Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

The Far East remains the raw material periphery of the country

The Far East remains the raw material periphery of the country

Rostislav Turovsky

Doctor of Political Sciences, Professor of HSE, Scientific Editor East Russia

Rostislav Turovsky, Vice-President of the Center for Political Technologies:

- The current model involves external economic management of the Far East. At its core is a complex bureaucratic structure in the government and presidential administration. Adjacent to it are state-dominated state corporations and a number of private financial-industrial groups. There was an actual reduction of the powers of the regional authorities, who can only hope for the success of federal projects and “be friends” with FIG. Filling regional budgets has also proved to be a secondary task, since all new projects are based on the provision of tax incentives. But if we talk about privileges, it is significant that in the Far East little use is made of the regime of special economic zones, which make it possible to develop the territory (although during the adoption of the law on special economic zones, the then economic development minister G. Gref talked about the priority of creating the SEZ in Siberia and in the Far East). There were many proposals for the creation of the SEZ on the territory of entire subjects of the federation (by analogy with the Kaliningrad region), there were local projects. As a result, not a single SEZ in the Far East can be called effective. But business breaks through privileges for specific fields, and not for the sake of the development of territories, and this is exactly what is happening successfully.

Such a model is beneficial to federal subjects and is in their interests. But its major drawback is the local nature of the projects. New deposits do not necessarily give impetus to the development of regions and municipalities, do not always mean an increase in tax payments and the creation of a large number of jobs. The state's investments in transport and energy infrastructure through FTP are often associated with the same projects (it is typical that new editions of the Far Eastern FTP have increased transportation costs, whereas previously the program was oriented towards housing and public utilities). The same APEC summit absorbed the largest part of the old FTP, being an "island" project that passed "by" residents even Vladivostok, not to mention the whole region. As a result, for the main part of the territory of the Far East and its population there is still no visible effect.

In these conditions, there is a high probability of conservation of the raw material model of the development of the Far East, which, moreover, does not guarantee growth in the long term. All key projects are related to the extraction, processing and transportation of raw materials. This in itself is not so bad. The effect for the Far East as a whole is unclear. In addition, for the "future" Far East raw materials markets are not guaranteed, and the ATR and China in particular should not be naively considered "constantly growing." There is absolutely no demand for liquefied natural gas, and Rosneft and Gazprom compete among themselves, offering projects that are not provided with either raw materials or a sales market. A major shortcoming of Russian products will be its high cost, due to which it will lose to Australian, Indonesian and other analogs.



Plus, of course, the rejection of the model 1990-ies, when Russia was counting on production sharing agreements, which would not bring her almost no benefits. Now, all the same, direct foreign investments are coming to the regions. The Sakhalin experience of regional growth, too, undoubtedly attracts. But he showed another: even, it would seem, very profitable commodity projects in the fuel and energy sector are implemented extremely slowly, it takes about 10-15 years. Now in Russia everywhere extend the deadlines for the implementation of new projects, and the same fate is clearly waiting for Far Eastern projects, the launch of which may not last for one decade, but in many cases will not happen at all. Indicative and actual failure of the mega-project of development of South Yakutia, which assumed at least some kind of complex development of the territory, but just because of this was unrealistic.

There are risks that the "raw curse" will prevent the diversification of the Far Eastern economy, but only in this way it is possible to include most of the territories and their residents in the projects. New projects in the real sector, such as the Zvezda shipyard and the Sollers automobile plant, have limited prospects. The defense industry in the person of primarily the Komsomolsk-on-Amur aviation production association has its own sales markets, but this is again a single, albeit a major event. The construction of the new spaceport Vostochny is a beautiful step, but it has almost no impact on the economy.

The desire to cope with domestic and foreign policy challenges, as well as the emergence of new resources in the state contributed to 2000-2002. the beginning of a long series of managerial and financial-economic experiments. From that time to the present, the problem begins to be different. Resources and the desire to engage the Far East from the federal center is. But there are too many managerial and near-state commercial structures fighting among themselves for influence and financial flows, and this diversity, on the one hand, allows to satisfy the interests of various groups of influence in the current regime, but, on the other hand, makes decision-making difficult. The Far East is favored by the federal center and has received a new management regime, but so far remains the raw material periphery of the country and the sum of not-so-numerous local projects. His withdrawal from the unstable state in the future depends on reducing the level of managerial contradictions and diversifying the Far Eastern economy.

More: http://www.eastrussia.ru/region/5/619/

August 8: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Дальний Восток остается сырьевой периферией страны

Дальний Восток остается сырьевой периферией страны

Ростислав Туровский

Доктор политических наук, профессор НИУ ВШЭ, научный редактор East Russia

Ростислав Туровский, Вице-президент Центра политических технологий:

- Нынешняя модель предполагает внешнее экономическое управление Дальним Востоком. В ее основе – сложная бюрократическая конструкция в правительстве и администрации президента. К ней примыкают доминирующие на территории государственные корпорации и ряд частных ФПГ. Произошло фактическое урезание полномочий региональной власти, которым остается надеяться на успешность федеральных проектов и «дружить» с ФПГ. Наполнение региональных бюджетов также оказалось второстепенной задачей, поскольку все новые проекты основаны на предоставлении налоговых льгот. Но если говорить о льготах, то показательно, что на Дальнем Востоке мало используется режим особых экономических зон, которые позволяют развивать территории (хотя во время принятия закона об особых экономических зонах тогдашний министр экономического развития Г.Греф говорил о приоритетности создания ОЭЗ именно в Сибири и на Дальнем Востоке). Было множество предложений о создании ОЭЗ на территории целых субъектов федерации (по аналогии с Калининградской областью), были локальные проекты. В итоге ни одну ОЭЗ на Дальнем Востоке нельзя назвать эффективной. Льготы же бизнес пробивает под конкретные месторождения, а не ради развития территорий, и это как раз происходит успешно.

Подобная модель выгодна федеральным субъектам и отвечает их интересам. Но ее крупным минусом является локальный характер проектов. Новые месторождения не обязательно придают импульс развитию регионов и муниципальных образований, не всегда означают рост налоговых платежей и создание большого числа рабочих мест. Вложения государства в транспортную и энергетическую инфраструктуру посредством ФЦП зачастую связаны с этими же проектами (характерно, что новые редакции дальневосточной ФЦП увеличивали расходы на транспорт, тогда как ранее программа была ориентирована на ЖКХ и социалку). Тот же саммит АТЭС поглотил наиболее крупную часть средств прежней ФЦП, оказавшись «островным» проектом, который прошел «мимо» жителей даже Владивостока, не говоря уже про весь регион. В результате для основной части территории Дальнего Востока и его населения до сих пор нет зримого эффекта.

В этих условиях велика вероятность консервации сырьевой модели развития Дальнего Востока, которая к тому же не гарантирует рост в долгосрочной перспективе. Все ключевые проекты связаны с добычей, переработкой и транспортировкой сырья. Само по себе это не так уж и плохо. Неясен эффект для Дальнего Востока в целом. Кроме того, для «будущего» дальневосточного сырья вовсе не гарантированы рынки сбыта, а АТР и Китай в частности не следует наивно считать «постоянно растущими». Совершенно не обязательно будет спрос на сжиженный природный газ, а «Роснефть» и «Газпром» соревнуются между собой, предлагая проекты, не обеспеченные ни сырьем, ни рынком сбыта. Крупным недостатком российской продукции останется ее высокая себестоимость, из-за которой она будет проигрывать австралийским, индонезийским и прочим аналогам.

Плюсом является, конечно, отказ от модели 1990-х годов, когда Россия рассчитывала на соглашения о разделе продукции, что не принесло бы ей почти никаких выгод. Сейчас все-таки в регионы идут прямые иностранные инвестиции. Сахалинский опыт регионального роста тоже, несомненно, привлекает. Но он показал и другое: даже, казалось бы, очень выгодные сырьевые проекты в области ТЭКа реализуются крайне медленно, на это уходит порядка 10-15 лет. Сейчас в России повсеместно продлевают сроки реализации новых проектов, и та же участь явно ждет дальневосточные проекты, запуск которых может растянуться не на одно десятилетие, а во многих случаях не произойдет вовсе. Показателен и фактический срыв мегапроекта развития Южной Якутии, который предполагал хоть какое-то комплексное развитие территории, но как раз из-за этого оказался нереалистичным.

Возникают риски того, что «сырьевое проклятие» помешает диверсификации дальневосточной экономики, а только таким путем можно включить в проекты большинство территорий и их жителей. Новые проекты реального сектора, такие как верфь «Звезда» и автомобильный завод «Соллерс» имеют ограниченные перспективы. Оборонка в лице прежде всего Комсомольского-на-Амуре авиационного производственного объединения имеет свои рынки сбыта, но это опять же единичный, хотя и крупный случай. Строительство нового космодрома «Восточный» является красивым шагом, но на экономику он почти никак не влияет.

Стремление справиться с внутри- и внешнеполитическими вызовами, а также появление у государства новых ресурсов способствовали в 2000-2002 гг. началу длинной череды управленческих и финансово-экономических экспериментов. С той поры и до настоящего времени проблема начинает состоять в другом. Ресурсы и желание заниматься Дальним Востоком у федерального центра есть. Но возникает слишком много управленческих и окологосударственных коммерческих структур, борющихся между собой за влияние и финансовые потоки, и это многообразие, с одной стороны, позволяет удовлетворять интересы различных групп влияния в текущем режиме, но, с другой стороны, затрудняет принятие решений. Дальний Восток обласкан вниманием федерального центра и получил новый режим управления, но пока остается сырьевой периферией страны и суммой не столь уж многочисленных локальных проектов. Его вывод из неустойчивого состояния в перспективе зависит от снижения уровня управленческих противоречий и диверсификации дальневосточной экономики. 

Подробнее:  http://www.eastrussia.ru/region/5/619/