Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

APEC can become a platform for "reconciliation of hours"

As a result of the APEC leaders meeting in Manila, it remains to determine what are the chances for dialogue between those who are part of the American TTP and those who do without it, said Dmitry Kosyrev, political observer of the MIA "Russia Today"

APEC Leaders' Week, which ended this Thursday in the capital of the Philippines, Manila, was doomed to remain almost unnoticed amid the war in the Middle East. Yes, in the end, the mechanism of the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation is not designed for information sensations, such are created only by the meetings of the top leaders of APEC "on the sidelines", moreover, at such meetings, most often it is about matters that have nothing to do with APEC.


APEC may become a platform for

Dmitry Kozyrev

Political observer MIA "Russia Today"
America on the offensive

So, the US President made a speech in Manila about the fight against climate change (not the main topic of APEC), the new Prime Minister of Canada told Obama about the withdrawal of his fighters from Syria and Iraq - this is roughly what is most often found in the media following the Manila meetings. Everyone also said the right words about terrorism.

This is an old problem, the annual Leaders' Week seems to be distracting rather than drawing attention to APEC. Recall that work in APEC goes on all year round, hundreds of businessmen and high government officials participate in it, many programs are being developed that really integrate 21 economies of the most important region of the planet. But integration, documents and figures are not very effective, but the end of the "week of leaders" with a summit meeting - here we have what is called "informational". At least for photographs.
The events in Manila turned out to be interesting, however, they showed that exactly 2015-th the year became a turning point, critical for the entire project of Pacific integration. First, because the rivalry between the United States and China has intensified. Secondly, this happened because it was the last year that turned out to be economically problematic for the Asia-Pacific region, even apart from this rivalry. As a result, the question arises - whether the APEC mechanism itself will not turn out to be unnecessary, as it actually happened with the GXNUMX, which shrank to the GXNUMX with Russia leaving it.
The point, of course, is largely in who is the host of the meeting. In the Philippines, one of the most pro-American countries in Asia, America felt at home and launched an offensive against China, the second key member of APEC. A year ago, it was the other way around, the chairman was China, which, accordingly, for 12 months coordinated dozens of meetings of businessmen and officials, appointed the topics of meetings, directed the work on draft documents.

This activity culminated in the Chinese Free Trade for Asia-Pacific Initiative (FTAAP). Note that we are not talking about some kind of formal agreement, but about a purely propaganda slogan, an ideologeme (such as the "Silk Road"), which denotes a multitude of processes already taking place in terms of economic integration. But, we repeat, they do occur; Yes, here's at least the story with the China-proposed Infrastructure Development Bank for the APR, which was eventually launched.
The United States made a mistake by opposing the creation of the bank and agitating everyone not to join: many did not obey and did. But this year the American response followed in the form of the concluded (after many years of negotiations) agreement on the Trans-Pacific Trade Partnership, which included the "chosen" (America) members of APEC. The text of the agreement itself was published only after that, that is, the negotiations were conducted by the United States in secret (from China, Russia and many others; Russian diplomats, who at one time officially offered to let them read this document, were officially asked not to worry).

This project is a real anti-APEC. If only because in APEC 21 economies, from the giants of the United States and China to small Thailand and others, talk on equal terms, general programs are optional (you can not participate). In general, not the EU. But the American TPP is also not the EU, but on the contrary, the rules in this agreement are stricter than even in the European Union.
But if the TPP really works, if many key APEC members have already signed up to the project, then what remains for APEC to do? The simple answer is nothing, you can close.
In life, however, everything is more complicated and interesting. Let's pay attention to the speech of the head of China Xi Jinping in Manila, at one of the events of the "leaders week" - at the Business Summit (meeting of the top business). Xi, resisting the American onslaught, was essentially talking about the fact that the Americans are splitting the region. But he also listed many directions in which everyone can move together and in addition to the TPP.

Pediatric Growth Disease Over

Two or three years ago, APEC looked like a giant simply because the economy of the Pacific region was growing, outstripping other regions. And this year, as follows from the document prepared for the forum by the APEC research service, the growth - quarterly - in general looks like this: 3,2%, then 3,1% ... And a year ago it was 3,4%. There are many reasons for the slowdown, including the fact that the region's economies have become large, not all physically can repeat the double-digit records of previous years. It is easy to grow up in "childhood" - for a small economy, and one produced truck gives a noticeable improvement in statistics.

Therefore, now the entire APEC mechanism, in fact, is working to find growth reserves, and not only percentage growth. And here lies one of the reasons why not only the steadfast allies of the United States have agreed to the enslaving TPP, although they understand that it, in fact, deprives them of their sovereignty. The fact is that the TPP has a good side - virtually duty-free trade. Getting access to US markets, even at the cost of self-destruction, is something.

This story is directly related to the essence, philosophy of APEC. The meaning of this mechanism for the United States and several other countries was initially to create a free trade zone throughout the region. And for half of the APEC participants, its meaning is exactly the opposite - to carry out integration, while maintaining control over their economies, and also over politics. The merit of APEC is that over a quarter of a century this mechanism has opened literally hundreds of reserves for growth and development in addition to "free trade."
This is all the more important because trade and export were the engine of the "Asian miracle" in the previous era, but it is just ending. TPP is trade, that is, yesterday. Today they talk more about the development of domestic markets, in China and other countries.

And this is where the Filipinos came up with a lot of interesting things. The slogan of their chairmanship was to ensure inclusive growth. That is, one where as many people as possible are involved. And they can be involved there, for example, by improving education and health care; that is, public investment in these two sectors creates both middle-class producers and consumers, lifting people out of poverty. At least this is the Philippine development experience, which helped the country get out of the zone of perpetual misery and start growing at an almost Chinese pace (about 6% per year).

The mechanics of APEC are such that this Philippine idea, among many others, has now entered the intergovernmental programs of almost all - 21 participants in the process, strengthening the mechanism of a unified regional education system. And this is just one line in numerous APEC achievements in 2015.
Where is Russia in this whole story? There is an answer. Although it was given, contrary to tradition, not in one of the newspapers of the host country of the summit, but in the Chinese People's Daily, the author of the article is President Vladimir Putin. He, not forgetting to speak about the TPP and closed trade blocks, talks about open cooperation of equals, lists its most promising areas for Russia, including the idea of ​​a single educational space in the Asia-Pacific region - this, by the way, about the Philippine initiatives, which in fact continue our Vladivostok ( speech about the APEC summit in this city in 2012).
As for freedom of trade, in fact, more than two dozen such agreements are in force in the region (for example, Russia has a similar document with Vietnam, and others are being prepared). It seems that the customs duty here is generally becoming an anachronism. The question is, whose model of freedom is better - the Chinese, which does not oblige anyone to anything, or the American.
The peculiarity of the situation in the region is that it is possible to participate in all trade and other regimes simultaneously, allowing everyone to prove their attractiveness. As far as APEC is concerned, this mechanism can become, among other things, a platform for “synchronizing watches” and for dialogue between those who are part of the American TPP and those who do without it.

The material is published on the site RIA "News" 19.11.2015.


September 21: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

АТЭС может стать площадкой для "сверки часов"

По итогам встречи лидеров АТЭС в Маниле остается определить, каковы шансы для диалога тех, кто входит в американскую ТТП, и тех, кто обходится без таковой, считает Дмитрий Косырев, политический обозреватель МИА "Россия сегодня"

«Неделя лидеров» АТЭС, завершившаяся в этот четверг в столице Филиппин Маниле, была обречена на то, чтобы остаться почти незамеченной на фоне войны на Ближнем Востоке. Да, в конце концов, механизм Азиатско-Тихоокеанского экономического сотрудничества и не рассчитан на информационные сенсации, таковые создают разве что встречи высших лидеров АТЭС «на полях», причем речь на подобных встречах чаще всего идет о делах, к АТЭС отношения не имеющих.


АТЭС может стать площадкой для

Дмитрий Козырев

политический обозреватель МИА "Россия сегодня"
Америка в наступлении

Итак, президент США произнес в Маниле речь о борьбе с переменами климата (не главная тема АТЭС), новый премьер Канады сообщил Обаме о выводе своих истребителей из Сирии и Ирака — вот примерно то, что чаще всего встречается в СМИ по итогам манильских встреч. Всеми были также сказаны нужные слова по поводу терроризма.

Это старая проблема, ежегодная «неделя лидеров», похоже, не столько привлекает внимание к АТЭС, сколько отвлекает. Напомним, что работа в АТЭС идет круглый год, в ней участвуют сотни бизнесменов и высоких правительственных чиновников, развивается множество программ, реально интегрирующих 21 экономику самого важного региона планеты. Но интеграция, документы и цифры — это не очень эффектно, а вот завершение «недели лидеров» встречей на высшем уровне — тут у нас то, что называют «инфоповодом». Хотя бы для фотографий.
Мероприятия в Маниле оказались, тем не менее, интересными, они показали, что именно 2015-й год стал переломным, критическим для всего проекта тихоокеанской интеграции. Во-первых, потому что обострилось соперничество США и Китая. Во-вторых, произошло это потому, что именно последний год оказался для АТР экономически проблемным даже и помимо этого соперничества. В результате возникает вопрос — а не окажется ли ненужным сам механизм АТЭС, как это уже фактически произошло с «Группой восьми», ужавшейся до «Группы семи» с уходом оттуда России.
Дело, конечно, во многом в том, кто хозяин встречи. На Филиппинах, одной из самых проамериканских стран Азии, Америка чувствовала себя как дома и перешла там в наступление на Китай, второго ключевого члена АТЭС. Год назад было наоборот, председателем был Китай, который, соответственно, 12 месяцев координировал десятки заседаний бизнесменов и чиновников, назначал темы встреч, направлял работу над проектами документов.

Увенчалась эта деятельность китайской инициативой «свободной торговли для АТР» (FTAAP). Заметим, что речь не о каком-то формальном соглашении, а о чисто пропагандистском лозунге, идеологеме (типа «Шелкового пути»), которой обозначают множество и без того происходящих по части экономической интеграции процессов. Но они, повторим, происходят; да вот хотя бы история с предложенным Китаем Банком инфраструктурного развития для АТР, который в итоге был запущен.
США допустили просчет, воспротивившись созданию банка и агитируя всех и каждого туда не вступать: многие не послушались и вступили. Но в этом году последовал американский ответ в виде заключенного (после многолетних переговоров) соглашения о Транстихоокеанском торговом партнерстве, куда вошли «избранные» (Америкой) члены АТЭС. Сам текст соглашения опубликован только после этого, то есть переговоры США вели секретно (от Китая, России и многих других; российских дипломатов, в свое время официально предложивших дать им почитать этот документ, официально же попросили не беспокоиться).

Этот проект — самый настоящий анти-АТЭС. Хотя бы потому, что в АТЭС 21 экономика, от гигантов США и Китая до небольшого Таиланда и прочих, разговаривают на равных, общие программы необязательны (можно не участвовать). В общем, не ЕС. А вот американское ТТП — тоже не ЕС, но наоборот, в этом соглашении правила жестче, чем даже в Евросоюзе.
Но если ТТП и правда заработает, если под проектом уже подписалось много ключевых членов АТЭС, то что остается делать АТЭС? Простой ответ — ничего, можно закрываться.
В жизни, однако, все сложнее и интереснее. Обратим внимание на выступление главы Китая Си Цзиньпина в Маниле, на одном из мероприятий «недели лидеров» — на Деловом саммите (встрече верхушки бизнеса). Си, сопротивляясь американскому натиску, по сути, говорил о том, что американцы раскалывают регион. Но он же перечислял множество направлений, в которых можно двигаться всем вместе и помимо ТТП.

Детская болезнь роста закончилась

Еще два-три года назад АТЭС выглядела гигантом просто потому, что экономика Тихоокеанского региона росла, опережая прочие регионы. А в нынешнем году, как следует из подготовленного к форуму документа исследовательской службы АТЭС, рост — поквартально — в целом выглядит так: 3,2%, затем 3,1%... А год назад было 3,4%. Причин для замедления много, включая ту, что экономики региона стали большими, не все физически могут повторять двузначные рекорды прошлых лет. Расти легко в «детстве» — для маленькой экономики и один произведенный грузовик дает заметное улучшение статистики.

Поэтому сейчас весь механизм АТЭС, по сути, работает на поиск резервов роста, причем далеко не только процентного. И здесь кроется одна из причин того, почему не только твердокаменные союзники США согласились на кабальное ТТП, хотя понимают, что оно, по сути, лишает их суверенитета. Дело в том, что ТТП имеет и хорошую сторону — фактически беспошлинную торговлю. Получить доступ на рынки США, даже ценой самоуничтожения, — это кое-что.

Эта история напрямую касается сути, философии АТЭС. Смысл этого механизма для США и еще нескольких стран изначально был в том, чтобы создать во всем регионе зону свободной торговли. А для половины участников АТЭС его смысл ровно в противоположном — проводить интеграцию, сохраняя контроль за своими экономиками, да и за политикой. Заслуга АТЭС в том, что этот механизм за четверть века открыл буквально сотни резервов роста и развития помимо «свободной торговли».
Это тем более важно потому, что торговля и экспорт были мотором «азиатского чуда» в предыдущую эпоху, но она как раз заканчивается. ТТП — это торговля, то есть вчерашний день. Сегодня больше говорят о развитии внутренних рынков, в Китае и прочих странах.

И как раз здесь много интересного придумали филиппинцы. Лозунг их председательства был — обеспечение инклюзивного роста. То есть такого, куда вовлечено как можно больше людей. А вовлекать их туда можно, к примеру, за счет улучшения образования и медицинского обслуживания; то есть государственные инвестиции в эти две отрасли порождают одновременно производителей и потребителей среднего класса, вырывая людей из бедности. По крайней мере таков филиппинский опыт развития, который помог стране выйти из зоны вечного несчастья и начать расти почти китайскими темпами (около 6% в год).

Механика АТЭС такова, что эта филиппинская идея, среди многих прочих, теперь вошла в межправительственные программы почти всех — 21 участника процесса, укрепив механизм единой региональной системы образования. И это только одна строчка в многочисленных достижениях АТЭС в 2015 году.
Где во всей этой истории Россия? Ответ есть. Хотя дан он, вопреки традиции, не в одной из газет страны-хозяйки саммита, а в китайской «Жэньминь жибао», автор статьи — президент Владимир Путин. Он, не забыв высказаться насчет ТТП и закрытых торговых блоков, говорит об открытом сотрудничестве равных, перечисляет наиболее перспективные для России его направления, включая и идею единого образовательного пространства АТР — это, кстати, о филиппинских инициативах, которые по сути продолжают наши, владивостокские (речь о саммите АТЭС в этом городе в 2012 году).
Что касается свободы торговли, то вообще-то в регионе действует более двух десятков таких соглашений (у России, скажем, есть подобный документ с Вьетнамом, готовятся и другие). Похоже, что таможенная пошлина здесь вообще становится анахронизмом. Вопрос в том, чья модель свободы лучше — китайская, ни к чему никого не обязывающая, или американская.
Особенность ситуации в регионе в том, что можно участвовать во всех торговых и прочих режимах одновременно, позволяя каждому доказать свою привлекательность. Что же касается АТЭС, то этот механизм может стать, среди прочего, площадкой для «сверки часов» и для диалога тех, кто входит в американскую ТТП, и тех, кто обходится без таковой.

Материал опубликован на сайте РИА "Новости" 19.11.2015.