Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Go East!

Exotic tourism in the near future can give way to the priority of medical tourism, and one of the centers of attraction to the surprise of many has become India

Medical tourism, one of the most promising sectors of the modern technology market, is changing the vector of development before our very eyes: instead of Europe and the United States, potential clients are increasingly looking towards Asia and Latin America.

Go East!
Sixth grader Vika Ivanova came to the playground for the first time in two years. She covered the 200-meter path from the car to the swing in 10 minutes, and this is a real victory. Six months ago, her mother drove her in a wheelchair: Vika had a heart failure due to a rare disease - restrictive cardiomyopathy. Now she has a new heart - in September Vika underwent surgery in India.

“For the last two years, Vika literally sat within four walls, and all she saw was an oxygen concentrator, a TV, me and my grandmother,” says Yulia Ivanova, Vika’s mother. “The child was fading away, there was only one chance — a heart transplant. We tried to get a donor organ in Italy, at the Bergamo hospital, famous for just such operations, but a refusal came from there - there are no organs for foreigners and it is unlikely that there will be: there is low infant mortality in Europe, you can wait for years. And we didn't have time.

Then Julia herself suggested to the Russian Ministry of Health to send them to India. Unlike Russia, where pediatric transplantation is prohibited until January 2016, such operations have been performed there for a long time. Moreover, a year ago in India, a heart was transplanted to a three-year-old boy from Russia, Gleb Kudryavtsev, then the money for the operation - about 50 thousand dollars - was raised by charitable foundations. This time the government paid for the expenses - Yulia managed to get out of the quota, and the Russian company MedIndiya, the only one that regularly transports to India for treatment from the Russian Federation, helped to find a suitable hospital and a doctor.

- When I told my friends that we were going to India for a donor heart, everyone began to dissuade me, - Yulia Ivanova recalls, - they said that there is no medicine at all, cows wander everywhere, and on the streets they still cut their hair and pull out teeth ... After listening to all this, I signed a consent - there was no choice. So we got to the south of India - to Chennai.

Chennai

Chennai (formerly Madras) is the sixth largest city in India and the capital of the state of Tamil Nadu. Due to the fact that high-rise buildings are not very popular here, it is spreading to the sides, along the coast of the Bay of Bengal. Here is a large port, car factories, headquarters of the world's leading IT companies. But all this does not negate the cows on the streets - they walk here as they want, along with small, dark-haired hogs that are looking for food in the trash heaps.

India is a developing, tropical and overpopulated country, there are, as it were, two states: one is a beggar, with general unsanitary conditions, the other is civilized, which launches satellites into space, builds the most complex subway junctions in a few months and develops high-tech methods of treatment.

You will soon become convinced of all this: quite fashionable villas in Chennai, as elsewhere in India, alternate with slums - houses built from improvised material, with roofs made of poles or cardboard, where among piles of rubbish they wash clothes and cook food. In other areas, huge, city-like, whole medical quarters have been built. The hospitals were rebuilt by European architects and equipped with high-tech equipment - any Western clinic can envy them.

“Chennai was the first to become the capital of Indian healthcare,” says Anna Verbina, CEO of MedIndia. “World-class hospitals have appeared here, which have begun to develop two popular areas - cardiology and transplantology.

Donation is well developed here, in the south of India - this is connected with religion and the competent work of the authorities. It is to Chennai that 40 percent of all medical tourists arrive - about 150 new patients every day. In total, over the past year, India received about 270 thousand people from developed countries and promises to double this number in the near future.

Medical industry
Details

The EU countries, the USA and Israel are still the world leaders in the number of medical tourists. But a number of countries in Asia, Africa and Latin America are confidently catching up with them. Here are the new centers for medical tourism (data for 2014)

Thailand - 3,00 million

Malaysia - 0,88 million

Singapore - 0,63 million

Brazil - 0,60 million

India - 0,27 million

Turkey - 0,44 million

South Africa - 0,42 million

Source: Advantage HealthCare - India 2015

Go East!

The medical tourism market today is one of the fastest growing. Moreover, according to analysts, it will grow during the crisis. The scheme is simple: the treatment of its own citizens, by definition, is unprofitable for any state, and the treatment of foreigners is not just profitable, but super profitable. Last year, 8,5 million people went in search of health in the world - a migration comparable to the movement of an entire metropolis or a small state.

- IN 2014-m global medical tourism market was 38-48 Billion dollars, "says Dr. Didar Singh, general secretary of the Indian Federation of Chambers of Commerce." It's 15-18 percent of the total world tourist volume. And to 2020-mu it will already amount to $ 100 billion. At the same time, we are seeing a constant market growth in the countries of the East. So, in the last two years alone, the number of medical tourists in Thailand has increased by 17 percent, in India - by 26, and in Turkey - by all 30.

According to the Global Spa & Wellness Summit (GSWS), by 2017, half of the medical tourism market will come from Asia, Latin America and the Middle East. Today, tourists from Europe and North America most often come here: it is important to note that 63 percent of the flow is made up by citizens of five countries - the USA, Germany, Japan, France, Austria.

The main thing, experts say, is that demand is constantly growing. This is connected, firstly, with the general aging of the population, which needs a large amount of medical care, and secondly, with the fact that the health care systems of many countries cannot cope with the number of patients and they are increasingly forced to pay for their treatment on their own. For example, in the United States, according to GSWS, about 50 million citizens do not have insurance or their insurance does not cover the treatment of severe chronic diseases, so about 1,6 million Americans go to seek better medical fate a year. And when a person pays out of his pocket in full, he begins to choose where it is cheaper. Today, the average bill for treatment in Asia is from 7 to 15 thousand dollars, in Europe and the USA the price for the same services has to be multiplied by 10.

How to treat medicine

Most interesting is that 15-20 years ago, there was practically nothing of the current hospital system in India. The country spent only 1 percent of its national income on health care (up to 3 percent in most developing countries), and nearly 40 percent of the population had no access to health care at all. In the countryside, they were treated with traditional medicine - this is a cross between Ayurveda and sorcery. Russians still bring black pellets from India, which at best turn out to be mixed with sugar with peacock feathers or cremated owl meat, and at worst - burnt cow droppings, which are used in rural areas to treat baldness, bronchitis and cataracts. Then, 20 years ago, another government program for the development of health care failed, and the state decided to go the other way - to develop private medicine, attracting unprecedented investments (only in the last five years - $ 65 billion).

Then the Indians trained almost an entire generation of doctors in the West, paying the best students for internships at Harvard, and ran a program to return them from clinics in the United States and Europe. One of the first from the States to return was the famous doctor Pratapa Reddy. He founded the Apollo Clinic in India, which made him a millionaire in a few years. It turned out that India has its own fairly stable middle class, ready to pay for quality. Network clinics began to appear, uniting dozens of medical institutions throughout the country.

The next step was to attract foreigners. For this, the hospitals began to seek international accreditation by the Joint Commission International (JCI), which, according to medical tourism expert Nadezhda Menshova, is one of the main criteria for choosing a hospital for Western patients.

“Thus, 23 private hospitals received the quality mark,” explains Dr. Didar Singh, Secretary General of the Indian Federation of Chambers of Commerce and Industry, to Ogonyok. “Once in one of the most expensive hospitals by the standards of India, the patient receives treatment according to the same protocols as the rest the world. The only difference is that he is offered a choice of treatment with Indian generics or original drugs. As a result, private medicine has become a serious source of income for the budget - revenues from health care account for 5,2 percent of GDP, while health care provides jobs for 4 million people.

At the same time, public medicine in India is still in the last century: 16 rupees (that is, 16 rubles) per day are allocated for the maintenance of a patient in a municipal hospital, so patients lie on beds without bed linen, and eat what they bring with them. Interestingly, it was private companies, with the assistance of the state, that a few years ago, for the first time in India, organized a system of health insurance for poor families: thanks to this kind of micro-credit, poor patients can spend up to $ 700 per year on treatment. For a country where any more or less serious illness such as bronchial asthma completely ruined the family, this was a real salvation.

Doctors in India are popular as movie stars

Professor Christian Balakrishnan, head of the cardiology department at Fortis Malar Hospital in Chennai, is one of the physicians who made India a medical superpower. He has over 18 thousand heart surgeries on his account: he is recognized on the streets of his hometown, and cheerful photos are sent to him from all over the world, whose hearts he held in his hands.

And the hospital where he works performed 2014 organ transplants in 511 - one of the world's largest organ transplant programs outside the United States.

Delhi
Over the past 50 years, India's population has tripled to 1,2 billion. In any city, especially in Delhi, you feel this every second: there is always a crowd around, and there is always a traffic jam on the roads. The most realistic way to get to the hospital is by “tuk-tuk” - a tiny van on wheels driven by a rickshaw taxi driver. There are no doors in it, so you need to be vigilant: no one observes the rules of the road, they don't wear helmets, six people sit inside, and exactly on the place where a mini-iconostasis is placed in Russia, they attach the image of Shiva, Vishnu and Krishna.

“When I got into this thing for the first time, my heart sank into my heels,” Shamsiyat Kolosova from the village of Rylevo, Tula Region, admitted to Ogonyok. some meat, in the hospital the food is strictly vegetarian!

We are meeting with Shamsiyat and her 17-year-old son Maxim in Delhi, at Fortis Hospital. The building, to be honest, looks more like a shopping and entertainment center. In the middle of the large atrium there is a statue of a huge baby with a stethoscope, shops and cafes all around where you can drink coffee and eat traditional lentil soup. On the second floor, new entrants are registered, all staff speaks English. The patients are a complete international: we are assisted by coordinators from Russia and Ukraine, immigrants from post-Soviet Central Asia - Afghan and Uzbek translators, who are easily recognizable by their colorful trousers.

Maxim came to treat neuroblastoma recurrence. In Moscow, doctors admitted that they could not do anything, in Germany they promised to cure, however, for this it was necessary to collect 500 thousand euros.

- The charitable foundations explained to us that it was impossible and offered to consider India. Here the same treatment, including a bone marrow transplant, costs 129 thousand dollars, - says Shamsiyat. - Of course, we gladly agreed, although at first after our outback everything seemed strange and strange. However, as soon as we got to the hospital, everything changed - I have seen such well-coordinated and professional work in few places.

While patients from Western countries go to India most often to treat heart disease, Russians are treated with oncology. No less popular among Russians is treatment associated with joint prosthetics and infertility treatment. In addition, more and more of our tourists who come to India just to relax, simultaneously sign up for a check up - a general diagnosis, like a medical examination. The issue price is $ 80 and 4 hours. Is it worth doing a general blood test and an ultrasound scan 4 thousand kilometers from Russia? The issue is controversial. But judging by the fact that, according to polls by the Levada Center, 40 percent of Russians do not trust domestic health care very much, there will not be fewer people willing to go for treatment across the three seas in the near future.


The material was published in the journal Ogonyok No. 49 from 14.12.2015 

May 18: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Go East!

Экзотический туризм в ближайшее время может уступить пальму первенства туризму медицинскому, и одним из центров притяжения к удивлению многих стала Индия

Медицинский туризм, одна из самых перспективных отраслей современного рынка технологий, на глазах меняет вектор развития: вместо Европы и США потенциальные клиенты все чаще смотрят в сторону Азии и Латинской Америки.

Go East!
Шестиклассница Вика Иванова пришла на детскую площадку впервые за два года. Путь в 200 метров от машины до качелей она преодолела за 10 минут, и это — настоящая победа. Полгода назад мама возила ее на инвалидной коляске: у Вики из-за редкой болезни — рестриктивной кардиомиопатии — отказывало сердце. Теперь у нее новое сердце — в сентябре Вике сделали операцию в Индии.

— Последние два года Вика буквально сидела в четырех стенах, и все, что она видела,— это кислородный концентратор, телевизор, меня и бабушку,— говорит Юлия Иванова, мама Вики.— Ребенок угасал на глазах, шанс был один — пересадка сердца. Мы попытались получить донорский орган в Италии, в госпитале Бергамо, знаменитом именно такими операциями, но оттуда пришел отказ — органов для иностранцев нет и вряд ли будут: в Европе низкая детская смертность, ждать можно годами. А времени у нас не было.

Тогда Юлия сама предложила Минздраву России отправить их в Индию. В отличие от России, где детская трансплантология запрещена вплоть до января 2016 года, там подобные операции делают давно. Более того, год назад в Индии уже пересадили сердце трехлетнему мальчику из России Глебу Кудрявцеву, тогда деньги на операцию — около 50 тысяч долларов — собрали благотворительные фонды. В этот же раз расходы оплатило государство — Юлии удалось выбить квоту, а российская компания «МедИндия», единственная, которая регулярно возит на лечение в Индию из РФ, помогла найти подходящий госпиталь и врача.

— Когда я говорила знакомым, что мы едем за донорским сердцем в Индию, все начинали меня отговаривать,— вспоминает Юлия Иванова,— говорили, что там вообще нет никакой медицины, всюду бродят коровы, а на улицах до сих пор стригут волосы и вырывают зубы. Наслушавшись всего этого, я подписала согласие — выбора-то не было. Так мы попали на юг Индии — в Ченнай.

Ченнай

Ченнай (в прошлом Мадрас) — шестой по величине город Индии и столица штата Тамилнад. Из-за того, что тут не очень любят высотные здания, он расползается в стороны, вдоль побережья Бенгальского залива. Здесь крупный порт, заводы по производству автомобилей, штаб-квартиры ведущих мировых IT-компаний. Но все это отнюдь не отменяет коров на улицах — они ходят тут, как хотят, вместе с маленькими, поросшими темной шерстью кабанчиками, которые ищут еду на помойках.

Индия — страна развивающаяся, тропическая и перенаселенная, здесь как бы два государства: одно — нищее, с повальной антисанитарией, другое — цивилизованное, которое запускает спутники в космос, строит за несколько месяцев сложнейшие развязки метро и разрабатывает высокотехнологичные методы лечения.

Во всем этом убеждаешься скоро: вполне себе фешенебельные виллы в Ченнае, как и везде в Индии, чередуются с трущобами — домиками, построенными из подручного материала, с крышами из жердей или картона, где среди груд мусора стирают белье и готовят еду. В других же районах выстроены огромные, похожие на города в городе, целые медицинские кварталы. Госпитали отстроены европейскими архитекторами и снабжены высокотехнологичным оборудованием — им может завидовать любая западная клиника.

— Ченнай первым стал столицей индийского здравоохранения,— рассказывает Анна Вербина, генеральный директор компании «МедИндия», — здесь появились госпитали мирового класса, которые начали развивать два популярных направления — кардиологию и трансплантологию.

Донорство именно здесь, на юге Индии, развито — это связано и с религией, и с грамотной работой властей. Именно в Ченнай прилетает 40 процентов всех медицинских туристов — каждый день примерно 150 новых пациентов. Всего же за прошлый год Индия приняла около 270 тысяч человек из развитых стран и обещает в ближайшее время это число удвоить.

Лечебная индустрия
Детали

Страны ЕС, США и Израиль все еще мировые лидеры по числу медицинских туристов. Но ряд стран Азии, Африки и Латинской Америки их уверенно догоняют. Вот новые центры лечебного туризма (данные на 2014 год)

Таиланд — 3,00 млн

Малайзия — 0,88 млн

Сингапур — 0,63 млн

Бразилия — 0,60 млн

Индия — 0,27 млн

Турция — 0,44 млн

Южная Африка — 0,42 млн

Источник: Advantage HealthCare — India 2015

Go East!

Рынок медицинского туризма сегодня — один из самых быстро растущих. Причем, по оценкам аналитиков, расти он будет и в кризис. Схема простая: лечение собственных граждан по определению убыточно для любого государства, а лечение иностранцев не просто выгодно, а сверхвыгодно. В прошлом году на поиски здоровья в мире отправились 8,5 млн человек — миграция, сравнимая с перемещением целого мегаполиса или небольшого государства.

— В 2014-м мировой рынок медицинского туризма составлял 38-48 млрд долларов,— говорит генеральный секретарь Индийской федерации торгово-промышленных палат доктор Дидар Сингх.— Это 15-18 процентов от всего мирового туристического объема. А к 2020-му он составит уже 100 млрд долларов. При этом мы наблюдаем постоянный прирост рынка в странах Востока. Так, только за последние два года число медицинских туристов в Таиланде увеличилось на 17 процентов, в Индии — на 26, а в Турции — на все 30.

По данным Global Spa & Wellness Summit (GSWS), уже к 2017 году половина рынка медицинского туризма будет приходиться на страны Азии, Латинской Америки и Ближнего Востока. Сегодня чаще всего сюда едут туристы из Европы и Северной Америки: важно заметить, что 63 процента потока составляют граждане пяти стран — США, ФРГ, Японии, Франции, Австрии.

Главное же, отмечают эксперты, в том, что спрос постоянно растет. Связывают это, во-первых, с общим старением населения, которое нуждается в большом объеме медпомощи, а во-вторых, с тем, что системы здравоохранения многих стран не справляются с количеством пациентов и те все чаще вынуждены оплачивать свое лечение самостоятельно. К примеру, в США, по данным GSWS, около 50 млн граждан не имеют страховки или их страховка не покрывает лечение тяжелых хронических заболеваний, поэтому около 1,6 млн американцев в год едут искать лучшей медицинской участи. А когда человек платит из своего кармана по полной, он начинает выбирать, где дешевле. Сегодня средний чек на лечение в Азии — от 7 до 15 тысяч долларов, в Европе и США цену за те же услуги приходится умножать на 10.

Как лечили медицину

Самое интересное, что 15-20 лет назад в Индии не было практически ничего из действующей ныне системы госпиталей. На нужды здравоохранения страна тратила всего 1 процент национального дохода (в большинстве развивающихся странах — до 3 процентов), и почти 40 процентов населения вообще не имели доступа к медицинской помощи. В сельской местности лечились традиционной медициной — это нечто среднее между аюрведой и знахарством. Россияне до сих пор привозят из Индии черные катышки, которые в лучшем случае оказываются перемешанными с сахаром перьями павлина или кремированным мясом совы, а в худшем — жженым пометом коровы, которым в сельской местности лечат облысение, бронхит и катаракту. Тогда, 20 лет назад, провалилась очередная правительственная программа по развитию здравоохранения, и государство приняло решение идти другим путем — развивать медицину частную, привлекая беспрецедентные инвестиции (только за последние пять лет — 65 млрд долларов).

Затем индийцы выучили почти целое поколение врачей на Западе, оплачивая лучшим студентам стажировки в Гарварде, и провели программу по их возращению из клиник США и Европы. Одним из первых из Штатов вернулся известный доктор Пратапа Редди. Он основал в Индии клинику Apollo, которая за несколько лет сделала его миллионером. Оказалось, что в Индии есть свой достаточно стабильный средний класс, готовый платить за качество. Стали возникать сетевые клиники, объединяющие десятки лечебных заведений по стране.

Следующим шагом стало привлечение иностранцев. Для этого госпитали начали добиваться международной аккредитации Joint Commission International (JCI), которая, по словам эксперта по медтуризму Надежды Меньшовой, является одним из главных критериев выбора госпиталя западными пациентами.

— Таким образом получили знак качества 23 частных госпиталя,— объясняет «Огоньку» генсек Индийской федерации торгово-промышленных палат доктор Дидар Сингх.— Попав в один из дорогих по меркам Индии госпиталей, пациент получает лечение по тем же самым протоколам, что и в остальном мире. Единственное отличие — ему на выбор предлагают лечение индийскими дженериками или оригиналами препаратов. В итоге частная медицина превратилась в серьезный источник дохода для бюджета — поступления от здравоохранения составляют 5,2 процента ВВП, здравоохранение же обеспечивает работой 4 млн человек.

При этом государственная медицина в Индии по-прежнему в прошлом веке: на содержание больного в муниципальной больнице выделяется 16 рупий (то есть 16 рублей) в день, поэтому больные лежат на кроватях без постельного белья, а питаются тем, что приносят с собой. Интересно, что именно частные компании при содействии государства несколько лет назад впервые в Индии организовали систему медицинского страхования для бедных семей: благодаря этому своего рода микрокредиту неимущие пациенты могут потратить на лечение в год до 700 долларов. Для страны, где любая более или менее серьезная болезнь типа бронхиальной астмы полностью разоряла семью, это стало настоящим спасением.

Врачи в Индии популярны как кинозвезды

Профессор Кристиан Балакришнан, глава кардиологического отделения Fortis Malar Hospital в Ченнае,— один из тех медиков, которые сделали из Индии медицинскую сверхдержаву. На его счету свыше 18 тысяч операций на сердце: его узнают на улицах родного города, и ему со всего мира шлют жизнерадостные фото пациенты, чьи сердца он держал в руках.

А госпиталь, в котором он работает, в 2014 году провел 511 трансплантаций различных органов — это одна из крупнейших в мире программ трансплантаций органов за пределами США.

Дели
За последние 50 лет население Индии увеличилось втрое и достигло 1,2 млрд человек. В любом городе, особенно в Дели, это ощущаешь ежесекундно: вокруг всегда толпа, а на дорогах — всегда пробка. До госпиталя реальнее всего добраться на «тук-туке» — крошечном фургоне на колесах, которым управляет таксист-моторикша. Дверей в нем нет, поэтому нужно быть бдительным: правила дорожного движения никто не соблюдает, шлемы не носят, усаживаются внутри по шесть человек, а аккурат на том месте, где в России ставят мини-иконостас, крепят изображение Шивы, Вишну и Кришны.

— Когда я в первый раз забралась в эту штуку, у меня душа ушла в пятки,— призналась «Огоньку» Шамсият Колосова из села Рылево Тульской области.— Но делать нечего — на рынок иначе не доедешь, а сын иногда просит принести ему какого-нибудь мяса, в госпитале же еда строго вегетарианская!

Мы встречаемся с Шамсият и ее 17-летним сыном Максимом в Дели, в госпитале Fortis. Здание, если честно, больше похоже на торгово-развлекательный центр. Посреди большого атриума — изваяние огромного младенца со стетоскопом, кругом магазинчики и кафешки, где можно выпить кофе и съесть традиционный суп из чечевицы. На втором этаже оформляют вновь поступивших, весь персонал говорит по-английски. Пациенты — полный интернационал: нашим помогают координаторы из России и Украины, выходцам из постсоветской Центральной Азии — переводчики-афганцы и узбеки, которых легко узнать по разноцветным шароварам.

Максим приехал лечить рецидив нейробластомы. В Москве врачи признали, что ничего сделать не могут, в Германии пообещали вылечить, правда, для этого нужно было собрать 500 тысяч евро.

— В благотворительных фондах нам объяснили, что это невозможно, и предложили рассмотреть Индию. Здесь то же лечение, включая пересадку костного мозга, стоит 129 тысяч долларов,— говорит Шамсият.— Конечно, мы с радостью согласились, хотя поначалу после нашей глубинки все казалось чужим и странным. Правда, как только попали в госпиталь, все изменилось — такой слаженной и профессиональной работы я мало где видела.

Если пациенты западных стран едут в Индию чаще всего за тем, чтобы лечить болезни сердца, то россияне обращаются с онкологией. Не менее популярно у россиян лечение, связанное с протезированием суставов и лечением бесплодия. К тому же все больше наших туристов, приезжающих в Индию просто отдохнуть, попутно записываются на check up — общую диагностику, наподобие диспансеризации. Цена вопроса — 80 долларов и 4 часа. Стоит ли делать общий анализ крови и УЗИ за 4 тысяч километров от России? Вопрос спорный. Но судя по тому, что, согласно опросам «Левада-центра», 40 процентов россиян отечественному здравоохранению не сильно доверяют, охотников ездить лечиться за три моря у нас в скором будущем не убавится.


Материал опубликован в журнале "Огонёк" №49 от 14.12.2015