Notice: curl_setopt(): CURLOPT_SSL_VERIFYHOST no longer accepts the value 1, value 2 will be used instead in /home/admin/web/eastrussia.ru/public_html/gtranslate/gtranslate.php on line 101
Why were created TOP and other measures to support investments in the east of the country - EastRussia | Opinions

Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Far East: benefits and tools for investors

Why were created TOP and other measures to support investments in the east of the country

On the eve of the Fourth East Economic Forum, EastRussia and the Far Eastern Federal University continue a series of mini-lectures on the most pressing issues on the agenda of the event. The second lecture is given by the Associate Professor of the Department of International Relations of the Eastern Institute - the School of Regional and International Studies of the FEFU, the candidate of political sciences Leonid Kozlov - about whether the territories of advanced development have affected the economy of the Far East.

Far East: benefits and tools for investors
Photo: VEF-2017 / TASS Photobank

Leonid Kozlov

Associate Professor, Department of International Relations, Eastern Institute - School of Regional and International Studies, FEFU, PhD in Political Science
Special project TORA and Free Port
In this matter, we must first explain that the economic development of the Far East can not be considered a center apart from social and political tasks. From a purely economic, entrepreneurial point of view, the most profitable in the Far East is the rotational method of production and exploitation of natural resources. The population here is rare, the distances are large, the climate is mostly cold, floods are frequent, so almost all the production with more or less high added value will lose to central Russia and neighboring regions of Northeast Asia. But the shift method and the absence of a permanent population due to them create for Russia in the long term a political threat of losing control over the territory of the Far East. Therefore, economic development is an intermediate goal of Russia's regional policy in the Far East, and the final one is the creation of a permanent population, carriers of civil self-consciousness of the Russian Federation, loyal to our state.

Influence of growth points, named TORs, on the economy of the Far East, we can not adequately assess now, simply because they are basically not built. TORs, whatever they are, should be separate sites with water, sewerage, electricity, a hard-surface road, and preferably with a railway impasse, and also with a fence and a checkpoint. Only after this, the investor can start production here at full capacity. Zones with preferential economic status in the world today there are thousands, so a successful transnational company with innovative technologies will hardly seriously consider placement in the TOP until its full commissioning. It is clear that the arrangement of such a site requires large investments, but still much smaller than the launch of factories and entire industries, as it was in the Soviet period.

In our country, after the proclamation of the TOR initiative, the authorities tried to minimize costs and accelerate accountability, so they heavily used the old areas and involved local businesses that would work in the region without TORs. Of course, some effect for the directly participating business from such a TOP will be, but a significant macroeconomic result is unlikely to be expected.

Another problem is that only local monopolists are able to provide TORs with utilities, which are not very enthusiastic that they are forced to equip new industrial zones in the open field. According to the initial plans of the center, in 2018, some of the TORs should have already become competitive internationally, and in practice some are still under construction, while others are old candies in a new wrapper.

Another problem with TORs is that there are too many of them. All relevant specialists in the regional economy and socio-economic geography agree that production and transport and logistics economic zones are a piece product, and even a prosperous state does not have so much extra money to create them in bundles. The main task of special economic zones is the diffusion of innovations; in other words, the host country tries to spy on successful transnational companies, how they work, learns something from them, helps start their own innovative entrepreneurs. As examples of the significant beneficial effects of special zones on the national economy, the World Bank usually leads underdeveloped hot countries, where energy and labor costs are minimal. The exception is China, but even there, with an in-depth acquaintance with the subject, the main role of special zones in the macroeconomic breakthrough of the country in 1980-2000-ies. looks doubtful.

In the Russian economy, special zones have never played a significant role (for example, they attracted only about 9% of foreign direct investment), and their main advantage was precisely in the diffusion of innovation. In any case, even if the center does everything according to approved recipes in the world, that is, it will build one TOR for each major city, but it will build on the world level, it will take another five years to assess their effect on the regional economy. While current TORs are being created, migration outflow from the Far East continues. However, the TOP is better than nothing, and where most of the work is done, of course, they need to be put into operation.



It seems that economic benefits throughout the Far East have a faster and more pronounced effect on the regional economy and on the mindset of local residents. In addition, they make it possible to profitably work for small and micro-businesses, including in remote settlements, which is ordered to travel to TORs due to a lack of competencies and seed capital. However, in order to attract large and medium-sized businesses to the Far East from other regions and countries in large numbers, these benefits should be very large. S.S. Artobolevsky, one of the leading domestic experts in regional development, believed that investors come to the peripheral depressive region, when the state compensates them for at least 30-40% of the placement price.

When planning growth points, Russian officials traditionally like to use the term "clusters", but they understand them more like Soviet territorial production complexes (TPK), in which one company complements the other. TPK is also a good thing, but to create it requires the resources and powers of the administrative command system. Under the clusters, the founder of this theory, Michael Porter, understands, first and foremost, a community of the same type of producers, sharply competing among themselves in a limited territory and in this competition bringing their products to the highest quality. Accordingly, creating points of growth in the form of production clusters made sense, especially in those industries of the Far Eastern economy, where there is internal competition, that is, in the processing of fish, wood, some agricultural products (eg soybeans), in maritime logistics, etc. While the TORs look like a random set of residents who, in principle, showed interest in this project, and to the cluster effect there is very, very far.

As a specialization of growth points in the Far East, science and tourism are also voiced. In the first case, probably, there are real prospects for Vladivostok, in the second - for Vladivostok and Kamchatka. At the same time, in the TOPs, in the scientific cluster, and in the sphere of tourism, the center should pay close attention to the issue of a comfortable living environment. Now it is horribly uncomfortable in comparison with central Russia. Only one view from the window of the train from Vladivostok Airport to the city center can plunge a potential investor, scientist, and tourist into despondency.

In general, new federal measures to support investors in the Far East since 2007 have been adopted in such a quantity that now it is possible to limit their manual setting in those situations when they stall at the local level and also strengthen the fight against corruption in the implementation of development projects. Regional and municipal authorities received quite a few new duties, often without additional funding, as in the history of the Far Eastern hectare, and this often causes difficulties that the plenipotentiary personally has to decide.

In general, coordinating the actions of the center, regions, municipalities, state corporations and private business in one government program is an arduous task, therefore, the developers of Russia's regional policy can be advised to focus on deregulating the local economic initiative instead of inventing new administrative superstructures. And also they need to have patience, because, as the world experience shows, in this case a stable positive result if it does, then not earlier than in 10-20 years.

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Дальний Восток: льготы и инструменты для инвесторов

Зачем создавались ТОР и прочие меры поддержки вложений на востоке страны

В преддверии четвертого Восточного экономического форума EastRussia и Дальневосточный федеральный университет продолжают серию мини-лекций на самые актуальные вопросы повестки мероприятия. Лекцию вторую читает доцент кафедры международных отношений Восточного института — Школы региональных и международных исследований ДВФУ, кандидат политических наук Леонид Козлов, - о том, повлияли ли территории опережающего развития на экономику Дальнего Востока.

Дальний Восток: льготы и инструменты для инвесторов
Фото: Фотобанк ВЭФ-2017 / ТАСС

Леонид Козлов

Доцент кафедры международных отношений Восточного института — Школы региональных и международных исследований ДВФУ, кандидат политических наук
В этом вопросе надо для начала пояснить, что экономическое развитие Дальнего Востока не может рассматриваться центром в отрыве от социальных и политических задач. С чисто экономической, предпринимательской точки зрения наиболее выгодны на Дальнем Востоке вахтовый метод производства и эксплуатация природных ресурсов. Население здесь редкое, расстояния большие, климат в основном холодный, часты наводнения, поэтому почти всё производство с более-менее высокой добавленной стоимостью будет проигрывать центральной России и сопредельным регионам стран Северо-Восточной Азии. Но вахтовый метод и обусловленное им отсутствие постоянного населения создают для России в перспективе политическую угрозу потери контроля над территорией Дальнего Востока. Поэтому экономическое развитие – это промежуточная цель региональной политики России на Дальнем Востоке, а конечная – это создание постоянного населения, носителей гражданского самосознания Российской Федерации, лояльных нашему государству.
 
Влияние точек роста, названных ТОРами, на экономику Дальнего Востока мы оценить сейчас адекватно не можем, просто потому что они в основном не построены. ТОРы, как их ни назови, должны быть отдельными площадками с подведённой водой, канализацией, электричеством, автодорогой с твёрдым покрытием, а желательно и с железнодорожным тупиком, а также с оградой и КПП. Лишь после этого инвестор может запустить здесь производство на полную мощность. Зон с льготным экономическим статусом в мире сегодня существуют тысячи, поэтому успешная транснациональная компания с инновационными технологиями едва ли будет всерьёз рассматривать размещение в ТОР до её полного ввода в эксплуатацию. Понятно, что обустройство такой площадки требует крупных инвестиций, но всё же гораздо меньших, чем запуск заводов и целых отраслей, как это было в советский период.
 
У нас же после провозглашения инициативы ТОРов власти пытались максимально снизить затраты и ускорить отчётность, поэтому усиленно использовали старые площади и вовлекали местный бизнес, который работал бы в регионе и без ТОРов. Конечно, кое-какой эффект для непосредственно участвующего бизнеса от подобного ТОРа будет, но значимый макроэкономический результат вряд ли следует ожидать.
 
Другой проблемой является то, что обеспечить ТОРы коммунальными услугами могут лишь местные монополисты, которые не испытывают большого энтузиазма от того, что их вынуждают обустраивать новые промзоны в чистом поле. По первоначальным планам центра, в 2018 году некоторые ТОРы уже должны были стать конкурентоспособными в международном сравнении, а на практике одни до сих пор находятся в стадии строительства, а другие являются старыми конфетами в новой обёртке.
 
Ещё одна проблема с ТОРами состоит в том, что их слишком много. Все соответствующие специалисты по региональной экономике и социально-экономической географии сходятся во мнении, что производственные и транспортно-логистические экономические зоны – это штучный продукт, и даже процветающее государство не имеет столько лишних средств, чтобы создавать их пачками. Главная задача особых экономических зон – это диффузия инноваций, проще говоря, принимающая страна пытается подсмотреть у успешных транснациональных компаний, как они работают, чему-то у них учится, помогает стартовать собственным инновационным предпринимателям. В качестве примеров значительного благотворного влияния особых зон на национальную экономику Всемирный банк обычно приводит слаборазвитые жаркие страны, где минимальны расходы на энергетику и рабочую силу. Исключение составляет Китай, но и там при углублённом знакомстве с предметом главная роль особых зон в макроэкономическом рывке страны в 1980-2000-е гг. выглядит сомнительной.
 
В экономике России особые зоны никогда не играли существенной роли (например, они привлекали всего около 9 % прямых иностранных инвестиций), и их основная польза заключалась как раз в диффузии инноваций. В любом случае, даже если центр всё сделает по апробированным в мире рецептам, то есть построит по одному ТОРу около каждого крупного города, но построит на мировом уровне, потребуется ещё лет пять, чтобы оценить их эффект для региональной экономики. Пока создаются нынешние ТОРы, миграционный отток с Дальнего Востока продолжается. Впрочем, ТОР – это лучше, чем ничего, и там, где основная часть работ уже сделана, конечно, надо их ввести в эксплуатацию.
 
Как представляется, экономические льготы на всей территории Дальнего Востока оказывают более быстрое и более заметное влияние на региональную экономику и на умонастроения местных жителей. Кроме того, они позволяют прибыльнее работать малому и микробизнесу, в том числе в отдалённых поселениях, которому заказан путь в ТОРы из-за нехватки компетенций и стартового капитала. Однако, чтобы привлечь на Дальний Восток крупный и средний бизнес из других регионов и стран в массовом порядке, эти льготы должны быть очень большими. С.С. Артоболевский, один из ведущих отечественных специалистов по региональному развитию, полагал, что инвесторы приходят в периферийный депрессивный регион, когда государство компенсирует им не менее 30-40% стоимости размещения.
 
При планировании точек роста российские чиновники традиционно любят также употреблять термин «кластеры», однако понимают их, скорее, как советские территориально-производственные комплексы (ТПК), в которых одно предприятие дополняет другое. ТПК – тоже хорошее дело, но для его создания требуются ресурсы и полномочия административно-командной системы. Под кластерами же основоположник данной теории Майкл Портер понимает, в первую очередь, сообщество однотипных производителей, остро конкурирующих между собой на ограниченной территории и в этой конкуренции доводящих свою продукцию до высшего качества. Соответственно, создавать точки роста в форме производственных кластеров имело смысл, прежде всего, в тех отраслях дальневосточной экономики, где есть внутренняя конкуренция, то есть в переработке рыбы, древесины, некоторых сельхозпродуктов (например, сои), в морской логистике и т.п. Пока ТОРы выглядят как случайный набор резидентов, которые в принципе проявили интерес к этому проекту, и до кластерного эффекта там очень и очень далеко.
 
В качестве специализации точек роста на Дальнем Востоке также озвучиваются наука и туризм. В первом случае, наверное, реальные перспективы есть у Владивостока, во втором – у Владивостока и Камчатки. При этом и в ТОРах, и в научном кластере, и в сфере туризма центр должен обратить пристальное внимание на вопрос комфортной среды проживания. Сейчас она ужасающе дискомфортная в сравнении с центральной Россией. Один только вид из окна электрички от аэропорта Владивосток до центра города может ввергнуть в уныние и потенциального инвестора, и учёного, и туриста.
 
В целом, новых федеральных мер поддержки инвесторов на Дальнем Востоке с 2007 г. было принято такое количество, что теперь можно ограничиться их ручной настройкой в тех ситуациях, когда они буксуют на местном уровне, а также усилить борьбу с коррупцией при реализации проектов развития. Региональные и муниципальные власти получили довольно много новых обязанностей, зачастую без дополнительного финансирования, как в истории с дальневосточным гектаром, и это нередко вызывает затруднения, которые вынужден решать лично полпред.
 
Вообще, согласовать в одной государственной программе действия центра, регионов, муниципалитетов, госкорпораций и частного бизнеса – задача архисложная, поэтому разработчикам региональной политики России можно посоветовать сосредоточиться на дерегулировании местной экономической инициативы вместо изобретения новых административных надстроек. А также им надо запастись терпением, поскольку, как показывает мировой опыт, в этом деле устойчивый положительный результат если и приходит, то не ранее, чем через 10-20 лет.