Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Over the economy of Abe clouds gather

For the success of Abenomics, it is necessary to strengthen ties with Asian countries

Over the economy of Abe clouds gather

The Cabinet of Ministers, led by Prime Minister Shinzo Abe, who is on a course to achieve an efficient Abenomics cycle, presented a scenario in which the economic situation in Japan would improve with the help of a "twin engine" in the form of personal consumption and exports. Despite the cheap yen, exports are not growing. Why is this happening?

A cursory assessment of GDP data for 4-6 months showed that in annual terms GDP fell by 6,8%. On the scale, this event can be put on a par with the consequences of the Great Earthquake in East Japan. The main reason is that due to the reaction to the avalanche demand after the increase of consumer tax rates this year, private consumption, if compared with the period since 1994, has become minimal, and this has also led to an export decline.

Although the market price of the yen reached its historic high - 70 yen for 1 dollar - the 2012 year-old, in December of the same year in Europe the economic situation continued to be unstable. Now the yen is getting cheaper (for 1, you can get more than 100 yen). Without export growth, the trade deficit for the first half of the year 2014 (from January to June) was 7598400000000 yen and became the highest in recent times. Rep. Kishimoto Xuhei, representative of the opposition Democratic Party, who criticizes Abenomiku, said: "For how long will the policy of weakening the yen, which is a relic of the past, continue?"

From the Ministry of Finance we turn to Toyota cars. Okuda Hiroshi, the main adviser in the company, studied Asian production sites: "In 2013, due to the cheapening of the yen, the profits of the companies tied up on the yen increased. The shares related to exports were bought, and the Nikkei 225 index grew, and with it the expectations for the recovery of the economic situation also increased. "

“However, this situation is rare. Until the performance of companies improves, one cannot expect an increase in profits. In addition, if the yen continues to fall in price, the price of imported fuel and food will rise, which will put quite a lot of pressure on the family budget, ”he said. He also stated that the scenario in which the economic situation would recover after export growth with the help of a cheap yen is not carried out. Is it really so?

The main reason for the decline in exports, Mr. Kitaai Yoshihisa, chief economist of the expert committee of Nippon Steel Sumitomo Metals, the main steel producer, explained simply: all because in emerging economies such as BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa), weak demand. "In addition, an even more fundamental reason is that foreign production of companies is developing. Naturally, there is no expansion of exports. This is not surprising, "he stressed.

Mr. Yasunari Ueno, a leading market economist at Mizuho Securities, said that the reason why companies are withdrawing their production bases abroad is not the high cost of the yen, but the reduction of the domestic market in the long term. If we study the issue in detail, it becomes clear that the main cause is the decline in the birth rate and the aging of the population. Anticipating the contraction of the market, companies go abroad. The hidden reason for the decline in exports is in the structural changes of Japanese society.

But didn’t from the very beginning the scenario, according to which the economic situation would be restored with the help of cheaper yen, was carried out? It was assumed that, with the help of a cheap yen, to some extent it is possible to “draw out” exports, but the fact that it cannot be greatly increased was a surprise. Of course, the government did not intend to deceive the population. Since the yen rate has grown very much, the idea of ​​lowering the rate is rather obvious. Taking this idea into account, measures were developed, but now the situation is such that we had to face such structural changes in society as the low birth rate and population aging, and this revealed the shortcomings of the measures taken.

"The decline in exports has changed the model of Japan's economic growth," said Professor Keio University of Economics, as well as the author of a series of lectures on deflationary economic policy and economic analysis of Abenomiki Kazuto Ikeo.

“During a period of high growth rates, domestic demand pulled the economy out. From the second half of the 1980s to the mid-2000s, the economic model was export-oriented. When the same model of maintaining economic growth has been operating for almost a quarter of a century, they begin to perceive it as a kind of formula for success. However, it is better not to cling to the export-oriented model of economic growth, but to keep pace with the changes. " Regarding the results of Abenomics, Mr. Kazuto Ikeo said skeptically, “Perhaps the market and the mindset of people around the world have changed, but the economic situation has not changed in such a way that exports stop growing. It is necessary, without relying on monetary policy measures, applying systematic efforts, to look for a new model of economic development ”.

Mr. Kishimoto also explained: "There is an explanation that the reason for the trade deficit was the increased import of energy carriers, which arose as a result of the fact that nuclear power plants were not restarted. And that is not all. In 2013, the total value of imports of minerals, namely oil and natural gas, was approximately 27 trillion yen, which is roughly equal to this figure for 2008 year. However, in 2008, the trade balance surplus was 2 trillion yen, and the deficit in 2013 was 1 trillion yen. In other words, it's just boring numbers. "

As another reason, Mr. Kitai cited the transfer value, which is used in transactions between the parent and subsidiary companies. For example, in the case where the parent company, which is located inside the country, exports cars for its subsidiary trading company, which is located abroad, so that the tax authorities of both countries do not call these actions unfair monetary transactions, the parent company together with the tax department on establishing an acceptable price. Such transfer value cannot change freely, even if the exchange rate changes. Therefore, even though the yen is cheap, there is no increase in exports. In addition, the reason is that, since 1990's, the independence of its subsidiaries abroad has increased, and even if the fluctuations in the rate look more or less profitable, the price will not decrease.

Mr. Ueno expressed his fears that if the export decline continues, the situation may arise in which there will be no force capable of pulling out the economy. Is there anything you can do in this case?

Mr. Chinai said that no one will be happy with the excessive cheapening of the yen. We must strive to achieve economic growth, which would reduce dependence on external demand, and growth would be achieved through personal consumption and capital investment in services. On the other hand, due to a decline in the birth rate and aging of the population, the expansion of domestic demand is problematic, so Mr. Ueno focuses on migration policy. "The American economy is strong because they pursue a migration policy. If highly skilled employees were employed, who would be engaged in the development of research in Japan, becoming a work force, they would influence the emergence of new domestic demand. "

Mr. Ikeo suggested the following: “It is better not to try to fully satisfy the demand with the help of internal resources, but to import cheap goods from abroad. Japan, by participating in the international division of labor, will increase both exports and imports. We must strive to become a country that would benefit from the international division of labor. "


April 21: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Над экономикой Абэ сгущаются тучи

Для успеха Абэномики необходимо усиление связей с азиатскими странами

Над экономикой Абэ сгущаются тучи

Кабинет министров во главе с премьер-министром Синдзо Абэ, который держит курс на достижение эффективного цикла Абэномики, представил сценарий, при котором экономическая ситуация в Японии улучшится при помощи «двойного мотора» в виде личного потребления и экспорта. Несмотря на дешевую йену, экспорт не растет. Почему так происходит?

Беглая оценка данных по ВВП за 4-6 месяцев показала, что в годовом исчислении ВВП сократился на 6,8%. По масштабности это событие можно поставить в один ряд с последствиями Великого землетрясения в Восточной Японии. Основная причина в том, что из-за реакции на лавинообразный спрос после повышения в этом году ставки потребительского налога, частное потребление, если сравнивать его с периодом, начиная с 1994 года, стало минимальным, и это также привело к экспортному спаду.

Хотя рыночная цена йены достигла исторического максимума - 70 йен за 1 доллар -осенью 2012 года, в декабре того же года в Европе экономическая ситуация продолжала быть нестабильной. Сейчас йена дешевеет (за 1 доллар можно получить более 100 йен). Без экспортного роста торговый дефицит за первую половину 2014 года (с января по июнь) составил 7598400000000 йен и стал максимальным за последнее время. Член палаты представителей Кисимото Сюхэй, представитель оппозиционной демократической партии, которая критикует Абэномику, заявил: «До каких пор будет продолжаться политика по ослаблению йены, которая является пережитком прошлого?».

От министерства финансов перейдем к автомобилям Тойота. Окуда Хироси, основной советник в компании, изучил азиатские производственные площадки: «В 2013 году из-за удешевления йены увеличилась прибыль завязанных на йене компаний. Покупались акции, связанные с экспортом, и индекс Никкей 225 вырос, а вместе с этим повысились и ожидания относительно восстановления экономической ситуации».

«Однако такая ситуация единична. Пока не улучшится производительность компаний, нельзя ожидать увеличения прибыли. Кроме того, если продолжится удешевление йены, цена на импортное топливо и продовольствие вырастет, это окажет достаточно большое давление на бюджет семей», - уверен он. Он также заявил о том, что сценарий, по которому за ростом экспорта при помощи дешевой йены восстановилась бы экономическая ситуация, не осуществляется. Действительно ли это так?

Непосредственную причину спада экспорта господин Китаи Йосихиса, главный экономист экспертного комитета Nippon Steel Sumitomo Metals, основного производителя стали, объяснил просто: все потому, что в странах с развивающейся экономикой, таких как БРИКС (Бразилия, Россия, Индия, Китай и ЮАР), слабый спрос. «Кроме того, еще более основополагающая причина заключается в том, что развивается зарубежное производство компаний. Естественно, что расширения экспорта не происходит. Это не удивительно», - подчеркнул он.

Господин Ясунари Уэно, ведущий рыночный экономист компании Mizuho Securities, заявил, что причина, по которой компании выводят свои производственные базы за рубеж, заключается не в дороговизне йены, а в сокращении внутреннего рынка в долгосрочной перспективе. Если подробно изучать вопрос, то станет ясно, что главной причиной является снижение рождаемости и старение населения. Предугадав сокращение рынка, компании идут за рубеж. Скрытая причина снижения экспорта - в структурных изменениях японского общества.

Но разве с самого начала не осуществлялся сценарий, согласно которому экономическая ситуация восстановилась бы при помощи удешевления йены? Предполагалось, что при помощи дешевой йены в некоторой степени можно «вытянуть» экспорт, однако то, что его нельзя сильно увеличить, стало неожиданностью. Разумеется, у правительства не было умысла обманывать население. Поскольку курс йены вырос очень сильно, идея, заключающаяся в том чтобы снизить курс, является довольно очевидной. С учетом этой идеи были разработаны меры, но сейчас ситуация такова, что пришлось столкнуться лицом к лицу с такими структурными изменениями общества, как низкая рождаемость и старение населения, и это выявило недостатки принятых мер.

«Снижение экспорта изменило модель экономического роста Японии», - сказал профессор экономического факультета университета Кейо, а также автор серии лекций по дефляционной экономической политике и экономическому анализу Абэномики Казуто Икео.

«В период высоких темпов роста внутренний спрос вытянул экономику. Со второй половины 1980-х годов до середины 2000-х экономическая модель была экспортно-ориентированной. Когда практически четверть века работает одна и та же модель поддержания экономического роста, это начинают воспринимать как своеобразную формулу успеха. Однако лучше не хвататься за экспортно – ориентированную модель экономического роста, а идти в ногу с изменениями». По поводу результатов Абэномики Господин Казуто Икео сказал скептически: «Возможно, рынок и мышление людей во всем мире изменились, но экономическая ситуация не изменилась таким образом, чтобы экспорт перестал расти. Необходимо, не опираясь на меры денежно – кредитной политики, прикладывая планомерные усилия, искать новую модель экономического развития».

Господин Кисимото также пояснил: «Существует объяснение, заключающееся в том, что причиной торгового дефицита стал возросший импорт энергоносителей, который возник в результате того, что АЭС не были повторно запущены. И это еще не все. В 2013 году общая стоимость импорта минерального сырья, а именно нефти и природного газа, составила приблизительно 27 трлн йен, что примерно равно этой цифре за 2008 год. Однако в 2008 году профицит торгового баланса составил 2 трлн йен, а дефицит в 2013 году – 1 трлн йен. Иными словами, это просто скучные цифры».

В качестве еще одной причины господин Китаи привел трансфертную стоимость, которая используется при совершении сделок между головной и дочерней компаниями. Например, в случае, когда головная компания, которая находится внутри страны, экспортирует автомобили для своей дочерней торговой компании, которая располагается за рубежом, для того чтобы налоговые ведомства обеих стран не называли эти действия недобросовестными денежными транзакциями, головная компания вместе с налоговым ведомством принимает решение об установлении приемлемой цены. Такая трансфертная стоимость не может свободно меняться, даже если изменяется обменный курс. Поэтому даже несмотря на то что йена дешевая, увеличения экспорта не происходит. Кроме того, причина в том, что, начиная с 1990-х годов, усилилась независимость дочерних компаний за границей, и даже если колебания курса выглядят более или менее выгодными, цена не снизится.

Господин Уэно выразил опасения, что если так и дальше продолжится снижение экспорта, то может сложиться ситуация, в которой будет отсутствовать сила, способная вытянуть экономику. Можно ли что-то сделать в таком случае?

Господин Китаи сказал, что никто не будет рад чрезмерному удешевлению йены. Нужно стремиться к достижению экономического роста, при котором снизилась бы зависимость от внешнего спроса, и рост достигался бы при помощи личного потребления и капитальных инвестиций в сферу услуг. С другой стороны, из-за снижения рождаемости и старения населения расширение внутреннего спроса проблематично, поэтому господин Уэно делает акцент на миграционной политике. «Американская экономика сильная потому, что они проводят миграционную политику. Если бы на работу принимались высококвалифицированные сотрудники, которые бы занимались развитием исследований в Японии, став рабочей силой, они бы повлияли на зарождение нового внутреннего спроса».

Господин Икео предложил следующее: «Лучше не пытаться полностью обеспечить спрос при помощи внутренних ресурсов, а импортировать из-за границы дешевые товары. Япония, участвуя в международном разделении труда, увеличит и экспорт, и импорт. Нужно стремиться стать страной, которая бы получала выгоду от международного разделения труда».