Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

On-Demand Monitoring

Scientists-orientalists about Washington's desire to monitor the Far Eastern ports of the Russian Federation

The US congress initiative to control the largest Far Eastern ports of Vladivostok, Nakhodka, and Vanino for their ties with North Korea is another attempt to extend American jurisdiction to the rest of the world. But if the law is passed, Russia does not oblige it to anything, experts from the Institute of the Far East of the RAS emphasize.

On-Demand Monitoring
Photo: Dmitry Shcherbakov

The military expert, a leading researcher at the Institute for Far Eastern Studies of the Russian Academy of Sciences Vasily Kashin, calls not to exaggerate the significance of the initiative of the lower house of the US Congress, which the day before passed a bill obliging the president to provide Congress with a report on airports and ports that violate the UN Security Council resolutions on North Korea. "This is just a demand of the American representative government for the president that he strengthen the policy of economic strangulation of one of the main ideological enemies of the United States and systematically report this to the Congress. That is, on the one hand - to control how other countries comply with the restrictions imposed by the United Nations against North Korea on trade supply, on the other hand, to bring the matter to an absolute external blockade, so that other countries, like the United States, stop all legal economic ties with the DPRK, - says the expert. 

The head of the United States, we recall, is invited to report on whether or not supplies of prohibited goods (weapons, strategic fuel, dual-use technology) to and from North Korea are being prepared or prepared from a number of ports, including three Russian ports - Vanino, Nakhodka and Vladivostok. Note that these are the largest ports of the macroregion. According to the Association of Russian Sea Commercial Ports, for 2016 year the freight turnover in the Far East amounted to 185,5 million tons. Vladivostok, Vanino and Nakhodka accounted for about 36% of cargo turnover, and taking into account the port of Vostochny located in the Wrangel Bay, Nakhodka is 74,5%. The remaining cargo turnover of the MTP is formed by small universal ports, coal ports, the largest of which is the Posjet port in Primorye, and terminals specializing in oil and gas cargo. 

Chairman of the Federation Council Committee on International Affairs Konstantin Kosachev has already managed to state that the proposed "force scenario does not fit in my head, as it means the declaration of war" and the Russian authorities hope that the project will never be realized. The bill is yet to be voted in the upper house of parliament, and then it must be signed by President Donald Trump. 

"American congressmen once again signed their great" love "for our country. But Russia does not commit to anything, "Vasiliy Kashin says." The UN resolution of last year on limiting trade in the DPRK, we are already respecting. And as for American initiatives - dismiss. If desired, the State Duma of the Russian Federation can adopt a similar law obliging our special services to monitor American ports - Seattle, for example, and others. And annually report this to the Federal Assembly. " 

"In fact, we are dealing with another attempt by the US to extend its internal jurisdiction to the rest of the world, and to make its ideological enemies enemies of the whole world. Such attempts should be stopped at the international level, within the framework of the same UN, "said Yevgeny Kim, senior staff and head of the Center for Korean Studies at the Institute of the Far East of the Russian Academy of Sciences.  

Note that Russia's share in the DPRK's foreign trade turnover over 2016 for the year is small - just over 2%. Last year, according to the Federal Customs Service, 1,37 million tons of goods were exported to North Korea for $ 68,05 million. Of these, 1,23 million tons (or $ 51,09 million) is coal. Most of the fuel supplies go through the special economic zone “Rason” in the North Korean port of Rajin: Russia uses one of its terminals with a capacity of up to 5 million tons per year for transshipment of coal, which is delivered by rail. The second most important export item to the DPRK is food. Machines and equipment to North Korea Rossi exported $ 2016 million for 2,8 a year, with $ 1,33 million accounted for cars, $ 0,74 million for gas turbines and turbo-jets.

September 21: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Мониторинг по требованию

Ученые-востоковеды о стремлении Вашингтона следить за дальневосточными портами РФ

Инициатива конгресса США контролировать крупнейшие дальневосточные порты Владивосток, Находку и Ванино на предмет их связей с Северной Кореей — это очередная попытка распространить американскую юрисдикцию на остальной мир. Но в случае принятия закона Россию он ни к чему не обязывает, подчеркивают эксперты из Института Дальнего Востока РАН.

Мониторинг по требованию
Фото: Дмитрий Щербаков

Военный эксперт, ведущий научный сотрудник Института Дальнего Востока РАН Василий Кашин призывает не преувеличивать значение инициативы нижней палаты конгресса США, которая накануне приняла законопроект, обязывающий президента страны предоставлять конгрессу отчет об аэропортах и портах, которые нарушают резолюции Совета безопасности ООН в отношении Северной Кореи. «Это всего лишь требование американской представительной власти к президенту, чтобы он усиливал политику экономического удушения одного из главных идеологических врагов США и систематически отчитывался об этом перед конгрессом. То есть, с одной стороны — контролировать, как другие страны соблюдают введенные ООН против Северной Кореи ограничения торговых поставок, с другой — довести дело до абсолютной внешней блокады, чтобы и другие страны, по примеру США, прекратили всяческие легальные экономические связи с КНДР»,— говорит эксперт. 

Главе США, напомним, предлагается докладывать о том, не осуществляются ли или не готовятся ли поставки в Северную Корею запрещенных грузов (вооружения, топлива в стратегических объемах, технологий двойного назначения) из целого ряда портов, в том числе трех российских — Ванино, Находка и Владивосток. Отметим, что это крупнейшие порты макрорегиона. По данным Ассоциации морских торговых портов России, за 2016 год грузооборот на Дальнем Востоке составил 185,5 млн тонн. На Владивосток, Ванино и Находку пришлось около 36% грузооборота, а с учетом расположенного в бухте Врангеля залива Находка порта Восточный — 74,5%. Остальной грузооборот МТП формируют небольшие универсальные порты, угольные порты, крупнейшим из которых является порт Посьет в Приморье, и терминалы, специализирующиеся на нефтегазовых грузах. 

Председатель комитета Совета федерации по международным делам Константин Косачев уже успел заявить, что предлагаемый законопроектом «силовой сценарий не укладывается в голове, поскольку он означает объявление войны», и российские власти надеются, что проект «никогда не будет реализован». Законопроекту еще предстоит пройти голосование в верхней палате парламента, а затем его должен подписать президент Дональд Трамп. 

«Американские конгрессмены в очередной раз расписались в своей большой «любви» к нашей стране. Но Россию это ни к чему не обязывает,— говорит Василий Кашин.— Резолюцию ООН от прошлого года по ограничению торговых поставок в КНДР мы и так соблюдаем. А что касается американских инициатив — увольте. При желании Госдума РФ может принять аналогичный закон, обязывающий наши спецслужбы мониторить американские порты — Сиэтл, к примеру, и прочие. И ежегодно докладывать об этом Федеральному собранию». 

«По сути, мы имеем дело с очередной попыткой США распространить свою внутреннюю юрисдикцию на весь остальной мир, а своих идеологических врагов сделать врагами всего мира. Подобные попытки должны пресекаться на международном уровне, в рамках той же ООН»,— считает ведущий сотрудник и руководитель Центра корейских исследований Института Дальнего Востока РАН Евгений Ким.  

Отметим, что доля России во внешнеторговом обороте КНДР за 2016 год невелика — чуть более 2%. За прошлый год, по данным Федеральной таможенной службы, в Северную Корею экспортировано 1,37 млн тонн товаров на $68,05 млн. Из них 1,23 млн тонн (или $51,09 млн) — это каменный уголь. Большая часть поставок топлива идет через особую экономическую зону «Расон» в северокорейском порту Раджин: Россия использует один из его терминалов мощностью до 5 млн тонн в год для перевалки угля, который доставляется по железной дороге. Второй по значимости статьей экспорта в КНДР является продовольствие. Машин и оборудования в Северную Корею Росси вывезла за 2016 год на $2,8 млн, причем $1,33 млн пришлось на автомобили, $0,74 млн — на газовые турбины и турбореактивные двигатели.