Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Jack London in the Russian-Japanese War

About an extraordinary man who knew how to look into the eyes of danger

Jack London in the Russian-Japanese War

Well known to all this writer, a brave gold digger, a desperate vagabond traveler, a stubborn explorer of the slums of the English capital, a great swimmer in the southern seas, author of world-famous excellent essays, novels and short stories. And they know less about London, a military correspondent in the Russo-Japanese War. But he was the first foreign correspondent, despite the prohibitions, the closest he got to the places of fighting.

The nose of a warship sticks out over the surface of the water. It is visible a pipe, equipment of a deck. Frames are taken from different angles. Even the gear of some sunk ships hit the lens. In the distance, near the horizon, the tops of the masts of a large ship are smoking. And the signature under the photograph with his hand is "Varyag".

Two weeks before the declaration of hostilities, Jack London arrived in Yokohama at the end of January. Then there were Tokyo - Kobe - Nagasaki - Modi - Kokura - Shimonoseki. The writer poked around Japanese cities and towns, trying to sail to Korea, where there were two Russian warships and one could expect a fight.

Jack was hurrying with all his might. I heard that although the war has not yet been announced, there, in a quiet neutral port, the Russian ships - the Varyag cruiser and the Korean gunboat - are surrounded by superior forces of the Japanese squadron. The Russians will not surrender, there will definitely be a battle. Japanese military patrols every now and then checked documents, detained, prohibited to take photographs, finally arrested, took his camera away from him, but returned a day later. Achieved that he was late for the steamer to Korea, he had to cross the Sea of ​​Japan and circumambulate the bad weather in the Korean Peninsula.

9 February, when London was making its way along the fragile junk along the tangled coast of the Yellow Sea to Chemulpo, which was full of islands and impassable reefs, the Japanese fleet in battle formation suddenly attacked Port Arthur.

In vain by an insidious attack on the day of the attack on Port Arthur, the Japanese tried to seize Russian ships stationed in the Portuguese port. The whole world now knows about the immortal feat of the seamen "Varyag" and "Koreans", sung in songs.

It is snowing. His ears, hands and feet are frostbitten. But it's a shame that he did not have time. He was prevented from becoming a witness to the unprecedented dedication of Russian sailors. Historical tragedy has already happened. Jack and his accompanying photographer Dunn, two weeks later, shot the arena of a deadly battle.

In the hall of the manuscripts of the Huntington Library, in the suburbs of Los Angeles, blessed silence. I leaf through an album of hundreds of photographs of Jack London, which he shot in Korea and Manchuria. He was the first foreign correspondent, in spite of the prohibitions, to get closer to the battlefields. His professional courage and determination were noted by all the special forces. "I'm not afraid of death, although I love life," he repeated, "I'm not afraid of illness, I'm not afraid of injuries, but I can not bear the pain."

In Chemulpo he bought horses, provisions for the road, hired an interpreter, two coolies.

Iron nose, trumpet and scraps of ship's rigging over the calm surface of the water are the remains of the Korean gunboat sank by the crew of the gunboat. "I'm dying, but I'm not giving up!" - this was the motto of valiant warriors. They amicably launched a Japanese destroyer into the background and two damaged. These painfully compressed images of sunk Russian ships were made in February 1904 by the military chauffeur of the American newspaper San Francisco Examiner, Jack London, in the Korean port of Chemulpo.

There are other photographs of the military commissar of London: the streets of the village of Chemulpo, the Japanese infantry on the march, the torpedo salvo of their destroyer, hundreds of refugees with pathetic luggage, a group of Russian prisoners - all in bandages, wounded. The aggressor's artillery was made to fire. Their soldiers are moving across the river. More refugees-Koreans: women, children. Crosses over Russian tombs. The newspaper: across the entire strip - on the operating table wounded in the environment of doctors. Signature: this is the first photo of the Russian, operated by Japanese surgeons.

Military episodes and assessments are given by the author mainly from the Japanese side. London drew attention to the good telephone equipment, discipline and endurance of the Japanese soldiers, prudence and military cunning of their commanders, careful organization of the armed forces: the fleet - according to the English model, the army - according to the German.

"I do not know if there are still as calm, disciplined soldiers in the world as the Japanese. Our Americans would have long stirred the whole of Seoul with their antics and merry revelry, but the Japanese are not inclined to revelry. They are deadly serious. "

"The Japanese," concludes Jack London, "were able to use all the achievements of the West."

From Seoul, riding on roads slippery with dirt, he sneaks into Pyongyang. Once again, the patrol examines his camera. Jack in a cap, a hunting jacket, in boots, restraining himself, outwardly calmly presents documents. You can not shoot and you can not continue to go, the Japanese are forcing him to return to Seoul. “They don't let us see the war,” Jack is angry. It is not difficult to guess what feelings drove his pen. He could not, a supporter of a fair fight, approve of the treacherous aggressor.

"Until now it was considered compulsory," London writes sarcastically, "to observe the formalities: to declare war." And then you can kill, and then everything was in order.

The Japanese taught us a lesson. They did not declare war on Russia. They sent a fleet to Chemulpo, destroyed many Russians. And the war declared later. This method of murderers is introduced into the international principle He says: kill at first more manpower, and then declare that you will destroy even more. " (Boston Post, December 20 1904 of the year)

In the reports, London talked about the first confrontation between the Cossacks and Japanese forces, about the courage of Russian soldiers fighting to the last bullet, but forced to retreat under the pressure of much superior forces of the enemy.

"On one side of the river, winding through the flowering valley, there are a lot of Russians. On the other - a lot of Japanese, - describes London's military situation on the two sides of the Yalu River, emphasizing the senseless routine of war. - The Japanese want to cross the river. They want to cross the river to kill the Russians on the other side. The Russians do not want to be killed, so they are preparing to kill the Japanese when they go to the crossing. In this there is nothing personal. They rarely see each other. On the right, on the northern shore, several Russians are stubbornly firing from a long distance into the Japanese, who are firing off the islands on the river. The Japanese battery on the southern shore, on the right, begins to throw Russian shrapnel. Four miles to the left, the Russian battery pours this Japanese battery with enfilade fire. No result. From the center of Japanese positions, the battery fires on the Russian battery. With the same success. From the central position of the Russians, the battery begins to belch shells through the mountain, in the direction of the central Japanese battery. The Japanese battery on the right flank hits the Russian infantry. So goes on indefinitely: the Russian battery on the left now shoots at the central positions of the Japanese, the Russian battery in the center starts shooting at the right battery of the Japanese. "

The writer shows the naivety and mistakes of the Russian officers, who then camp and set up guns in open and easily vulnerable positions, then fall into a rather primitive trick of the Japanese command.

"A lot of Japanese soldiers looked with curiosity at the windows of a large Chinese house. Holding the horse, I also looked with interest at the window. And what I saw shocked me. In my mind this made the same impression as if I had been struck in the face with my fist. A man looked at me, a white man with blue eyes. He was dirty and torn. He was in heavy fighting. But his eyes were brighter than mine, and his skin was as white.

There were other white men with him-many white men. My throat stopped. I almost choked. They were people of my tribe. I suddenly and acutely realized that I was a stranger among these swarthy people who were staring out of the window with me. I felt a strange union with the people in the window. I felt that my place was there, with them, in captivity, and not here, at large, with strangers. "

The strict Japanese censorship obliged the voenker to be restrained in sympathy with the Russian side and very moderate in criticizing the Japanese. And yet in his reports there are feelings coming from justice, and in assessing the tactics and customs of the Japanese army there is wariness and serious concern. In his notes, he wrote: “The Japanese are undoubtedly a militant nation. All their men are soldiers. ” Jack London warned about the dangers of the trained and well-equipped militarist machine of Japan, about the lesson of Port Arthur and Chemulpo. Not even forty years had passed since the insidious Japanese attack on the American fleet stationed at Pearl Harbor in Hawaii taught a tragic lesson and confirmed the visionary writer's anxieties.

And then ... the Japanese arrested him three times, sent him to Seoul and forced a too-thorough correspondent, who almost did not hide his sympathy for the enemy, to leave the country. Soon more revealing articles and stories appeared in his hand (for example, the fantastic story “Unparalleled Invasion”, the article “Yellow Danger”) with warnings about the threat to humanity from the Far East.

"The Japanese are Asians, and Asians do not appreciate life the way we appreciate it. The Japanese generals know that the population will not ask the soldiers given for them in exchange for a victory, the population wants victory, brilliant victory, victory at any cost. "

And for many decades, this widely acclaimed literary man, who passed the hard way from a laborer, a gold prospector and a farmer to a literary day laborer and journalist, a famous humanist writer translated into 70 languages, was in the Land of the Rising Sun among the undesirable authors. For many years, Jack London was not published in Japan.

However, the attraction of true values ​​of art and people's striving for truth are irrepressible. And now, in Japan, the Society of Jack London was created. His works are published, his works are discussed, Japanese specialists participate in annual international literary symposia dedicated to the writer.

October 26: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Джек Лондон на Русско-японской войне

О необыкновенном человеке, который умел смотреть в глаза опасности

Джек Лондон на Русско-японской войне

Хорошо всем известен этот писатель, смелый золотоискатель, отчаянный бродяга-путешественник, упорный исследователь трущоб английской столицы, великий плаватель по южным морям, автор известных на весь мир превосходных очерков, романов и рассказов. И меньше знают о Лондоне – военном корреспонденте на Русско-японской войне. А ведь он первым из иностранных корреспондентов вопреки запретам ближе всех проник к местам боев.

Нос военного корабля торчит над поверхностью воды. Видна труба, оснастка палубы. Кадры сняты с разных ракурсов. Еще снасти каких-то потопленных судов попали в объектив. Вдали, у горизонта, дымятся верхушки мачт крупного судна. И подпись под фотографией его рукой – «Варяг».

За две недели до объявления военных действий в конце января прибыл Джек Лондон в Йокогаму. Далее были Токио – Кобе – Нагасаки – Модзи – Кокура – Симоносеки. Писатель мыкался по японским городам и весям, пытаясь отплыть в Корею, где стояли два русских военных корабля и можно было ожидать схватки.

Джек торопился изо всех сил. Слышал, что хотя война еще не объявлена, но там в тихом нейтральном порту обложенные превосходящими силами японской эскадры заперты русские суда – крейсер «Варяг» и канонерка «Кореец». Русские не сдадутся, обязательно будет бой. Японские военные патрули то и дело проверяли документы, задерживали, запрещали фотографировать, наконец арестовали, отобрали у него камеру, но через день вернули. Добились того, что он опоздал на пароход в Корею, ему предстояло пересечь Японское море и обогнуть в непогоду Корейский полуостров.

9 февраля, когда Лондон на утлой джонке пробирался вдоль изобилующего островами и непроходимыми рифами всклокоченного побережья Желтого моря к Чемульпо, японский флот в боевом строю внезапно атаковал Порт-Артур.

Напрасно коварной атакой в день нападения на Порт-Артур японцы пытались захватить стоявшие в чемульпском порту русские корабли. Весь мир ныне знает о воспетом в песнях бессмертном подвиге моряков «Варяга» и «Корейца».

Пошел снег. Уши, руки и ноги у него обморожены. Но досадно, что он не успел. Ему помешали стать свидетелем беспримерной самоотверженности русских моряков. Историческая трагедия уже свершилась. Джек и сопровождавший его фотограф Данн две недели спустя снимали арену смертельной битвы.

В зале манускриптов Хантингтонской библиотеки, в пригороде Лос-Анджелеса, благостная тишина. Я перелистываю альбом сотен фотографий Джека Лондона, снятых им в Корее и Маньчжурии. Он первым из иностранных корреспондентов вопреки запретам ближе всех проник к местам боев. Его профессиональное мужество и решимость отмечали все спецкоры. «Я не боюсь смерти, хотя люблю жизнь, – повторял он, – не боюсь болезни, не боюсь ранений, правда, не переношу боли».

В Чемульпо он закупил лошадей, провизию на дорогу, нанял переводчика, двух кули.

Железный нос, труба и обрывки корабельной оснастки над спокойной гладью вод – это останки потоп­ленной командой канонерки «Кореец». «Погибаю, но не сдаюсь!» – таков был девиз доблестных воинов. Они дружным огнем пустили ко дну японский миноносец и два повредили. Эти сжавшие болью сердце снимки потопленных российских судов сделаны в феврале 1904 года военкором американской газеты «Сан-Франциско экзаминер» Джеком Лондоном в корейском порту Чемульпо.

Есть и другие фотографии военкора Лондона: улочки поселка Чемульпо, японская инфантерия на марше, торпедный залп их эсминца, сотни беженцев с жалкой поклажей, группка русских пленных – все в бинтах, раненые. Артиллерия агрессора изготовилась вести огонь. Их солдаты перебираются через реку. Еще беженцы-корейцы: женщины, дети. Кресты над русскими могилами. Газета: через всю полосу – на операционном столе раненый в окружении врачей. Подпись: это первая фотография русского, оперируемого японскими хирургами.

Военные эпизоды и оценки даются автором в основном с японской стороны. Лондон обратил внимание на хорошую оснащенность телефонной связью, дисциплинированность и выносливость японских солдат, на предусмотрительность и военную хитрость их командиров, тщательную организацию вооруженных сил: флота – по английскому образцу, армии – по немецкому.

«Не знаю, есть ли еще в мире столь же спокойные, дисциплинированные солдаты, как японцы. Наши американцы давно бы всколыхнули весь Сеул своими выходками и веселым разгулом, но японцы к разгулу не склонны. Они убийственно серьезны».

«Японцы, – делает заключение Джек Лондон, – сумели использовать все достижения Запада».

Из Сеула верхом по скользким от грязи дорогам он пробирается в Пхеньян. В который раз патруль осматривает его фотокамеру. Джек в кепке, охотничьей куртке, в сапогах, сдерживая себя, внешне спокойно предъявляет документы. Снимать нельзя и дальше ехать нельзя, японцы заставляют его вернуться в Сеул. «Они не дают нам видеть войну», – злится Джек. Нетрудно догадаться, какие чувства водили его пером. Не мог он, сторонник честной борьбы, одобрять вероломного агрессора.

«До сих пор считалось обязательным, – с сарказмом пишет Лондон, – соблюдать формальности: объявлять войну. А потом можно убивать, и все тогда было в порядке.

Японцы преподали нам урок. Они не объявляли войну России. Они послали флот в Чемульпо, уничтожили много русских. А войну объявили потом. Такой прием убийц ими введен в международный принцип. Он гласит: убивай вначале побольше живой силы, а потом заявляй, что будешь уничтожать еще больше». («Бостон пост», 20 декабря 1904 года)

В репортажах Лондон рассказывал о первом столкновении казаков с японскими силами, о храбрости русских солдат, дерущихся до последнего патрона, но вынужденных отступать под давлением значительно превосходящих сил неприятеля.

«На одной стороне реки, петляющей по цветущей долине, – множество русских. На другой – множество японцев, – описывает Лондон военную обстановку по две стороны от реки Ялу, подчеркивая бессмысленную рутину войны. – Японцы хотят пересечь реку. Они хотят пересечь реку, чтобы убить русских на другом берегу. Русские не хотят, чтобы их убили, поэтому они готовятся к тому, чтобы убить японцев, когда те пойдут на переправу. В этом нет ничего личного. Они редко видят друг друга. Справа, на северном берегу, несколько русских упорно стреляют с дальнего расстояния в японцев, которые отстреливаются с островов на реке. Японская батарея на южном берегу, справа, начинает забрасывать русских шрапнелью. В четырех милях слева русская батарея поливает эту японскую батарею анфиладным огнем. Никакого результата. Из центра японских позиций батарея стреляет по русской батарее. С тем же успехом. С центральных позиций русских батарея начинает изрыгать снаряды через гору, в направлении центральной японской батареи. Японская батарея на правом фланге бьет по пехоте русских. Так продолжается до бесконечности: русская батарея слева теперь стреляет по центральным позициям японцев, русская батарея в центре начинает стрелять по правой батарее японцев».

Писатель показывает наивность и ошибки русских офицеров, которые то разбивают лагерь и ставят орудия на открытых и легко уязвимых позициях, то попадаются на довольно примитивную уловку японского командования.

«В окна большого китайского дома с любопытством заглядывало множество японских солдат. Придержав лошадь, я тоже с интересом заглянул в окно. И то, что я увидел, меня потрясло. На мой рассудок это произвело такое же впечатление, как если бы меня ударили в лицо кулаком. На меня смотрел человек, белый человек с голубыми глазами. Он был грязен и оборван. Он побывал в тяжком бою. Но его глаза были светлее моих, а кожа – такой же белой.

С ним были другие белые – много белых мужчин. У меня перехватило горло. Я чуть не задохнулся. Это были люди моего племени. Я внезапно и остро осознал, что был чужаком среди этих смуглых людей, которые вместе со мной глазели в окно. Я почувствовал странное единение с людьми в окне. Я почувствовал, что мое место – там, с ними, в плену, а не здесь, на свободе, с чужаками».

Строгая японская цензура обязывала военкора быть сдержанным в симпатиях к русской стороне и весьма умеренным в критике японцев. И все же в его репортажах ощущаются чувства, идущие от справедливости, а в оценке тактики и нравов японской армии звучит настороженность и серьезное беспокойство. В своих заметках он писал: «Японцы, несомненно, воинственная нация. Все их мужчины – солдаты». Джек Лондон предостерегал об опасности вымуштрованной и образцово оснащенной милитаристской машины Японии, об уроке Порт-Артура и Чемульпо. Не прошло с той поры и сорока лет, как коварное японское нападение на американский флот, стоявший в Перл-Харборе на Гавайях, преподнесло трагический урок и подтвердило тревоги прозорливого писателя.

А тогда... японцы его трижды арестовывали, выслали в Сеул и вынудили слишком дотошного корреспондента, почти не скрывавшего к тому же симпатий к противнику, убраться из страны. Вскоре из-под его пера появились и более откровенные статьи и рассказы (например, фантастическая история «Беспримерное нашествие», статья «Желтая опасность») с предостережениями об угрозе человечеству с Дальнего Востока.

«Японцы – азиаты, а азиаты не ценят жизнь так, как мы ее ценим. Японские генералы знают, что население не спросит с них за жизни солдат, отданные в обмен на победу, – население хочет победы, блестящей победы, победы любой ценой».

И на многие десятилетия этот приобретающий широкую известность литератор, прошедший тяжкий путь от разнорабочего, золотоискателя и фермера до литературного поденщика и публициста, знаменитого писателя-гуманиста, переведенного на 70 языков, попал в Стране восходящего солнца в число нежелательных авторов. Долгие годы Джек Лондон не издавался в Японии.

Однако притяжение истинных ценностей искусства и стремление людей к правде неудержимы. И вот, ныне в Японии создано Общество Джека Лондона. Издаются его сочинения, обсуждаются его произведения, японские специалисты участвуют в посвященных писателю ежегодных международных литературных симпозиумах.