Notice: curl_setopt(): CURLOPT_SSL_VERIFYHOST no longer accepts the value 1, value 2 will be used instead in /home/admin/web/eastrussia.ru/public_html/gtranslate/gtranslate.php on line 101
West: Far East risks - EastRussia |

Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Far East risks

Far East risks

Rostislav Turovsky

Doctor of Political Sciences, Professor of HSE, Scientific Editor East Russia

Rostislav Turovsky, Vice-President of the Center for Political Technologies:

- Currently, Western companies are in a quandary. The authorities of their states do not demand to curtail work in Russia, but the toughest economic sanctions against Russia have not yet been taken. In any case, Russia is becoming for them a territory of increased investment risks, and Western business is forced to carefully monitor the political situation and constantly evaluate the feasibility of working in our country. In addition, the sanctions touched on the personal level of important counterparties of Western capital, primarily Igor Sechin, which leads to the complication of communications with his participation. Although Rosneft is not directly subject to sanctions, the prospects of strategically important projects in the Far East are very strongly connected with its activities and its relations with the West.

On the American side, the most important player in the Far East is such a global scale giant as ExxonMobil. Together with Rosneft, she actually manages the Sakhalin-1 project, where the Americans own 30%, and Rosneft owns 20% (30% is controlled by the Japanese company SODECO, 20% by the Indian ONGC). The Sakhalin-1 project is considered the largest oil and gas project in Russia in terms of foreign investment. PSA on it was signed in the distant 1996-th year, but the real work began much later. Nevertheless, the project is already working in full force and has good prospects, albeit for a number of reasons (not related to sanctions). As stated on its official website Exxon Mobil, this project gave the Russian budget system 3,8 billion dollars, including. 1,3 billion dollars - to the budget of the Sakhalin region. In addition to oil exports, Sakhalin-1 provides gas supply to the Khabarovsk Territory, directing natural gas to the pipeline stretching from Sakhalin to Primorye.

In addition, the Americans are quite active in financing infrastructure and social projects in Sakhalin and the Khabarovsk Territory. So, according to their data, investments in infrastructure amounted to more than 220 million dollars. Recently, cooperation with the Sakhalin State University has been confirmed, and this is only one of a number of socially significant projects of the company.

Now Sakhalin-1 is the largest oil project of Sakhalin and the second largest gas project. The problems and prospects of this project are related to its further expansion, which can be complicated in connection with the sanctions and the uncertain position of the American side. In May, there were reports of the possible sale of Exxon Mobil's stake in the project, but then they were refuted, including. By I. Sechin himself, who, obviously, is not interested in such a turn of events. Meanwhile, the previously commissioned Chayvo and Odoptu fields have already reached peak production levels. After 2008-09 years. There was a slight decrease in oil and gas production (2013 million tons of oil and 7 billion cubic meters of gas were produced in 9,9).



Therefore, for Sakhalin-1, confidence in the prospects of the project from its co-owners is extremely important. The 2014 year should be the year of the second phase of the project in connection with the upcoming launch of the third and last Arkutun-Dagi oil field, as well as the expansion of gas production to Chayvo. Of particular importance is the construction of a plant for the production of liquefied natural gas in the framework of the Far Eastern LNG project. It was assumed that the first stage of the plant, under which the site was already selected on Sakhalin, would start working with 2018, producing about 5 million tons of LNG per year. But the implementation of the project is complicated by friction with Gazprom, which is promoting its projects - expansion of production at the existing plant within the Sakhalin-2 project and the construction of a new plant in Primorsky Krai. As a result, to date, it is not clear whether the Far Eastern LNG project will be implemented, in spite of all I.Sechin's lobbying efforts.

Another interest of Exxon Mobil to work in Russia and cooperation with Rosneft arose as the implementation of the agreement on strategic cooperation of the parties signed in 2011. In February 2013, a new project appeared - two companies intend to participate in the exploration of seven Arctic sites, three of which are located on the shelf of the Chukchi Sea, - North-Wrangel-1, North-Wrangel-2 and South Chukchi.

In the changing conditions, the question becomes urgent as to how much Exxon Mobil is interested in working in Russia. According to experts, the share of oil and gas produced in Russia, taking into account the share of Exxon Mobil in projects, is less than 3% of all its oil and gas production. Obviously, the company has many projects in various countries around the world. Arctic sites in this regard are becoming the most problematic, because they have not even been explored, and can remain without investments. Perhaps, the prospect of "Far Eastern LNG" is of critical importance now, since it is the work on the liquefied natural gas market that is now attracted by the world's leading companies. But here the Sakhalin-1 project is vulnerable. It is possible to develop the same existing fields and sell their oil for export, but this is not so large amounts (with possible growth due to Arkutun-Dagi and yet a decline in the long term). In this regard, it is possible that the issue of leaving the Americans from the project, taking into account not only geopolitical, but also financial and economic problems, will rise again and again.

The full text of R.Turovsky "The Far East and the West: What Sanctions Cause" read 9.06.2014 in the "Regions" rubric.

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Дальневосточые риски

Дальневосточые риски

Ростислав Туровский

Доктор политических наук, профессор НИУ ВШЭ, научный редактор East Russia

Ростислав Туровский, вице-президент Центра политических технологий:

- В настоящее время западные компании оказываются в затруднительном положении. Власти их государств не требуют свертывать работу в России, но наиболее жесткие экономические санкции против России пока и не принимались. В любом случае Россия становится для них территорией повышенных инвестиционных рисков, и западный бизнес вынужден внимательно наблюдать за политической конъюнктурой и постоянно оценивать целесообразность работы в нашей стране. Кроме того, санкции затронули на персональном уровне важных контрагентов западного капитала, прежде всего – Игоря Сечина, что ведет к усложнению коммуникаций при его участии. Хотя «Роснефть» не попадает под санкции непосредственно, но с ее деятельностью и с ее отношениями с Западом очень сильно связаны перспективы стратегически важных проектов Дальнего Востока.

С американской стороны наиболее важным игроком на Дальнем Востоке является такой гигант мирового масштаба, как компания ExxonMobil. Вместе с «Роснефтью» она фактически управляет проектом «Сахалин-1», где американцам принадлежат 30%, а «Роснефти» - 20% (еще 30% контролирует японская компания SODECO, 20% - индийская ONGC). Проект «Сахалин-1» считается самым крупным нефтегазовым проектом в России по объему иностранных инвестиций. СРП по нему было подписано в далеком 1996-м году, но реальная работа началась значительно позже. Тем не менее, проект уже работает в полную силу и имеет неплохие, хотя и в силу ряда причин (не связанных с санкциями) неоднозначные перспективы. Как заявляет на своем официальном сайте Exxon Mobil, этот проект дал в российскую бюджетную систему 3,8 млрд долларов, в т.ч. 1,3 млрд долларов – в бюджет Сахалинской области. Помимо экспорта нефти, «Сахалин-1» обеспечивает газификацию Хабаровского края, направляя природный газ в трубопровод, протянутый с Сахалина до Приморья.

Кроме того, американцы ведут достаточно активную работу по финансированию инфраструктурных и социальных проектов на Сахалине и в Хабаровском крае. Так, по их данным, вложения в инфраструктуру составили более 220 млн долларов. Недавно было подтверждено сотрудничество с Сахалинским государственным университетом, и это только один из ряда социально значимых проектов компании.

Сейчас «Сахалин-1» - это самый крупный нефтяной проект Сахалина и второй по величине газовый проект. Проблемы и перспективы этого проекта связаны с дальнейшим его расширением, которое может быть осложнено в связи с санкциями и неуверенной позицией американской стороны. В мае появлялись сообщения о возможной продаже Exxon Mobil своей доли в проекте, но затем они были опровергнуты, в т.ч. самим И.Сечиным, который, очевидно, не заинтересован в таком повороте событий. Тем временем введенные ранее в эксплуатацию месторождения Чайво и Одопту уже достигли пиковых показателей добычи. После 2008-09 гг. отмечалось некоторое снижение добычи нефти и газа (в 2013 году было добыто 7 млн тонн нефти и 9,9 млрд кубометров газа).

В этой связи для «Сахалина-1» крайне важна уверенность в перспективах проекта со стороны его совладельцев. 2014-й год должен стать годом начала второго этапа реализации проекта в связи с готовящимся запуском третьего и последнего нефтяного месторождения Аркутун-Даги, а также с расширением добычи газа на Чайво. Особое значение имеет строительство завода по производству сжиженного природного газа в рамках проекта «Дальневосточный СПГ». Предполагалось, что первая очередь завода, под который на Сахалине уже подобрана площадка, начнет работать с 2018 г., производя около 5 млн тонн СПГ в год. Но реализация проекта осложнена трениями с «Газпромом», который продвигает свои проекты – расширение производства на уже действующем заводе в рамках проекта «Сахалин-2» и строительство нового завода в Приморском крае. В итоге на сегодняшний день нет ясности, будет ли проект «Дальневосточный СПГ» вообще реализован, несмотря на все лоббистские усилия И.Сечина.

Еще один интерес Exxon Mobil к работе в России и сотрудничеству с «Роснефтью» возник по мере реализации соглашения о стратегическом сотрудничестве сторон, подписанного в 2011 году. В феврале 2013 года появился новый проект – две компании намерены участвовать в разведке семи арктических участков, три из которых расположены на шельфе Чукотского моря, - Северо-Врангелевский-1, Северо-Врангелевский-2 и Южно-Чукотский.

В меняющихся условиях актуальным становится вопрос о том, насколько Exxon Mobil заинтересован в работе в России. По оценкам экспертов, доля добываемых в России нефти и газа, с учетом доли Exxon Mobil в проектах, составляет менее 3% от всей ее нефтегазовой добычи. Очевидно, что у компании есть множество проектов в самых разных странах мира. Арктические участки в этой связи становятся самыми проблемными, поскольку они толком даже не разведаны, и могут остаться без инвестиций. Пожалуй, критическое значение сейчас имеет перспектива «Дальневосточного СПГ», поскольку именно работа на рынке сжиженного природного газа привлекает сейчас ведущие мировые компании. Но здесь как раз проект «Сахалин-1» является уязвимым. Выработать же существующие месторождения и продать их нефть на экспорт можно, однако это не столь большие объемы (с возможным ростом за счет Аркутун-Даги и все-таки снижением в долгосрочной перспективе). В этой связи не исключено, что вопрос о выходе американцев из проекта, учитывая не только геополитические, но и финансово-экономические проблемы, будет подниматься еще не раз.

Полный текст Р.Туровского «Дальний Восток и Запад: к чему приводят санкции» читайте 9.06.2014 в рубрике «Регионы».