Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

India as a great power will need Russian weapons

India as a great power will need Russian weapons

Kirill Fursov

Candidate of Historical Sciences, Senior Researcher, Institute of Asian and African Studies, Moscow State University

Kirill Fursov, Ph.D. (Hist.), Senior researcher, Institute of Asian and African Countries, Moscow State University:
- Russian-Indian cooperation in the field of armaments, of course, will continue, and the prospects for it are good. This is due to India's growing desire for sovereign status.

Has India already become a power in the South Asian region after at least the victorious third war with Pakistan in 1971 and the 1974 nuclear tests? next in line is the achievement of the status of a power within Asia as a whole.

The terminological line between the concepts of “regional” and “great” power is somewhat vague, it is no coincidence that in the analytical literature of recent years India (like China, although its successes are more obvious) is vaguely called an emerging or emerging power. The most important motive for strengthening India's armed forces is its intention to repel possible threats to its territorial integrity and economic interests, which are becoming more and more extensive with the growth of its economy. For example, the country imports 70% of the oil consumed and more than half of the natural gas, and mainly by sea.

Therefore, a number of Indian politicians call the entire zone from the Persian Gulf to the Malacca Strait a legitimate sphere of the country's interests. Indeed, maintaining security in this wide area is becoming an increasingly pressing issue for the development of India itself. As analysts emphasize, if each country has regional interests, the great powers also have a regional responsibility. The interests of India are pushing her to assume an increasing share of this responsibility. Therefore, India's demand for Russian military equipment will not only remain, but, most likely, will continue to grow.

More on the supply of Russian weapons to India - in the material of Mikhail Botvinnik "Great Indian Water"

March 6: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Индии как великой державе понадобится российское вооружение

Индии как великой державе понадобится российское вооружение

Кирилл Фурсов

кандидат исторических наук, старший научный сотрудник Института стран Азии и Африки МГУ

Кирилл Фурсов, кандидат исторических наук, старший научный сотрудник Института стран Азии и Африки МГУ:
- Российско-индийское сотрудничество в сфере вооружений, конечно, будет продолжаться, и перспективы у него хорошие. Это обусловлено возрастающим стремлением Индии к державному статусу.

В регионе Южной Азии Индия уже стала державой как минимум после победоносной третьей войны с Пакистаном 1971 года и ядерных испытаний 1974 года? на очереди у нее – достижение статуса державы в рамках Азии в целом.

Терминологическая грань между понятиями «региональной» и «великой» державы несколько расплывчата, не случайно в аналитической литературе последних лет Индию (как и Китай, хотя его успехи очевиднее) обтекаемо называют становящейся, или возникающей, державой. Важнейший мотив укрепления вооруженных сил Индии – ее намерение отразить возможные угрозы своей территориальной целостности и экономическим интересам, которые с ростом ее экономики становятся все обширнее. Например, 70% потребляемой нефти и более половины природного газа страна импортирует, причем в основном – морским путем.

Поэтому ряд индийских политиков называют всю зону от Персидского залива до Малаккского пролива законной сферой интересов страны. В самом деле, поддержание безопасности в этой широкой зоне становится все более насущной проблемой для развития самой Индии. Как подчеркивают аналитики, если у каждой страны могут быть региональные интересы, у великих держав имеется к тому же региональная ответственность. Интересы Индии толкают ее к принятию на себя все большей доли такой ответственности. Поэтому спрос Индии на российскую военную технику не просто сохранится, но, скорее всего, будет продолжать расти.

Подробнее о поставках российского вооружения в Индию – в материале Михаила Ботвинника «Большая индийская вода»