Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Stranded: fishermen suffered losses due to unsuccessful fishing season in the Far Eastern Federal District

Fisheries and transport enterprises remained at a loss in the Far East at the end of the year

Prices for red caviar this fall in Russia soared by almost a third, experts expect a further rise in the price of this product by the New Year. Fish is also becoming more expensive - it's all about the extremely unsuccessful Putin this year in the Far East. In the meantime, buyers are assessing whether they can afford to spend on such products, fishermen and transport organizations are already reporting financial losses. It is hardly worth waiting for an improvement in the situation - scientists warn that the time of record-breaking Putin is passing.

Stranded: fishermen suffered losses due to unsuccessful fishing season in the Far Eastern Federal District
Photo: pixabay.com

According to Rosrybolovstvo, the catch of Pacific salmon this season amounted to about 300 thousand tons (in just 11 months of 2020, 3,3 million tons of various biological resources were harvested in the Far Eastern fishery basin). This is the smallest catch in the last 11 years. Moreover, in comparison with the result two years ago, it is 56% lower.

Redfish fishery rates are traditionally compared either between odd or even years due to the peculiarities of the life cycle of pink salmon, which accounts for a significant amount of catch in the summer-autumn season... However, the decline in salmon production - by almost 40% - was also observed by last year's season. The salmon fishery in 2018 and 2019, when 677 thousand and 480 thousand tons were harvested, respectively, was a record for many decades. Against this background, the dynamics of underfishing in the current Putin looks especially contrasting.

 

SALMON ANOMALIES

The season turned out to be unsuccessful for almost all Far Eastern regions where salmon enter. At the beginning of October, when the main salmon fishing season ended, in Sakhalin compared to the same period in 2018, the production of red fish decreased by 51% (to 54 thousand tons), in the Khabarovsk Territory - by 22% (to 33,2 thousand tons) , although its individual fishing areas gave a good catch. Kolyma faced a decline - by a quarter (to 5,4 thousand tons) and Chukotka - by more than a third (to 1,9 thousand tons).

The sharpest decline in volumes occurred in Kamchatka, the main fishing region of the Far East. About 190 thousand tons of salmon were caught near the peninsula, which is 60% less than in the previous even fishing season. The fishery has increased only in Primorye - by almost 5%, but little salmon is always caught there: in the current fishing season, a little more than one thousand tons.

“Speaking about the situation this year, all fishermen note the main problem - the situation with an unjustified forecast of salmon approaches on the eastern coast of Kamchatka. The enterprises were counting on big fishing, but in the end they faced very insignificant approaches, ”said the Acting Minister of Fisheries of the Kamchatka Territory Andrey Zdevetsky.

In 2020, from the very beginning, a decrease in the number of approaches of Pacific salmon was expected, the All-Russian Research Institute of Fisheries and Oceanography (VNIRO) specified, but the real level of their production turned out to be 23% or almost 100 thousand tons below the initial forecast estimate.

“The undershoot of pink salmon in the Magadan region, pink and chum salmon in Chukotka and the Southern Kuriles, as well as all types of Pacific salmon in the east of Kamchatka cannot be explained either by the miscalculations of industry science, or by the peculiarities of regulation and fishing,” emphasizes the head of the department of anadromous fish of Russia at the Federal State Budgetary Scientific Institution “ VNIRO ”Sergey Marchenko.

According to industrial science studies, the main reason for the discrepancy between the actual catch and the forecast expectations was the serious changes in the ecosystem of the North Pacific in January-May 2020. A large-scale climatic shift has resulted in a decline in the production of Pacific salmon not only in the Russian Far East, but also in the USA, Canada and Japan.

Aleksey Baytalyuk, head of the Pacific branch of the VNIRO Federal State Budgetary Scientific Institution, clarifies that, in contrast to the 2019-2020 season, wintering conditions in 2017-2018 were so favorable that the high survival rate of salmon led to an increase in the number of approaches, adjustments in the volume of removals and a record catch.

“A period of uncertainty in the level and assessment of salmon stocks may lie ahead of us, until we gain new experience and can predict the response and degree of impact of these factors on the survival of salmon. In the short term, we should take seriously the expectation of a decrease in the approaches of long-lived salmon species in the next two years, ”the expert warns.

 

FISHING DISEASE

“The losses incurred by fishery enterprises in the 2020 fishing season in the east of Kamchatka are colossal. Among other things, the fishermen carried an additional burden in the implementation of measures to combat the coronavirus - something that no one expected. These costs amounted to more than one billion rubles, "said Vladimir Galitsyn, chairman of the Kamchatka Salmon Hunters Association, EastRussia.

To assess the state of the Pacific salmon stocks, the Federal Agency for Fishery intends to increase funding for research work. On behalf of the head of the department, a target program for the development and conduct of scientific research of Pacific salmon until 2026 in the interests of the country's fishery complex will be developed.

According to the press service of the Federal Agency for Fishery, next year it is planned to restore surveys in the Bering Sea (part of the surveys that were carried out in eastern Kamchatka stopped in 2015), to introduce a new element of accounting for salmon off the Kuril Islands.

Accounting work is also being intensified in other fishing zones. In addition, the formation of a unified strategy for aerovisual and acoustic studies of the number of spawning Pacific salmon spawners will be completed. The obtained materials will allow to promptly form scientifically grounded recommendations on the organization and conduct of fishing, to introduce restrictions on fishing in accordance with federal legislation.

“As they say, there would be no happiness but misfortune helped. I am glad that the issue of assessing the approaches of the Pacific salmon has received attention. On the east coast of Kamchatka, the fishing season was very different from the forecast data. This happened due to the fact that science was not able to assess all the consequences of the problematic feeding of salmon in the North Pacific in the winter of 2019-2020, - says Vladimir Galitsyn. - It was unexpected, uncharacteristic, because we are used to good results in previous years. But nature intervened. "

 

CORONAVIRUS FALL

The decline in red fish fishing has affected transport organizations as well.

“We did not receive the volume that the fishermen planned to take, and we didn’t get it,” says Andrey Lyashenko, deputy general director for commercial work of DV Port LLC. - But the pandemic also had its effect. During the year, catering establishments, kindergartens, educational institutions were closed for several months, that is, those who can consume inexpensive white fish: pollock, cod, navaga. And the volume of this fish products before salmon fishing, as was shipped last year, was not shipped. Therefore, we approached the salmon fishery with clogged refrigerators. If the red fishing season took place, it would be difficult for us to process all these volumes. "

According to the manager, the overstocking of storage facilities was also affected by restrictions on the operation of Chinese ports due to the coronavirus. Part of the catch that Far Eastern fishermen traditionally sent to China before the pandemic went to the Russian coast due to quarantine measures in Chinese ports, which led to an even greater load on local refrigerators.

During the period of the spread of coronavirus infection, demand fell, prices for fish products dropped, which affected the financial plans of fishermen, said Vladimir Kotov, General Director of Kamchattralflot LLC. Certain state support, he says, is received by the fishing enterprises participating in the program "Development of the fishing complex of the Kamchatka Territory." It involves subsidizing 2/3 of the interest rate on loans for the implementation of investment projects on the territory of the peninsula.

At the same time, it is not yet known how the situation with the export of fish through the ports of the PRC will develop in the future. In the fall, the State Customs Administration of China tightened requirements for exporters of seafood to ensure that the pathogen of the coronavirus is not allowed in products and on their packaging. This complicated the procedures for the supply of Russian fish. In early December, Rosselkhoznadzor held negotiations with the participation of the National Center for the Safety of Aquatic and Aquaculture Products (NCBSP) with the Customs Administration of the PRC. Representatives of the Chinese side expressed concern about the continuing cases of coronavirus infection in ship crew members and on packaging materials of imported seafood.

As one of the prerequisites for exporters to comply with the requirements to prevent the spread of coronavirus by China, the need was expressed by the Russian competent authority to recheck all fish processing enterprises and vessels supplying their products to the Celestial Empire for the unimpeded supply of fish to the PRC market.

October 17: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

На мели: рыбодобытчики понесли потери из-за неудачной путины в ДФО

В убытке на Дальнем Востоке по итогам года остались рыбохозяйственные и транспортные предприятия

Цены на красную икру этой осенью в России взлетели почти на треть, дальнейшее подорожание этого продукта эксперты ожидают к Новому году. Дороже становится и рыба — все дело в крайне неудачно путине этого года на Дальнем Востоке. А пока покупатели оценивают, смогут ли потянуть траты на подобную продукцию, рыбодобытчики и транспортные организации уже заявляют о финансовых потерях. Улучшения ситуации ждать вряд ли стоит — ученые предупреждают, что время рекордных путин проходит.

На мели: рыбодобытчики понесли потери из-за неудачной путины в ДФО
Фото: pixabay.com

По данным Росрыболовства, вылов тихоокеанских лососей в этом сезоне составил около 300 тыс. тонн (всего за 11 месяцев 2020 года в Дальневосточном рыбохозяйственном бассейне добыто 3,3 млн тонн различных биоресурсов). Это минимальный улов за последние 11 лет. Причем по сравнению с результатом двухлетней давности он ниже на 56%.

Показатели промысла красной рыбы традиционно сравниваются либо между четными, либо нечетными годами в связи с особенностями жизненного цикла горбуши, на которую приходится значительный объем вылова в летне-осеннюю путину. Впрочем, спад добычи лососей — почти на 40% — наблюдался и к прошлогоднему сезону. Промысел лососевых в 2018 и 2019 годах, когда было добыто 677 тыс. и 480 тыс. тонн, соответственно, был рекордным за многие десятилетия. На таком фоне динамика недолова в нынешнюю путину выглядит особенно контрастно.

 

ЛОСОСЕВЫЕ АНОМАЛИИ

Сезон оказался неудачным практически для всех дальневосточных регионов, куда заходит лосось. На начало октября, когда основная лососевая путина завершилась, на Сахалине по сравнению с аналогичным периодом 2018 года добыча красной рыбы сократилась на 51% (до 54 тыс. тонн), в Хабаровском крае — на 22% (до 33,2 тыс. тонн), хотя его отдельные промысловые районы дали неплохой улов. Со снижением столкнулись Колыма — на четверть (до 5,4 тыс. тонн) и Чукотка — более чем на треть (до 1,9 тыс. тонн).

Наиболее резкий спад объемов произошел на Камчатке — главном рыбодобывающем регионе Дальнего Востока. Лососевых у полуострова выловлено порядка 190 тыс. тонн, что на 60% меньше чем в предыдущую четную путину. Промысел увеличился лишь в Приморье — почти на 5%, но лосося там всегда добывается мало: в нынешнюю путину немногим более одной тыс. тонн.

«Говоря о ситуации этого года, все рыбаки отмечают основную проблему — это ситуация с неоправданным прогнозом по подходам лосося на восточном побережье Камчатки. Предприятия рассчитывали на большую рыбалку, а в итоге столкнулись с очень незначительными подходами», — рассказал врио министра рыбного хозяйства Камчатского края Андрей Здетоветский.

В 2020 году с самого начала ожидалось снижение численности подходов тихоокеанских лососей, уточнили во Всероссийском научно-исследовательском институте рыбного хозяйства и океанографии (ВНИРО), однако реальный уровень их добычи оказался на 23% или почти на 100 тыс. тонн ниже начальной прогнозной оценки.

«Недолов горбуши в Магаданской области, горбуши и кеты на Чукотке и на Южных Курилах, а также всех видов тихоокеанских лососей на востоке Камчатки нельзя объяснить ни просчетами отраслевой науки, ни особенностями регулирования и ведения промысла», — подчеркивает руководитель департамента анадромных рыб России ФГБНУ «ВНИРО» Сергей Марченко.

По данным исследований отраслевой науки, основной причиной несоответствия фактического вылова прогнозным ожиданиям стали серьезные изменения в экосистеме Северной Пацифики в январе-мае 2020 года. Следствием масштабного климатического сдвига стало снижение добычи тихоокеанских лососей не только на Дальнем Востоке Россиии, но и в США, Канаде и Японии.

Руководитель Тихоокеанского филиала ФГБНУ «ВНИРО» Алексей Байталюк уточняет, что в отличие от сезона 2019-2020 годов условия зимовки 2017-2018 годов были настолько благоприятны, что высокая выживаемость лососей привела к увеличению численности подхода, корректировки объемов изъятия и к рекордному улову.

«Впереди нас может ожидать период неопределенности в уровне и оценке запасов лососей, пока мы не наработаем новый опыт и сможем прогнозировать отклик и степень воздействия этих факторов на выживание лососей. В краткосрочной перспективе следует серьезно отнестись к ожиданию снижения подходов долгоживущих видов лососей в ближайшие два года», — предупреждает эксперт.

 

РЫБАЦКОЕ НЕСЧАСТЬЕ

«Потери, которые понесли рыбохозяйственные предприятия в путину 2020 года на востоке Камчатки — колоссальны. Кроме всего прочего, рыбаки несли дополнительную нагрузку при реализации мер по борьбе с коронавирусом — то, чего никто не ожидал. Эти затраты составили более одного млрд рублей», — рассказал EastRussia председатель Ассоциации добытчиков лососей Камчатки Владимир Галицын.

Для оценки состояния запасов тихоокеанских лососей Росрыболовство намерено увеличить финансирование исследовательских работ. По поручению главы ведомства будет разработана целевая программа развития и проведения до 2026 года научных исследований тихоокеанских лососей в интересах рыбохозяйственного комплекса страны.

Как сообщила пресс-служба Росрыболовства, уже в следующем году планируется восстановить изыскания в Беринговом море (часть исследований, которые проводились на восточной Камчатке, прекратилась в 2015 году), ввести новый элемент учета лососевых у Курильских островов.

Активизируются учетные работы и в других промысловых зонах. Кроме того, завершится формирование единой стратегии аэровизуальных и акустических исследований численности производителей тихоокеанских лососей, пропущенных на нерест. Полученные материалы позволят оперативно формировать научно обоснованные рекомендации по организации и проведению промысла, вводить ограничения рыболовства согласно федеральному законодательству.

«Как говорится, не было бы счастья да несчастье помогло. Я рад, что на проблему оценки подходов тихоокеанских лососей обратили внимание. На восточном побережье Камчатки состоявшаяся путина сильно отличалась от прогнозных данных. Это произошло по причине того, что наука не смогла оценить все последствия проблемного нагула лососей в Северной Пацифике в зиму 2019-2020 года, — отмечает Владимир Галицын. — Это было неожиданно, нехарактерно, ведь мы привыкли к хорошим результатам в предыдущие годы. Но вмешалась природа».

 

КОРОНАВИРУСНОЕ ПАДЕНИЕ

Снижение лова красной рыбы повлияло и на транспортные организации.

«Тот объем, который планировали взять рыбаки, и мы обработать — не получили, — констатирует заместитель генерального директора по коммерческой работе ООО "ДВ Порт" Андрей Ляшенко. — Но еще оказала свое действие пандемия. В течение года на нескольких месяцев были закрыты предприятия общепита, детские сады, общеобразовательные учреждения, то есть те, кто может потреблять недорогую белорыбицу: минтай, треску, навагу. И объем данной рыбопродукции до лососевой путины, как отгружался в прошлом году, не был отправлен. Поэтому к промыслу лососевых мы подошли с забитыми холодильниками. Если бы красная путина состоялась, нам было сложно переработать все эти объемы».

По словам менеджера, на затоваривание складских мощностей повлияли также ограничения в работе портов Китая из-за коронавируса. Часть улова, которую дальневосточные рыбаки до пандемии традиционно направляли в КНР, в связи с карантинными мероприятиями в китайских портах пошла на российский берег, что привело к еще большей загрузке местных холодильников.

В период распространения коронавирусной инфекции упал спрос, понизились цены на рыбопродукцию, что отразилось на финансовых планах промысловиков, заявляет генеральный директор ООО «Камчаттралфлот» Владимир Котов. Определенную господдержку, говорит он, получают рыбопромышленные предприятия, участвующие в программе «Развитие рыбохозяйственного комплекса Камчатского края». Она предполагает субсидирование 2/3 процентной ставки по кредитам для реализации инвестпроектов на территории полуострова.

При этом пока неизвестно, как будет в дальнейшем развиваться ситуация с экспортом рыбы через порты КНР. Осенью Государственное таможенное управление Китая ужесточило требования к экспортерам морепродуктов гарантировать недопущение наличия возбудителя коронавируса в продукции и на ее упаковке. Это осложнило процедуры поставки российской рыбы. В начале декабря состоялись переговоры Россельхознадзора c участием ФГБУ «Национальный центр безопасности продукции водного промысла и аквакультуры» (НЦБРП) с таможенным управлением КНР. Представители китайской стороны выразили обеспокоенность продолжающимися случаями обнаружения коронавирусной инфекции у членов экипажей судов и на упаковочных материалах завозимых морепродуктов.

Как сообщили в НЦБРП, для беспрепятственных поставок рыбы на рынок КНР в качестве одного из обязательных условий соблюдения экспортерами требований по предупреждению распространения коронавируса Китаем высказана необходимость проведения российским компетентным органом перепроверки всех рыбоперерабатывающих предприятий и судов, поставляющих свою продукцию в Поднебесную.

3 декабря: актуальная информация по коронавирусу на Дальнем Востоке
Дайджест региональных событий и свежая статистика