Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Chinese cinema: business on "soft power"

37-th Moscow International Film Festival, although not attracted, for obvious reasons, special attention to world superstars, however, has become a very interesting event in Russian cinema. And above all, in my opinion, because the participation of China in it has become more visible.

Chinese cinema: business on "soft power"

This statement looks paradoxical, since in the main competition tapes from China were not listed.

But it is symbolic that the film of the opening of the festival was the magnificent Chinese-French ribbon "Totem of the Wolf", which was shot in China, in Chinese novel, with Chinese actors and with Chinese money. The jury chairman of the main competition of the Moscow Film Festival is the French director Jean-Jacques Annot.

China was represented in the documentary film competition with the painting "Young Patriot", also shot with the French. Another non-game tape from China, the Chinese Mayor, was shown as part of the Free Thought film screening. Russian viewers also saw 6 films in the out-of-competition screening of production at the Sian Film Studio and director Wu Tianmin.

Perhaps someone such participation of Beijing in the Moscow Film Festival seems modest. But it is not. Chinese cinema today operates around the world without missing a single international film festival. He also participates in such regional festivals as “Amur Autumn” or “Pacific Meridians”, which take place in Blagoveshchensk and Vladivostok and are focused on the APR countries.

Cinematography for China today is not only an art, but also a form of business, as well as a means of promoting a positive image of a nation abroad. The cinema from the most mass art in the Middle Kingdom has, on the one hand, become a means of multimedia communication, and, on the other, has become an important tool for the realization of "soft power" on a global scale. Until now, only Americans have been actively using this tool.

Chinese cinema 21 century phenomenon - very promising. It intertwined culturological, image and commercial interests. Over the past three years, China has produced more than 500 film every year. In 2013, 531's artwork came out on the screens. Record was 2012 year, when the PRC studios produced almost 750 film. To date, China has become the world's second largest filmmaker, ahead of India, and second only to the United States.

Five or six years ago, few people in China could predict such a leap forward. Specialists talked more about the crisis of the cinema, about the problems of searching for new, non-standard and interesting screenplays, original stories. Now the situation has changed radically.

Released spectacular action movies in genres Udan or Osia, Realistic epic tapes on popular novels. For example, "White deer valley", Telling about the dramatic life of several generations of Chinese in the 20-th century or the military tragedy"Remembering 1942 year"Popular director and actor Feng Xiaogang. There were their horror films. And even Westerns - "Draw land"37-year-old director Ning Hao, and a little earlier"Let the bullets flyDirected by Jiang Wen. The success of Jiang Wen's latest feat is to shoot an equally commercially successful sequelCarried away by bullets».

There is a feeling that the State Committee for Cinema, Television and Radio Broadcasting has loosened control over the activities of cinematographers. As a result, filmmaking has received new incentives.

Now, of course, it is quite possible, to a certain extent, and free-thinking. This can be seen in the example of the author's cinema, represented by a whole galaxy of brilliant directors such as Jia Zhangke, with the amazing drama "Touch of Sin," Lou E with the film "Blind Massage" or Diao Yinan with his social detective "Black Coal, Thin Ice." Criticism on the big screen is not just permissible, it is desirable, because the autopsy of social ulcers and their treatment is the driver of the development of a healthy society. One can not only encroach upon the constitutional foundations of the state.

The main trend of Chinese cinema is its strong commercialization, the orientation toward cooperation with Hollywood or European film companies.

Russian moviegoers, most likely, do not know that China along with the United States is listed as the official producer of such box-office blockbusters 2013-2015, as the military epic Rage with Brad Pitt, Transformers. The era of extermination "by Michael Bay," Iron Man-3 "," John Wick "with Keanu Reeves," The Loop of Time "with Bruce Willis," Superiority "with John Depp," Cloud Atlas "by directors Wachowski and Tom Pumpker, and also popular in Of Russia "The Seventh Son" by Sergei Bodrov, filmed in Hollywood. This is not the entire list. A little earlier were the "Pacific line" Guillermo del Toro, "People X", "The Expendables-2", "Resident Evil. Retribution "and others.

Chinese businessmen continue to actively invest in the production of commercial films abroad, primarily in Hollywood, realizing that cinema is not only art or entertainment, it is also a commodity that can be earned.

They are also very attentive to the infrastructure of the film business. Two years ago, the Chinese corporation Dalian Wanda Group Co completed the procedure for buying the second largest American cinema network operator AMC Entertainment Holdings, Inc. The deal value is estimated at 2,6 billion. The acquisition of a network of cinemas in the United States led the Chinese corporation to the number of the largest owners of cinemas in the APR. And in June 2015, the corporation acquired the largest Australian film distribution network Hoyts.

Specialists are convinced that in 2014, China played a leading role in the growth of the global film distribution market. World box office in 2014 year amounted to 37,5 billion US dollars. Compared to 2013, global box office volumes increased by 1,6 billion dollars, with 75 accounting for this percentage increase in China.

One of my colleagues once said: “Cinema can be good, bad and Chinese.” It seems that this comic note ceases to be relevant. Chinese cinema is becoming international.

September 29: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Китайское кино: бизнес на «мягкой силе»

37-й Московский международный кинофестиваль хотя и не привлек, по понятным причинам, особого внимания мировых суперзвезд, тем не менее, стал весьма интересным событием в российском кинематографе. И прежде всего, на мой взгляд, потому, что участие Китая в нем стало более заметным.

Китайское кино: бизнес на «мягкой силе»

Это утверждение выглядит парадоксальным, поскольку в основном конкурсе ленты из Китая не значились.

Но символично то, что фильмом открытия фестиваля стала великолепная китайско-французская лента «Тотем волка», которую снял в Китае, по китайскому роману, с китайскими актерами и на китайские деньги Председатель жюри основного конкурса Московского кинофестиваля французский режиссер Жан-Жак Анно.

Китай был представлен в конкурсе документальных фильмов картиной «Юный патриот», также снятый с французами. Еще одна неигровая лента из КНР «Китайский мэр» демонстрировалась в рамках кинопоказа «Свободная мысль». Российские зрители также увидели 6 фильмов во внеконкурсном показе продукции Сианьской киностудии и режиссера У Тяньминя.

Возможно, кому-то такое участие Пекина в Московском кинофестивале покажется скромным. Но это не так. Китайский кинематограф сегодня работает по всему миру, не пропуская ни одного международного кинофестиваля. Участвует он и в таких региональных фестивалях, как «Амурская осень» или «Меридианы Тихого», которые проходят в Благовещенске и Владивостоке и ориентированы на страны АТР.

Кинематограф для Китая сегодня – это не только искусство, но и форма бизнеса, а также средство продвижения положительного образа нации за границей. Кино из самого массового искусства в Поднебесной превратилось, с одной стороны, в средство мультимедийного общения , а, с другой, стало важным инструментом реализации «мягкой силы» в глобальном масштабе. До сих пор этим инструментом активно пользовались только американцы.

 Китайский кинематограф 21 века явление – весьма многообещающее. В нем переплелись культурологические, имиджевые и коммерческие интересы. Последние три года Китай выпускает на экраны более 500 кинолент ежегодно. В 2013 году на экраны вышла 531 художественная картина. Рекордным был 2012 год, когда киностудии КНР выпустили почти 750 кинолент. К сегодняшнему дню Китай стал вторым производителем кино в мире, опередив Индию, и уступая только США.

 Пять-шесть лет назад мало кто в Китае мог предсказать такой рывок вперед. Специалисты больше рассуждали о кризисе кино, о проблемах поиска новых, нестандартных и интересных киносценариев, оригинальных сюжетов. Теперь ситуация поменялась коренным образом.

Снимаются зрелищные боевики в жанрах удан или уся, реалистические эпические ленты по популярным романам. Например, «Долина белого оленя», рассказывающая о драматической жизни нескольких поколений китайцев в 20-м столетии или военная трагедия «Вспоминая 1942 год» популярного режиссера и актера Фэн Сяогана. Появились свои фильмы ужасов. И даже вестерны – «Ничья земля» 37-летнего режиссера Нин Хао, а чуть раньше «Пусть летят пули» режиссера Цзян Вэня. Успех последней подвиг Цзян Вэня снять столь же коммерчески успешное продолжение «Унесенные пулями».

Возникает ощущение, что Госкомитет по делам кинематографа, телевидения и радиовещания ослабил контроль над деятельностью кинематографистов. В результате кинопроизводство получило новые стимулы.

Ныне вполне допускается, разумеется, до известных пределов, и свободомыслие. Это видно на примере авторского кино, представленного целой плеядой блестящих режиссеров, таких, как Цзя Чжанкэ, с потрясающей драмой «Прикосновение греха», Лоу Е с фильмом «Массаж вслепую» или Дяо Инань с его социальным детективом «Черный уголь, тонкий лед». Критика на большом экране не просто допустима, она желательна, ведь вскрытие социальных язв и их лечение – драйвер развития здорового общества. Нельзя только покушаться на конституционные основы государства.

Главной же тенденцией китайского кино остается его сильная коммерциализация, ориентация на сотрудничество с голливудскими или европейскими кинокомпаниями.

Российские кинозрители, скорее всего, не знают, что Китай вместе с США значится официальным производителем таких кассовых блокбастеров 2013-2015 г.г., как военный эпик «Ярость» с Бредом Питтом, «Трансформеры. Эпоха истребления» Майкла Бэя, «Железный человек-3», «Джон Уик» с Киану Ривзом, «Петля времени» с Брюсом Уиллисом, «Превосходство» с Джоном Деппом, «Облачный атлас» режиссеров Вачовски и Тома Тыквера, а также популярный в России «Седьмой сын» Сергея Бодрова, снятый в Голливуде. Это не весь список. Чуть ранее были «Тихоокеанский рубеж» Гильермо дель Торо, «Люди Х», «Неудержимые-2», «Обитель зла. Возмездие» и другие.

 Китайские бизнесмены продолжают активно инвестировать производство коммерческих фильмов за границей, прежде всего, в Голливуде, понимая, что кино – не только искусство или развлечение, это еще и товар, на котором можно заработать.

Они также весьма внимательны и к инфраструктуре кинобизнеса. Два года назад китайская корпорация «Dalian Wanda Group Co» завершила процедуры по покупке второго по величине американского оператора сети кинотеатров «AMC Entertainment Holdings, Inc.» Сумма сделки оценивается в 2,6 миллиарда долларов. Приобретение сети кинотеатров в США вывело китайскую корпорацию в число самых крупных владельцев кинотеатров в АТР. А в июне 2015 года корпорация приобрела крупнейшую австралийскую кинопрокатную сеть «Hoyts».

Специалисты убеждены, что в 2014 году Китай сыграл ведущую роль в росте мирового рынка кинопроката. Мировые кассовые сборы в 2014 году составили 37,5 млрд долларов США. По сравнению с 2013 годом глобальные объемы кассовых сборов увеличились на 1,6 млрд долларов, причем 75 процентом этого роста приходится на Китай.

  Один мой коллега как-то сказал: «Кино бывает хорошее, плохое и китайское». Похоже, это шуточное замечание перестает быть актуальным. Китайское кино становится международным.