Notice: curl_setopt(): CURLOPT_SSL_VERIFYHOST no longer accepts the value 1, value 2 will be used instead in /home/admin/web/eastrussia.ru/public_html/gtranslate/gtranslate.php on line 101
Leonid Khazanov on prospects of development of tin mining in the Far East - EastRussia |

Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

On the threshold of the tin Renaissance?

Leonid Khazanov on the perspectives of development of tin mining in the Far East

On the threshold of the tin Renaissance?
Photo: newtimes.ru
The reserves of tin in the bowels of Russia exceed 2 million tons and they are concentrated outside the Urals - within the Irkutsk and Magadan Regions, the Transbaikal, Khabarovsk and Primorye Territories, the Republic of Yakutia and the Chukotka Autonomous District (except for the Republic of Karelia, but the tin reserves are insignificant here). This asymmetry is explained by the peculiarities of the formation of tin deposits, as a result of which they are localized in six metallogenic provinces - the Baikal, Zabaikalsk, Yano-Indigir, Hingano-Okhotsk, Sikhote-Alin and Chukotka provinces.
The largest of these is the Yano-Indigir province: it contains over 30% of tin reserves from their total volume in our country. Its key asset is the Deputy Depent field, which accounts for 75% of the total reserves of the Yano-Indigir province, the remaining 25% are deposited in placers .
It is followed by the Khingano-Okhotsk and Sikhote-Alin provinces: each of them contains approximately 20% of tin reserves in Russia. The main deposit of the Khingano-Okhotsk province is the Pravoormskoye, for the Sikhote-Alinskaya - Tigris.

The Baikal, Trans-Baikal and Chukotka provinces occupy a subordinate position. In the Transbaikalian province, it is worth noting the unique Sherlogorsk deposit, in Chukotka - the Pirkakai ore cluster.

It is worth noting that until 19 century in Russia, the extraction of tin raw materials was not conducted, so the metal was imported from abroad - Bohemia, Germany, Great Britain. The situation changed a little in 1811, when the Onon deposit was discovered in Transbaikalia (although it was openly on the site of ancient developments). A little later, the Pitkäranta deposit was discovered in Karelia. However, mining in Transbaikalia and Karelia could not cover all the needs of Russia in tin, and it was still imported.

Only in the 1930-ies. in the USSR, large-scale prospecting works are being carried out on tin, which led to the discovery of deposits in Primorye, Yakutia and Kolyma. Since they were in hard-to-reach areas, their development was carried out by the Central Administration for the Construction of the Far East of the USSR NKVD (the notorious Dalstroi). In fact, stripping and mining operations were carried out by prisoners without any means of mechanization.

During the Great Patriotic War and after it, the development of tin deposits intensified. A number of large GOKs were established - Khingansky, Khrustalny, Deputatsky, Solnechny, Pevek, etc. and several dozens of mines that allowed the Soviet Union to become one of the leaders in the world tin market. But the monopoly consumer of their products was the only enterprise in the USSR producing refined tin - the Novosibirsk Tin Plant (NOC).

Despite the intensive development of the tin industry in our country, its Achilles' heel was the mineral and raw materials base. Undoubtedly, many deposits and manifestations were discovered by the efforts of Soviet geologists, while the content of tin in them was significantly lower than in foreign ones. In addition, ores often belonged to the category of difficult-to-digest and required long and costly technological chains for their processing, the deposits themselves were distinguished by complex mining and geological conditions.

The collapse of the Soviet Union in 1991 led to disastrous consequences: economic ties that had developed over the decades began to collapse, domestic prices for energy resources rose sharply. In addition, there was a global economic crisis that caused a decline in demand and a decline in world prices for tin. All of this, combined with the remoteness of mining and quarrying plants and mines from the NOC, poor logistics infrastructure and irrational transportation schemes, high interest rates on loans from commercial banks, low concentrations of metal in the ores made the mining enterprises unprofitable. As a result, in 1990-s. they had to work out only rich deposits, leaving poor ores in the depths.

Nevertheless, selective working out could not solve the problems, and the process of stopping production at mining and enrichment plants and mines went at a rapid pace. In a relatively short period of time, 15 years, Pevek, Iultinsky, Khingansky, Sherlovogorsky, Khrustalnensky, Dukat GOKs ceased functioning. The Solar GOK and Pravormiysky mine lasted the longest, but they finally got up. At the same time, there was a process of reducing output on NOK.

However, the demand for tin in the domestic market has not disappeared. Of metallurgical enterprises, Magnitogorsk Iron and Steel Works, which produces tinplate, is a major consumer of tin. In addition, tin is in demand in the production of sheet float glass, which makes mirrors, double-glazed windows, etc. (it has an excellent smoothness in combination with the absence of optical defects). Therefore, the decline in the output of tin in Russia was offset by its increased imports.



Movements towards the recovery of the tin industry began in 2011, when an amendment was adopted to the Tax Code of Russia, nullifying the rate of the mineral extraction tax (NDPI) for conditioning tin ores in the Far Eastern Federal District for the period from 1 January 2013 on 31 December 2017 in

In 2012, the investment group Russian Funds created Rusolovo (now incorporated into the Seligdar holding company, controlled by the Russian Funds), intended for the exploitation of tin deposits in the Khabarovsk Territory - Pravoormysky, Festivalny and Perevalnoye. In 2015, she completed the renovation of the concentrator at the Pravourmiyskoye field, in 2016, after the restoration, she launched the Solar Processing Plant. Plus, "Rusolovo" upgraded the transport scheme of the Molodezhny mine at the Festival field. As a result, the output of tin in concentrate increased - in 2016. Rusolovo produced 627 tons, the plan for 2017 was 1 thousand tons, for 2018, 1,5 thousand tons. Some of the products are sold in Russia, part of it is sold to international commodity traders NobleGroup, Traxys, Trafigura.

In August 2016, the state corporation Rostek showed interest in tin. Its attention was attracted by the placer deposit of Tirekhtyakh Creek (the license belongs to the firm "Yanolovo") with reserves of about 70 thousand tons of tin. Meanwhile, the development of the Tirehtyakh Creek will clearly not be easy, as it may seem at first glance. The field is located in a fairly remote region of Yakutia, plus the necessary construction from scratch of all necessary production and support infrastructure, for which it will be necessary to deliver construction materials and energy resources either by road or by helicopters (in both cases it will not be expensive). In principle, it would be possible to consider the possibilities of using the capacities of the Deputy GOK, but it is located about 60 km from the Tirekhtyakh Creek, and besides there is no exact information as to the state of its equipment, if any.

To create the same production of pure metal in this region of Yakutia in the current conditions is economically unprofitable, since it can be very costly. Nevertheless, tin concentrate from Tirekhtyakh Creek may be in demand both in the Russian market and outside it: it can be sent to the Novosibirsk processing plant (NOZ, formed on the basis of the NOC), or to consumers in China who purchase concentrates hardly not in all tin-mining countries. In addition, since January of this year, tin is becoming more expensive and at present the price of LME is higher than $ 20 thousand for 1 ton.

The investment company Millhouse Capital, on the contrary, abandoned the project to develop the Pirkakaisky node in Chukotka, which has reserves of 228,5 thousand tons of tin. Being open in 1937, it still remains undeveloped. The reason lies in its inaccessibility and low concentrations of tin, although the Pyrkayka node ores are easily enriched. Millhouse failed to attract the Chinese Yunnan Tin Group, which is considered the largest producer of tin on the planet, as a partner.

In the future, however, it is possible to forecast the development of extraction of tin raw materials in Russia. True, it seems, while his only "getter" will be "Rusolovo", while the producer of refined tin is NOZ. "Rusolovo" expects to build a full-fledged GOK at the Pravourmiyskoye field and if the zero rate of the mineral extraction tax is extended, this will be a good help for this project.
Accordingly, the future of any projects involving the exploitation of tin deposits in the Far East will depend on a set of factors, starting with the dynamics of prices for LME, tax and other benefits in the regions, and pumping the level of demand for metal in Russia and beyond. And if they are positive, then the tin Renaissance is inevitable.

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

На пороге оловянного ренессанса?

Леонид Хазанов о перспективах развития оловодобычи на Дальнем Востоке

На пороге оловянного ренессанса?
Фото: newtimes.ru
Запасы олова в недрах России превышают 2 млн. тонн и сконцентрированы они за пределами Урала – в пределах Иркутской и Магаданской областей, Забайкальского, Хабаровского и Приморского краев, Республики Якутия и Чукотского автономного округа (исключение - Республика Карелии, но запасы олова здесь незначительны). Подобная асимметрия объясняется особенностями образования месторождений олова, вследствие чего они локализованы в шести металлогенических провинциях - Байкальской, Забайкальской, Яно-Индигирской, Хингано-Охотской, Сихотэ-Алиньской и Чукотской.
Крупнейшей из них является Яно-Индигирская провинция: в ней находится свыше 30% запасов олова от их общего объема в нашей стране Ее ключевой объект - Депутатское месторождение, на долю которого приходится 75% всех запасов Яно-Индигирской провинции, остальные 25% залегают в россыпях.
За ней следуют Хингано-Охотская и Сихотэ-Алиньская провинции: каждая из них содержит примерно 20% запасов олова в России. Главным месторождением Хингано-Охотской провинции служит Правоурмийское, для Сихотэ-Алиньской - Тигриное.

Байкальская, Забайкальская и Чукотская провинции занимают подчиненное положение. В Забайкальской провинции следует отметить уникальное Шерловогорское месторождение, в Чукотской - Пыркакайский рудный узел.

Стоит отметить, что до 19 века в России добыча оловянного сырья не велась, поэтому металл завозился из-за рубежа - Богемии, Германии, Великобритании. Ситуация немного изменилась в 1811 г., когда в Забайкалье было обнаружено Ононское месторождение (правда, открыто оно было на месте древних разработок). Чуть позднее было выявлено Питкярантское месторождение в Карелии. Однако добыча в Забайкалье и Карелии не могла покрыть всех потребностей России в олове, и оно по-прежнему импортировалось.

Лишь в 1930-х гг. в СССР разворачиваются масштабные поисковые работы на олово, приведшие к обнаружению месторождений в Приморье, Якутии и на Колыме. Поскольку они находились в труднодоступных районах, то их освоение велось силами Главного управления строительства Дальнего Востока НКВД СССР (печально известного Дальстроя). Фактически вскрышные и добычные работы осуществлялись заключенными без каких-либо средств механизации.

Во время Великой Отечественной войны и после нее разработка месторождений олова активизировалась. Был создан ряд крупных ГОКов - Хинганский, Хрустальненский, Депутатский, Солнечный, Певекский и т.д. и несколько десятков рудников, позволивших вывести Советский Союз в число лидеров на мировом рынке олова. Но монопольным потребителем их продукции было единственное в СССР предприятие по производству рафинированного олова - Новосибирский оловянный комбинат (НОК).

Несмотря на интенсивное развитие оловянной отрасли в нашей стране ее ахиллесовой пятой была минерально-сырьевая база. Безусловно, усилиями советских геологов было открыто много месторождений и проявлений, содержание же олова в них было существенно ниже, чем в зарубежных. К тому же руды зачастую относились к категории труднообогатимых и для их переработки требовались длинными и затратные технологические цепочки, сами месторождения отличались сложными горно-геологическими условиями.

Распад Советского Союза в 1991 г. привел к катастрофическим последствиям: стали разрушаться сложившиеся за десятилетия хозяйственные связи, резко поднялись внутренние цены на энергоресурсы. Вдобавок произошел глобальный экономический кризис, вызвавший сокращение спроса и снижение мировых цен на олово. Все это в сочетании с удаленностью ГОКов и рудников от НОКа, слабой логистической инфраструктурой и нерациональными схемами транспортировки, высокими процентными ставками по кредитам коммерческих банков, низкими концентрациями металла в рудах сделало горнодобывающие предприятия убыточные. В итоге в 1990-х гг. им пришлось отрабатывать лишь богатые залежи, оставляя в недрах бедные руды.

Тем не менее, выборочная отработка не могла решить проблем, и процесс остановки производства на ГОКах и рудниках пошел быстрыми темпами. За сравнительно короткий промежуток времени, 15 лет, прекратили функционирование Певекский, Иультинский, Хинганский, Шерловогорский, Хрустальненский, Дукатский ГОКи. Дольше всех продержались Солнечный ГОК и Правоурмийский рудник, но и они в конце концов встали. Одновременно шел процесс сокращения выпуска на НОКе.

Впрочем, спрос на олово на отечественном рынке не исчез. Из металлургических предприятий крупным потребителем олова является Магнитогорский металлургический комбинат, изготавливающий белую жесть. Кроме того, олово востребовано в производстве листового флоат-стекла, из которого делают зеркала, стеклопакеты и др. (оно имеет отличную гладкость в сочетании с отсутствием оптических дефектов). Поэтому спад выпуска олова в России компенсировался его возросшим импортом.

Подвижки в сторону восстановления оловянной отрасли начались в 2011 г., когда была принята поправка в Налоговый кодекс России, обнулявшая ставку налога на добычу полезных ископаемых (НДПИ) для кондиционных руд олова на территории Дальневосточного федерального округа на период с 1 января 2013 по 31 декабря 2017 г.

В 2012 г. инвестиционная группа «Русские фонды» создала компанию «Русолово» (сейчас инкопорирована в холдинг «Селигдар», подконтрольный «Русским фондам), предназначенную для эксплуатации оловорудных месторождений в Хабаровском крае – Правоурмийского, Фестивального и Перевального. В 2015 г. она закончила обновление обогатительной фабрики на Правоурмийском месторождении, в 2016 г. после восстановления запустила Солнечную обогатительную фабрику. Плюс «Русолово» модернизировало транспортную схему рудника «Молодёжный» на Фестивальном месторождении. Как следствие, выпуск олова в концентрате увеличился – в 2016 г. «Русолово» произвело 627 тонн, план на 2017 г. – 1 тыс. тонн, на 2018 г. - 1,5 тыс. тонн. Часть продукции продается в России, часть – международным сырьевым трейдерам NobleGroup, Traxys, Trafigura.

В августе 2016 г. интерес к олову проявила государственная корпорация «Ростех». Ее внимание привлекло россыпное месторождение Ручей Тирехтях (лицензия принадлежит фирме «Янолово») с запасами около 70 тыс. тонн олова. Между тем, разработка Ручья Тирехтях явно будет не легкой, как может показаться на первый взгляд. Месторождение расположено в довольно удаленном районе Якутии, плюс понадобится обустройство с нуля всей необходимой производственной и вспомогательной инфраструктуры, для чего надо будет доставлять стройматериалы и энергоресурсы либо автотранспортом, либо с помощью вертолетов (в обоих случаях это будет стоить недешево). В принципе можно было бы рассмотреть возможности использования мощностей Депутатского ГОКа, но он расположен примерно в 60 км от Ручья Тирехтях, и к тому же нет точной информации, в каком состоянии его оборудование, если оно вообще имеется.

Создавать же производство чистого металла в данном районе Якутии в нынешних условиях представляется экономически невыгодным, поскольку оно может оказаться весьма затратным. Тем не менее, оловянный концентрат с Ручья Тирехтях может оказаться востребованным как на рынке России, так и за ее пределами: его можно отправлять на Новосибирский обрабатывающий завод (НОЗ, сформирован на базе НОКа), либо в адрес потребителей в Китае, закупающих концентраты едва ли не во всех оловодобывающих странах. К тому же, с января нынешнего года олово дорожает и в настоящее время цена на него LME находится выше $20 тыс. за 1 тонну.

Инвестиционная компания Millhouse Capital, наоборот, отказалась от проекта освоения на Чукотке Пыркакайского узла, имеющего запасы в 228,5 тыс. тонн олова. Будучи открытым в 1937 г., он до сих пор остается неразработанным. Причина кроется в его труднодоступности и низких концентрациях олова, хотя руды Пыркакайского узла легкообогатимы. Не удалось Millhouse привлечь в качестве партнера китайскую Yunnan Tin Group, считающейся крупнейшим продуцентом олова на планете.

В перспективе же можно прогнозировать развитие добычи оловянного сырья в России. Правда, похоже, пока его единственным «добытчиком» будет «Русолово», тогда как производителем рафинированного олова - НОЗ. «Русолово» рассчитывает построить полноценный ГОК на Правоурмийском месторождении и если нулевая ставка НДПИ будет продлена, то это будет хорошим подспорьем для данного проекта.
Соответственно, будущее же любых проектов вовлечения в эксплуатацию оловянных месторождений Дальнего Востока будет зависеть от комплекса факторов, начиная с динамики цен наLME, налоговыми и иными льготами в регионах, и закачивая уровнем спроса на металл в России и за ее пределами. И если они будут позитивными, то оловянный ренессанс неизбежен.