Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Ganal Shakers: The Little Secret of Kamchatka

Michael Kostyrya, director of the Kamchatka House of Children and Youth Tourism and Excursions

Ganal Shakers: The Little Secret of Kamchatka
Photo: Mikhail Kostyrya

We are accustomed to some one Kamchatka. As a rule, for tourists, and for us locals, Kamchatka is a certain set of cliches, such as volcanoes, fish and hot springs. But this is not the case. Few understand how varied it really is. It contains so many secrets that we may never be able to unravel. And one of these secrets is the Ganal ridge. It erases the ingrained ideas about the Kamchatka that we know.

Every year, at the beginning of summer, traditional mountaineering camps take place in the Ganalski Vostryaky. They are conducted by the Kamchatka Federation of Mountaineering and Climbing. Having visited this area for the first time, Mikhail Kostyrya, director of the Kamchatka House of Children and Youth Tourism and Excursions, together with his colleagues decided to organize trekking. Their goal was to develop a hiking route around the Ganal East for untrained tourists. “The Ganalskiye Vostryak is a very small part of the ridge, but it is so picturesque and interesting that I had a desire to explore its possibilities for trekking routes. A fleeting glance from above is enough to fall in love with this place, ”commented Kostyrya.

2 September a group of 3 people came to the base camp of climbers, which is located at the foot of the Hanal shakers, from where they started their route. Tourists spent a week on the route.

The outline of the Ganal Range resembles a comb for hair. He looks more like the brother of the Alpine mountains, it is not known how he found himself in these places. Deep and narrow valleys are separated by rock walls, the difference of which reaches as much as 450 meters. Between these "drops" are cascades of waterfalls, glacial lakes glisten on the moraines of tundra-covered glaciers. So, each valley has its own unique landscape. All this natural architecture is surrounded by rocks several hundred meters in height. The study of each valley in the group took one day. In the morning of the next day, tourists crossed the rocky ridge to the neighboring valley and settled there. "Awaken is just the feeling you feel when you are here. You can not understand if this is really happening, and with you? "- Michael shared.

The Ganal Range is a whole tourist area. Due to its remoteness and not mastery, it does not have any developed routes, which we are accustomed to seeing, for example, on Gorel volcano. At the same time, it is very promising from a tourist point of view. First of all, the ridge is of interest to climbers and climbers. This is one of the main areas in Kamchatka, where the most complex mountaineering routes are concentrated. Here they require good physical training and special, developed skills, as well as mountain gear and the ability to handle it. Because the mountains do not forgive frivolity towards them.

"Traveling in the mountains, one must not forget about the well-known truth: it's much easier to climb somewhere than to descend from there. In general, we spent much more time and effort on descents than on climbs, "says Mikhail. The instability of rocks is another feature that is characteristic not only of this area, but also of any other in Kamchatka. On the peninsula there are no monolithic mountains, as, for example, in the Crimea. Since they are all the time "poured", you need to be ready for the descent of stones and not only on the rocks, but also on the ground. "It was the end of the season, all the snow almost melted, exposing huge stone screes. It was terrible to climb over these piles. Stones all the time flew out from under the feet. We walked very carefully and carefully watched to keep these stones from one another. Moreover, some of the places that had to be overcome were marked by a steep climb, which was also a considerable danger. "

The Hanal Range likes to "test" its guests and sharp weather changes. For half an hour the heat under + 25С can be replaced by a dank fog or even snow. In addition, local weather phenomena are often formed in this area, which is interesting to watch from outside, and it is unpleasant to get under such a "natural wonder". "The wall of fog, which you saw a minute before, far below, in the valley, unexpectedly quickly approaches you, looms over you, and then covers the surrounding landscape. The world changes instantly: habitual landmarks disappear, it becomes cold and gloomy. A minute ago everything was clear and clear, and now you are no longer sure of the chosen direction of the movement, not even in your understanding of where you are, "says Kostyria.

During the 6-7 days, the group almost succeeded in closing the ring around the jockeys, but coming out of the last valley, they came upon a rock wall. There was no passage. It was necessary to return back, and to the end point the group returned, having overcome a long way. "The trip was not quite what we expected. I thought that the relief would be easier. When you look down on these valleys, passes - everything seems very clear and elementary. In fact - this is a whole world in which there are a variety of microlandscapes. "

Despite the fact that the Ganalsky ridge is of great tourist interest, the issue of infrastructure development is not yet raised here. Too early. Nowadays, first of all, those tourist objects that are easy to get to are being improved - places of mass pilgrimage of tourists. “If this area ever begins to equip for mass tourism, I hope that it will be, first of all, attempts to protect unique landscapes from human encroachment: equipped trails, parking areas, decks, etc.,” commented Mikhail.

The Hanal Range is a wild, virgin and fragile place. It is very important to keep it. Save this small secret of Kamchatka, which exists in the stories of those climbers who were fortunate enough to visit it.

March 1: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Ганальские востряки: Маленький секрет Камчатки

Рассказывает Михаил Костыря, директор Камчатского дома детского и юношеского туризма и экскурсий

Ганальские востряки: Маленький секрет Камчатки
Фото: Михаил Костыря

Мы привыкли к какой-то одной Камчатке. Как правило, для туристов, да и для нас, местных, Камчатка – это определенный набор штампов, таких как вулканы, рыба и горячие источники. Но это не так. Лишь немногие понимают, как она на самом деле разнообразна. Она таит в себе столько секретов, сколько мы, возможно, не сможем разгадать никогда. И один из таких секретов – Ганальский хребет. Он стирает укоренившиеся представления о той Камчатке, которую мы знаем.

Каждый год, в начале лета, на Ганальских Востряках проходят традиционные альпинистские сборы. Их проводит Камчатская Федерация альпинизма и скалолазания. Побывав впервые в этом районе, Михаил Костыря, директор Камчатского дома детского и юношеского туризма и экскурсий вместе с коллегами решили организовать трекинг. Их целью было разработать пеший маршрут вокруг Ганальских востряков для неподготовленных туристов. «Ганальские востряки ― это очень небольшая часть хребта, но она настолько живописна и интересна, что у меня возникло желание исследовать ее возможности для трекинговых маршрутов. Мимолетного взгляда сверху хватает, чтобы влюбиться в это место», - прокомментировал Костыря.

2 сентября группа из 3х человек попала в базовый лагерь альпинистов, который находится у подножия Ганальских востряков, откуда они и начали свой маршрут. Туристы провели на маршруте неделю.

Контур Ганальского хребта напоминает гребень для волос. Похож он скорее на брата Альпийских гор, неизвестно как очутившегося в этих местах. Глубокие и при этом узкие долины разделены скальными стенами, перепад которых достигает целых 450 метров. Между этими «перепадами» разливаются каскады водопадов, на моренах поросших тундрой блестят ледниковые озера. Так, у каждой долины свой неповторимый ландшафт. Вся эта природная архитектура окружена скалами несколько сотен метров в высоту. На исследование каждой долины у группы уходил один день. Утром следующего дня туристы переходили через скальный хребет в соседнюю долину и осваивались там. «Оторопь – это именно то чувство, которое испытываешь, находясь здесь. Ты не можешь понять, происходит ли это на самом деле, и с тобой ли?» ― поделился Михаил.

Ганальский хребет – это целый туристический район. В силу своей отдаленности и не освоенности, он не имеет каких-либо разработанных маршрутов, которые мы привыкли видеть, например, на вулкане Горелом. В это же время, это очень перспективное с туристической точки зрения место. В первую очередь, хребет представляет интерес для альпинистов и скалолазов. Это один из основных районов на Камчатке, где сконцентрированы самые сложные альпинистские маршруты. Здесь они требуют хорошей физической подготовки и специальных, разработанных навыков, а также горное снаряжение и умение с ним обращаться. Ведь горы не прощают легкомыслия по отношению к ним.

«Путешествуя в горах, нельзя забывать про известную истину: залезть куда-либо гораздо проще, чем потом оттуда спуститься. Вообще, на спуски мы тратили гораздо больше времени и сил, чем на подъемы», - рассказывает Михаил. Нестабильность скальных пород – еще одна черта, характерная не только этому району, но и любому другому на Камчатке. На полуострове нет монолитных гор, как, например, в Крыму. Поскольку они все время «сыплются», нужно быть готовым к сходу камней и не только на скалах, но и на земле. «Это был конец сезона, весь снег почти растаял, обнажив огромные каменные осыпи. Было страшно лезть по этим нагромождениям. Камни все время вылетали из-под ног. Мы очень осторожно шли и внимательно следили, чтобы не спустить эти камни друг на друга. Более того, некоторые места, которые приходилось преодолевать, отличались большой крутизной подъема, что тоже представляло немалую опасность».

Ганальский хребет любит «испытывать» своих гостей и резкими изменениями погоды. За полчаса жара под +25С может смениться промозглым туманом или вовсе снегом. Кроме того, в этом районе часто образуются локальные погодные явления, которые со стороны наблюдать интересно, а попасть под такое «чудо природы» неприятно. «Стена тумана, которую еще минуту назад ты видел где-то далеко внизу, в долине, неожиданно быстро надвигается на тебя, нависает над тобой, а потом накрывает окружающий ландшафт. Мир моментально меняется: исчезают привычные ориентиры, становится холодно и сумрачно. Еще минуту назад все было ясно и понятно, а теперь ты уже не уверен ни в выбранном направлении движения, ни даже в своем понимании того, где ты находишься», - рассказывает Костыря.

В течение 6-7 дней группе почти удалось замкнуть кольцо вокруг востряков, но выходя из последней долины, они наткнулись на скальную стену. Прохода не было. Пришлось возвращаться обратно, и в конечную точку группа вернулась, преодолев длинный путь. «Поход получился совсем не таким, как мы ожидали. Я думал, что рельеф будет проще. Когда смотришь сверху на эти долины, перевалы ― всё кажется очень понятным и элементарным. На самом деле – это целый мир, в котором находятся самые разные микроландшафты».

Несмотря на то что Ганальский хребет представляет большой туристический интерес, вопрос развития инфраструктуры здесь пока не встает. Слишком рано. Сейчас благоустраиваются в первую очередь те туристические объекты, к которым легко добраться – места массового паломничества туристов. «Если этот район когда-либо начнут обустраивать для массового туризма, я надеюсь, что это будут, прежде всего, попытки оградить уникальные ландшафты от посягательств человека: оборудованные тропы, места стоянок, настилы и т.п.", ― прокомментировал Михаил.

Ганальский хребет ―дикое, девственное и хрупкое место. Очень важно его сохранить. Сохранить этот маленький секрет Камчатки, который существует в рассказах тех альпинистов, кому посчастливилось на нем побывать.