Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

"Soft power" and the attraction of Asia

How to leave youth in the Far East, says the pro-rector of the FEFU

The Far East over the past decades has been a territory of a stable outflow of talents, and only the last few years - it becomes a place of timid investment inflow. Vice-rector for the development of the Far Eastern Federal University Dmitry Zemtsov reflects on what the role of higher education institutions should be in providing talented personnel in projects in the Far East.

"Soft power" and the attraction of Asia
Photo: FEFU Website

Dmitry Zemtsov

Pro-Rector for the Development of the Far Eastern Federal University
There are talented schoolchildren in the Far East. But, unfortunately, they leave the region immediately after leaving school. Thus, those who could potentially stay here, including with their families, and continue their professional growth are washed out of the region already at school age. To cope with the task of leaving these children is possible only through the joining of efforts of many parties. But the federal university can play a coordinating role here. 

The prospect is such that the Far East is an all-Russian project. And in order for the education to be of high quality, it is necessary to involve the resources of not only the educational system of the region, but also the entire country. This can be done by attracting well-proven educational practices in our country and abroad. 

Of course, the university may not interact with the school at all, simply "consuming" the best students. But in general, the school teacher is a creative person, and he is interested in interacting with other creative people. By entering a school, becoming an intellectual center, improving qualifications, offering good practices, a university through the “soft power” regime can have a very significant impact on the teaching community. 

We have already started moving in this direction. In April, we took part in a competition announced by the Ministry of Education and Science for the creation of scientific and educational centers for mathematical education. There is a version that FEFU will be able to create a center for continuous mathematical education. We have all the opportunities and resources to create a structure that would involve students in the vertical of mathematics education up to graduate school. 

When we conducted an analysis of what is around us, it turned out that the University of Singapore, Peking University and others who are strong in their mathematics education ratings are very close to us. And here, in the Russian Far East, there is no such center. Although it is very necessary - to accumulate around oneself both strong schoolchildren and strong teachers. Similar projects exist at Moscow State University - the university gymnasium, and at the Novosibirsk State University. 

We are actively preparing for the opening of the School for Gifted Children at FEFU. The Far Eastern Lyceum will open its doors to 300 schoolchildren from grades 8 to 11 on September 1, 2018. Children living in Vladivostok who are interested in mathematics, physics, biology, mathematics and computer science will study there. The school building has a historical value, initially it was built as a commercial school, where children from grades 1 to 10 studied. This is an old mansion in Vladivostok on Sukhanova, 8, similar to Hogwarts. In the same place, by agreement with FEFU and ASI, the Administration of the Primorsky Territory, after passing the competitive procedures, plans to open a children's technopark "Quantorium", where Primorsky schoolchildren and teachers will study under additional education programs. The second school will open a little later, and it will be a boarding school on the campus, where we can collect children from all over Russia. It has yet to be built. 

We have no fears that the gifted children whom we will take to the Lyceum will not fall into the orbit of the FEFU. The task is to bring a student from the 7th grade along an individual educational trajectory - and to contact with a future employer. There are enough fastening forms. For example, project schools, when guys for a long time work together with the university on a specific practical project, and then they inevitably remain our companions. 

Children by nature do not want to break away from home. But if they study well, then the parents themselves set them up, knowing the economic situation in the region, for a career in the west. We realized that we need to work with parents. 

Show that the child will get more bonuses if he is here. And to show it to the parents of the 300-ballnik not only from the Far East, but also from the center of the country. 

Argument one: a trajectory through the master's programs will be built with technology companies from the Asia-Pacific region. We will be able to offer talented children an individual educational and professional career path. This, of course, is still point and piece work, we are not talking about the thousands involved. Now many companies are entering the Far East region. There is a real hunt for talent all over the world and the Far East is no exception. Companies in the region of presence understand that you cannot bring all the personnel from the west, they need to grow in the region. 

On the other hand, talented guys are ready to go into self-employment. And we, as a university, tell them: look, on the one hand, there are our partners in educational programs. But in parallel - we create and structure 
technological entrepreneurship, for which a significant portion of the campus is allocated. There you can try yourself in the market, while still within the walls of the university, including integrating into the National Technological Initiative, and at the exit to receive not only a diploma, but also an operating LLC.

June 17: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

«Мягкая сила» и притяжение Азии

Как оставить молодежь на Дальнем Востоке, рассуждает проректор ДВФУ

Дальний Восток на протяжении последних десятилетий был территорией стабильного оттока талантов, и только последние несколько лет — становится местом робкого притока инвестиций. Проректор по развитию Дальневосточного федерального университета Дмитрий Земцов размышляет о том, какой должна быть роль учреждения высшего образования в обеспечении талантливыми кадрами проектов на Дальнем Востоке.

«Мягкая сила» и притяжение Азии
Фото: Сайт ДВФУ

Дмитрий Земцов

Проректор по развитию Дальневосточного федерального университета
На Дальнем Востоке есть талантливые школьники. Но, к сожалению они уезжают из региона сразу после окончания школы. Тем самым из региона уже в школьном возрасте вымываются те, кто потенциально мог бы здесь остаться, в том числе с семьями, и продолжить профессиональный рост. Справиться с задачей оставить этих детей можно только через объединение усилий множества сторон. Но координирующую роль здесь может сыграть как раз федеральный университет. 

Перспектива такова, что Дальний Восток — это общероссийский проект. И для того, чтобы обучение было качественным, нужно вовлекать ресурсы не только системы образования региона, но и всей страны. Это можно сделать путем привлечения хорошо зарекомендовавших себя практик в области образования в нашей стране и зарубежом. 

Конечно, университет может вообще никак не взаимодействовать со школой, просто «потребляя» лучших учеников. Но вообще-то школьный учитель — человек творчества, и он заинтересован во взаимодействии с другими творческими людьми. Заходя в школу, становясь интеллектуальным центром, повышая квалификацию, предлагая хорошие практики, университет через режим «мягкой силы» может оказывать очень значительное влияние на учительское сообщество. 

Мы уже начали движение в этом направлении. В апреле приняли участие в конкурсе, объявленном Минобрнауки на создание научно-образовательных центров математического образования. Есть такая версия, что в ДВФУ получится создать центр непрерывного математического образования. Мы имеем все возможности и ресурсы, чтобы создать такую структуру, которая вовлекала бы школьников в вертикаль математического образования вплоть до аспирантуры. 

Когда мы провели аналитику, что есть вокруг нас, получилось, что Сингапурский университет, Пекинский университет и другие, сильные по рейтингам математического образования, — очень рядом с нами. А здесь, на Дальнем Востоке России, такого центра нет. Хотя он очень нужен — аккумулировать вокруг себя и сильных школьников, и сильных учителей. Подобные проекты есть и при МГУ — университетская гимназия, и при Новосибирском госуниверситете. 

Мы активно готовимся к открытию Школы для одаренных детей при ДВФУ. Дальневосточный лицей откроет свои двери 300 школьникам с 8 по 11 классы 1 сентября 2018 года. В ней будут обучаться дети, проживающие во Владивостоке, проявляющие интерес к математике, физике, биологии, математике и информатике. Здание школы имеет историческую ценность, изначально оно строилось под коммерческое училище, где обучались дети с 1 по 10 классы. Это старинный особняк во Владивостоке на Суханова, 8, похожий на Хогвартс. Там же по договоренности с ДВФУ и АСИ Администрация Приморского края после прохождения конкурсных процедур планирует открыть детский технопарк «Кванториум», где по программам дополнительного образования будут обучаться приморские школьники и учителя. Вторая школа будет открыта чуть позже, и это будет школа-интернат в кампусе, куда мы сможем собирать детей со всей России. Ее еще предстоит построить. 

У нас нет опасений, что одаренные дети, которых мы заберем в лицей, не попадут в орбиту ДВФУ. Задача в том и состоит, чтобы по индивидуальной образовательной траектории довести ученика с 7-го класса — и до контакта с будущим работодателем. Форм закрепления достаточно. Например, проектные школы, когда ребята в течение длительного времени работают вместе с университетом над конкретным практическим проектом, и потом — неизбежно остаются нашими соратниками. 

Дети по природе своей не хотят отрываться от дома. Но если они хорошо учатся, то сами родители настраивают их, зная экономическую ситуацию в регионе, на карьеру на западе. Мы поняли, что нужно работать с родителями. 

Показать, что ребенок получит больше бонусов, если будет здесь. Причем показать это родителям 300-балльника не только с Дальнего Востока, но и из центра страны. 

Аргумент один: траектория через магистерские программы будет построена с технологическими компаниями из Азиатско-Тихоокеанского региона. Мы сможем предложить талантливым детям индивидуальную учебную и профессиональную траекторию развития карьеры. Это, конечно, пока точечная и штучная работа, мы не говорим о тысячах привлеченных. Сейчас много компаний заходят в Дальневосточный регион. Идет настоящая охота за талантами во всем мире и Дальний Восток не исключение. Компании региона присутствия понимают, что все кадры с запада не привезешь, нужно выращивать в регионе. 

С другой стороны, талантливые ребята готовы уйти в самозанятость. И мы как университет им говорим: смотрите, с одной стороны есть наши партнеры по образовательным программам. Но параллельно — мы создаем и структуру 
технологического предпринимательства, под которую отводится значительная часть  кампуса. Там можно будет попробовать себя на рынке, находясь еще в стенах университета, в том числе встраиваясь в Национальную технологическую инициативу, и на выходе получить не только диплом, но и действующее ООО.