Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Hieroglyph in priority

Why do the Far East learn Chinese?

According to the Consulate General of the PRC in Vladivostok, the Far Eastern capital ranks first in Russia in the study of the Chinese language, even ahead of Moscow and St. Petersburg. Web users have reacted ambiguously to this news. There were, for example, those who claimed: the inhabitants of Primorye are learning the language, realizing that the Far East will soon be surrendered to China, and this must be prepared. EastRussia found out whether it is worth believing the numbers, and why did the inhabitants of Primorye still learn Chinese.

Hieroglyph in priority
Photo: pixabay.com

Chinese in numbers

The director of the Eastern Institute - School of Regional and International Studies of the Far Eastern Federal University Evgeny Pustovoit indirectly confirms the data of the Chinese consulate: the number of students studying Chinese at FEFU has grown by several orders of magnitude in recent years, and there are noticeably more of them who study Japanese or Korean.

“At the undergraduate programs, the Chinese language as the main language is studied by 343 people, another 327 people are taught it as a second language, these are first-fourth year students and undergraduates“ non-Chinese ”. That is, now Chinese is learning about 670 people at the university, ”says Yevgeny Pustovoit, emphasizing that this indicator is the highest among the CIS countries and in Russia. The numbers are higher than in St. Petersburg and Moscow universities, even such as MGIMO or Moscow State University.

About 200 people, he adds, are simultaneously studying at the Confucius Institute of FEFU. There are Chinese language courses for students, preparation for passing the HSK international qualification exams and a practical Chinese program.

You can learn Chinese in numerous private language schools. One of them eagerly shares details: Chinese really outstrips English in popularity.

“Understanding the trend, we even changed the sign. If before it was something like "Teaching English and other languages," now "Teaching Chinese, English ...". But Chinese is very complex, 70% of students quickly drop out, ”said the manager of the language school.

According to her, the majority believes that the language can come in handy at work, but there have never been those who learn Chinese because of the expected change in state ownership of the territory.

Even the Chinese are surprised at this way of posing the question. A FEFU student from China, who calls himself Maxim Si in the Russian manner, did not immediately understand what was being discussed, and not at all because of the language barrier: for five in Vladivostok he learned to understand and speak Russian reasonably.

“One of my friends from Moscow came to learn Chinese in Vladivostok, because the Primorsky Territory borders on China. There is an opportunity to be there, improving the language. He wants to do business with my country, ”said Maxim C.

Maxim’s plans are to organize joint events for Russian and Chinese students.


At the highest level

Interest in learning a particular language always has a basis. So, a surge of interest in Japanese several years ago, reminds Evgeny Pustovoit, was caused by the spread of manga, anime, and J-pop music. In interest in Chinese, the director of the Oriental Institute also sees certain motives.

“In the 90 of the last century, the topic of the so-called“ Chinese threat ”was voiced in the scientific literature and the media. But now we have even fewer Chinese citizens than in those years, and interest in Chinese is growing. What is the reason for this? In my opinion, with the development of an attitude at the highest level between the PRC and the Russian Federation. We have now entered the phase of strategic partnership. The second point is extensive economic cooperation. Plus, the interest of our citizens in such an incomprehensible eastern country, with a non-Western type of thinking - a diverse, diverse China, the pace of development of which is amazing. There are also pragmatic motives - people think that they will find work in China or related to China. Knowledge of the Chinese language increases the chances of finding a job, ”explains the director of the Eastern Institute - FEFU School of Regional and International Studies.

Focusing on this, FEFU even launched a joint project with SIBUR. Lawyers - “tseloviks” will study Chinese in Russia and in China.

“Our graduates work for various companies in China itself, some were even hired by the Russian Foreign Ministry, my classmate got a job at the Beijing Chamber of Commerce and Industry. There is a lot of work, the main thing is to know the language and have patience in studying this complex country, ”adds the EastRussia interlocutor.




Work is not waiting

Expectations in terms of work, it seems, are not without reason. In October, experts at the hh.ru recruiting company reviewed the highest-paid employer offers in the Far East. Among the leaders were vacancies with a salary of 300 thousand rubles - an IT director with knowledge of Chinese and English, who has experience in the field of IT projects, and the position of a procurement manager who was promised from 200 thousand rubles. He was required to have a high level of knowledge of the Chinese language, higher education and experience in China. Both experts were invited to relocate to China.

But there are few such vacancies, and a considerable number of people are leaving to work in China. Elena Kovaleva is one of them. A few years ago, after graduating from the Eastern Institute of the FEFU, having gotten into her native Vladivostok, she left to conquer Moscow. There, her Chinese was also not useful, and Shanghai was the next stop. Now she works as an English teacher at a center for continuing education for children.

Elena does not agree that only Primorye residents learn Chinese: her entire stream was only a few people who were born and raised in the Far East, the rest came from the central regions. And here everything is clear: the “east” of FEFU is one of the best in Russia ”, and due to its territorial proximity it is easier to go on internships.

More recently, while in Vladivostok, the girl met with classmates. Of the seven, only two found work in their specialty - in the field of foreign economic activity. But salaries are small - in the region of 40 thousand rubles. In China, there is an opportunity to earn 2-2,5 times more, but you can find work with such a salary in Vladivostok, and without knowing Chinese, she believes.

“The media tell us about the huge number of joint Russian-Chinese projects, but in fact most of them are concentrated in the raw materials sector. And the Sinists are not particularly needed there, and few, moreover, want to go to a remote village after graduation and help the Chinese there, for example, in cutting down the Siberian forest, ”says a FEFU graduate.

Victoria Tregubova also studied Chinese - at the Confucius Institute, and then at Harbin University. In China, she found a job as a dance teacher. Recently I returned to Vladivostok, worked as a translator in a restaurant with a team of cooks invited from Hong Kong. A few months later, the institution closed, and the girl decided to return to China, where they are ready to take her to her former place, since in Primorye she cannot find work with such a salary.

“Students who see a more dynamic development of the Chinese economy are hopeful that they can join this process and earn more than in Russia. The propaganda that is present in our media regarding friendship with China suggests that relations will develop, which, accordingly, also promises additional employment opportunities. As for the “Chinese threat,” from the point of view of transferring the territory, this is nonsense. In terms of influence - economic political and otherwise, this is happening. And, if we consider this process a threat, then it is growing. But this does not depend on China, but on us: the weaker we are, the more influence China will acquire, ”summarizes the doctor of political sciences, Ph.D., head of the department of international relations and regional security of the Institute of History, Archeology and Ethnography of the Far East Peoples Far East RAS Sergey Pestsov.

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Иероглиф в приоритете

Зачем дальневосточники учат китайский язык?

По информации генерального консульства КНР во Владивостоке, дальневосточная столица занимает первое место в России по изучению китайского языка, обгоняя даже Москву и Санкт-Петербург. На эту новость пользователи Сети отреагировали неоднозначно. Были, например, такие, кто утверждал: жители Приморья учат язык, понимая, что Дальний Восток скоро отдадут Китаю, и к этому надо быть готовым. EastRussia выясняло, стоит ли верить цифрам, и для чего все-таки жители Приморья учат китайский.

Иероглиф в приоритете
Фото: pixabay.com

Китайский в цифрах

Директор Восточного института — Школы региональных и международных исследований Дальневосточного федерального университета Евгений Пустовойт косвенно подтверждает данные китайского консульства: количество студентов, изучающих китайский язык в ДВФУ, за последние годы выросло на несколько порядков, и их заметно больше тех, кто учит японский или корейский.

«На программах бакалавриата китайский язык как основной изучают 343 человека, еще 327 человек учат его как второй язык, это студенты первых-четвертых курсов и магистранты "некитаисты". То есть сейчас в вузе учат китайский около 670 человек», — рассказывает Евгений Пустовойт, подчеркивая, что этот показатель самый высокий среди стран СНГ и по России. Цифры выше, чем в Санкт-Петербургских и московских вузах, даже таких как МГИМО или МГУ.

Еще около 200 человек, добавляет он, одновременно учатся Институте Конфуция ДВФУ. Там есть курсы китайского языка для школьников, подготовки к сдаче международных квалификационных экзаменов HSK и программы практического китайского.

Учить китайский можно и во многочисленных языковых частных школах. В одной из них охотно делятся подробностями: китайский действительно обгоняет по популярности английский.

«Понимая тенденцию, мы даже вывеску сменили. Если раньше на ней было что-то вроде "Обучение английскому и другим языкам", теперь "Обучению китайскому, английскому…". Но китайский — очень сложный, быстро отсеиваются 70% слушателей, — поделился менеджер языковой школы.

По ее словам, большинство считает, что язык может пригодиться в работе, но вот тех, кто учит китайский из-за ожидаемой смены государственной принадлежности территории, не было ни разу.

Такой постановке вопроса удивляются даже китайцы. Студент ДВФУ из КНР, который на русский манер зовет себя Максим Си, не сразу понял, о чем идет речь, и вовсе не из-за языкового барьера: за пять во Владивостоке он научился сносно понимать и говорить по-русски.

«Один мой приятель из Москвы приехал учить китайский во Владивосток, потому что Приморский край граничит с Китаем. Есть возможность бывать там, совершенствуя язык. Он хочет заниматься бизнесом с моей страной», — рассказал Максим Си.

В планах самого Максима — заняться организацией совместных мероприятий для российских и китайских студентов.


На самом высоким уровне

Интерес к изучению того или иного языка всегда имеет под собой некую основу. Так, произошедший несколько лет назад всплеск интереса к японскому, напоминает Евгений Пустовойт, был вызван распространением культуры манга, анимэ, музыкального направления J-pop. В интересе к китайскому директор Восточного института тоже видит определенные мотивы.

«В 90-х годах прошлого века в научной литературе, масс-медиа озвучивалась тема так называемой "китайской угрозы". Но сейчас китайских граждан у нас даже меньше, чем в те годы, а интерес к китайскому растет. С чем это связано? На мой взгляд — с развитием отношением на самом высоком уровне между КНР и РФ. Мы сейчас вступили в фазу стратегического партнерства. Второй момент — обширное экономическое сотрудничество. Плюс интерес наших граждан к такой непонятной для нас восточной стране, с незападным типом мышления — многоликим, многообразным Китаем, темпы развития которого поражают. Есть и прагматические мотивы — люди думают, что найдут работу в Китае либо, связанную с Китаем. Знание китайского языка повышает шансы на трудоустройство», — объясняет директор Восточного института — Школы региональных и международных исследований ДВФУ.

Ориентируясь на это, в ДВФУ даже запустили совместный проект с компанией СИБУР. Юристы –«целевики» будут изучать китайский в России и в КНР.

«Наши выпускники работают в разных компаниях в самом Китае, некоторых даже брали на работу в представительство МИД России, мой одногруппник устроился на работу в Торгово-промышленную палату в Пекине. Работы много, главное — знать язык и иметь терпение к изучению этой сложной страны», — добавляет собеседник EastRussia.




Работа не ждет

Ожидания в плане работы, кажется, не лишены оснований. В октябре эксперты рекрутинговой компании hh.ru составили обзор самых высокооплачиваемых предложений от работодателей, представленных на Дальнем Востоке. Среди лидеров оказались вакансии с заработной платой в 300 тыс. рублей — директор по IT со знанием китайского и английского языков, имеющий опыт работы в сфере IT-проектов, и должность менеджера по закупкам, которому обещали от 200 тыс. рублей. От него требовались знание китайского языка на высоком уровне, наличие высшего образования и опыт работы в Китае. Обоим специалистам предлагался переезд в Поднебесную.

Но таких вакансий немного, а работать в Китай уезжает немалое количество народа. Елена Ковалева — одна из них. Несколько лет назад, окончив Восточный институт ДВФУ, помыкавшись в родном Владивостоке, уехала покорять Москву. Там ее китайский тоже не пригодился, и следующей остановкой стал Шанхай. Сейчас она работает преподавателем английского в центре детского дополнительного образования.

Елена не согласна, что китайский учат исключительно жители Приморья: на всем ее потоке было всего несколько человек, кто родился и вырос на Дальнем Востоке, остальные приехали из центральных регионов. И здесь все понятно: «восточка» ДВФУ — одна из лучших в России», а за счет территориальной близости проще ездить на стажировки.

Совсем недавно, будучи во Владивостоке, девушка встречалась с одногруппниками. Из семерых только двое нашли работу по специальности — в сфере внешнеэкономической деятельности. Но зарплаты небольшие — в районе 40 тыс. рублей. В Китае есть возможность зарабатывать в 2-2,5 раза больше, работу же с такой зарплатой во Владивостоке можно найти, и не зная китайского, считает она.

«Средства массовой информации рассказывают нам об огромном количестве совместных российско-китайских проектов, но по факту большинство из них сосредоточено в сырьевой сфере. И китаисты там особо не нужны, и немногие, к тому же, хотят после выпуска ехать в глухую деревню и помогать там китайцам, например, в вырубке сибирского леса», — рассуждает выпускница ДВФУ.

Виктория Трегубова тоже учила китайский — в Институте Конфуция, а затем в университете Харбина. В Китае нашла работу — учителем танцев. Недавно вернулась во Владивосток, поработала переводчиком в ресторане с приглашенной из Гонконга командой поваров. Через несколько месяцев заведение закрылось, и девушка решила вернуться в Китай, где ее готовы взять на прежнее место, поскольку в Приморье работу с такой зарплатой ей не найти.

«Студенты, которые видят более динамичное развитие китайской экономики, испытывают надежду, что смогут влиться в этот процесс и зарабатывать больше, чем в России. Пропаганда, которая присутствует в наших медиа относительно дружбы с Китаем, наводит на мысль, что отношения будут развиваться, что, соответственно, тоже обещает дополнительные возможности в трудоустройстве. Что касается "китайской угрозы", то с точки сточки зрения передачи территории — это глупости. С точки зрения влияния — экономического политического и иного, это происходит. И, если мы считаем этот процесс угрозой, то она растет. Но это зависит не от Китая, а от нас: чем слабее мы будем, тем большее влияние станет приобретать Китай, — резюмирует доктор политических наук, кандидат философских наук, заведующий отделом международных отношений и региональной безопасности Института истории, археологии и этнографии народов Дальнего Востока ДВО РАН Сергей Песцов.