Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Horns put

The number of deer in the Kolyma is two times lower than officially declared

Horns put

In the Magadan region, the census of the reindeer population is being completed. It turned out that the herd is not only not growing, but also shrinking. Kolyma deer meat is not on the shelves even in the North-Evensk district.

In the Severo-Evenskom area Kolyma deer graze eight brigades. The number of herds for a long time was approximate - due to inaccessibility, it is quite difficult to verify the data of reindeer herders. This year, the authorities decided to bring order in this matter, and it turned out that the actual number of livestock is half the official number - ten thousand instead of twenty-three. Change the situation in the region is planned in the near future, but for now they understand the problems of reindeer breeders.

Reindeer husbandry is a traditional industry for the Magadan Region. During the Soviet period, the share of reindeer in the meat balance of the northern territories exceeded 30%, and the entire local population was employed. Reindeer herding gave fur raw materials, supplied antlers and horns for export. The deer use the forage resources of arctic and subarctic tundra, which are unsuitable for other types of domestic animals. In the Magadan region, there were 38 large reindeer herding enterprises with well-developed infrastructure and high profitability. Of these, in 5 state farms the number of livestock exceeded 30 thousand in each, in 7 there were 20 to 30 thousand, 15 farms grazed 10 - 20 thousand deer of the main herd. Reindeer breeders of Kolyma and Chukotka annually donated meat for 140 thousand deer, alive weight 10 - 12 thousand tons. In this case venison at cost was the cheapest. Due to reindeer breeding, other agrarian branches developed. Now in the Magadan Region, local venison is not sold at all.

The brigadier of the third brigade of the state farm "Irbichan" Mikhail Maktakov counts the herd. Deer, he says, often wander around in search of food. A breakaway hundred or two shepherds are sometimes looked for weeks. In the third brigade of deer about a thousand. Herd remains at about the same level. Reindeer herders complain: the deer are attacked by wolves. Wolves are the main trouble of all the Kolyma reindeer herding brigades. According to official figures, they eat up to four thousand deer per year.

"We do not have weapons, it needs to be registered in the village, and before it hundreds of kilometers. I'm chasing wolves and that's all. They have been following us since spring, "says the foreman Mikhail Maktakov.

But the main reason for "shortage" is not wolves. According to Kolyma officials, reindeer herders themselves are not interested in effective management of the economy. To finance the reindeer brigades from the federal and regional budgets this year, more than 23 million rubles was allocated, this amount is calculated for the maintenance of 23 thousand deer. But when the herd was recounted for the first time, it turned out that the real population is about ten thousand. It turns out, the farm staff for several years engaged in postscript. Those do not agree, they say, it is impossible to calculate the number of livestock. Deer in search of food can fend off the herd in hundreds, and it takes months to find them. However, the authorities decided: despite the fact that it is not easy to organize a census, brigades work hundreds of kilometers from settlements and can be reached by helicopter only - it will be conducted annually.

"A program was adopted on the material support of the reindeer herders' interest in the results of their activities. The conversation is about transforming it from simply a branch of traditional living into a profitable one. So that not only children in the North Even district can eat meat in the kindergarten and school, but also that the venison finally appears on the shelves in the Kolyma and Magadan districts, "says Igor Dontsov, a deputy of the Magadan Oblast Duma.

In addition, the region intends to actively address the problems of reindeer herders. Until the end of the year they will shoot wolves. Brigades collect information on what shepherds specifically need. The reindeer herders complain about the lack of technical equipment: not even satellite phones, not enough snowmobiles, weapons. At the same time, several target programs are being implemented at once in Kolyma supporting the indigenous peoples of the North, and in particular the reindeer brigades. In this situation, it turns out that spending money does not go to those needs that shepherds talk about.

“In recent years, the herders raised wages, they were for a long time very beggarly. Food delivered to them. Of course, all this is not enough, but gradually we will understand all the problems and solve them, ”they say in the administration of the North-Even region.

Authorities in the Severo-Evenk region of the Kolyma state that they plan to make good money in breeding deer in the future. By paying only the antlers (reindeer horns) to pharmaceutical enterprises, you can replenish the budget of both the district and reindeer husbandry. But while local venison is not even on the shelves of the district center - Evensk. The last slaughter in the brigades was in March 2014 and that one was only for the boarding school of the district. Meanwhile, a few years ago, a hundred breeding deer from Yakutia were brought here, spending three and a half million rubles.

In the North-Evensk region there are good climatic conditions for the development of reindeer herding - boundless tundra with a huge amount of moss. The main task now is not only to save the herd, but also to increase it significantly. This is possible only with a serious economic approach. For several years in Kolyma they hope to ensure that the local venison still appears on the shelves of the region.

Information:

The Northern-Evensky municipal enterprise “Irbychan”, the tribal community “Mahayang”, the 2 peasant farms “Khanchalan”, “Darpis” ​​and 3, the tribal communities of the Srednekansky district, are engaged in reindeer farming in Kolyma The main deer population, about 90%, is located in the North-Even region. The share of indigenous peoples of the North in the total population of the region is 65%. Reindeer crowns the coat of arms of Magadan and symbolizes the importance of reindeer herding for the development and establishment of the territory.

September 26: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Наставили рога

Поголовье оленей на Колыме в два раза ниже официально заявленного

Наставили рога

В Магаданской области завершается перепись оленьего поголовья. Оказалось, что стадо не только не растет, но еще и сокращается. Колымской оленины нет на прилавках магазинов даже в Северо-Эвенском районе.

В Северо-Эвенском районе Колымы оленей пасут восемь бригад. Численность стад долгое время была приблизительной - из-за труднодоступности проверить данные оленеводов довольно сложно. В этом году власти решили навести в этом вопросе порядок, и выяснилось, что реально поголовье в два раза ниже официально заявленного – десять тысяч вместо двадцати трех. Изменить ситуацию в регионе планируют в ближайшее время, а пока разбираются в проблемах оленеводов.

Оленеводство - традиционная отрасль для Магаданской области. В советский период доля оленины в мясном балансе северных территорий превышала 30 %, а все местное население было трудоустроено. Оленеводство давало меховое сырье, поставляло панты и рога на экспорт. При этом олени используют кормовые ресурсы арктических и субарктических тундр, непригодные для других видов домашних животных. В Магаданской области функционировало 38 крупных оленеводческих предприятий с развитой инфраструктурой и высокой рентабельностью. Из них в 5 совхозах поголовье превышало 30 тысяч в каждом, в 7 насчитывалось от 20 до 30 тысяч, в 15 хозяйствах выпасалось по 10 - 20 тысяч оленей основного стада. Оленеводы Колымы и Чукотки ежегодно сдавали на мясо до 140 тысяч оленей, живым весом 10 - 12 тысяч тонн. При этом оленина по себестоимости была самой дешевой. За счет оленеводства развивались и другие аграрные отрасли. Сейчас же в Магаданской области местную оленину не продают совсем.

Бригадир третьей бригады совхоза «Ирбычан» Михаил Мактаков пересчитывает стадо. Олени, говорит он, часто разбредаются в поисках пищи. Отколовшуюся сотню- другую пастухи иногда ищут неделями. В третьей бригаде оленей около тысячи. При этом стадо остается примерно на одном и том же уровне. Оленеводы сетуют: на оленей нападают волки. Волки - это главная беда всех оленеводческих бригад Колымы. По официальным данным, за год они съедают до четырех тысяч оленей.

«У нас нет оружия, его нужно оформлять в поселке, а до него сотни километров. Я на буране волков гоняю и все. Они с весны за нами ходят», - делится бригадир Михаил Мактаков.

Но главная причина «недостачи» - не волки. По мнению чиновников Колымы, оленеводы сами не заинтересованы в эффективном ведении хозяйства. На финансирование оленеводческих бригад из федерального и областного бюджетов в этом году было выделено больше 23 миллионов рублей, эта сумма рассчитана на содержание 23 тысяч оленей. Но когда стадо впервые пересчитали, выяснилось, что реальное поголовье - около десяти тысяч. Получается, сотрудники хозяйств несколько лет занимались приписками. Те не согласны, говорят, посчитать поголовье точно невозможно. Олени в поисках пищи могут отбиваться от стада целыми сотнями, и на их поиски уходят месяцы. Однако власти решили: несмотря на то что организовать перепись непросто, бригады работают в сотнях километрах от населенных пунктов и добраться до них можно только на вертолете - проводить ее будут ежегодно.

«Была принята программа о материальном поддержании заинтересованности оленеводов в результатах их деятельности. Разговор идет о том, чтобы из просто отрасли традиционного проживания превратить ее еще и в доходную. Чтобы не только дети в Северо-Эвенском районе могли покушать мясо в детском саду и школе, но и чтобы оленина, наконец, появилась на прилавках магазинов в районах Колымы и в Магадане», - говорит депутат Магаданской областной Думы Игорь Донцов.

Кроме того, в регионе намерены активно решать проблемы оленеводов. До конца года проведут отстрел волков. В бригадах собирают информацию о том, в чем конкретно нуждаются пастухи. Оленеводы сетуют на техническую неоснащенность: нет даже спутниковых телефонов, не хватает снегоходов, оружия. При этом на Колыме реализуют сразу несколько целевых программ, поддерживающих коренные народы Севера и в частности оленеводческие бригады. В этой ситуации получается, что расходование денег идет не на те нужды, о которых говорят пастухи.

«За последние годы оленеводам подняли зарплаты, они были долгое время совсем нищенскими. Продукты питания им доставляются. Конечно, всего этого недостаточно, но постепенно мы будем разбираться во всех проблемах и решать их», - говорят в администрации Северо-Эвенского района.

Власти Северо-Эвенского района Колымы заявляют, что на разведении оленей в перспективе планируют неплохо зарабатывать. Сдавая только панты (оленьи рога) фармацевтическим предприятиям, можно пополнять бюджет и района, и оленеводческих хозяйств. Но пока местной оленины нет даже на прилавках районного центра - Эвенска. Последний забой в бригадах был в марте 2014 года и тот только для школы-интерната района. Меж тем, несколько лет назад сюда привезли сотню племенных оленей из Якутии, потратив три с половиной миллиона рублей.

В Северо-Эвенском районе - хорошие климатические условия для развития оленеводства - бескрайняя тундра с огромным количеством ягеля. Главная задача сейчас - не только сохранить стадо, но и значительно его увеличить. Это возможно только при серьезном хозяйственном подходе. За несколько лет на Колыме надеются добиться того, чтобы местная оленина все-таки появилась на прилавках региона.

Справка:

Оленеводством на Колыме занимается северо-эвенское муниципальное предприятие «Ирбычан», родовая община «Махаянга», 2 крестьянских хозяйства «Ханчалан», «Дарпис» и 3 родовые общины Среднеканского района. Основное поголовье оленей, около 90%, находится в Северо-Эвенском районе. Доля коренных малочисленных народов Севера в общей численности населения района составляет 65%. Северный олень венчает герб Магадана и символизирует значение оленеводства для развития и становления территории.