Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

"The museum can not remain a textbook"

"The museum can not remain a textbook"

Victor Shalai

Director of the Primorsky State Joint Museum named after V.K. Arsenyev

Victor Shalai, director of the Primorsky State Arsenyev Museum:
-The territory of the Far East is very young. There is a great variety, or rather, a great monotony of local history museums. Due to the relatively recent stay in Russia (only 150-200 years), our museums are mostly local history, the most common - regional studies - orientation. They represent the region and "everything" - ethnography, biology, history. True, I have never seen anyone bring the story to modern life. And so - standard approaches, a familiar set. We do not take picture galleries, which appeared according to a different principle, but also very monotonous and well-known from the history of museum business.

Cities with museums in the Far East are located mainly along the coast and along the Amur River. True, there is Yakutia - this is a separate value in our region. Everything in our history was very functional: it was necessary to put up a military post or build a port - this was how a settlement, a population, a city, and then museums appeared.

Unfortunately, the museum workers of the Far East know little each other. The shop is (in the conventional sense), but there is no "assembly hall" at this workshop. There is, for example, the Association of Museums of the Far East, but it does not show any activity, the trends are not broadcast, the trend is not set. Of course, communication of individual museums still occurs, but before networking projects are still far away - many determine the physical distance, and the budgets of museums do not allow them to be realized.

If we talk about visiting the museums of the Far East, I would advise you to go everywhere, wherever possible, because you will not see this twice in your life. First, there are amazing collections and museums in Yakutia. There we are talking about a whole people with a serious history, and that part of the collection, which is represented in the main exposition, is important from the point of view of the fact that Yakutia is a part of Russia. The Yakuts are an amazing people, they do not pretend to be someone else's, but they do not declare their identity and uniqueness, but they are provided with publications, expositions, events. And it's great and rare. The line of various events is supported at the level of the republican government, which is connected with the desire to certify the Yakut identity. They, in the first place, do not stint, and secondly, they do not spend anything on anything. If we speak in official language, museums perceive the leaders of the subject as a resource for the development of the territory. When you get there and see these directors, collections, museum staff, you realize that they are in demand, dear people. Everything is confident and quiet - and it is very captivating. The Yakuts do not shout about their own greatness, they calmly say - yes, we are one fifth of the territory of the Russian Federation. They do not mention either diamonds or gold, pointing only to their scale. I have never seen such self-sufficiency anywhere.

Be sure to go to the city of Blagoveshchensk, on the Russian-Chinese border. He is in a unique situation, right across the river- China. In the Far East there are no cities closer to China than Blagoveshchensk. The population of the city lives in a situation of constant monitoring of the dynamics of the nearest neighbor. It is also interesting to see how the museum responds to the circumstance of extreme proximity to another. It seems that the museum should have a special mission there. I know that there is an active museum there, although collections, of course, are not well distinguished from afar. And, of course, it is worth to call in Khabarovsk.

Further personally, I would go to museums, in which I myself have not been everywhere - to Sakhalin, to Chukotka, to Koryakia. And you just have to go to Kamchatka, because there is important land, an amazing landscape, a space that no museum can explain. Against this background, it is necessary to say about the Museum Center of the city of Nakhodka known in the Russian museum world, I would recommend watching projects implemented outside the museum walls, such as "Paleoderevnya".

The success and distinctive feature of the Khabarovsk museum of local lore is, if you can say so, the highest index of attention on the part of the founder. The cultural policy of the Khabarovsk administration consists in the fact that all local institutions of culture should receive decent living conditions. The policy is very wise: investments in infrastructure, repair, increase in fixed assets. Year after year, one regional institution is put in order and, in principle, are solid, reliable institutions.

Although the content remained typologically the same: three floors of a hard-knit local history exhibition. Narration is broken somewhere in perestroika, there is no yesterday or the day before yesterday. In the Khabarovsk Museum of Local History, the attitude to history is traditional - as a good wine, which must last. There it is clearly visible, because everything breaks off at the beginning of the 1990-ies.

I would like to emphasize another: people have changed, life has changed, and the museum can no longer remain a textbook, even the most beautiful in the world. This is promising only if you are completely on the state security. For example, the Primorsky Museum named after V.K. Arsenyev, where I work as a director, very much depends on the number of people who come to us. Our existence and a beautiful life depend on them, we urgently need them to return regularly to the museum. This means that the museum should broadcast not so much statements as different versions.

Interview with Viktor Shalay read in the magazine "World Museum": http://www.mirmus.ru/2013/2013-12/189-arkhiv-dekabr/391-dalnij-vostok-lyudi-i-predlozheniya.html

March 6: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

«Музей не может оставаться учебником»

«Музей не может оставаться учебником»

Виктор Шалай

директор Приморского государственного объединенного музея имени В.К.Арсеньева

Виктор Шалай, директор Приморского государственного объединенного музея имени В.К.Арсеньева:
-Территория Дальнего Востока весьма молодая. Там великое разнообразие, вернее, великое однообразие краеведческих музеев. По причине относительно недавнего пребывания в составе России (всего 150 - 200 лет) музеи у нас по большей части краеведческие, самой обычной - регионоведческой - направленности. Они представляют край и «его все» - этнографию, биологию, историю. Правда, я нигде не видел, чтобы кто-то доводил рассказ до современной жизни. А так - стандартные подходы, привычный набор. Не берем картинные галереи, которые появлялись по другому принципу, но тоже весьма однообразному и хорошо известному по истории музейного дела.

Города с музеями на Дальнем Востоке расположены в основном по побережью и вдоль реки Амур. Правда, есть Якутия - это отдельная величина в нашем регионе. В нашей истории все было очень функционально: надо было поставить военный пост или построить порт - так появлялось поселение, население, город, потом и музеи.

К сожалению, музейщики Дальнего Востока мало знают друг друга. Цех есть (в общепринятом понимании), но «актового зала» у этого цеха нет. Есть, скажем, Ассоциация музеев Дальнего Востока, но активности она никакой не проявляет, тенденции не транслируются, тренд не задается. Безусловно, общение отдельных музеев все равно происходит, но до сетевых проектов еще далеко - многое определяет физическое расстояние, да и бюджеты музеев не позволяют их реализовать.

Если говорить о посещении музеев Дальнего Востока, я бы посоветовал ехать всюду, где только возможно, поскольку два раза в жизни такое не увидишь. Во-первых, удивительные коллекции и музеи в Якутии. Там речь идет о целом народе с серьезной историей, и та часть коллекции, которая представлена в основной экспозиции, важна с точки зрения того, что Якутия представляет собой как часть России. Якуты - удивительный народ, они на чужое не претендуют, но свою самобытность и уникальность не декларируют, а обеспечивают - изданиями, экспозициями, событиями. И это здорово и редко. Линейка разных мероприятий поддерживается на уровне республиканского правительства, что связано с желанием удостоверить якутскую идентичность. Они, во-первых, не скупятся, во-вторых, - тратят не на что попало. Если говорить канцелярским языком, музеи воспринимаются руководителями субъекта как ресурс развития территории. Когда ты попадаешь туда и видишь этих директоров, коллекции, сотрудников музейных, то понимаешь, что они востребованные, уважаемые люди. Все уверенно и негромко - и это очень подкупает. Якуты не кричат о собственном величии, они спокойно говорят - да, мы - одна пятая территории Российской Федерации. Они не упоминают ни алмазы, ни золото, указывая лишь на свой масштаб. Такой самодостаточности я больше нигде не видел.

Обязательно нужно поехать в город Благовещенск, на российско-китайскую границу. Он же находится в уникальной ситуации, прямо через реку- Китай. На Дальнем Востоке нет городов ближе к Китаю, чем Благовещенск. Население города живет в ситуации постоянного наблюдения за динамикой ближайшего соседа. Также интересно посмотреть, как музей отзывается на обстоятельство предельной близости к иному. Думается, что у музея там должна быть особая миссия. Знаю, что там активный музей, хотя коллекции, конечно, издалека не очень хорошо различимы. Ну и, конечно, стоит заехать в Хабаровск.

Дальше лично я отправился бы в музеи, в которых и сам не везде бывал - на Сахалин, на Чукотку, в Корякию. А на Камчатку надо ехать просто так, поскольку там важна земля, удивительный ландшафт, пространство, которое никакой музей не объяснит. На этом фоне стоит обязательно сказать об известном в российском музейном мире Музейном центре города Находки, я бы рекомендовал смотреть там проекты, реализуемые вне стен музея, такие как «Палеодеревня».

Успех и отличительная черта краеведческого музея Хабаровска - это, если можно так сказать, самый высокий индекс внимания со стороны учредителя. Культурная политика администрации Хабаровска заключается в том, что все локальные учреждения культуры должны получить достойные условия для жизни. Политика очень мудрая: инвестиции в инфраструктуру, ремонт, увеличение основных средств. Год за годом по одному краевые учреждения приводятся в порядок и, в принципе, представляют собой добротные надежные учреждения.

Хотя типологически содержание осталось прежним: три этажа крепко сбитой краеведческой экспозиции. Повествование обрывается где-то на перестройке, нет вчерашнего или позавчерашнего дня. В Хабаровском краеведческом музее отношение к истории традиционное - как к хорошему вину, которое должно выдержаться. Там это отчетливо видно, потому что все обрывается на начале 1990‑х годов.

Я хотел бы подчеркнуть другое: люди изменились, жизнь изменилась, и музей больше не может оставаться учебником, даже самым прекрасным на свете. Это перспективно, только если ты полностью на государственном обеспечении. Например, Приморский музей имени В.К.Арсеньева, где я работаю директором, очень зависит от количества людей, которые к нам приходят. От них зависит наше существование и прекрасная жизнь, нам крайне необходимо, чтобы они регулярно возвращались в музей. Это означает, что музей должен транслировать не столько утверждения, сколько разные версии.

Интервью с Виктором Шалаем читайте в журнале «Мир музея»: http://www.mirmus.ru/2013/2013-12/189-arkhiv-dekabr/391-dalnij-vostok-lyudi-i-predlozheniya.html