Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Climatic solutions

The magnetic properties of the selected sedimentary rock at various sea depths allow us to recreate the world climate picture and make predictions for the future

Climatic solutions

Far Eastern scientists explored the Russian water area of ​​the Pacific Ocean and found that many thousands of years ago on the Kolyma and Chukotka grew tropical plants.

Russian Far Eastern scientists and their Chinese colleagues have completed a large-scale project to study sedimentary rocks at the bottom of the Okhotsk, Japan, Bering and Chukchi seas. For three expeditions, they selected a unique material, studying which they draw conclusions about how the climate was half a million years ago. Scientists calculate certain patterns of climate change and make predictions for the future.

A special tube is immersed at the bottom of the Sea of ​​Okhotsk. The depth is several kilometers. A gravity tube on a long cable falls under the influence of gravity and cuts through the seabed. Scientists not only need to get to the ground, but also carefully remove 10-12 meters of rock. They made such tests in all the Far Eastern seas of the country. The Russian-Chinese research vessel has traveled thousands of kilometers. For three expeditions, scientists have brought 350 meters of core - rocks from the bottom of the northern seas. It was divided into pieces and will now be studied in the laboratory. According to it, scientists will conclude what the climate was like 300-500 thousand years ago.

The fact is that the seabed is practically not exposed to external influences and contains in itself all the secrets of antiquity. But scientists are primarily interested in climatic puzzles. In the laboratory, the magnetic properties of the selected rock are studied at different depths. And already on them draw conclusions, what happened on Earth hundreds of thousands of years ago. For example, the polarity of the geomagnetic field of the earth changed 798 thousand years ago, which led to the death of various animals and plants.

“We can determine what the field was when the polarity reversal of the geomagnetic field occurred. During this time, various changes took place. It is still unknown why mammoths died out. Maybe there was a change in polarity, something happened in the atmosphere, everything changed. Perhaps there have been some global changes, ”says Galina Malakhova, a researcher at the North-Eastern Research Institute of the Far Eastern Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

The samples from the sea depths are also studied for the ancient flora and fauna, it also changes over time, not only underwater. So, on the Kolyma and Chukotka, once even grew tropical plants.

“The plants have changed a lot. Ferns and tropical plants were present here. Now, naturally, there is none of this. But they are found in a fossil form, ”explains Claudia Remizovskaya, senior laboratory assistant at the North-Eastern Research Institute of the Far Eastern Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

But in our time, there should not be any large-scale climate changes. Scientists came to the conclusion that there is a regularity in the onset of warming and cooling. Now in the Russian Far East, the peak of warming, but in twenty years everything will return to the indicators of fifty years ago.

“It will probably be even a little colder. Perhaps, like in our 60s in Magadan. Then frosts over thirty on the coast of the Kolyma were commonplace, now it is a rarity. And there was a lot of snow. We realized that the Pacific Ocean is now interacting with our region, with our seas, the Atlantic is influencing across the Arctic Ocean. Water exchange takes place through the Bering Strait. In other words, there is an exchange of thermal parameters of water, and of the atmosphere, ”says Mikhail Malakhov, one of the participants in the study, a leading researcher at the Far East Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

These conclusions, scientists say, are relevant for the whole world. They study the interaction of the Pacific and Arctic oceans, and it is in many ways creating a world climate picture. So in twenty years on Earth it will get colder, and this trend, as scientists believe, will continue for the next 26 thousand years. Just so much, according to their observations, the period of gradual cooling is lasting, and then on Earth the era of global warming will begin again.

May 7: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Климатические разгадки

Магнитные свойства отобранной осадочной породы на различных морских глубинах позволяют воссоздать мировую климатическую картину и делать прогнозы на будущее

Климатические разгадки

Дальневосточные ученые исследовали российскую акваторию Тихого океана и обнаружили, что много тысяч лет назад на Колыме и Чукотке росли тропические растения.

Российские дальневосточные ученые и их китайские коллеги завершили масштабный проект изучения осадочных пород на дне Охотского, Японского, Берингова и Чукотского морей. За три экспедиции они отобрали уникальный материал, изучая который делают выводы о том, каким был климат полмиллиона лет назад. Ученые вычисляют определенные закономерности изменений климата и по ним делают прогнозы на будущее.

На дно Охотского моря погружают специальную трубку. Глубина – несколько километров. Гравитационная трубка на длинном тросе под воздействием силы тяжести падает и прорезает морское дно. Ученым нужно не просто добраться до земли, но еще и аккуратно снять 10-12 метров породы. Такие пробы они сделали во всех дальневосточных морях страны. Российско-китайское исследовательское судно избороздило тысячи километров. За три экспедиции ученые привезли 350 метров керна – породы со дна северных морей. Его поделили на куски и теперь будут изучать в лаборатории. По нему ученые сделают вывод, каким был климат 300-500 тысяч лет назад.

Дело в том, что морское дно практически не подвергается внешним воздействиям и содержит в себе все тайны древности. Но ученых прежде всего интересуют климатические загадки. В лаборатории изучают магнитные свойства отобранной породы на различных глубинах. И уже по ним делают выводы, что же происходило на Земле сотни тысяч лет назад. К примеру, полярность геомагнитного поля земли изменилась 798 тысяч лет назад, что привело к гибели различных животных и растений.

«Мы можем определить, какое было поле, когда произошла инверсия знака полярности геомагнитного поля. В это время происходили разные изменения. До сих пор же неизвестно, почему вымерли мамонты. Может быть, произошла смена полярности, что-то произошло в атмосфере, поменялось все. Возможно, были какие-то глобальные изменения», - рассказывает научный сотрудник СВКНИИ ДВО РАН Галина Малахова.

Пробы с морских глубин изучают и на предмет древней флоры и фауны, она также меняется с течением времени, причем не только под водой. Так, на Колыме и Чукотке когда-то даже росли тропические растения.

«Растения очень изменились. Здесь ведь присутствовали и папоротники, и тропические растения. Сейчас ничего этого, естественно, нет. Но в ископаемом виде находят» - поясняет старший лаборант СВКНИИ ДВО РАН Клавдия Ремизовская.

Но в наше время каких-то масштабных климатических изменений ждать не стоит. Ученые пришли к выводу, что существует закономерность наступлении потепления и похолодания. Сейчас на территории Дальнего Востока России пик потепления, но уже через двадцать лет все вернется к показателям пятидесятилетней давности.

«Наверное, будет даже немножко холоднее. Возможно, как в наши 60-е годы в Магадане. Тогда морозы за тридцать на побережье Колымы были обычным делом, сейчас - это редкость. И очень много было снега. Мы поняли, что сейчас идет взаимодействие Тихого океана с нашим районом, с нашими морями, идет воздействие Атлантики через Ледовитый океан. Через Берингов пролив происходит обмен вод. Другими словами, происходит обмен тепловыми параметрами воды, ну и атмосферы», - рассказывает один из участников исследования, ведущий научный сотрудник СВКНИИ ДВО РАН Михаил Малахов.

Эти выводы, говорят ученые, актуальны и для всего мира. Они изучают взаимодействие Тихого и Северного Ледовитого океанов, а именно оно во многом создает мировую климатическую картину. Так что через двадцать лет на Земле похолодает, и эта тенденция, как считают ученые, будет сохраняться в ближайшие 26 тысяч лет. Именно столько, по их наблюдениям, длится период постепенного похолодания, а затем на Земле снова начнется эпоха всемирного потепления.