Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

In the East, everything is just beginning

President of the corporation "TechnoNIKOL" Sergei Kolesnikov - on the development of business in the Far East

In the East, everything is just beginning
Photo: Press service of the corporation "TechnoNICOLE"
- Enterprises of the TechnoNICOL Group have become one of the first residents of the territories of advanced development in the Far East. Can you estimate now, how much is this a good mechanism for attracting investors?
- A very successful tool, I believe, is one of the strongest. I think that if it were not for him, there would not have been any reasons for coming to the east. For us, this has turned into a reduction in the payback period of the stone wool construction project, conditionally, from 10 to 7 years. I am sure that in other business projects this significantly reduces the payback period and makes the commercial project attractive. And this, I think, is a powerful incentive, why come to the TOP. Of course, in fact there are problems: with infrastructure, with the regime. Their weight is still unresolved problems. And Deputy Prime Minister Yuri Trutnev honestly says that the problems are the sea, and tries to solve them, although all this is slow.

- Without the fact that the state created the TOR regimes, would you start building new production facilities in the Far East?
"I am sure that we would modernize the stone wool plant, and we would not even launch new production facilities." Once Andrei Belousov said that the famous Russian "dashing 90-e" with their lawlessness in the Far East ended only recently. I agree: for me personally, they ended in 2014, with the arrival of a new team for the development of the Far East in the Russian government. So in fact in the east of the country, it all started, and the mechanism of TOP in this sense is a powerful pendulum. In my opinion, if it were not for these regimes, the interest that Russian, Japanese and other investors are showing now to the Far East, even if it did not happen - there would be nothing to talk about, there was not a single carrot.

- What is happening now on the construction markets of Asia and how do the plans of your group of companies to develop business in the Far East look like in this regard?
- Now TechnoNICOL receives about a third of its revenues from foreign markets. The markets that interest us are growing: the new cyclical upswing in the European Union, I hope, will last for 7 more years, and the building materials market there is in a strong phase, as in China.

Therefore, we are looking for happiness in the European Union, since it is closer, and we are taking our first steps in China. Our goal in Asia is to export 20% of the products manufactured by the enterprise in Khabarovsk. So far we sell up to 95% of our production in the Russian Far East. It is not easy to develop supplies to China.

- What are the main difficulties?
- There are few automobile crossings on the Russian-Chinese border, the carrying capacity is not high. That's why we are very supportive of the idea of ​​creating a cargo checkpoint on the Great Ussuri island - this would allow us not to wind extra kilometers from Khabarovsk to checkpoints in Primorye. The second problem: crossing the border, the products need to be reloaded into Chinese vehicles. An intergovernmental agreement that trucking from Russia can carry cargo across China, as in the case, for example, with the European Union, we still do not have. And in China we pay a higher import duty than in Europe - this is another plus of 12-15% to the price.

- Nevertheless, TechnoNIKOL is building two more production facilities in the Far East. Will they focus on the domestic market?
- We are now building two polystyrene waste processing plants: we will make secondary polystyrene and drainage systems made of PVC plastic (pipes, chutes, transition elements). There are no plans to export PVC products - it is very light, in fact it is only air boxes, and is designed for transportation in a small area, from Chita or Yakutsk to Vladivostok. Secondary polystyrene, most likely, will be for own consumption.

- But you expect to increase the export of the main products - stone wool?
- Stone wool in comparison with these manufactures is more technological product. And we hope that we will be able to find a consumer in South Korea, Japan and Vietnam. While 30% of capacity in Khabarovsk on stone wool is free. On average, we export 20% of the volume of products produced by all enterprises of the group in Russia. And we expect to reach such indicators in the Far East as well.

- Do you view India as a potential market? 
- Transportation tariff Far East - Mumbai is 2-3 times more expensive than the tariff from Vyborg to Mumbai. Therefore, although the distance is less, while such costs remain, it is easier for us to supply products to India from the western part of the country.

- The costs in the Far East are higher for everything: for the maintenance of cadres, for electricity. Somehow it's unfair, do not you think? How to deal with this business? 
- With the staff was difficult, it became easier. We solved this problem for ourselves, but for a new company it will be a problem. In general, we, entrepreneurs, must survive and act positively proceeding from any conditions. Electricity in the Far East is higher, labor power is higher - economically it can be explained why it is so. Markets are extremely heavily distributed over a vast territory, the population density is low, and the industry is based on economies of scale: the higher your output, the lower the conditional cost. In the Far East, transportation costs for the distribution of products over a large area are enormous, and therefore no one can show this scale effect. It is simply impossible to supply a large technological complex. We have a factory in Ryazan producing 4 million cubic meters. m, and they are not enough, and in Khabarovsk - only 700 thousand cubic meters. m, and 30% of production is superfluous. Obviously, the price per unit of specific output is higher. The same is with energy, with specialists. But our task, businessmen, is very practical - in a tight time, with a tight budget to fulfill the goal. You know how to run a marathon. We, entrepreneurs, are working with practical tasks.

- In other words, do you normally perceive that it is more difficult to build a business in the Far East?
- The Far East, Pacific Russia is another Russia: there are other local and foreign markets, other regulations, other neighbors. This is the first. Both Moscow and Vladivostok are two different agglomerations. So I see no reason to make the same laws in Moscow and the Far East. The question is to raise the average standard of living, use these or other features, because in the Far East, there are pluses, as in Moscow. Why do we need to do everything the same inside the country? I hear a lot of such conversations. But I too can not make the cost price in Khabarovsk, as in Ryazan, for a variety of reasons.

- In your opinion, what should be done to ensure that people come to the Far East first to work, and then to stay forever? Authorities say you need to give salaries twice as much as at least.
- If we pay twice as much, then some of the projects will be simply unprofitable. This is a problem that does not have an unambiguous answer. This is a balance of interests. I think we have many federal decisions, which in fact do not need either Moscow or the Far East. Therefore, it is necessary to give more powers and more budgets on the ground. As they say, help us better with money, we will manage it ourselves. And what shows the Far East, where now the highest growth rates of investment per capita, shows that still something can be done about it.

Published in the journal "Economics of the Far East"
You can subscribe to the magazine on the portal investvostok.ru
September 18: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

На Востоке все только начинается

Президент корпорации «ТехноНИКОЛЬ» Сергей Колесников – о развитии бизнеса на Дальнем Востоке

На Востоке все только начинается
Фото: Пресс-служба корпорации «ТехноНИКОЛЬ»
– Предприятия группы «ТехноНИКОЛЬ» стали одними из первых резидентов территорий опережающего развития на Дальнем Востоке. Можете уже сейчас оценить, насколько это удачный механизм для привлечения инвесторов?
– Очень удачный инструмент, я считаю, один из самых сильных. Думаю, что если бы не он, то причин для прихода на восток страны вообще бы не было. Для нас это превратилось в снижение срока окупаемости проекта строительства производства каменной ваты, условно, с 10 до 7 лет. Я уверен, что и в других бизнес-проектах это существенно снижает сроки окупаемости и делает коммерческий проект привлекательным. И именно это, я думаю, является мощным стимулом, зачем приходить в ТОР. Конечно, на самом деле там есть проблемы: с инфраструктурой, с режимом. Их масса еще, нерешенных проблем. И вице-премьер Юрий Трутнев честно говорит, что проблем море, и старается их решать, хотя все это идет медленно.

– Без того, что государство создало режимы ТОР, вы бы начали строительство новых производств на Дальнем Востоке?
– Я уверен, что завод по каменной вате мы бы до сих пор модернизировали, а новые производства и не запускали бы даже. Однажды Андрей Белоусов сказал, что знаменитые российские «лихие 90-е» с их беспределом на Дальнем Востоке закончились лишь недавно. Я согласен: лично для меня они закончились в 2014-м, с приходом новой команды по развитию Дальнего Востока в правительство России. Так что на самом деле на востоке страны только все началось, и механизм ТОР в этом смысле – сильный маятник. По моему мнению, если бы не эти режимы, того интереса, что проявляют сейчас к Дальнему Востоку российские, японские и другие инвесторы, даже бы и не случилось – разговаривать было бы не о чем, не было ни одного пряника.

– Что сейчас происходит на строительных рынках Азии и как в связи с этим выглядят планы вашей группы компаний по развитию бизнеса на Дальнем Востоке?
– Сейчас «ТехноНИКОЛЬ» получает порядка трети выручки от внешних рынков. Интересующие нас рынки растут: новый циклический подъем в Евросоюзе, надеюсь, продлится еще 7 лет, и рынок стройматериалов там находится в сильной фазе, как и в Китае.

Поэтому мы ищем счастья в Евросоюзе, поскольку он ближе, и делаем первые шаги в Китае. Наша цель по Азии –  экспортировать 20% продукции, выпускаемой предприятием в Хабаровске. Пока до 95% произведенного мы продаем на российском Дальнем Востоке. Поставки в Китай развивать непросто.

– В чем основные сложности?
– Автомобильных грузовых переходов на российско-китайской границе мало, пропускная способность невысокая. Вот почему мы очень поддерживаем идею создания грузового пункта пропуска на Большом Уссурийском острове – это позволило бы нам не накручивать лишние километры от Хабаровска до пунктов пропуска в Приморье. Вторая проблема: пересекая границу, продукцию нужно перегружать на китайский автотранспорт. Межправительственного соглашения о том, что автотранспорт из России может везти груз по Китаю, как в случае, например, с Евросоюзом, у нас до сих пор нет. И в Китае мы платим более высокую, чем в Европе, импортную пошлину – это еще плюс 12–15% к цене.

– Тем не менее «ТехноНИКОЛЬ» строит еще два производства на Дальнем Востоке. Они будут ориентироваться на внутренний рынок?
– Мы сейчас строим два производства по переработке отходов полистирола: будем делать вторичный полистирол и водосточные системы из ПВХ-пластика (трубы, желоба, переходные элементы). Планов по экспорту ПВХ-продукции нет – она очень легкая, фактически это одни воздушные коробки, и рассчитана на перевозки в небольшом ареале, от Читы или Якутска до Владивостока. Вторичный полистирол, скорее всего, будет для собственного потребления.

– Но вы рассчитываете увеличить экспорт основной продукции – каменной ваты?
– Каменная вата по сравнению с этими производствами более технологичный продукт. И мы надеемся, что нам удастся найти потребителя в Южной Корее, в Японии и во Вьетнаме. Пока 30% мощностей в Хабаровске по каменной вате свободно. В среднем мы экспортируем 20% от объемов продукции, произведенной всеми предприятиями группы в России. И рассчитываем и на Дальнем Востоке выйти на такие показатели.

– Индию рассматриваете как потенциальный рынок? 
– Транспортный тариф Дальний Восток – Мумбай в 2–3 раза дороже, чем тариф из Выборга до Мумбая. Поэтому, хотя расстояние меньше, пока сохраняются такие затраты, нам проще поставлять продукцию в Индию из западной части страны.

– Затраты на Дальнем Востоке выше на все: на содержание кадров, на электроэнергию. Как-то несправедливо получается, вам не кажется? Как бизнесу с этим справляться? 
– С кадрами было сложно, стало легче. Мы эту проблему для себя решили, но для новой компании это будет проблема. Вообще мы, предприниматели, должны выживать и действовать позитивно исходя из любых условий. Электроэнергия на Дальнем Востоке стоит выше, рабочая сила выше – экономически можно это объяснить, почему так. Рынки крайне сильно распределены по огромной территории, плотность населения невысокая, а индустрия основывается на эффекте масштаба: чем выше у вас объем производства, тем ниже условная себестоимость. На Дальнем Востоке транспортные расходы по распределению продукции по большой территории огромны, и поэтому никто не может проявить этот эффект масштаба. Просто невозможно поставить крупный технологический комплекс. У нас завод в Рязани производит 4 млн куб. м, и их не хватает, а в Хабаровске – всего лишь 700 тыс. куб. м, и 30% продукции лишние. Очевидно, что на единицу удельной продукции цена выше. То же самое с энергетикой, со специалистами. Но наша задача, бизнесменов, очень практическая – в сжатое время, сжатым бюджетом исполнить цель. Знаете, как марафон пробежать. Мы, предприниматели, работаем с практическими задачами.

– Иными словами, вы нормально воспринимаете то, что на Дальнем Востоке строить бизнес сложнее?
– Дальний Восток, Тихоокеанская Россия – это другая Россия: там другие местный и внешние рынки, другое регулирование, другие соседи. Это первое. И Москва, и Владивосток – это две разных агломерации. Так что я не вижу смысла делать одинаковые законы в Москве и на Дальнем Востоке. Вопрос в том, чтобы поднять средний уровень жизни, использовать те или иные особенности, потому что на Дальнем Востоке свои плюсы есть, как и в Москве. Зачем нам нужно делать все одинаково внутри страны? Я много слышу подобных разговоров. Но я тоже не могу сделать себестоимость в Хабаровске, как в Рязани, в силу массы причин.

– На ваш взгляд, что нужно сделать, чтобы на Дальний Восток люди стали приезжать сначала за работой, а потом оставаться навсегда? Власти говорят, нужно дать зарплаты вдвое больше как минимум.
– Если мы будем платить в два раза дороже, то часть проектов будет просто нерентабельна. Это проблема, которая не имеет однозначного ответа. Это баланс интересов. Я считаю, у нас много федеральных решений, которые на самом деле не нужны ни Москве, ни Дальнему Востоку. Поэтому нужно больше давать полномочий и больше бюджетов на местах. Как говорится, помогите лучше деньгами, мы сами справимся. И то, что показывает Дальний Восток, где сейчас самые высокие темпы роста инвестиций на душу населения, показывает, что все-таки что-то можно с этим сделать.

Опубликовано в журнале "Экономика Дальнего Востока"
Подписаться на журнал Вы можете на портале investvostok.ru