Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

EGEvacuation from the East

The unified state exam has become a tool for pumping talented youth from the regions of the Far East to the west of the country. Can the abolition of the USE stop the outflow of the bravest young people from the Far Eastern Federal District?

The unified state examination was partly conceived as a "great equalizer" - it gave schoolchildren from the farthest corners a chance to enter the country's leading universities. However, the majority of those who left for study do not return. The situation may change with the cancellation of the USE - talk about this has been going on since its introduction. At the beginning of 2021, this was remembered again. The leader of the Fair Russia party, Sergei Mironov, proposed to phase out the USE, for a start - to release from it those who go to colleges and technical schools. And the Deputy Chairman of the State Duma Committee on Education and Science Maxim Zaitsev said that a bill was being developed to abandon the OGE (which is passed at the end of the 9th grade) - and noted that the next step could be the abolition of the Unified State Exam. Supporters of this measure call its controversial effectiveness one of the main motives for abandoning the USE. And if this happens, what will be the consequences for "intellectual migration"?

EGEvacuation from the East
Photo: minobrnauki.gov.ru

DO NOT LEAVE STAY

Anastasia Zayats, a student of the 11th grade of the Khabarovsk school, wants to enter a university in St. Petersburg. To pass on international law, she needs to pass three USE: in Russian, English and social studies. Maximum for three exams - 300 points, plus individual achievements that add points. The competition for budget places is large - it means that the more points in total, the better.



“In Khabarovsk, I do not quite see the possibilities for future development in the field of international law,” says Anastasia Zayats.

Parents of a graduate spend 3800 rubles a month for a tutor in Russian, 3500 rubles for online English courses, and the same amount for social studies. If the preparation starts at the beginning of the academic year and lasts until May inclusive, then the total comes out to 97 rubles.

“It seems to me that in the centers that are more developed in Russia - that is, Moscow, St. Petersburg - there is somehow more funding for universities. And education, accordingly, is better ”, - this is how the applicant reflects.

And so many schoolchildren think. Families that have the opportunity to send a child to a capital university - not on the budget, but on paid education - try to use it. In Anastasia's inner circle, there is only one person who definitely decided that he would study in Khabarovsk. The rest decided to leave.

According to Khabarovskstat, in 2019, 42 people left the Khabarovsk Territory for other regions of Russia. For incomplete 472 (not counting December) - 2020 35 people: obviously, the coronavirus pandemic influenced the decrease in migration. But for the Far Eastern region, this is rather an exception, confirming the rule: the population of the Khabarovsk Territory is inexorably decreasing.

Universities accept applicants mainly on the basis of the USE results. So, you need to pass it well in order to find yourself in some other life.

USE IN ONE END

Since 2009, when the Unified State Exam became mandatory in all regions of the country, and by 2020 inclusively, the region left (in absolute numbers) 33 people aged 340 to 15 years. That is, on average, about 19 thousand schoolchildren a year have been leaving the region for 11 years. And it is produced - about 3-5 thousand people. Did the USE affect the outflow of young people from the regions?

“To put it very briefly and simply, yes, of course. I'm not talking about any “buts” that follow this. But yes, the Unified State Exam is the tool that allowed the boundaries to be significantly erased. Much. Unambiguously - and the statistics show this - after the USE was introduced, flows have increased dramatically. And this is the specificity of not only our Far Eastern region, it is the specificity of everyone. But we are an order of magnitude higher, ”said Yuri Berezutskiy, Candidate of Sociological Sciences, Associate Professor of the Department of Social Work and Sociology, DVIU RANEPA.

Schoolchildren prefer the country's Western universities to the Far Eastern ones, because they are sure that the “regional” quality of higher education loses to the “capital” one. But almost no one is considering the option of finding a job in their region after graduation. Students are captivated by the standard of living in the capitals: after spending several years in comfortable conditions and gaining access to new opportunities for development, young people no longer want to go back.


“I've already seen how vast the possibilities can be here and how different people find their place in big cities”


“In Khabarovsk there are few open galleries, workshops, creative associations in which young people could somehow show themselves. The same courses in ceramics, or design, or photography often cost less than a schoolchild or an elementary student can spend. And in St. Petersburg, public spaces provide an opportunity for people from 15 to 30 years old to come to coworking spaces for courses and master classes free of charge. Probably, I would not have returned completely [to Khabarovsk] at all. If there was some opportunity to cooperate with the Far East, then, probably, I would think about this option. But I do not want to move there again, because I have already seen how vast the opportunities here can be and how different people find a place for themselves in big cities, ”said Ekaterina Lapshaeva, a Khabarovsk student who entered the St. Petersburg university. 

PARENTS ONLY FOR

Khabarovsk resident Daria Saygushinskaya moved to St. Petersburg more than three years ago. I entered the university, where I passed by points. I decided not to stay in Khabarovsk, because my mother advised me so.

“This is probably the most important reason. She set me up for this for very many years. I chose the university only because I got there through the competition. The city (St. Petersburg) mattered because I didn't want to go to Moscow - although now I study here. Now I am satisfied with my education, I like most of the teachers. In my opinion, it is the teachers who make education of high quality, and not a specific place, ”said Daria.


"ANDit is the teachers who make education of high quality, not a specific place "

Her mother, Larisa Saygushinskaya, believes that Khabarovsk universities do not have such a strong teaching staff as in the capital. Hence the difference in the quality of student education.

“Dasha has a very strong teaching staff at the university. These are professors, these are people with vast experience and practice and theory. These are people who write scientific papers, scientific articles, take part in conferences, and travel abroad. Naturally, in Khabarovsk there is no such teaching staff even close. Take any specialty, any direction. They don't give us the kind of education they do in Moscow, ”says Larisa Saygushinskaya.

Judging by the figures, about a third of the graduates manage to get access to "such education". But the abolition of the exam by itself, according to experts, will not solve the problem of the outflow of young people.

“In my opinion, this will not change anything. Although, perhaps, I am a little cunning: of course, it will change a little. But what is the alternative? Suggest just taking exams like before? The train of this exam is rushing. If you remove it now, there will be no equivalent replacement, ”Yuri Berezutsky believes. 

In pursuit of a teacher

According to the rector of the Higher School of Economics, Yaroslav Kuzminov, one of the key differences between higher education and a school and a professional college is that it teaches students not only to accept knowledge, but also to challenge it, doubt and refute it.

“Having become widespread, higher education in the XNUMXth century has largely lost this feature, its root feature, it has become in many ways simply to broadcast ready-made knowledge. Today, there are hardly a third of real research universities in the world, the rest do not actually form innovators, " said Yaroslav Kuzminov in an interview with TASS.

And in order to form these very innovators, conditions are needed: a suitable theoretical base, competent guides to the world of knowledge (teachers), as well as opportunities for exchanging experience and expanding our own horizons. Moreover, both students and their “guides” should have such opportunities.

“On average, we spent 600-800 thousand for our small university per year on student trips in scientific areas. Whole teams traveled: Moscow, St. Petersburg, Yekaterinburg, Novosibirsk, Kazan, Rostov ... I don’t consider the Far East. There were many trips, many prizes, diplomas, certificates, cups - and this is only in the scientific direction. And then - funding restrictions. The trips of the teaching staff for internships have also decreased, ”noted Yuri Berezutsky, Candidate of Sociological Sciences, Associate Professor of the Department of Social Work and Sociology, DVIU RANEPA.

The economic crisis in Russia in 2014-2015 led to a reduction in funding in all areas. But there was a small list of universities, which the state took special care of even in such a difficult time. These universities are participants in the 5-100 project. 

HIGH SCHOOL CREAM

The 5-100 project was launched in 2013. According to the idea, in seven years at least five universities of the country were to enter the first hundred of the world's leading universities. Financial support then received 21 educational institutions with federal status, but the idea did not work out. By the end of 2020, there was only one Russian university in the top 5 universities in the world - the Lomonosov Moscow State University, which was not part of the 100-XNUMX project at all.

Yes, the concentration on "flagship" universities has yielded certain results. There are seven Russian universities in the international RUR ranking for teaching quality entered in the top hundred. Many universities participating in the project noted that they have strengthened their global image, improved the educational and administrative process. However, this same concentration on the "flagship" universities has led to the fact that all resources, both material and human, flow into them.

“A simple example: FEFU was opened. Luxurious salaries, conditions. I was there several times at conferences - well, it's just space, let's call a spade a spade. We lived in a hotel where students live - two people each. And they don't even put things in order there themselves, ”Yuri Berezutsky recalled.

The sociologist noted that in his environment there are almost no teachers who left the Khabarovsk Territory and got a job at FEFU. But on others, the advertisement for "the finest salaries and conditions" worked. The 5-100 project pumps out the best mentors to flagship universities - just like the Unified State Exam pumps out talented youth from the regions. 

WHO IS REMAINING?

There remain those who cannot pass on points to the leading universities of the country. The passing score is called the exam results of the last in the list of credited to the budget. Let's compare the passing score for jurisprudence in 2020 at different universities. In the St. Petersburg State University (the second most popular in the country), it was 295. The difference with universities in the regions is colossal: at FEFU - 243, at Khabarovsk State University of Economics and Law - 235, at Pacific State University - 230.

However, it also happens that applicants with high scores remain in their hometowns. Anna Meshcheryakova from Khabarovsk once passed the exam in literature by 100 points. She had the opportunity to enter any university in the country out of competition - in those areas where literature is required. But Anna decided to stay in Khabarovsk.

“I was in love at that moment. I wanted to stay in this city with a loved one, she admits. - In general, I am firmly convinced that a person can get a decent education anywhere. Because you can take nothing from the best professor in the department in St. Petersburg. And then the city and the university will not help you. I took in my university, in my department, probably, really everything that was important to me. "

Anna received a specialized education at PNU. I wanted to enter the magistracy in St. Petersburg, but it didn’t work out. She got a job in her specialty in her native Khabarovsk - and believes that it is quite possible here to live, work, and have fun in her free time.


“You understand that almost everyone will leave. It's a little sad to realize it, but then you come to terms with it and live in peace. "

“I like our city. I really like its architecture, I like the atmosphere of calm - when, of course, it is calm. I love our city for the fact that it is developing, for the fact that you can see how new houses are being built, new shopping centers are opening, how large federal companies come here, ”says Anna Meshcheryakova.

Due to the remoteness of the Far Eastern Federal District from the capital of Russia (and because of the high prices for tickets to Moscow, comparable to the monthly salary of a beginner specialist), many Far Easterners feel disconnected from the center of the country's social, political, and cultural life. Someone feels like in a link. But Anna does not have this feeling - but she has something else. And it's about the fact that exceptions prove the rule.

“The only feeling that I have and that people living in Moscow probably don’t have is a total understanding that probably about 60 percent of people close to you, especially from school, will move to the West. This is a fate, or something, Khabarovsk. Perhaps, in principle, the Far East. You understand that almost everyone will leave. It's a little sad to realize, but then you come to terms with it and live calmly. "

May 12: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

ЕГЭвакуация с востока

Единый государственный экзамен стал инструментом перекачки талантливой молодежи из регионов Дальнего Востока на запад страны. Может ли отмена ЕГЭ остановить отток самых мозговитых молодых людей из ДФО?

Единый госэкзамен отчасти задумывался как «великий уравнитель» - он дал шанс школьникам из самых дальних уголков поступить в ведущие вузы страны. Однако большинство уехавших на учебу назад не возвращаются. Ситуация может измениться с отменой ЕГЭ – разговоры об этом идут с момента его введения. В начале 2021 года об этом вспомнили снова. Лидер партии «Справедливая Россия» Сергей Миронов предложил поэтапно отказаться от ЕГЭ, для начала — освободить от него тех, кто поступает в колледжи и техникумы. А зампредседателя комитета Госдумы по образованию и науке Максим Зайцев заявил, что сейчас разрабатывается законопроект об отказе от ОГЭ (который сдают в конце 9 класса) — и отметил, что следующим шагом может стать отмена ЕГЭ. Одним из основных мотивов отказаться от ЕГЭ сторонники этой меры называют его спорную эффективность. И если вдруг это произойдёт, каковы будут последствия для «интеллектуальной миграции»?

ЕГЭвакуация с востока
Фото: minobrnauki.gov.ru

УЕХАТЬ НЕЛЬЗЯ ОСТАТЬСЯ

Ученица 11 класса хабаровской школы Анастасия Заяц хочет поступить в вуз в Санкт-Петербурге. Чтобы пройти на международное право, ей нужно сдать три ЕГЭ: по русскому, английскому и обществознанию. Максимум за три экзамена — 300 баллов, плюс индивидуальные достижения, которые добавляют очков. Конкурс на бюджетные места большой — значит, чем больше баллов будет в сумме, тем лучше.



«В Хабаровске я не совсем вижу возможности для будущего развития в сфере международного права», — говорит Анастасия Заяц.

Родители выпускницы тратят по 3800 рублей в месяц на репетитора по русскому языку, по 3500 — на онлайн-курсы по английскому, столько же — на обществознание. Если подготовка стартует с начала учебного года и длится по май включительно, то в сумме выходит 97 200 рублей.

«Мне кажется, что в центрах, которые больше развиваются в России — то есть Москва, Санкт-Петербург — там как-то больше идет финансирование в вузы. И образование, соответственно, лучше», — так размышляет абитуриентка.

И так же считают многие школьники. Семьи, в которых есть возможность отправить ребенка в столичный вуз — не на бюджет, так на платное обучение — стараются ею воспользоваться. В ближайшем окружении Анастасии есть только один человек, который точно решил, что будет учиться в Хабаровске. Остальные приняли решение уезжать.

По данным Хабаровскстата, за 2019 год из Хабаровского края в другие регионы России выехало 42 472 человека. За неполный 2020-й (не считая декабря) — 35 166 человек: очевидно, на снижение миграции повлияла пандемия коронавируса. Но для дальневосточного субъекта это скорее исключение, подтверждающее правило: население Хабаровского края неумолимо сокращается.

Вузы принимают абитуриентов в основном по результатам ЕГЭ. Значит, нужно хорошо его сдать, чтобы очутиться в какой-то другой жизни.

ЕГЭ В ОДИН КОНЕЦ

С 2009 года, когда ЕГЭ стал обязательным во всех регионах страны, и по 2020 год включительно край покинуло (в абсолютных числах) 33 340 человек в возрасте от 15 до 19 лет. То есть в среднем уже на протяжении 11 лет из региона уезжает около 3 тысяч школьников в год. А выпускается — примерно по 5-7 тысяч человек. Повлиял ли ЕГЭ на отток молодежи из регионов?

«Если сказать очень кратко и просто, то да, безусловно. Я сейчас не говорю ни о каких «но», которые за этим следуют. Но да, ЕГЭ — это тот инструмент, который позволил границы значительно стереть. Значительно. Однозначно — и статистика об этом говорит — после того как ввели ЕГЭ, потоки очень сильно увеличились. И это специфика не только нашего Дальневосточного региона, это специфика всех. Но мы — на порядок выше», — отметил кандидат социологических наук, доцент кафедры социальной работы и социологии ДВИУ РАНХиГС Юрий Березутский.

Школьники предпочитают западные вузы страны дальневосточным, поскольку уверены: «региональное» качество высшего образования проигрывает «столичному». Но вариант после учебы трудоустроиться в своем регионе не рассматривает почти никто. Студентов подкупает уровень жизни в столицах: проведя несколько лет в комфортных условиях и получив доступ к новым возможностям для развития, молодые люди уже не хотят обратно.


«Я уже увидела, насколько обширными возможности могут здесь быть и насколько разные люди находят себе место в больших городах»


«В Хабаровске мало открытых галерей, мастерских, творческих объединений, в которых молодежь могла бы как-то себя проявлять. Те же курсы по керамике, или по дизайну, или по фотографии стоят зачастую не столько, сколько может потратить школьник или студент начальных курсов. А в Петербурге общественные площадки предоставляют возможность людям от 15 до 30 лет бесплатно приходить в коворкинги на курсы и на мастер-классы. Наверное, полностью я бы не вернулась [в Хабаровск] совсем. Если бы была какая-то возможность сотрудничать с Дальним Востоком, то, наверное, о таком варианте я бы задумалась. Но переехать туда снова я не хочу, потому что уже увидела, насколько обширными возможности могут здесь быть и насколько разные люди находят себе место в больших городах», — рассказала поступившая в питерский вуз хабаровчанка Екатерина Лапшаева. 

РОДИТЕЛИ ТОЛЬКО «ЗА»

Хабаровчанка Дарья Сайгушинская переехала в Санкт-Петербург больше трех лет назад. Поступила в вуз, в который проходила по баллам. Решила не оставаться в Хабаровске, потому что так советовала мама.

«Это самая важная, наверное, причина. Она меня на это настраивала очень долгие годы. Вуз я выбирала только потому, что по конкурсу туда прошла. Город (Санкт-Петербург) имел значение, потому что не хотела в Москву — хотя сейчас учусь именно здесь. Сейчас я довольна своим образованием, мне нравится большинство преподавателей. По моему мнению, именно преподаватели делают образование качественным, а не конкретное место», — отметила Дарья.


«Именно преподаватели делают образование качественным, а не конкретное место»

Ее мама, Лариса Сайгушинская, считает, что в хабаровских вузах нет такого сильного профессорско-преподавательского состава, как в столичных. Отсюда и разница в качестве образования студентов.

«У Даши в вузе очень сильный педсостав. Это профессора, это люди с огромнейшим опытом и практики, и теории. Это люди, которые пишут научные работы, научные статьи, принимают участие в конференциях, выезжают за границу. Естественно, в Хабаровске такого педсостава нет даже близко. Возьми любую специальность, любое направление. Не дают у нас такого образования, которое дают в Москве», — рассуждает Лариса Сайгушинская.

Получить доступ к «такому образованию» удается, судя по цифрам, примерно трети выпускников. Но отмена ЕГЭ сама по себе, как считают эксперты, не решит проблемы оттока молодежи.

«На мой взгляд, это ничего не изменит. Хотя, наверное, я чуть лукавлю: конечно, немножко изменит. Но альтернатива-то какая? Предложить просто сдавать экзамены, как раньше? Поезд этого ЕГЭ — он же прет. Если сейчас его убрать, не будет равнозначной замены», — считает Юрий Березутский. 

В ПОГОНЕ ЗА ПРЕПОДАВАТЕЛЕМ

По мнению ректора Высшей школы экономики Ярослава Кузьминова, одно из ключевых отличий высшего образования от школы и профессионального колледжа — в том, что оно учит студентов не только принимать знание, но и оспаривать его, сомневаться и опровергать.

«Став массовым, высшее образование в XX веке во многом утратило эту особенность, свою корневую черту, стало во многом просто транслировать готовое знание. Сейчас настоящих исследовательских университетов в мире — едва ли треть, остальные фактически не формируют инноваторов», — заявил Ярослав Кузьминов в интервью ТАСС.

А чтобы формировать этих самых инноваторов, нужны условия: годная теоретическая база, грамотные проводники в мир знаний (преподаватели), а также возможности для обмена опытом и расширения собственных горизонтов. Причем такие возможности должны быть и у студентов, и у их «проводников».

«Мы в среднем в год на наш маленький вуз тратили по 600-800 тысяч на поездки студентов по научным направлениям. Целыми командами ездили: Москва, Санкт-Петербург, Екатеринбург, Новосибирск, Казань, Ростов... Это я не считаю Дальний Восток. Было много поездок, много призовых мест, дипломов, грамот, кубков — и это только по научному направлению. А потом — ограничения финансирования. Так же сократились и поездки преподавательского состава на стажировки», — отметил кандидат социологических наук, доцент кафедры социальной работы и социологии ДВИУ РАНХиГС Юрий Березутский.

Экономический кризис в России 2014-2015 годов привел к сокращению финансирования во всех сферах. Но был небольшой список вузов, о которых и в такое непростое время государство особенно заботилось. Эти вузы — участники проекта «5-100». 

СЛИВКИ ВЫСШЕЙ ШКОЛЫ

Проект «5-100» был запущен в 2013 году. По задумке, за семь лет не менее пяти вузов страны должны были войти в первую сотню ведущих мировых университетов. Финансовую поддержку тогда получило 21 учебное заведение со статусом федерального, но задумка не получилась. К концу 2020 года в сотне лучших вузов планеты находился только один российский — Московский государственный университет имени Ломоносова, который в проект «5-100» вообще не входил.

Да, концентрация на «опорных» университетах дала определенные результаты. В международном рейтинге RUR по качеству преподавания сразу семь вузов России вошли в сотню лучших. Многие вузы-участники проекта отметили, что они укрепили свой мировой имидж, усовершенствовали учебный и административный процесс. Однако эта же концентрация на «опорных» университетах привела к тому, что в них стекаются все ресурсы: и материальные, и человеческие.

«Простой пример: открыли ДВФУ. Шикарнейшие зарплаты, условия. Я там несколько раз был на конференциях — ну это просто космос, давайте будем называть вещи своими именами. Мы жили в гостинице, где живут студенты — по два человека. И они даже там порядок сами не наводят», — вспомнил Юрий Березутский.

Социолог отметил, что в его окружении почти нет преподавателей, которые покинули Хабаровский край и устроились в ДВФУ. Но на других реклама «шикарнейших зарплат и условий» сработала. Проект «5-100» выкачивает в опорные вузы лучших наставников — прямо как ЕГЭ выкачивает из регионов талантливую молодежь. 

А КТО ОСТАЕТСЯ?

Остаются те, кто не может пройти по баллам в ведущие вузы страны. Проходным баллом называют результаты экзаменов последнего в списке зачисленных на бюджет. Сравним проходной балл на юриспруденцию в 2020 году в разных вузах. В Санкт-Петербургский государственный (второй по популярности в стране) он составил 295. Разница с вузами в регионах колоссальная: в ДВФУ — 243, в Хабаровском государственном университете экономики и права — 235, в Тихоокеанском государственном университете — 230.

Однако бывает и так, что абитуриенты с высокими баллами остаются в родных городах. Хабаровчанка Анна Мещерякова в свое время сдала ЕГЭ по литературе на 100 баллов. У нее была возможность поступить в любой вуз страны вне конкурса — на те направления, где требуется литература. Но Анна решила остаться в Хабаровске.

«Я была на тот момент влюблена. Я хотела остаться в этом городе с любимым человеком, — признается она. — Вообще я твердо убеждена в том, что человек может получить достойное образование в любом месте. Потому что ты можешь и у лучшего профессора из состава кафедры в Санкт-Петербурге ничего не взять. И тогда город и вуз тебе не помогут. Я взяла в своем вузе, на своей кафедре, наверное, действительно все, что мне было важно».

Анна получила профильное образование в ТОГУ. Хотела поступить на магистратуру в Санкт-Петербург, но не получилось. Трудоустроилась по специальности в родном Хабаровске — и считает, что здесь вполне можно достойно жить, работать, развлекаться в свободное время.


«Ты понимаешь, что практически все уедут. Это немного грустно осознавать, но потом ты примиряешься с этим и спокойно живешь»

«Мне нравится наш город. Мне очень нравится его архитектура, нравится атмосфера спокойствия — когда она, конечно, спокойная. Я люблю наш город за то, что он развивается, за то, что можно увидеть, как строятся новые дома, открываются новые торговые центры, как сюда приходят крупные федеральные компании», — делится Анна Мещерякова.

Из-за отдаленности ДФО от столицы России (и из-за высоких цен на билеты до Москвы, сопоставимых с месячной зарплатой начинающего специалиста) у многих дальневосточников есть ощущение оторванности от центра общественной, политической, культурной жизни страны. Кто-то чувствует себя как в ссылке. Но у Анны этого ощущения нет — зато есть другое. И оно про то, что исключения подтверждают правило.

«Единственное ощущение, которое у меня есть и которого наверняка нет у людей, живущих в Москве — это тотальное понимание того, что, вероятно, где-то 60 процентов близких тебе людей, особенно со школы, переедут жить на запад. Это фатум, что ли, хабаровский. Возможно, в принципе дальневосточный. Ты понимаешь, что практически все уедут. Это немного грустно осознавать, но потом ты примиряешься с этим и спокойно живешь».

9 марта: актуальная информация по коронавирусу на Дальнем Востоке
Дайджест региональных событий и свежая статистика