Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

The Far East is our everything

Magomedov: we are interested in access to Asian markets

According to Ziyavudin Magomedov, the Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Suma Group, the Far East is a very promising area. Today, "Sum" already implements there 2 major projects: the construction of the port of Zarubin and the coal terminal in the port of Vostochny. The plans of the group, about what is interesting for China in Russia and our country in the Middle Kingdom, Ziyavudin Magomedov told us in an exclusive interview.

The Far East is our everything

- Ziyavudin Hajiyevich, today everyone is heard and discussed at all levels and authorities, and business the issue of the project "Economic belt of the Silk Road." Do you think that in the near future we should expect concrete steps to create a concrete infrastructure? And what dividends should Russia expect?

- I believe that, following the agreement that the Russian president and the PRC signed in May, there must be an applied work that will determine the points of contact. And here are the concrete projects that Russia and China could realize. That is why the formulation of the interface of the EAEC and the Silk Road, they have it called "One way - one belt." Project Zarubina, railway projects. Now many ideas are being discussed. From Beijing, Guangzhou and Shenzhen to Moscow, through Kazan, through Orenburg. Accordingly, I believe, these projects should get real outlines and be put from the economic point of view on paper. And, probably, some of them will be chosen. Because these are the most capital-intensive projects - railroad highway projects.

- Do you think there are any risks for our country or not?

- Risks are absolutely tangible. If we are not involved in this ambitious ambitious project, in this case the People's Republic of China, I'm afraid that all investments are for projects that will bypass Russia. Actually, in part this is already happening. If we look at projects that are on the verge of Kazakhstan and China, all routes are directed to the Caspian Sea via Atau, Baku, bypassing Russia, or by rail, respectively, Iran, Turkmenistan. Now, in the context of the lifting of sanctions, Iran as a transit country acquires quite obvious advantages. And plus to this, China is actively implementing marine projects. These are two announced and announced projects, the construction of two ports. These are railroad projects through Pakistan that will come to Mian. That is, it is obvious that Russia should clearly and with concrete projects announce its agenda and actively participate in it.

- You have already named a number of large projects, which are planned to be implemented within the framework of the Silk Road. Today, what projects for the group "Summa" are of greatest interest? And in general for you what is the Far East?

- For us, the Far East is our everything. It's such a funny thing. Recently there retrospectively we raised the story. In this case, my genealogical tree there. We have 33 my fellow villagers, they took part in the defense of Port Arthur and died.

Is this in the Russo-Japanese War?

- Yes, in the Russo-Japanese War. Therefore, for me, the Far East is a large and promising part of Russia's territory, our country. This is announced by the president, he announced the focus of the priority development of the Far East. These are social projects. We actively participate in different projects. Suppose, from scratch, they created the hockey club "Admiral", which now plays pretty well. We will perform the third season. Therefore, for me it is business, and, of course, such a serious piece of the soul, and our territory. Accordingly, in terms of projects, the Zarubin project is an eastern project, which we are now developing with traditional terminals. I hope that in two and a half years we will finish it.

- Do you think that such a close relationship with the East is still a long-term prospect or at the time of cooling in relations with the countries of Europe and the United States? And what do you think, this connection with Russia today, what does it mean for China?

- It seems to me that China has a large and frontal focus on taking a serious place in the transit of goods turnover between East Asia and Europe. This is quite a large volume of turnover there, only containers of the order of 20 million. Accordingly, China wants to play a serious role there. For Russia, it seems to me, this is simply an unfairly deprived Russia and the Soviet Union then focus on the East. Because Europe is traditionally a big partner for us. And we can not ignore it. But at the same time, it is necessary to recognize the fact that there is a great prospect in the context of rapidly developing Southeast Asia, interaction with Southeast Asia, and with China, in particular. Therefore, I believe this is not a fundamental change, it is just the focus of development. It would be correct, probably, to develop and strengthen our traditionally trade, infrastructure, transport arteries with Southeast Asia.

- You today talk a lot with Asian investors, not only with Chinese investors. In general, your impression of communicating with them? How do you think, are they ready to invest real money in realizing joint projects with Russia today? And what are the prospects for further such a relationship?

- I believe that, of course, the simplest thing that comes to mind is the resource. Of course, they are interested in resources. In China, the growing population is a billion 347. The largest country. India, which is catching up dynamically. Vietnam, which is developing dynamically. Korea. I believe this is a resource. What can be interesting for Russia? It may be interesting, of course, to have access to these markets in the future. Because China is a giant market. And any technology invented in Russia, it can accordingly be replicated successfully and very quickly in China, in India. Unfortunately, we are not yet the most advanced in terms of technology, if we talk about technology. But where we are strong, we have a well-educated population, we have a huge territory, the opportunities to use our territory accordingly in terms of transit and these corridors of the Silk Road. We have a resource. And this, too, we can use. It seems to me that if we focus on these several priorities from the point of view of the hierarchy of values, then they can be converted into some kind of narrowly technological things, I believe that everything here can be very interesting from the point of view of increasing volume, cooperation, and so on.

- Do you think it is possible today to name specific mechanisms in order to increase the flow of these Asian investments?

- There are very specific examples. There is an announced and adopted law on TORs. And accordingly, some business circles criticize, they say that it does not meet all the wishes and requirements. But nevertheless, I believe that this is a serious step forward. Plus, as you probably remember, in December last year, the initiative announced by the President of the Russian Federation on free ports, which, I think, will be the strongest driver. If we can, let's say, reincarnate the idea of ​​free French ports, it seems to me that this will play an important role. But accordingly, these are such serious steps that will allow to identify business, activity in these territories.

- If we talk about the Far East, then in September there for the first time will be the Eastern Economic Forum. First, what does business expect from this forum? Secondly, for the whole region, what does it mean to hold such large-scale events there?

- In Vladivostok, as you remember, the ATEC forum was held in 2012. And large budget money was invested in the construction of infrastructures. There is a brilliant university of DFGU. Infrastructure, bridges, roads, airport. I believe that we can not not use this, especially in the context of the vector announced there, including the development of the East. Therefore, holding such a forum as a venue for a potential investor, the largest companies of Asian and Russian business, which may be a partner for companies or a co-investor, I believe that this is a brilliant initiative there. And, probably, it is very correct and timely.

March 9: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Дальний Восток – наше все

Магомедов: нам интересно иметь доступ на рынки Азии

По словам председателя совета директоров группы «Сумма» Зиявудина Магомедова, Дальний Восток - очень перспективная территория. Сегодня «Сумма» уже реализует там 2 крупных проекта: строительство порта Зарубина и угольного терминала в порту Восточный. О планах группы, о том, что интересно Китаю в России и нашей стране в Поднебесной, Зиявудин Магомедов рассказал нам в эксклюзивном интервью.

Дальний Восток – наше все

- Зиявудин Гаджиевич, сегодня у всех на слуху и обсуждается на всех уровнях и власти, и бизнеса вопрос реализации проекта "Экономический пояс Шелкового пути". Как вы считаете, стоит ли в ближайшее время ожидать уже конкретных шагов по созданию конкретной инфраструктуры? И каких дивидендов следует ожидать России?

- Я полагаю, что вслед за тем соглашением, которое в мае подписали президент России и КНР, должна быть прикладная работа, которая нам определит точки соприкосновения. И вот конкретные проекты, которые могли бы реализовать Россия и Китай. Именно поэтому формулировка сопряжения ЕАЭС и Шелкового пути, у них это называется "Один путь – один пояс". Проект Зарубина, железнодорожные проекты. Сейчас обсуждается много идей. От Пекина, Гуанчжоу и Шеньчженя до Москвы, через Казань, через Оренбург. Соответственно, я полагаю, эти проекты должны получить реальные очертания и быть положены с точки зрения экономики на бумагу. И, наверное, какие-то из них будут выбраны. Потому что это самые капиталоемкие проекты – проекты железнодорожных магистралей.

- Как вы считаете, а есть какие-то риски для нашей страны или нет?

- Риски совершенно осязаемые. Если мы не будем вовлечены в этот достаточно большой амбициозный проект, в данном случае Китайской Народной Республики, я боюсь, что все инвестиции на проекты, которые будут обходить Россию стороной. Собственно, частично это уже происходит. Если мы посмотрим на проекты, которые реализуются на грани Казахстана и Китая, - все маршруты направлены на Каспийское море через Атау, Баку, минуя Россию, или по железной дороге, соответственно Иран, Туркменистан. Сейчас в контексте отмены санкций Иран как транзитная страна приобретает совершенно очевидные плюсы. И плюс к этому Китай активно реализовывает морские проекты. Это два объявленных и анонсированных проекта, строительство двух портов. Это проекты железных дорог через Пакистан, которые придут в Миан. То есть, очевидно, что Россия должна совершенно конкретно, с конкретными проектами объявлять свою повестку и активно в этом участвовать.

- Вы уже назвали ряд крупных проектов, которые планируется реализовать в рамках Шелкового пути. Сегодня какие проекты для группы "Суммы" представляют наибольший интерес? И в целом для вас что такое Дальний Восток?

- Для нас Дальний Восток – это наше все. Это такая забавная штука. Недавно там ретроспективно мы поднимали историю. В данном случае моего там генеалогического древа. У нас 33 моих односельчан, они принимали участие в защите Порт-Артура и погибли.

- Это в русско-японской войне?

- Да, в русско-японской войне. Поэтому для меня Дальний Восток – это большая и перспективная часть российской территории, нашей страны. Это и объявленный президентом, анонсированный им фокус приоритетного развития Дальнего Востока. Это и социальные проекты. Мы активно участвуем в разных проектах. Допустим, с нуля создали там хоккейный клуб "Адмирал", который сейчас неплохо достаточно играет. Мы третий сезон будем выступать. Поэтому для меня это и бизнес, и, конечно, такой серьезный кусочек души, и нашей территории. Соответственно, с точки зрения проектов, то проект Зарубина - это проект восточный, который мы сейчас уже развиваем с традиционными терминалами. Надеюсь, через два с половиной года мы его закончим.

- Как вы считаете, такая тесная связь с Востоком - это все-таки долгосрочная перспектива или на время охлаждения во взаимоотношениях со странами Европы и США? И как вы считаете, такая связь сегодня с Россией, она что значит для Китая?

- Мне кажется, у Китая большой и фронтальный фокус на то, чтобы занять серьезное место в транзите товарооборота между и Восточной Азией, и Европой. Это достаточно большой там объем товарооборота, только контейнеров порядка 20 миллионов. Соответственно Китай хочет играть там серьезную роль. Для России, мне кажется, это просто несправедливо обделенная Россией и Советским Союзом тогда внимания фокус на Восток. Потому что Европа для нас традиционно большой партнер. И это игнорировать мы не можем. Но, вместе с тем, надо признать и то обстоятельство, что перспектива большая есть в контексте бурно развивающейся Юго-Восточной Азии, взаимодействие и с Юго-Восточной Азией, и с Китаем, в частности. Поэтому, я полагаю, это не изменения фундаментальные, это просто фокус развития. Это было бы правильно, наверное, развитие и укрепление наших традиционно торговых, инфраструктурных, транспортных артерий с Юго-Восточной Азией.

- Вы сегодня очень много общаетесь с азиатскими инвесторами, не только с китайскими. В целом ваше впечатление от общения с ними? Как вы считаете, насколько они сегодня готовы реально инвестировать средства в реализацию совместных проектов с Россией? И каковы перспективы дальнейшие такого взаимоотношения?

- Я полагаю, что, безусловно, самое простое, что приходит в голову, - это ресурс. Безусловно, им интересны ресурсы. В Китае растущее население - миллиард 347. Крупнейшая страна. Индия, которая достаточно динамично догоняет. Вьетнам, который динамично развивается. Корея. Я полагаю, это ресурс. Что может быть интересно России? России может быть интересно, конечно, иметь в будущем доступ на эти рынки. Потому что Китай - гигантский рынок. И любая технология, изобретенная в России, она соответственно может быть растиражирована успешно и очень быстро в Китае, в Индии. К сожалению, мы пока не самые продвинутые с точки зрения технологий, если говорить о технологиях. Но там, где мы сильны, у нас достаточно образованное население, у нас гигантская территория, возможности соответственно использовать свою территорию с точки зрения транзитов и этих коридоров Шелкового пути. У нас ресурс. И это тоже мы можем использовать. Мне кажется, если с точки зрения иерархии ценностей сейчас сделать фокус на эти несколько приоритетов, потом их конвертировать в какие-то узко технологические вещи, я полагаю, что тут может быть все очень интересно с точки зрения увеличения объема, кооперации и так далее.

- Как вы считаете, можно ли сегодня назвать конкретные механизмы, для того чтобы поток этих азиатских инвестиций увеличился?

- Есть совершенно конкретные примеры. Есть анонсированный и принятый закон о ТОРах. И соответственно некоторые бизнес-круги критикуют, говорят, что он не отвечает всем пожеланиям и требованиям. Но тем не менее, я полагаю, что это серьезный шаг вперед. Плюс, как вы, наверное, помните, в декабре прошлого года объявленная президентом РФ инициатива о свободных портах, которая, мне кажется, будет сильнейшим драйвером. Если мы сможем, скажем так, реинкорнировать идею свободных франкопортов, мне кажется, это сыграет свою существенную роль. Но соответственно это такие серьезные шаги, которые позволят идентифицировать бизнес, деятельность на этих территориях.

- Если говорить о Дальнем Востоке, то в сентябре там впервые пройдет Восточный экономический форум. Во-первых, чего бизнес ожидает от этого форума? Во-вторых, для всего региона что значит проведение там подобных масштабных мероприятий?

- Во Владивостоке, как вы помните, в 2012 году прошел форум АТЕС. И были вложены большие бюджетные деньги в строительство инфраструктур. Там построен блестящий университет ДФГУ. Инфраструктура, мосты, дороги, аэропорт. Я полагаю, что мы не можем это не использовать, тем более в контексте объявленного там вектора, в том числе развитие Востока. Поэтому проведение такого форума как площадки, где собирается потенциальный инвестор, крупнейшие компании азиатские и российский бизнес, который может быть партнером для компаний или соинвестором, я полагаю, что это, там, блестящая инициатива. И, наверное, она очень правильная и своевременная.