Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Salmon is heading north!

Scientists from five countries discussed what is happening to Pacific salmon, how to save them, why they migrate north, and what is the forecast for fishing in the 2021 fishing season.

The situation with the falling catch volumes of Pacific salmon in recent years and how to preserve this valuable fish species were discussed on February 19 in Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk at the international scientific conference "Population dynamics, stock status and artificial reproduction of Pacific salmon in the North Pacific." Foreign experts from Canada, the USA, Japan and the Republic of Korea, governors of the Far Eastern constituent entities of Russia, as well as the head of the Federal Agency for Fishery Ilya Shestakov took part in it via video conferencing.

Salmon is heading north!
Photo: Maxim Borisov https://www.instagram.com/maxx_borisoff

The head of Rosrybolovstvo in his welcoming speech said that at the end of the last century and at the beginning of this century, record catches of red fish in the Pacific Ocean were noted. So, in 2009, the world catch exceeded 1 million tons, in Russia the record was broken in 2018, when the Far Eastern fishermen caught almost 680 thousand tons of salmon. “At the end of 2020, Russian fishermen caught less than the forecast, even with a cautious approach to the assessment. As we know, a similar situation is observed off the coast of other salmon states, "Shestakov said, noting the need to study this situation in order to prevent its further development.

“Therefore, we have declared 2021 for our fishery industry as the year of the Pacific salmon in Russia. We adopted a targeted program and increased the volume of resource research to assess the state of reserves in the Far East. Russian science sees a general redistribution of salmon stocks in the North Pacific Ocean, in this regard, we initiated a discussion of the problem at a high expert level, "Shestakov said.

Russian and foreign scientists who spoke at the forum stated that due to global climate change, salmon are shifting to the northern regions, to colder ocean waters. The more resilient are the northern salmon populations; the large juveniles that go out to feed in the ocean survive better.

“Our science has already predicted a decline in salmon fishing in the near future. These are long-term large oceanic fluctuations. Now internationally, it is once again confirmed that the receiving capacity of the ocean is limited, and this will greatly influence further approaches. We see that the fishery and approaches, for example, ivasi sardines, are growing, which is just in contrast to the approaches of salmon, "- Vasily Sokolov, deputy head of the Federal Agency for Fishery, told reporters on the sidelines of the conference.

He supported the opinion of foreign colleagues that the situation with salmon can be changed through artificial reproduction and new technologies. “If we can achieve larger and more resilient fry through artificial reproduction, we can provide a better approach even with limited ocean capacity,” he said.

Suam Kim, President of the North Pacific Anadromous Fish Commission (NPAFC), told the conference that the decline in salmon production in the North Pacific is "a sign that more salmon reproduction is needed." “Over 5 billion fry are released into the Pacific every year. But this is not enough. The development of artificial reproduction programs can dramatically change the picture of the world's fish stocks. We are able to preserve the population, ”he said.

According to scientists, it is necessary to choose a successful period and a successful place for the release of juveniles, so that they can quickly get in shape at the coastal stage, before entering the ocean, which will increase their chances of survival and ensure a better return to their native shores.

In the presentation materials of the All-Russian Research Institute of Fisheries and Oceanography (VNIRO), the forecast for salmon fishing season 2021 was presented. According to these materials, the main fishing region for the upcoming salmon fishing season in 2021 will be the Kamchatka Territory, where it is planned to catch about 359 thousand tons of salmon. The salmon catch in the Sakhalin Region in 2021 is projected at 45 thousand tons, in the Khabarovsk Territory - 37 thousand tons, in the Magadan Region, the Chukotka Autonomous District and in the Primorsky Territory - 17,7 thousand tons (in each region).

Deputy Head of the Pacific Branch of VNIRO Alexander Buslov told reporters that the forecasts for the upcoming salmon season are favorable, but not everywhere. 

“In the west, on the east coast of Kamchatka, we expect good fish approaches. Literally in two months, our steamer will start shooting at sea, and we will already be looking at the number of suitable pink salmon. In June, we will already more accurately talk about how much pink salmon is suitable for eastern Kamchatka and western Kamchatka. But Sakhalin this year, unfortunately, will not shine with the approach of salmon, ”he said. He added that "fish (salmon) are leaving the south of Sakhalin, and the gradual fish leaving the Southern Kuriles will probably also begin now."

The forum participants agreed on the need to combine international efforts in the study of Pacific salmon. Scientists from five countries (Russia, USA, Canada, Japan, Republic of Korea) will adopt a joint memorandum in which they will consolidate their agreements on holding an annual joint expedition in the Pacific Ocean to salmon migration sites. The first such international expedition is planned for 2022, where VNIRO employees will participate on two of their own vessels.

Scientists agreed to annually hold similar international conferences, where, in addition to scientific issues, they will consider the economic and social aspects of fishing, artificial reproduction of salmonids.

They will also publish a specialized scientific journal "for several countries", where they will publish not only conference proceedings, but also the results of their research, the results of the implementation of scientific programs for the study of Pacific salmon.

The organizers of the forum in Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk were the Federal Agency for Fishery and the Federal State Budgetary Scientific Institution "VNIRO".

After the meeting, VNIRO Director Kirill Kolonchin told reporters that the All-Russian Research Institute of Fisheries and Oceanography had completed the merger of the country's fisheries institutes into a single structure, and a special branch was also created to deal with the issues of the united fleet. All VNIRO branches have their own specialization, for example, the Sakhalin branch (former SakhNIRO institute) “80% of its time will be devoted to salmon”.

VNIRO will prepare this year and adopt a special program for additional study of Pacific salmon in the water area of ​​the Russian Far East. Research will be carried out both on land and at sea, including using unmanned aerial vehicles and artificial intelligence. “Such studies will allow us to quickly check any data before the anadromous commission, so that the entire commission can be convinced and receive photographic materials. Only a computer can provide the most objective information. In real time we will see how and what kind of fish the spawning grounds are filled with, ”said Kolonchin.

July 24: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Лосось идет на север!

Ученые пяти стран обсудили, что происходит с тихоокеанскими лососями, как их сохранить, почему они мигрируют на север, и каков прогноз вылова на путину 2021 года.

Ситуацию с падающими в последние годы объемами вылова тихоокеанских лососей и как сохранить этот ценный вид рыб обсудили 19 февраля в Южно-Сахалинске на международной научной конференции "Динамика численности, состояние запасов и искусственное воспроизводство тихоокеанских лососей в Северной Пацифике". Иностранные эксперты Канады, США, Японии и Республики Корея, губернаторы дальневосточных субъектов России, а также руководитель Росрыболовства Илья Шестаков участвовали в ней в режиме видеоконференцсвязи.

Лосось идет на север!
Фото: Максим Борисов https://www.instagram.com/maxx_borisoff

Глава Росрыболовства в своем приветственном слове сообщил, что в конце прошлого и в начале нынешнего века отмечались рекордные выловы красной рыбы в Тихом океане. Так, в 2009 году мировой вылов превысил 1 млн тонн, в России рекорд был побит в 2018 году, когда дальневосточные рыбаки выловили почти 680 тыс. тонн лососей. «По итогам 2020 года российские рыбаки добыли меньше прогноза, даже при осторожном подходе к оценке. Как нам известно, аналогичная ситуация наблюдается у берегов других лососевых государств», - заявил Шестаков, отметив необходимость изучения данной ситуации, чтобы предотвратить ее дальнейшее развитие.

«Поэтому мы объявили 2021 год для нашей рыбохозяйственной отрасли годом тихоокеанского лосося в России. Приняли целевую программу и увеличили объемы ресурсных исследований для оценки состояния запасов на Дальнем Востоке. Российская наука видит общее перераспределение запасов лососей в северной части Тихого океана, в связи с этим мы инициировали обсуждение проблемы на высоком экспертном уровне», - сказал Шестаков.

Выступавшие на форуме российские и иностранные ученые констатировали, что из-за глобального изменения климата лососи смещаются в северные районы, в более холодные воды, океана. Более жизнестойкие - северные популяции лососей, лучше выживает крупная молодь, выходящая на нагул в океан.

«Наша наука уже прогнозировала спад промысла лососей на ближайшую перспективу. Это длительные большие океанические колебания. Сейчас на международном уровне еще раз подтверждается, что ограничена приемная емкость океана, и это будет сильно влиять на дальнейшие подходы. Мы видим, что растет промысел и подходы, например, сардины иваси, что идет как раз в противовес с подходами лосося», - сообщил журналистам в кулуарах конференции заместитель руководителя Росрыболовства Василий Соколов.

Он поддержал мнение иностранных коллег о том, что изменить ситуацию с лососями можно за счет искусственного воспроизводства и новых технологий. «Если мы сможем в рамках искусственного воспроизводства добиться более крупного и более жизнестойкого малька, то мы сможем обеспечить лучший подход даже в условиях ограниченной емкости океана», - считает он.

Президент Комиссии по анадромным рыбам северной части Тихого океана (NPAFC, НПАФК) Суам Ким сообщил на конференции, что снижение добычи лососей в северной части Тихого океана – это «знак, что нужно больше заниматься воспроизводством лососей». «Каждый год в Тихий океан выпускается свыше 5 миллиардов мальков. Но этого недостаточно. Развитие программ по искусственному воспроизводству может сильно изменить картину мировых запасов рыбы. Мы в состоянии сохранить популяцию», - заявил он.

По мнению ученых, необходимо подобрать удачный период и удачное место для выпуска молоди, чтобы она смогла на прибрежном этапе, перед выходом в океан, быстрее набрать форму, что увеличит ее шансы на выживание и обеспечит лучший возврат к родным берегам.

В презентационных материалах Всероссийского научно-исследовательского института рыбного хозяйства и океанографии (ВНИРО) был представлен прогноз лососевой путины 2021 года. Согласно этим материалам, основным промысловым регионом в предстоящую лососевую путину 2021 года будет Камчатский край, где планируется выловить около 359 тыс. тонн лососей. Объемы вылова лососей в Сахалинской области в 2021 году прогнозируются в объеме 45 тыс. тонн, в Хабаровском крае - 37 тыс. тонн, в Магаданской области, Чукотском автономном округе и в Приморском крае - 17,7 тыс. тонн (в каждом регионе).

Заместитель руководителя Тихоокеанского филиала ВНИРО Александр Буслов сообщил журналистам, что прогнозы по предстоящей лососевой путине благоприятные, но не везде. 

«На западе, на восточном побережье Камчатки мы ожидаем хорошие подходы рыбы. Буквально через два месяца будет выходить наш пароход на съемку в море, и уже будем смотреть численность подходящей горбуши. В июне будем уже более точно говорить о том, сколько подойдет горбуши на восточную Камчатку и на западную. Но Сахалин в этом году, к сожалению, не будет блистать подходом лососей», - рассказал он. Добавив, что «с юга Сахалина рыба (лососи) уходит, с Южных Курил, наверное, тоже сейчас начнется постепенный уход рыбы».

Участники форума сошлись во мнении необходимости объединения международных усилий в исследовании тихоокеанских лососей. Ученые пяти стран (России, США, Канады, Японии, Республики Корея) примут совместный меморандум, в котором закрепят свои договоренности о проведении ежегодной совместной экспедиции в Тихом океане по местам миграции лососей. Первая такая международная экспедиция запланирована на 2022 год, где сотрудники ВНИРО будут участвовать на двух собственных судах.

Ученые договорились ежегодно проводить аналогичные международные конференции, где помимо научных вопросов будут рассматривать экономические и социальные аспекты рыболовства, искусственного воспроизводства лососевых рыб.

Они также издадут специализированный научный журнал «на несколько стран», где будут публиковать не только материалы конференций, но и результаты своих исследований, итоги реализации научных программ по изучению тихоокеанских лососей.

Организаторами форума в Южно-Сахалинске выступили Росрыболовство и ФГБНУ «ВНИРО».

После окончания заседания директор ВНИРО Кирилл Колончин рассказал журналистам, что Всероссийский научно-исследовательский институт рыбного хозяйства и океанографии завершил объединение рыбохозяйственных институтов страны в единую структуру, создан также специальный филиал, который занимается вопросами объединенного флота. Все филиалы ВНИРО имеют свою специализацию, например, сахалинский филиал (бывший институт СахНИРО) «80% своего времени будет посвящать лососям».

ВНИРО подготовит в этом году и примет специальную программу по дополнительному изучению тихоокеанских лососей в акватории Дальнего Востока РФ. Исследования будут проводиться как на суше, так и в море, в том числе с использованием беспилотных летательных аппаратов и искусственного интеллекта. «Такие исследования позволят оперативно проверить любые данные перед проведением анадромной комиссии, чтобы вся комиссия могла убедиться и получить фотоматериалы. Только компьютер может максимально дать объективную информацию. В режиме реального времени мы будем видеть, как и какой рыбой заполняются нерестилища», - сообщил Колончин.

21 сентября: актуальная информация по коронавирусу на Дальнем Востоке
Дайджест региональных событий и свежая статистика