Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Bridge to Hokkaido

On Sakhalin, they returned to discuss the project of the Asian energy super-ring developed at the beginning of the 2000-

Bridge to Hokkaido

The state is investing heavily in the development of the Far East. Obviously, such a resource-rich region cannot and should not forever exist for federal subsidies. The local economy is already entering the East Asian market with competitive offers. Most recently, the governor of the region, Alexander Khoroshavin, presented in Japan a report on the prospects for the Russia-Sakhalin-Japan energy bridge.

I lost a little ring

The idea of ​​the project appeared at the end of the 1990s, when RAO UES of Russia was looking for partners to integrate the East Asian energy systems. The project is based on a very simple idea: the maximum load, say, in Tokyo and Vladivostok due to the difference in time zones falls at different times. Therefore, in some places the power shortage occurs just at the moment when in others there are unloaded capacities.

The project "Asian Super Ring" was proposed by RAO UES in 1998-2000 and was intended to link the energy systems of Russia, China, Mongolia, South Korea and Japan. In 2003, the Russian energy monopolist and the Japanese Sumitomo Corp signed a memorandum of cooperation and began preparing a feasibility study. However, then the estimated costs outweighed the potential benefit from the project.

Now, when Japan turns off nuclear power because of the well-known events at Fukushima, the country may face a real capacity deficit, because nuclear power plants produced up to 25% of output. As a result, in the northern part of the country there is already a deficit of peak capacity of about 1200 MW. The configuration of the energy systems of the island state also imposes its imprint - in fact, these are three autonomous energy areas, the energy flows between which are extremely limited. Obviously, it will be necessary to cover the deficit with imported fuel and alternative sources, but both are very expensive, and each kilowatt of power is accounted for here.

At the same time, Sakhalin Energy is experiencing rapid growth - the fourth power unit of Yuzhno-Sakhalinskaya CHPP-1 is being completed, and a large-scale construction of Sakhalinskaya GRES-2 will soon be launched north of the regional capital, financing of which is guaranteed by presidential decree. As a result, the island may have excess capacity - so why not share it with a needy neighbor? Especially if it gives a tangible profit.

New attempt

With the change in the conjuncture, experts from both countries returned to discussing the export mechanism. During his April visit to Moscow, Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe drew attention to new prospects for energy cooperation, but at the highest level, however, it is still more about the traditional format for the export of energy resources. If we talk about options for the supply of power capacity, now the most likely scenario is that Sakhalin and Hokkaido will connect the submarine cable along the bottom of the Laperuza Strait. Recall, the width of the strait in the narrowest part is 43 km. The Sakhalin energy system by 2020 will be able to export up to 0,6 GW of energy for export. But this is only the first step.



At the end of April, the leadership of the holding "RAO Energy Systems of the East", the manager of the heat power industry of the Far Eastern Federal District, presented to the delegation of the Sakhalin Region a detailed cooperation project - if the parties have a mutual interest, the second phase of the project will be the construction of a gigawatt coal generation on the island. The third stage is laying the cable from the mainland to Sakhalin: the island's energy system will become part of the United Energy System of the East, which will allow exporting surplus of even cheaper energy. It is planned that free capacities on the mainland will appear as a result of the realization of the region's hydro-power potential.

The project requires large investments - up to $ 6 billion. And laying the cable itself is not the most difficult: on both sides of the strait, construction of the transmission and receiving infrastructure will be required, and at "advanced" stages of the project, investments will be required in the construction of generating facilities. But its implementation, in addition to the actual ability to generate profits, will bring a lot of positive results for the region. First, new facilities on Sakhalin are new jobs. Secondly, any new large projects of Far Eastern energy companies, which will ever be built both on the mainland and on the island, will be guaranteed to be loaded even at a time when energy consumption in the country is at a minimum. It is clear that for the next few years this project is a theory, but if it will be possible to implement the third phase, it will be possible to export up to 4 GW of power for export.

Information:

The largest underwater energy bridges

• NorNed: Eemshaven, The Netherlands - Feda, Norway. 700 MW, 580 km

• Basslink: Loy Young Power Station, Australia — Georgetown, Fr. Tasmania. 500 MW, 370 km

• BritNed: Kent, United Kingdom - Rotterdam, The Netherlands. 1 GW, 260 km

• SwePol: Bruskovo Wilkis, Poland - Karlshamn, Sweden. 600 MW, 254 km

• Baltic Cable: Lübeck-Herrenvik substation, Germany - Arri, Sweden. 600 MW, 250 km

August 13: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Мост на Хоккайдо

На Сахалине вернулись к обсуждению разработанного в начале 2000-х годов проекта азиатского энергетического «суперкольца»

Мост на Хоккайдо

Государство вкладывает большие средства в развитие Дальнего Востока. Очевидно, что такой богатый ресурсами регион не может и не должен вечно существовать на федеральные дотации. Местная экономика уже выходит на восточноазиатский рынок с конкурентными предложениями. Совсем недавно губернатор региона Александр Хорошавин представил в Японии доклад о перспективах энергомоста Россия (Сахалин) – Япония.

Потеряла я колечко

Замысел проекта появился еще в конце 1990-х годов, когда «РАО ЕЭС России» искало партнеров для объединения восточноазиатских энергосистем. В основе проекта – очень простая мысль: максимум нагрузок, скажем, в Токио и Владивостоке из-за разницы в часовых поясах приходится на разное время. Поэтому в одних местах дефицит мощности возникает как раз в тот момент, когда в других есть незагруженные мощности.

Проект «Азиатское суперкольцо» был предложен «РАО ЕЭС» в 1998–2000 годах и был призван связать энергосистемы России, Китая, Монголии, Южной Кореи и Японии. В 2003 году российский энергомонополист и японская Sumitomo Corp подписали меморандум о сотрудничестве и приступили к подготовке технико-экономического обоснования. Однако тогда предполагаемые издержки перевесили потенциальную выгоду от проекта.

Сейчас же, когда Япония сворачивает атомную энергетику из-за известных событий на «Фукусиме», страна может столкнуться с реальным дефицитом мощностей, ведь АЭС давали до 25% выработки. В результате в северной части страны уже сейчас сложился дефицит пиковой мощности объемом около 1200 МВт. Свой отпечаток накладывает и конфигурация энергосистем островного государства – по сути дела, это три автономных энергорайона, перетоки энергии между которыми крайне ограничены. Очевидно, что покрывать дефицит придется генерацией на привозном топливе и альтернативных источниках, но и то и другое – очень дорого, и каждый готовый киловатт мощности здесь на счету.

В то же время энергетика Сахалина переживает бурный рост – достраивается четвертый энергоблок Южно-Сахалинской ТЭЦ-1, а севернее областной столицы вскоре развернется масштабная стройка Сахалинской ГРЭС-2, финансирование которой гарантировано президентским указом. В результате на острове может появиться излишек мощности – так почему бы не поделиться ей с нуждающимся соседом? Тем более если это даст ощутимую прибыль.

Новая попытка

С изменением конъюнктуры эксперты обеих стран вернулись к обсуждению экспортного механизма. В ходе своего апрельского визита в Москву внимание на новые перспективы энергетического сотрудничества обратил и японский премьер Синдзо Абэ, но на высшем уровне речь все же пока больше идет о традиционном формате экспорта энергоресурсов. Если же говорить о вариантах поставки энергетических мощностей, то сейчас наиболее вероятным представляется сценарий, согласно которому Сахалин и Хоккайдо по дну пролива Лаперуза свяжет подводный кабель. Напомним, ширина пролива в самой узкой части составляет 43 км. Сахалинская энергосистема к 2020 году сможет выдавать на экспорт до 0,6 ГВт энергии. Но это – только первый шаг.

В конце апреля руководство холдинга «РАО Энергетические системы Востока», управляющего теплоэнергетикой ДФО, в составе делегации Сахалинской области представило в Токио развернутый проект сотрудничества – если у сторон будет обоюдная заинтересованность, то второй фазой проекта станет строительство гигаваттной угольной генерации на острове. Третий этап– прокладка кабеля с материка на Сахалин: островная энергосистема станет частью Объединенной энергосистемы Востока, что позволит выдавать на экспорт излишки еще более дешевой энергии. Планируется, что свободные мощности на материке появятся в результате реализации гидроэнергетического потенциала региона.

Проект требует больших вложений– до $6 млрд. И проложить собственно кабель – далеко не самое сложное: по обе стороны пролива потребуется строительство передающей и принимающей инфраструктуры, а на «продвинутых» этапах проекта инвестиции потребуются и в строительство генерирующих объектов. Но его реализация, помимо собственно возможности генерировать прибыль, принесет массу положительных результатов для региона. Во-первых, новые объекты на Сахалине – это новые рабочие места. Во-вторых, любые новые крупные проекты дальневосточных энергокомпаний, которые когда-либо будут строиться как на материке, так и на острове, будут гарантированно загружены даже в то время, когда энергопотребление в стране на минимуме. Понятно, что на ближайшие несколько лет этот проект– теория, но, если удастся реализовать третью фазу, на экспорт можно будет пустить до 4 ГВт мощности.

Справка:

Самые крупные подвод­ные энергомосты

• NorNed: Эмсхавен, Нидерланды – Феда, Норвегия. 700 МВт, 580 км

• Basslink: Электростанция Лой-Янг, Австралия – Джорджтаун, о. Тасмания. 500 МВт, 370 км

• BritNed: Кент, Великобритания – Роттердам, Нидерланды. 1 ГВт, 260 км

• SwePol: Брусково Вилькис, Польша – Карлсхамн, Швеция. 600 МВт, 254 км

• Baltic Cable: подстанция Любек-Херренвик, Германия – Арри, Швеция. 600 МВт, 250 км