Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Back to the future: the restart of Japanese nuclear power plants

Back to the future: the restart of Japanese nuclear power plants

Robert J.

Doctor of Geophysics, University of Tokyo

Robert J. Geller, Doctor of Geophysics, University of Tokyo:

- Applications from operating companies to restart many Japanese nuclear power plants are currently being reviewed by regulatory agencies. Prime Minister Shinzo Abe and his government have expressed support for these requests, but only if the control authorities find it possible to ensure the safety of use. As a seismologist living in Japan, I find some aspects of the ongoing process alarming.

First, in the three years since the Fukushima-1 disaster, we have not been able to fully figure out what went wrong or how to avoid the recurrence of similar problems.

Tohoku Elecric Power provided full access to an international team of engineers who conducted a detailed inspection of the nuclear power plant in Onagawa, and agreed in advance to publish the report, regardless of whether it turned out to be positive or negative (in fact, the findings were encouraging). On the contrary, TEPCO did not provide sufficient level of access to its power plants to independent experts. The inspection at Fukushima-1 could be somewhat more complicated due to the ongoing elimination of the consequences of the accident, but nevertheless it is quite possible at one or another stage of the work for the past three years. Also, the inspection was to be carried out at Fukushima-2 and other TEPCO power plants.

Second, the government's position is that the regulatory authorities must determine whether it is safe to restart the nuclear power plant. This sounds good - after all, we want engineers (not politicians) to make technical decisions - in fact, it exposes a vital problem. Unfortunately, there are no such concepts as "maximum earthquake" or "maximum tsunami" - the planet functions in a completely different way. Each power plant must be built to withstand certain levels of earthquake and tsunami severity. We call this the design baseline. With an increase in the "design basis", the probability of a destructive earthquake (or tsunami) decreases (and the cost for the management company and, ultimately, for the consumer - increases), but no matter how high we set the "design basis", there will always be a non-zero the probability of an event that could destroy the nuclear power plant. The final decision on which risks are acceptable and which are not is inseparable from politics and should not be passed to the control authorities. The current system poses a moral threat.

It is necessary to exclude cases where the government and the management company can ignore nuclear accidents, simply saying “Sorry, hundred-gai” (“unexpectedly” or “unexpectedly”), as they did after the Fukushima accident.

Thirdly, in my opinion, the Japanese control authorities attach too much importance to the problem of so-called “active faults” in the vicinity of the nuclear power plant, while the tsunami problem, especially on the coast of the Sea of ​​Japan, is not even given some attention. Priorities are the opposite of what should be. Serious tsunamis in the area of ​​the Sea of ​​Japan hit Akita Prefecture and Okushiri Island, near Hokkaido, in 1983, in 1993. The major tsunami in Simane Prefecture in 1026 was confirmed by geological studies. All nuclear power plants on the coast of the Sea of ​​Japan, from Kyushu to Hokkaido, must at least be able to withstand a tsunami more powerful than the 1993 tsunami of the year.

Fourthly, due to the numerous debts that TEPCO faced due to the Fukushima accident and the need to completely change the safety culture in the company, the government completely despatched TEPCO’s nationalization, which was successfully done with the largest air carrier JAL several years ago .

Finally, if the government decides to approve the restart of one or many nuclear power plants, this should happen with the awareness of the non-zero possibility of an accident. Preparations for emergency measures, including evacuation, information and compensation for the victims, should be carried out now. And right now it is necessary to declare these preparations.

Only by drawing a line under the past and clearly informing citizens about what changes will be made, the government can get hope for public support to restart nuclear power plants.

The original is published on the Nikkei Asian review website

Translated by Mikhail Botvinnik exclusively for EastRussia.ru

September 20: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Назад в будущее: перезапуск японских АЭС

Назад в будущее: перезапуск японских АЭС

Роберт Дж.

доктор геофизики Токийского университета

Роберт Дж. Геллер, Доктор геофизики Токийского университета:

- Заявки от эксплуатирующих компаний на перезапуск многих японских атомных электростанций на данный момент рассматриваются контролирующими органами. Премьер-министр Синдзо Абэ и его правительство заявили о поддержке этих запросов, но только в том случае, если органы контроля посчитают, что возможно обеспечить безопасность использования. Как сейсмолог, живущий в Японии, я нахожу некоторые аспекты происходящего процесса настораживающими.

Во-первых, за три года, прошедших с катастрофы на «Фукусима-1», мы так и не смогли до конца выяснить, что пошло не так или как избежать повторения подобных проблем.

Компания Tohoku Elecric Power обеспечила полный доступ международной команде инженеров, которая провела детальную инспекцию АЭС в Онагава, а также заранее дала согласие на публикацию отчета, вне зависимости от того, оказался бы он позитивным или негативным (на деле выводы были обнадеживающими). Напротив, компания TEPCO не предоставила достаточного уровня доступа на свои электростанции независимым экспертам. Проведение инспекции на «Фукусима-1» могло бы быть несколько более сложным в связи с продолжающейся ликвидацией последствий аварии, но тем не менее вполне возможным на том или ином этапе работ за последние три года. Также инспекция должна была быть проведена на «Фукусима-2» и других электростанциях TEPCO.

Во-вторых, позиция правительства заключается в том, что контролирующие органы должны определить, безопасно ли снова запускать АЭС. Это звучит неплохо – в конце концов, мы хотим, чтобы инженеры (а не политики) совершали технические решения – на самом деле это вскрывает жизненно важную проблему. К сожалению, не существует таких понятий, как «максимальное землетрясение» или «максимальное цунами» – планета функционирует совсем по-другому. Каждая электростанция должна строиться с таким расчетом, чтобы выдерживать определенные уровни силы землетрясений и цунами. Мы называем это «дизайн-базис». С повышением «дизайн-базиса» вероятность разрушительного землетрясения (или цунами) понижается (а стоимость для управляющей компании и, в конечном счете, для потребителя – повышается), но как бы высоко мы не задавали «дизайн-базис», всегда будет существовать ненулевая вероятность события, которое может разрушить АЭС. Окончательное решение насчет того, какие риски допустимы, а какие – нет, неотделимо от политики и не должно передаваться в руки контрольных органов. Нынешняя система создает моральную угрозу.

Нужно исключить случаи, когда правительство и управляющая компания могут игнорировать ядерные аварии, просто говоря «Извините, сотей-гай» («неожиданно» или «непредвиденно»), как они поступили после аварии на Фукусиме.

В-третьих, по моему мнению, японские органы контроля придают слишком много значения проблеме так называемых «активных разломов» поблизости от АЭС, в то время как проблеме цунами, особенно на побережье Японского моря, не уделяется даже части этого внимания. Приоритеты противоположны тем, которые должны быть. Серьезные цунами в районе Японского моря поражали в 1983 году префектуру Акита и остров Окусири, неподалеку от Хоккайдо, в 1993 году. Крупное цунами в префектуре Симане в 1026 году подтверждено геологическими исследованиями. Все атомные электростанции на побережье Японского моря, от Кюсю до Хоккайдо, должны как минимум быть способны выдержать цунами более мощное, чем цунами 1993 года.

В-четвертых, в связи с многочисленными долгами, с которыми TEPCO столкнулась из-за аварии на Фукусиме и необходимостью полностью изменить культуру безопасности в компании, крайне желательно выглядит полная национализация TEPCO со стороны правительства, что успешно было проделано с крупнейшим авиаперевозчиком JAL несколько лет назад.

Наконец, если правительство решит одобрить перезапуск одной или многих АЭС, это должно произойти с осознанием ненулевой возможности аварии. Подготовка к экстренным мерам, включая эвакуацию, информирование и компенсации для пострадавших, должна быть проведена уже сейчас. И именно сейчас необходимо заявить об этих приготовлениях.

Только подведя черту под прошлым и четко информируя граждан о том, какие изменения будут произведены, правительство может получить надежду на общественную поддержку перезапуска атомных электростанций.

Оригинал опубликован на сайте Nikkei Asian review

Перевел Михаил Ботвинник эксклюзивно для EastRussia.ru