Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Corruption in China is influenced by tradition

Corruption in China is influenced by tradition

Alexander Kadyrbaev

Leading researcher of the Department of the monuments of writing of the peoples of the East of the Institute of Oriental Studies of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Professor of the Department of National and National History of the Higher School of Economics, Doctor of Historical Sciences.

Alexander Kadyrbaev, Leading Researcher of the Department of Oriental Literature of the Peoples of the East, Institute of Oriental Studies of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Professor of the Department of National and National History of the Higher School of Economics, Doctor of Historical Sciences:
"China's economic success and experience in the fight against corruption make the topic very topical, including from the point of view that corruption metastasized struck all spheres of Russia's public life. The successes of China's economic development speak for themselves. On the other hand, when a country is booming, when there is an influx of a lot of foreign investment, criminal elements have a field for activity.

The twentieth century witnessed fateful events in Chinese history, and in terms of the fight against corruption, it was ambiguous. Before the Xinhai Revolution of 1911, the corruption of the state apparatus of the Manchu dynasty was the talk of the town. By this time, the Chinese statehood had exhausted itself, and corruption had spread to all sectors of society. The situation was aggravated by the fact that China was only formally independent and was in the sphere of influence of the largest world powers (including the Russian Empire). The system was corrupted from top to bottom, and this circumstance became one of those that predetermined the success of the 1911 revolution. After the republican regime came to power, there was no unity in the country, and the central government retained control only over certain regions of the country, while the rest were ruled by militarists. The reason China did not become a colony is that it was an arena for too many rivalries. Nevertheless, the task of preserving sovereignty existed.

The main corruption scheme that appears at this time is the work of intermediaries between Europeans and local residents, otherwise this stratum is called the "comprador bourgeoisie".

The Chinese, like Japan in the nineteenth century, tried to reform, but the comprador bourgeoisie, associated with the Western powers, proved to be stronger than the reformers and did not allow them to leave the vicious circle of dependence on other countries.

After the creation of the Chinese Communist Party and the Kuomintang party, it became clear that the main goal of both parties was the revival of China as a great power. The unity of the country in a short time could not be restored, and the central government did not have full power. The situation was complicated by a permanent and prolonged civil war between supporters of Chiang Kai-shek (Kuomintang) and the Communists. It is extremely difficult to talk about the efficient work of the state apparatus during this period.

Adequate state construction begins only in 1949, when the Communist Party wins the civil war. The war ended with the founding of the PRC. For the first time in a long time, China was united under the rule of one political force (with the exception of Taiwan).

The Communists, of course, acted on the Soviet model. Due to the full nationalization of production, the role of bureaucracy has greatly increased. Despite Marxist rhetoric, corruption did not disappear, and criminal communities (triads, etc.) continued to exist.

The concept of corruption in China is largely influenced by the tradition that has developed since ancient times. And this is something that is clearly to be avoided.

Confucius put forward the principles of creating a new man, a “noble husband” - that is, a man who could hold responsible posts and rule the state. China's successes in the field of economic development and the fight against corruption, including predetermined and Confucian ethics of educating managers. Although under Mao Zedong, Confucianism was persecuted, it could not but affect the psychology of the people in general and, more importantly, the ruling elite in particular. It is interesting that only in China a situation is possible in which a person who does not formally occupy any high positions remains the spiritual and de facto leader of the nation, and the ruling elite fulfills his wishes and orders. This is an excellent example of Deng Xiaoping.

However, his reforms opened the gate to corruption. At the same time, the Chinese leadership tried to control this process - the legislation in the field of financial crimes is very tough. Even top officials do not have any immunity.

Despite Confucian ethics, officials, including top-ranking officials such as one of the vice mayors of Beijing, are subject to corruption. He was arrested in the middle of the 2000-ies, his guilt is fully proved, and the punishment turned out to be very harsh - the death penalty, despite membership in the Central Committee of the Politburo of the Communist Party.

Usually the loudest processes are connected with managers. Now loud anticorruption processes have become a rarity, rather they should be attributed to the previous decade.

In China, a strong family relationship, therefore, to eradicate corruption, Deng Xiaoping created a system in which, after two terms of five years, a new generation of leaders of different ranks come to power. At the moment it becomes the norm. This narrows the space for corruption, although it does not completely exclude it. China is becoming a very rich power, and this, coupled with a strong social stratification, which is a direct consequence of problems with overpopulation, is becoming a fertile ground for corruption.

Chinese law severely punishes financial crimes. So, for theft in especially large amounts, the death penalty is supposed, and even very high-ranking officials are not protected from this punishment by immunity. In other cases, embezzlement can lead to serious prison terms, and consistency in this area, China adheres rigorously, despite the protests of human rights associations in the West. Rigid anti-corruption policy seems to be a violation of human rights, but the pressure of Western media is supported by the fact that this policy enjoys the social support of the majority of the population. The connivance of corrupt officials can lead to the accumulation of significant protest potential.

In China, there is a lot of foreign investment, and this is also a field for corruption. As a rule, a large number of investments (up to two thirds) comes from the Chinese, who are citizens of other countries, and this does not allow to say that such schemes are 100% transparent. However, there are practically no cases of corruption in strategically important sectors, for example in the defense industry, they are under strict state control.

With regard to less stringent measures to counter corruption - in the first place, this is strict control of law enforcement agencies. One of the punishments against corruption was also the confiscation of property. This process can mitigate the punishment, but does not absolve everyone from responsibility.

Apparently, the Chinese anti-corruption policy will be mitigated with time, since at the moment the situation is within acceptable limits and law enforcement agencies have deterrent potential.


December 1: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Коррупция в Китае находится под влиянием традиции

Коррупция в Китае находится под влиянием традиции

Александр Кадырбаев

Ведущий научный сотрудник Отдела памятников письменности народов Востока Института Востоковедения РАН, профессор кафедры всеобщей и отечественной истории НИУ ВШЭ, д.и.н.

Александр Кадырбаев, Ведущий научный сотрудник Отдела памятников письменности народов Востока Института Востоковедения РАН, профессор кафедры всеобщей и отечественной истории НИУ ВШЭ, доктор исторических наук:
- Экономические успехи Китая и опыт в борьбе с коррупцией делают тему очень злободневной, в том числе и с той точки зрения, что коррупция метастазами поразила все сферы общественной жизни России. Успехи экономического развития Китая говорят сами за себя. С другой стороны, когда страна бурно развивается, когда идет приток множества иностранных инвестиций, у криминальных элементов возникает поле для деятельности.

В двадцатом веке совершились судьбоносные события в истории Китая, и в плане борьбы с коррупцией он был неоднозначным. До Синьхайской революции 1911 года коррупция госаппарата маньчжурской династии была притчей во языцех. К этому моменту китайская государственность исчерпала себя, а коррупция охватила все слои общества. Ситуацию усугубляло то, что Китай был независим лишь формально и находился в сфере влияния крупнейших мировых держав (включая Российскую Империю). Система была коррумпирована сверху донизу, и это обстоятельство стало одним из тех, которые предопределили успех революции 1911 года. После прихода к власти республиканского режима в стране отсутствовало единство, а центральное правительство сохраняло контроль только над отдельными областями страны, остальными же правили милитаристы. Причина того, что Китай не стал колонией, – то, что он был ареной для соперничества слишком многих сил. Тем не менее, задача сохранения суверенитета существовала.

Основная коррупционная схема, которая появляется в это время, – работа посредников между европейцами и местными жителями, иначе эта прослойка называется «компрадорская буржуазия».

Китайцы, как и Япония в XIX веке, пытались провести реформы, но компрадорская буржуазия, связанная с западными державами, оказалась сильнее реформаторов и не позволила выйти из порочного круга зависимости от других стран.

После создания Коммунистической партии Китая и партии Гоминьдан стало понятно, что главная цель обеих партий – возрождение Китая как великой державы. Единство страны в короткие сроки восстановить не удалось, и центральное правительство не обладало полной властью. Ситуация была осложнена перманентной и продолжительной гражданской войной между сторонниками Чан Кайши (Гоминьдан) и коммунистами. Говорить о четкой работе госапаратта в этот период крайне сложно.

Адекватное государственное строительство начинается только в 1949 году, когда компартия побеждает в гражданской войне. Война закончилась основанием КНР. Впервые за длительное время Китай был объединен под властью одной политической силы (за исключением Тайваня).

Коммунисты, естественно, действовали по советскому образцу. В силу полной национализации производства роль чиновничества сильно возросла. Несмотря на марксистскую риторику, коррупция не исчезла, а преступные сообщества (триады и др.) продолжили свое существование.

Понятие коррупции в Китае во многом находится под влиянием традиции, сложившейся издревле. И это то, чего явно стоит избегать.

Конфуций выдвинул принципы создания нового человека, «благородного мужа» - то есть человека, который мог бы занимать ответственные посты и управлять государством. Успехи Китая на поприще экономического развития и борьбы с коррупцией в том числе предопределены и конфуцианской этикой воспитания управленцев. Хотя при Мао Цзэдуне конфуцианство преследовалось, оно не могло не отразиться на психологии народа в целом и, что важнее, правящей элиты в частности. Интересно, что только в Китае возможна ситуация, при которой человек, который формально не занимает никаких высоких постов, остается духовным и фактическим лидером нации, а правящая верхушка исполняет его пожелания и приказы. Это прекрасно показывает пример Дэн Сяопина.

Впрочем, его реформы открыли ворота для коррупционных процессов. При этом китайское руководство старалось контролировать этот процесс – законодательство в области финансовых преступлений весьма жесткое. Даже высшие чиновники не имеют никакого иммунитета.

Несмотря на конфуцианскую этику, чиновники, в том числе и высшего ранга, такие как один из вице-мэров Пекина, подвержены коррупции. Он был арестован в середине 2000-х годов, его вина полностью доказана, а наказание оказалось весьма суровым – смертная казнь, несмотря на членство в ЦК Политбюро Компартии.

Обычно самые громкие процессы связаны именно с управленцами. Сейчас громкие антикоррупционные процессы стали редкостью, скорее их стоит отнести к предыдущему десятилетию.

В Китае сильны родственные отношения, поэтому для искоренения коррупции Дэн Сяопин создал систему, в которой после двух сроков по пять лет к власти приходит новое поколение руководителей различных рангов. На данный момент это становится нормой. Это сужает пространство для коррупции, хотя и не исключает ее полностью. Китай становится очень богатой державой, и это, вкупе с сильным социальным расслоением, которое является прямым следствием проблем с перенаселением, становится благоприятной почвой для коррупции.

Китайское законодательство сурово карает за финансовые преступления. Так, за хищение в особо крупных размерах полагается смертная казнь, и даже очень высокопоставленные чиновники не защищены от этого наказания неприкосновенностью. В других случаях хищения могут привести к серьезным тюремным срокам, и последовательности в этой сфере Китай придерживается неукоснительно, несмотря на протесты правозащитных ассоциаций на Западе. Жесткая антикоррупционная политика кажется нарушением прав человека, но выдерживать прессинг западных СМИ помогает то, что эта политика пользуется социальной поддержкой большинства населения. Попустительство же коррупционерам может вести к накоплению значительного протестного потенциала.

В Китай идет много иностранных инвестиций, и это также поле для коррупции. Как правило, большое количество инвестиций (до двух третей) идет со стороны китайцев, являющихся гражданами других стран, и это не позволяет говорить о том, что такие схемы на сто процентов прозрачны. Однако случаев коррупции в стратегически важных отраслях, например в оборонной промышленности, практически нет, они находятся под строгим контролем государства.

Что касается менее жестких мер по противодействию коррупции – в первую очередь, это строгий контроль правоохранительных органов. Одним из наказаний против коррупции стала также конфискация имущества. Этот процесс может смягчить наказание, но не освобождает от ответственности целиком.

Судя по всему, китайская антикоррупционная политика будет смягчаться со временем, так как на данный момент ситуация находится в приемлемых рамках и правоохранители обладают сдерживающим потенциалом.