. The North Caucasus is perhaps the most unfavorable and explosive region in Russia. Khloponin should stabilize it. It seems that no one dreams of turning the Caucasus into the locomotive of economic development. Trutnev is also charged with the mission to transform the Far East from Russia's backyard into its Pacific façade, to turn the region into the main "sail", through which the national economy will "catch the wind" of Asian dynamism. According to Trutnev himself, it is no small matter that, learning from the experience of the most successful countries of the Asia-Pacific region, "create and use advanced models of development in the Far East" and then "replicate them on other territories of the country."

If Trutnev copes with this daunting task, he will be able to stand on a par with Count Muravyov-Amursky (1847-61), who in the rank of Governor-General in fact acted as the Tsar's governor in Eastern Russia. Ants went down in history as a man thanks to whom the Far Eastern Amur lands became Russian. Trutnev should finally solve the problem of their full development. Ants mostly used military and diplomatic tools, Trutnev will have at his disposal mainly economic and regulatory methods.



Between Trutnev and Muravyov there were other Far Eastern governors. And you can not say that everyone had an enviable fate. Here and Admiral Yevgeny Alekseev (1903-05), Far Eastern career which ignominiously ended the lost war with Japan. We can also recall Jan Gamarnik, who managed the Far Eastern Territory quite successfully in the 1920-s and continued to actively oversee the Far East in the 1930, being already in the People's Commissariat of Defense. In 1937, Gamarnik shot himself to avoid an imminent arrest ...

The epochal task facing Trutnev is complicated by the lack of money. Fat years for the Russian economy are over. That golden rain of public investment that has spilled into the Far East, especially Primorye, in recent years, will not happen again. It is necessary to attract money from private investors, including foreign investors, and this is very difficult, especially in the Far East, where normal Russian infrastructure, such as inefficient bureaucracy and corruption, is added to the usual Russian problems. In addition, Trutnev will have to win from other federal ministries and departments the necessary powers, which, of course, they are not in a hurry to give. By the way, the vagueness and ambiguity of the administrative prerogatives of the "deputy" was characteristic even in tsarist times, when his authority was determined not by formal documents, but by ties at a high political level and, above all, by the degree of access to the sovereign. Apparently, Trutnev has such access and he can really concentrate in his hands the amount of power in the Far East, unprecedented since the days of Admiral Alexeyev. If Trutnev succeeds - and you really want to believe in it - then maybe another Russian capital will be in Vladivostok.

A source: http://russiancouncil.ru/blogs/dvfu/?id_4=1007

August 14: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Дальневосточный наместник

Дальневосточный наместник

Артем Лукин

Заместитель директора Школы региональных и международных исследований ДВФУ, к.полит. наук

Артем Лукин, Заместитель директора Школы региональных и международных исследований ДВФУ, кандидат политических наук:
Одна из традиций российского государства – институт наместников. Наместник – это сановник, облеченный особым доверием государя и особыми же полномочиями, назначаемый для управления обширной частью страны и отчитывающийся непосредственно первому лицу государства. Как правило, наместников садят в те провинции империи, которыми трудно управлять из столицы в обычном режиме – либо в силу их отдаленности, либо из-за повышенной сложности местной ситуации. В царской России существовали наместничества на Кавказе, Польше, Дальнем Востоке и в некоторых других регионах.

Формально являясь федерацией, Россия во многом остается империей. И одно из подтверждений этому – возрождение практики наместничества. По сути «наместником царя» на Кавказе является президентский полпред и вице-премьер Александр Хлопонин. А недавно появилось наместничество и на Дальнем Востоке, которое в ранге полпреда и вице-премьера в августе прошлого года возглавил Юрий Трутнев.

Задачи у двух «наместников» разные. Северный Кавказ, пожалуй, самый неблагополучный и взрывоопасный регион России. Хлопонин должен его стабилизировать. О том, чтобы превратить Кавказ в локомотив экономического развития сейчас, похоже, никто и не мечтает. На Трутнева же возложена миссия трансформировать Дальний Восток из заднего двора России в ее тихоокеанский фасад, превратить регион в главный «парус», с помощью которого национальная экономика «поймает ветер» азиатского динамизма. Как заявляет сам Трутнев, речь идет, ни много ни мало, о том, чтобы, учась на опыте наиболее успешных стран АТР, «создать и задействовать передовые модели развития на Дальнем Востоке» и потом их «тиражировать на других территориях страны».

Если Трутнев справится с этой грандиозной задачей, то он сможет встать в один ряд с графом Муравьевым-Амурским (1847-61), который в ранге генерал-губернатора по сути выступал в роли царского наместника на Востоке России. Муравьев вошел в историю как человек, благодаря которому дальневосточные приамурские земли стали российскими. Трутнев должен наконец решить проблему их полноценного освоения. Муравьев в основном пользовался военными и дипломатическими инструментами, в распоряжении Трутнева будут преимущественно экономические и регулятивные методы.

Между Трутневым и Муравьевым были и другие дальневосточные наместники. И нельзя сказать, что у всех была завидная судьба. Тут и адмирал Евгений Алексеев (1903-05), дальневосточную карьеру которого бесславно завершила проигранная война с Японией. Можно вспомнить и Яна Гамарника, который в 1920-е годы довольно успешно руководил Дальневосточным краем и продолжал активно курировать Дальний Восток в 1930-е, будучи уже в Наркомате обороны. В 1937 году Гамарник застрелился, чтобы избежать неминуемого ареста…

Эпохальная задача, которая стоит перед Трутневым, осложняется отсутствием денег. Тучные года для российской экономики закончились. Тот золотой дождь государственных инвестиций, который пролился на Дальний Восток, особенно Приморье, в недавние годы, уже не повторится. Надо привлекать деньги частных, в том числе иностранных, инвесторов, а это очень непросто, тем более в условиях Дальнего Востока, где к обычным российским проблемам, таким как неэффективная бюрократия и коррупция, прибавляется еще отсутствие нормальной инфраструктуры. Кроме того, Трутневу предстоит отвоевать у других федеральных министерств и ведомств необходимые полномочия, которые они, разумеется, не спешат отдавать. Кстати, расплывчатость и неопределенность административных прерогатив «наместника» была характерна еще в царские времена, когда его объем полномочий определялся скорее не формальными документами, а связями на высоком политическом уровне и прежде всего степенью доступа к государю. Судя по всему, у Трутнева такой доступ есть и он действительно сможет сконцентрировать в своих руках объем власти на Дальнем Востоке, беспрецедентный со времен адмирала Алексеева. Если у Трутнева все получится – а в это очень хочется верить - то, возможно, еще одна столица России будет во Владивостоке.

Источник: http://russiancouncil.ru/blogs/dvfu/?id_4=1007