Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Freeloaders

Cargo Cult: Twentieth Century

Freeloaders

The twentieth century has become a time of unprecedented globalization, and there are practically no places left on the planet where no human has gone before. The meeting of the natives with previously unknown phenomena (among which, alas, there was a war) left a deep mark in their minds, which led to the emergence of a unique and in its own way tragic phenomenon called "cargo cult".

The heyday of these bizarre beliefs came during the Second World War, when on the islands of Melanesia, right in front of the locals who still adhere to the tribal structure, a grandiose battle was unfolding between technologically advanced states. The first wave of supplies poured in with the arrival of the Japanese occupation. As the Japanese began to suffer defeat and retreat, the Allied forces deployed an even larger presence here. Clothing, medicine, canned food, tents, weapons - all this was dropped in large quantities from transport aircraft for the needs of the fighting sides. Such an abundance of different things "from the sky" plunged the natives, who often faced civilization for the first time, into a culture shock, especially since the Americans often shared supplies with local residents who helped the military. At first, this was typical of the Imperial Army, but Tokyo's brutal colonial policy nullified sympathy from the indigenous population of Oceania.

At the same time, pre-war missionaries and colonial officials, who could explain what was happening to the natives, were evacuated at the very beginning of hostilities. And the soldiers of the occupation troops, of course, were not always willing to make contact with local residents.

With the end of the war and the departure of the military from bases and airfields, supplies of supplies also ceased. At this very time among the Melanesians, charismatic "preachers" begin to appear, promising the return of the plentiful "cargo" - food, weapons, Western clothing and equipment. The explanation was simple: supplies are the gifts of ancestors, and in order to receive them, it is necessary to act in the same way that military men behaved in their time. Trying to attract planes and ships from the "Cargo", the natives began to imitate the occupations and even the appearance of American soldiers, arranging a daily "drill" with wooden "guns." The islanders installed wooden "towers", where they sat in "headphones" of bamboo sticks, depicting the work of air traffic controllers. Forest thickets were cut down and leveled, which was intended to depict runways. Cultists sent their "rituals" with stunning detail - in an attempt to attract the attention of "ancestors" even signal lights and illuminated improvised runways were reproduced. But the coveted aircraft did not all appear.

Some went further and created life-size straw copies of the aircraft. The followers of the cult of cargo believed that foreigners have some kind of mystical connection with local spirits and the ancestors of the natives, who were considered the only sufficiently powerful creatures to produce wealth from nowhere. 

In the end, of course, the promise of the prophets "cargo" did not return to the natives, and these eccentric currents began to fade. But at the same time, the traditional, thousand-year-old beliefs of the indigenous people in many places in Oceania came to an end. Until now, it is not always possible to determine whether a particular leader was sincere in his convictions or simply abused the trust of the naive population: the cultists, as a rule, went deep into the islands, away from large settlements and the colonial administration. Therefore, reliable information about these "cargo fans" today is very little.

Waiting for John Frum

However, there is one belief that, having originated before World War II, did not lose its popularity on a single island. The cult of John Froom originated at the end of the 1930s on one of the islands of the Vanuatu archipelago, then known as the French-British condominium New Hebrides. It is believed that such a transformation has undergone veneration of the god Keraperamuna on the island of Tanna. According to one version, a local resident named Manekhivi under the pseudonym John Frum, dressed in Western clothes, began to preach to the population of the island, promising to those at home, clothing, food and means of transportation. 

Others argue that John Frum is an incarnation of Kerapramun, whose appearance was most likely caused by the massive use of the intoxicating decoction of the kava-kava plant. Anyway, the new "prophet" predicted the coming of the "golden age", when all representatives of the white race, including the missionaries, would leave the New Hebrides, and the Melanesians would get all the material blessings enjoyed by Europeans. To this end, the inhabitants of Tanna needed to give up any aspects of European influence (primarily money, education and Christianity) and return to traditional customs, which here in a distorted version of English were called "kastom".

In 1941, the followers of John Frum squandered all their savings and departed from the settled and mission-built places to the interior of the island to send out traditional rituals. Colonial officials began the persecution of the cult, arresting a man who called himself a sect leader, and eventually banished him to another island in the archipelago. It would seem that the days of the current are numbered. But the war broke out in the Pacific, the Anglo-French administration fled, and about three hundred thousand US troops arrived, of course, daily receiving tons of cargo through transport corridors. It was at this time that the John Frum sect began to turn into a classic cargo cult: the adepts built symbolic runways to attract American planes. Many, by the way, believe that the name John Frum comes from the distorted "John From (America)" - "John of (America)".

The cult eventually began to play a serious role in the life of the island: the leader of the Nakomakh movement in 1957 created the "Army of Tanna", whose "fighters" once a year, 15 February, the day of John Frum's supposed return (exactly unknown), conduct "parades" In combat paint and T-shirts with the inscriptions "TA USA" (Tanna Army USA). At the end of the 1970-ies, adherents of the cult opposed the immediate establishment of the independent republic of Vanuatu, believing that a centralized state does not fit into the principles of "kastom". The movement has even its own political party, which represents its interests in the country's parliament. By the way, many Tannans believe that the "Cargo" has returned to them in the form of white tourists visiting the islands and leaving a lot of money here.

Admirers of the tongue-tied Duke

"Gruzopoklonniki" divide the island with another, no less interesting, group - for several villages where thousands of people live, religious objects became portraits of Prince Philip II, the husband of the British Queen Elizabeth. The elderly duke of Edinburgh is revered as a deity and believes that one day he will return, generously endowing the islanders. He was declared the incarnate son of a mountain spirit, who, according to legend, had to go to the seas to marry there with a woman with power. It is believed that the formation of the belief was influenced by the sermons of Christian missionaries about the coming coming of the Messiah. Knowing how much respect the monarchy couple enjoyed from the colonial authorities (and the independent Republic of Vanuatu was created only in 1980 year), the natives were convinced that the prophecy was fulfilled. Faith in the prince was reinforced by a royal visit to the New Hebrides in 1974 - then the Melanesians saw firsthand their idol, in the snow-white form of the Royal Navy descending on the gangplank in Port Vila, the capital of the condominium.

Our whole life is one complete irony, and the movement of Prince Philip serves as another confirmation of this: not once and not twice did the Prince Consort fall into a difficult situation because of ambiguous jokes. So, once he asked the Australian aborigines if they still throw spears at each other. One of the black members of the British Parliament also got either from wit or from the inarticles of the Duke of Edinburgh: His Highness asked the people's representative what country he came from. And the queen’s spouse recommended to British students in China not to linger in a foreign land, otherwise their eyes would narrow.

But such blunders remain a secret for the islanders, because the cultists do not know how to read and write, and in their villages there is no electricity and running water. Men with self-made bows and arrows hunt wild pigs and bats. Accordingly - no newspapers, radio or television. In short, life has changed little since the discovery of Tanna by James Cook. Prince and "Mysis Quinn," as reverently called Elizabeth, aware of what is happening on the island, and Philip even allowed his assistants to regularly send their photos to Tanna. The most important relic, of course, is the first, still black and white portrait of the 1960-ies, fairly spoiled by humidity and tropical downpours. Another, no less revered, the image refers to 1980 year - on it, Philip poses with an expensive gift, a ritual baton is small. The letters from Buckingham Palace, alas, did not spare the mouse. And in 2007, five natives went to London, where they were acquainted with the civilization for a month, and then received an audience with the consort - despite the fact that they could not persuade the "deity" to return to the island, they nevertheless remained Happy with the visit and brought to Tanna valuable replenishment for the "photoreclub".

Despite almost half a century of veneration, the cultists learned only in 2007 that the birthday of the duke falls on 10 June. Since then, magnificent celebrations have been held here on this occasion - the British flag proudly flies on a bamboo flagpole, and the islanders perform ritual dances. Chief Jack Naiva believes, however, that the festivities will not be complete until Philip himself decides to visit them. “Tell King Phillip that I’m getting old and really want him to come to us,” he told reporters once in a while. “If he doesn’t come himself, he may be able to give us some useful things: a Land Rover, a couple of bags of rice or some money.” 

February 26: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Грузопоклонники

Карго-культ: двадцатый век

Грузопоклонники

Двадцатый век стал временем невиданной глобализации, и практически не осталось мест на планете, куда не ступала нога человека. Встреча туземцев с неизвестными им до того явлениями (среди которых, увы, оказалась и война) оставила глубокий след в их сознании, что привело к возникновению уникального и по-своему трагического явления под названием «карго-культ».

Расцвет этих причудливых верований пришелся на период Второй мировой войны, когда на островах Меланезии прямо на глазах у местных жителей, все еще придерживающихся родоплеменного уклада, разворачивалась грандиозная битва между технологически развитыми государствами. Первая волна припасов хлынула сюда с приходом японской оккупации. Когда японцы начали терпеть поражения и отступать, войска союзников развернули здесь еще более масштабное присутствие. Одежда, медикаменты, консервы, палатки, оружие – все это в больших количествах сбрасывалось с транспортных самолетов для нужд сражающихся сторон. Такое обилие разных вещей «с неба» повергало туземцев, которые зачастую впервые сталкивались с цивилизацией, в культурный шок, тем более что американцы нередко делились припасами с местными жителями, помогавшими военным. Поначалу это было характерно и для Императорской армии, но жестокая колониальная политика Токио свела на нет симпатии со стороны коренного населения Океании.

В то же время довоенные миссионеры и колониальные чиновники, которые могли бы разъяснить туземцам происходящее, эвакуировались еще в самом начале боевых действий. А солдаты оккупационных войск, ясное дело, далеко не всегда охотно шли на контакт с местными жителями.

С окончанием войны и уходом военных с баз и аэродромов прекратились и поставки припасов. В это самое время среди меланезийцев начинают появляться харизматичные «проповедники», сулившие последователям возвращение обильного «карго» – еды, оружия, западной одежды и техники. Объяснение давалось простое: припасы – это дары предков, и, чтобы получить их, необходимо действовать так же, как в свое время вели себя военные. Пытаясь привлечь самолеты и корабли с «карго», туземцы стали имитировать занятия и даже внешний вид американских солдат, устраивая ежедневную «муштру» с деревянными «ружьями». Островитяне устанавливали деревянные «вышки», где сидели в «наушниках» из бамбуковых палочек, изображая работу авиадиспетчеров. Лесные заросли вырубались и выравнивались, что призвано было изобразить взлетно-посадочные полосы. Культисты отправляли свои «ритуалы» с потрясающей детализацией – в попытке привлечь внимание «предков» воспроизводились даже сигнальные огни и освещение импровизированных ВПП. Но вожделенные самолеты все не появлялись.

Некоторые шли дальше и создавали соломенные копии самолетов в натуральную величину. Последователи культа карго верили, что иноземцы обладают некоей мистической связью с местными духами и предками туземцев, которых считали единственными достаточно могущественными существами для того, чтобы произвести богатство из ниоткуда. 

В конце концов, разумеется, обещанное пророками «карго» не вернулось к туземцам, и эти эксцентричные течения стали угасать. Но в то же время традиционным, тысячелетним верованиям коренного населения во многих местах Океании пришел конец. До сих пор не всегда удается точно установить, был ли тот или иной лидер искренен в своих убеждениях или просто злоупотреблял доверием наивного населения: культисты, как правило, уходили вглубь островов, подальше от больших поселений и колониальной администрации. Поэтому достоверных сведений об этих «грузопоклонниках» сегодня очень мало.

В ожидании Джона Фрума

Однако есть одно поверье, которое, зародившись еще до Второй мировой войны, не потеряло популярности на отдельно взятом острове. Культ Джона Фрума зародился в конце 1930-х годов на одном из островов архипелага Вануату, известного тогда как франко-британский кондоминиум Новые Гебриды. Считается, что такую трансформацию претерпело почитание бога Кераперамуна на острове Танна. Согласно одним версиям, местный житель по имени Манехиви под псевдонимом Джон Фрум, облачившись в западную одежду, начал проповедовать среди населения острова, обещая тем дома, одежду, пропитание и средства передвижения. 

Другие же утверждают, что Джон Фрум – это инкарнация Кераперамуна, появление которой было, скорее всего, вызвано массовым употреблением пьянящего отвара растения кава-кава. Так или иначе, новый «пророк» предрекал наступление «золотого века», когда все представители белой расы, включая миссионеров, покинут Новые Гебриды, а меланезийцам достанутся все материальные блага, которыми наслаждались европейцы. Для этого жителям Танны необходимо было отказаться от любых аспектов европейского влияния (в первую очередь – от денег, образования и христианства) и вернуться к традиционным обычаям, которые здесь в искаженном варианте английского называли «kastom».

В 1941 году последователи Джона Фрума растратили все свои сбережения и ушли с насиженных и обустроенных миссионерами мест вглубь острова, чтобы здесь отправлять традиционные ритуалы. Колониальные чиновники начали преследование культа, арестовав человека, называвшего себя лидером секты, и в конце концов изгнали его на другой остров архипелага. Казалось бы, дни течения сочтены. Но на Тихом океане началась война, англо-французская администрация бежала, а на острова прибыли порядка трехсот тысяч американских военных, разумеется, ежедневно получающих тонны грузов через транспортные коридоры. Именно в это время секта Джона Фрума начала превращаться в классический карго-культ: адепты строили символические ВПП, чтобы привлечь американские самолеты. Многие, кстати, считают, что само имя Джон Фрум происходит от искаженного «John From (America)» – «Джон из (Америки)».

Культ со временем стал играть серьезную роль в жизни острова: лидер движения Накомаха в 1957 году создал «Армию Танна», «бойцы» которой раз в год, 15 февраля, в день предполагаемого возвращения Джона Фрума (год точно неизвестен), проводят «парады» в боевой раскраске и футболках с надписями «T-A USA» (Tanna Army USA). В конце 1970-х годов адепты культа выступали против немедленного создания независимой республики Вануату, полагая, что централизованное государство не вписывается в принципы «kastom». Движение имеет даже собственную политическую партию, которая представляет его интересы в парламенте страны. Кстати, многие жители Танна верят, что «карго» вернулось к ним в виде белых туристов, посещающих острова и оставляющих здесь большие деньги.

Почитатели косноязычного герцога

«Грузопоклонники» делят остров с еще одной, не менее интересной, группой – для нескольких деревень, где проживают тысячи человек, культовыми предметами стали портреты принца Филиппа II, мужа британской королевы Елизаветы. Немолодого уже герцога Эдинбургского почитают как божество и верят, что однажды он вернется, щедро одаривая островитян. Его объявили воплощенным сыном горного духа, который, по легенде, должен был отправиться за моря, чтобы там сочетаться браком с женщиной, наделенной властью. Считается, что на формирование поверья повлияли проповеди христианских миссионеров о грядущем пришествии Мессии. Зная, каким уважением пользовалась монаршая чета еще у колониальных властей (а независимая Республика Вануату была создана лишь в 1980 году), туземцы убедились, что пророчество исполнено. Вера в принца была подкреплена королевским визитом на Новые Гебриды в 1974 году – тогда меланезийцы воочию увидели своего кумира, в белоснежной форме Королевских ВМС сходящего по трапу в Порт-Виле, столице кондоминиума.

Вся наша жизнь – одна сплошная ирония, и движение принца Филиппа служит очередным тому подтверждением: не единожды и не дважды принц-консорт попадал в затруднительное положение из-за неоднозначных шуток. Так, однажды он осведомился у австралийских аборигенов, метают ли они до сих пор копья друг в друга. Одному из чернокожих членов британского парламента тоже досталось то ли от остроумия, то ли от косноязычия герцога Эдинбургского: его высочество поинтересовался у народного избранника, из какой страны тот прибыл. А британским студентам в Китае супруг королевы и вовсе рекомендовал не задерживаться на чужбине, иначе у них сузятся глаза.

Но подобные ляпы остаются тайной для островитян, ведь культисты не умеют читать и писать, а в их деревнях нет электричества и водопровода. Мужчины с самодельными луками и стрелами охотятся на диких свиней и летучих мышей. Соответственно – никаких газет, радио или телевидения. Словом, жизнь мало изменилась со времен открытия Танны Джеймсом Куком. Принц и «Мисис Квин», как почтительно называют Елизавету, в курсе происходящего на острове, и Филипп даже разрешил помощникам регулярно отправлять свои фотографии на Танну. Самая важная реликвия, конечно, – это первый, еще черно-белый портрет 1960-х годов, изрядно подпорченный влажностью и тропическими ливнями. Другое, не менее почитаемое, изображение относится к 1980 году – на нем Филипп позирует с дорогим подарком, ритуальной дубинкой мал-мал. Письма из Букингемского дворца, увы, не пощадили мыши. А в 2007 году пятеро туземцев отправились в Лондон, где под прицелом телекамер в течение месяца знакомились с цивилизацией, а затем удостоились аудиенции у консорта – несмотря на то что им не удалось уговорить «божество» вернуться на остров, они, тем не менее, остались довольны визитом и привезли на Танну ценные пополнения для «фотореликвария».

Несмотря на почти полувековое почитание, культисты только в 2007 году узнали, что День рождения герцога приходится на 10 июня. С тех пор по этому поводу здесь устраиваются пышные торжества – на бамбуковом флагштоке гордо реет британский флаг, а островитяне исполняют ритуальные танцы. Вождь Джек Наива считает, однако, что празднества не будут полноценными до тех пор, пока Филипп не решит сам посетить их. «Скажите королю Филиппу, что я старею и очень хочу, чтобы он приехал к нам, – сказал он как-то заезжим журналистам. – Если он сам не приедет, то, может быть, сможет передать нам некоторые полезные вещи: «Ленд-Ровер», пару мешков риса или немного денег».