Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

People of the Earth

The Khabarovsk Territory is home to the majority of the Nanoys of Russia

People of the Earth

The Far East, the Amur coast - the native land of the Nanais. Their settlements have long been located on the banks of the Amur River and the right tributaries of the Ussuri River. The name “Nanai” itself is translated from the language of this small nation as “people of the earth”.

Original and unauthorized

It is believed that the ancestors of the Nanais lived on the banks of the Amur River even in the Stone Age. Hunting and fishing - these are the professions that the Russian Nanais only recently mastered in perfection. The total number of Nanais is about 20 thousand people, most of them are registered in Russia.

In genetic terms, modern Nanais represent a complex historical community. A number of researchers believe that their homeland is in Manchuria, from where they descended into the valley of Ussuri and reached the Lower Amur. The Russians got acquainted with the ancestors of modern Nanais (natki, achani, gold) in the middle of the XVII century during the campaigns of Poyarkov and Khabarov, however, direct contacts with them were resumed only in the middle of the XIX century, when the Amur River re-entered the Russian state.

It is curious that before the formation of the USSR, the Nanai had no surnames or patronymic names. However, during the first All-Russian population census in 1897, each Nanai as a surname was given his family identity (for a man - by his father, a woman - by his husband). However, this did not matter for the Nanai themselves: the lack of writing, the illiteracy of the Nanai led to the fact that after the census only names continued to exist.

By the way, the Russian names of the Nanaians began to appear in connection with the activities of the Russian Orthodox mission in these places, which was especially active in the 70 – 80s of the 19th century. By the beginning of the 20th century, most Nanais had two names, Russian and Nanai, but only traditional ones were used in everyday life. The boys were called names that go back to the names of tools, hunting (Guide - “spear”, Sure - “ax”), fish (Eye - “chebak”), household items (Ganga - “wooden circle for hanging the boiler”, Otho - “ trough ", Sike -" robe "). Some names reflected human qualities (Gokchoa - “curve”, Siantoli - “fighter”).

Today, Nanai 27 genera and surnames reflecting the main occupation or feature of the genus. Thus, the surname Samar belongs to the descendants of shamans, Uzala to people from the lake or the trackers (for no reason the traveler Dersu Uzala belonged to this genus), and the most romantic surname - Kilen - means "green-eyed Tungus from the sea".

Often, representatives of the Nanai people live in big cities. Many are engaged in industry, services, they have their own intelligentsia. And there is also a language - it is even taught in schools using textbooks and dictionaries. True, almost no one speaks it in everyday life.

At the same time, Nanais support and develop ritual traditions (they are still not strangers dances, songs, ancient festive ceremonies) and conceptual fine arts - embroider traditional patterns on the fabric, cut out wood, make appliqués. Pictorial traditions of the Nanais date back to the ancient art of rock paintings - petroglyphs.

What did the ancient people want to say

About 100 years ago, stone boulders with carved images were found on the bank of the Amur River, near the village of Sikachi-Alyan. Sheremetyevo stones, as they are called, according to scientists, have been around for more than 12 thousand years. 147 stones, from afar - ordinary boulders, written from and to, you can consider them for hours. But what exactly the ancient masters wanted to say with their inscriptions and drawings, still remains a mystery.

These petroglyphs have been preserved very well, which is explained by the proximity of the historical monument to the frontier post: access to "strangers" was always limited not only by natural conditions, which in Khabarovsk Krai is rather a norm, but also by the guarding activity of the authorities.

The first Petroglyphs of the Lower Cupid was scientifically described by Richard Karlovich Maak, who studied the valley of the Ussuri River in 1859. For the sake of science, the scientist had to overcome considerable difficulties: the way from Petersburg to the Far East was then occupied for about six months.

The main subjects of Sikachi-Alyan's paintings are hunting and fishing. Among concentric circles and dots, you can clearly see the images of animals, snakes, birds, masks, boats ... The most ancient of the discovered stones depicts a horse. According to archaeologists, this animal existed in reality during the glacial period. Today we can see her portrait in full growth.



Some of the petroglyphs are carved out with a stone, and some are carved with an iron tool. Hence the modern name of these ancient drawings. After all, petra in Greek means "stone", and glypho - "cut out".

In total, several thousand petroglyphs are scattered along the banks of the Amur, the Sikachi-Alyan region is far from being the only one. Many drawings are irrevocably carried away to the bottom of the river by flood waters. It is also likely that part of the boulders with letters is turned upside down by ice floes during ice drift - how can one recognize a boulder hiding a drawing ...

Stones remember everything

Since ancient times, the legend of the mountain on the bank of the Amur, whose outlines, if you look closely, are so much like a woman who is looking into the distance, has been leading its history. According to the Nanai legend, this mountain is a shaman, frozen in witch ecstasy.

To get to Shamanka Mountain (not to be confused with the mountain of the same name on Baikal) is not easy - you need to move from Komsomolsk-on-Amur, about 20 km by car or bus, and then walk a little more along the coastline. In ancient times, the Shamanka stood “knee-deep” in the water, now the relief has changed, and the witch has gone up a few steps to the shore. Nanai people came to this mountain - then they called it Kaluga cliff - to heal, the fishermen brought gifts to make fishing. And if a couple of centuries ago, fishermen could ask the rock about a successful catch, only having approached it by boat with generous gifts, now tourists walk to the Shaman woman on foot, on the ground. And photographed for memory.

Until now, there is a perception that the Shamanka, the stone smooth surface of which even remains warm in winter, has healing properties - even handroz heals.

There is another statue in Khabarovsk Krai, about which scientists still can not come to a common opinion. These Amur pillars are granite idols with height from 12 to 70 m, located on the top and slopes of the hill at 134 km from Komsomolsk-on-Amur (the nearest village is the village of Nizhnetambovskoe). Far Easterners are lost in conjecture: whether the majestic figures are the work of man and the subject of the cult of tribes that lived here hundreds, thousands or even millions of years ago, whether they are the result of seismic processes and arose after an instantaneous eruption or displacement of rocks.

The ancient Nanai had their own explanation for the origin of the unusual mountains. According to legend, the daughter of a local shaman - beautiful Aji - fell in love with a simple hunter. The father did not consent to the marriage, and the lovers attempted to escape. But an angry shaman rushed in pursuit, turning into a bear. A shaman and a hunter grabbed to death, not to life, but the girl, equally valuing both men, turned to ardent prayers with kindly spirits, and they stopped the time to prevent murder. So the shaman, the girl and the hunter froze with stone boulders ...

A beautiful legend is contradicted only by the fact that in the valley there are actually more pillars: they would be enough for a small internecine battle. But the epic is an epic - in every culture there must be a place for your Romeo and Juliet.

Reserved places

Today, the life of the Nanaians can be found in a relatively new ethnographic complex in the village of Juen, established in 2006 year. This can be done if you book a tour of the Bolonsky Reserve - it is located between the rivers Symi and Harpi, in the Middle Amur Lowland, on the shore of Lake Bolon. The excursion program called “Bird Crossing” works only in spring and autumn, during the period of special revival of the local animal world.

"In the depths there is a cape" - so the old people translate the name of the village of Juen, whose history began in 1928, when the Nanai people, who took a fancy to the shore of Lake Bologna, built here the first two houses. Over time, along the banks of the Harpy River, they founded the settlements of Khutuen, Saparoune, Susuen, Gogda, Hurechen, Mungali. Lived local Nanai in fanzah, smeared with clay, stoked the stones in black, slept on the skins of animals. All the year round they were fishing, hunting different animals. And in the winter merchants came and bought expensive skins of animals for a song.

Today’s complex is a settlement of the Nanai family of the late 19th – early 20th century. It is located directly on the territory of the village and includes a winter dwelling, barn, and hanging. In the buildings there are items of clothing, everyday life and religious accessories, tools for hunting and fishing, vehicles.

August 14: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Люди земли

В Хабаровском крае проживает большая часть нанайцев России

Люди земли

Дальний Восток, амурские берега – родная земля нанайцев. Их селения издавна располагались по берегам Амура и правым притокам реки Уссури. Само название «нанайцы» переводится с языка этого малочисленного народа как «люди земли».

Самобытные и самовольные

Считается, что предки нанайцев жили на берегах Амура еще в каменном веке. Охота и рыболовство – это те профессии, которыми российские нанайцы еще недавно владели в совершенстве. Общая численность нанайцев – около 20 тыс. человек, большая их часть зарегистрирована на территории России.

В генетическом отношении современные нанайцы представляют собой сложную историческую общность. Ряд исследователей считают, что их родина находится в Маньчжурии, откуда они спустились в долину Уссури и достигли Нижнего Амура. Русские познакомились с предками современных нанайцев (натками, ачанами, гольдиками) еще в середине XVII века во время походов Пояркова и Хабарова, однако непосредственные контакты с ними возобновились лишь в середине XIX века, когда Приамурье вновь вошло в состав Российского государства.

Любопытно, что до образования СССР у нанайцев не было ни фамилий, ни отчеств. Правда, во время первой Всероссийской переписи населения в 1897 году каждому нанайцу в качестве фамилии была записана его родовая принадлежность (мужчине – по отцу, женщине – по мужу). Однако это не имело для самих нанайцев никакого значения: отсутствие письменности, неграмотность нанайцев привели к тому, что и после переписи продолжали бытовать только имена.

Кстати, русские имена у нанайцев стали появляться в связи с деятельностью в этих местах русской православной миссии, особенно активной в 70–80-х годах XIX века. К началу XX века большинство нанайцев имели два имени – русское и нанайское, однако в быту употребляли только традиционные. Мальчиков называли именами, восходящими к названиям орудий труда, охоты (Гида – «копье», Сурэ – «топор»), рыб (Око – «чебак»), предметов быта (Ганга – «деревянный круг для подвешивания котла», Отон – «корыто», Сикэ – «халат»). Некоторые имена отражали человеческие качества (Гокчоа – «кривой», Сиантоли – «драчун»).

Сегодня у нанайцев 27 родов и фамилий, отражающих главное занятие или особенность рода. Так, фамилия Самар принадлежит потомкам шаманов, Узала – людям с озера или следопытам (недаром путешественник Дерсу Узала принадлежал именно к этому роду), а самая романтичная фамилия – Килэн – означает «зеленоглазые тунгусы со стороны моря».

Часто представители нанайского народа живут в больших городах. Многие заняты в промышленности, сфере обслуживания, есть у них и своя интеллигенция. А еще есть свой язык – его даже преподают в школах по учебникам и словарям. Правда, в быту на нем почти никто не говорит.

В то же время нанайцы поддерживают и развивают обрядовые традиции (им до сих пор не чужды пляски, песни, древние праздничные церемонии) и концептуальное изобразительное искусство – вышивают на ткани традиционные узоры, вырезают по дереву, делают аппликации. Изобразительные традиции нанайцев восходят к древнему искусству наскальной графики – петроглифов.

Что хотел сказать древний человек

Около 100 лет назад на берегу Амура, в районе села Сикачи-Алян, были обнаружены каменные валуны с высеченными на них изображениями. Шереметьевские камни, как их именуют, по мнению ученых, насчитывают уже более 12 тыс. лет. 147 камней, издалека – обычных валунов, исписаны от и до, рассматривать их можно часами. Но что именно хотели сказать своими надписями и рисунками древние мастера, до сих пор остается загадкой.

Сохранились эти петроглифы очень хорошо, что объясняется близостью исторического памятника к пограничной заставе: доступ сюда «посторонних» был всегда ограничен не только природными условиями, что в Хабаровском крае, скорее, норма, но и охранной деятельностью властей.

Первые петроглифы Нижнего Амура научно описал Ричард Карлович Маак, исследовавший в 1859 году долину реки Уссури. Ради науки ученому пришлось преодолеть немалые трудности: путь из Петербурга на Дальний Восток занимал тогда около полугода.

Основные сюжеты «картин» Сикачи-Аляна – охота и рыбалка. Среди концентрических кругов и точек можно отчетливо разглядеть изображения животных, змей, птиц, масок, лодок… На самом древнем из обнаруженных камней изображена лошадь. По мнению археологов, это животное существовало в реальности во времена ледникового периода. Сегодня же мы можем увидеть ее портрет в полный рост.

Часть петроглифов выбита камнем, а часть – вырезана железным инструментом. Отсюда пошло и современное название этих древних рисунков. Ведь petra по-гречески значит «камень», а glypho – «вырезаю».

Всего по берегам Амура разбросано несколько тысяч петроглифов, регион Сикачи-Аляна далеко не единственный. Многие рисунки безвозвратно унесены на дно реки паводковыми водами. Вероятно также, что часть валунов с письменами перевернута напором льдин во время ледохода – как тут распознать валун, скрывающий рисунок…

Камни помнят все

С древних времен ведет свою историю легенда о горе на берегу Амура, очертания которой, если присмотреться, так похожи на женщину, вглядывающуюся вдаль. По нанайской легенде, гора эта – застывшая в колдовском экстазе шаманка.

Добраться до горы Шаманка (не путать с одноименной горой на Байкале) непросто – двигаться нужно от Комсомольска-на-Амуре, порядка 20 км на автомобиле или автобусе и потом еще немного пешком по береговой линии. В древние времена Шаманка стояла «по колено» в воде, теперь рельеф изменился, и колдунья на несколько шагов поднялась на берег. Нанайцы приходили к этой горе – тогда ее называли Калужий утес – лечиться, рыбаки приносили дары, чтобы удалась рыбалка. И если пару столетий назад рыбаки могли попросить скалу об удачном улове, только приблизившись к ней на лодке с щедрыми дарами, то теперь туристы ходят к Шаманке пешком, по земле. И фотографируются на память.

До сих пор бытует мнение, что Шаманка, каменная гладь которой даже зимой остается теплой, обладает лечебными свойствами – лечит даже хандроз.

Есть в Хабаровском крае еще одно изваяние, по поводу которого ученые до сих пор не могут прийти к единому мнению. Это Амурские столбы – гранитные истуканы высотой от 12 до 70 м, расположенные на вершине и склонах сопки в 134 км от Комсомольска-на-Амуре (ближайший населенный пункт – село Нижнетамбовское). Дальневосточники теряются в догадках: то ли величественные фигуры – дело рук человека и предмет культа племен, живших здесь сотни, тысячи или даже миллионы лет назад, то ли они – результат сейсмических процессов и возникли после мгновенного извержения или смещения пород.

У древних нанайцев было свое объяснение происхождению необычных гор. По преданию, дочь местного шамана – красавица Адзи – влюбилась в простого охотника. Отец не дал согласия на брак, и влюбленные предприняли попытку побега. Но разгневанный шаман бросился в погоню, оборотившись в медведя. Не на жизнь, а на смерть схватились шаман и охотник, но девушка, одинаково дорожа обоими мужчинами, обратилась с пламенной молитвой к добрым духам, и те остановили время, чтобы предотвратить убийство. Так и замерли каменными глыбами шаман, девушка и охотник...

Прекрасной легенде противоречит лишь то, что в долине на самом деле столбов значительно больше: их бы хватило на небольшое междоусобное сражение. Но эпос есть эпос – в каждой культуре должно быть место своим Ромео и Джульетте.

Заповедные места

Сегодня с бытом нанайцев можно познакомиться, посетив относительно новый этнографический комплекс в селе Джуен, обустроенный в 2006 году. Сделать это можно, если заказать экскурсию по Болоньскому заповеднику – он располагается между реками Сими и Харпи, в Средне-Амурской низменности, на берегу озера Болонь. Экскурсионная программа под названием «Птичий перекресток» работает только весной и осенью, в период особого оживления здешнего животного мира.

«В глубине находящийся мыс» – так переводят старики название села Джуен, история которого началась в 1928 году, когда нанайцы, облюбовавшие берег озера Болонь, построили здесь две первые избы. Со временем по берегам реки Харпи они основали стойбища Хутуэн, Сэпэриунэ, Сусуэн, Гогда, Хурэчэн, Мунгэли. Жили местные нанайцы в фанзах, обмазанных глиной, топили камни по-черному, спали на шкурах зверей. Круглый год ловили рыбу, охотились на разного зверя. А зимой приезжали торговцы и скупали за бесценок дорогие шкуры зверей.

Сегодняшний комплекс представляет собой поселение семьи нанайцев конца ХIХ – начала ХХ века. Оно расположено непосредственно на территории села и включает в себя зимнее жилище, амбар, вешала. В постройках выставлены предметы одежды, быта и культовые принадлежности, орудия охоты и рыбной ловли, средства передвижения.