Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Vladivostok is not happy about all Chinese

Against the backdrop of growing mass “cheap” tourism from China, Primorye loses its well-to-do guests: they often lack attention and service.

Vladivostok is not happy about all Chinese
Photo: ananaline / Shutterstock.com

Roman Tarantula

Roman Tarantula, entrepreneur, member of the Russian Geographical Society
Recent years in Vladivostok there has been a significant increase in tourist flow from the countries of Northeast Asia. In 2018, Primorsky Krai was visited by a record number of foreign visitors in 10 years - 780 thousands. This figure is 20% larger than the 2017 indicator of the year. The largest increase in 120% was shown by the flow of tourists from South Korea, reaching thousands of people in 220. However, the most numerous in Primorye are still tourists from China. In 2018, thousands of PRC citizens visited 422 in the region, of which 365,5 thousands visited the region for tourist purposes. Although the number of tourists from Japan increased by 20% compared to 2017 a year, their total number amounted to only 20 thousand people, which is relatively small compared to the number of tourists from China and Kazakhstan.

Vladivostok residents have become accustomed to the many friendly Asians walking through the city center. However, looking at the situation through the eyes of a representative of the tourism industry, it becomes clear: if the South Korean and Japanese tourists go to watch the beautiful Russian city of Vladivostok, then most tourists from China, without realizing it, actually get acquainted with the achievements of Chinese business in Vladivostok.

Unsustainable observations suggest that the “quality” of the tourist flow from the PRC is markedly reduced. Thus, in the 2014-2015 years, immediately after the sharp fall in the exchange rate of the Russian ruble, the capital of Primorsky Krai was visited mainly by wealthy citizens of China, most of whom had not previously traveled to Russia. For them, a trip to Vladivostok became a kind of familiarization with Russian culture as a whole. Today, a similar category of Chinese tourists prefer to visit such cities as Moscow, St. Petersburg, Sochi, where they receive high-quality tourist services corresponding to their income level.

In Vladivostok, however, middle and low-income strata of the PRC population (trade union members, students, pensioners) from the nearby Chinese provinces of Heilongjiang and Jilin, who visit Primorye as part of organized tourist groups, are increasingly coming. According to various estimates of participants in the tourism business of Primorye, in 2018, this figure ranged from 50 to 70% of the total number of tourist arrivals from China.

It would seem, what's the difference who and how visits Primorye? The main thing that they visit and spend money on the territory of Russia. However, in the case of Chinese organized tourists, the situation is not at all as simple as it seems at first glance.

The fact is that similar tour groups from the PRC are located in Vladivostok within the same “tourism sector” created by the Chinese, including cafes, shops, recreation centers and transport companies controlled by the Chinese business. Payment of the tour is made on the territory of China. At the same time, given the "gray" scheme of providing tourist services, the cost of a trip to Russia is very cheap. The minimum tour price in the capital of Primorye can reach 6-7 thousands of Russian rubles. This amount usually includes transportation service from China to Vladivostok and back, living in a modest hotel, visiting shops, walking around the city, accompanied by a Chinese guide. Additional services, such as meals, visits to museums and exhibitions, domestic transportation costs, etc., are paid separately.

At the same time, such tour groups often cannot afford to visit the key sights of Vladivostok, without which you can’t call a trip to the capital of Primorye full-fledged. As a result, the cultural program of such economy tours is reduced to a photo session at the C-56 submarine and sometimes a trip to the Tokarev lighthouse.

In addition, organized tour groups from the PRC are not able to visit the expensive and well-known restaurants of Vladivostok, which constitute the “tourist brand” of the capital of Primorye. Instead, visiting citizens of China eat seafood of dubious quality in cheap cafes that are under the control of Chinese business or even in illegal canteens organized by enterprising businessmen from the PRC in private homes.

Russian participants in the tourism industry, well acquainted with the history of Primorye and ready to show the true tourist face of Vladivostok, are practically excluded from the chain of providing relevant services for guests from the PRC.

This situation has a number of negative consequences. First, the money spent by tourists actually does not leave the limits of the PRC economy, in fact, moving from one Chinese pocket to another.

Secondly, the residents of the northeastern regions of the PRC are gradually forming a somewhat distorted view of both Vladivostok as a whole, and of its history, culture, and way of life. The practice of communicating with the residents of the Chinese provinces bordering on Russia shows that many of them when talking about Vladivostok can only recall the “market for Sportivnaya” (wholesale and retail sales center for products from the PRC) and the “submarine” (Museum “U-boat”).56"). Thus, now the Chinese stalls in Vladivostok are gaining greater popularity among residents of the northeast of the PRC than the unique fortifications of the Vladivostok fortress, the Maritime Theater Maritime Theater and the aquarium.

Why is such a “stratification” for the poor and rich peculiar to Chinese tourists, while quite well-to-do tourists come from South Korea who use the full range of services provided by local Russian business?

One of the reasons lies in the peculiarities of the geographical location of China and the Republic of Korea in relation to Russia. The PRC and the Russian Federation have a long land border, as a result of which tourists from the Middle Kingdom have the opportunity to visit Russia by cheap road transport, and travel companies can reduce prices by increasing the number of vouchers sold. From South Korea, you can get to Vladivostok only by plane or ferry. Against the background of road transport, neither one nor the other way can be called cheap.

As a result, for poorly affluent segments of the Chinese population, Vladivostok is becoming one of the most accessible destinations of overseas tourism. But this factor alone would not be enough. Here, another aspect is superimposed, namely, the long-standing maintenance of trade and economic relations between the Primorsky Territory and the Chinese provinces of Heilongjiang and Jilin, which resulted in the formation of a strong Chinese diaspora in Vladivostok. In response to the growth of tourist interest on the part of China to Primorye (which occurred after the devaluation of the ruble), many businessmen from China who live in Vladivostok took up the organization of new types of business related to the reception of tourists from China. And they began a frank dumping, reducing the quality of service, going into the shadows and earning on the volumes of tourist flow.

What kind of tourist the economy of Primorsky Krai really needs is clearly seen in the example of guests from the same Korea. Thanks to social networks in relation to the capital of Primorye, Koreans have formed an image of a beautiful and romantic city on the seashore. As a result, according to RK travel agencies, about 65% of South Korean tourists visiting Primorsky Krai are young girls under the age of 35 who travel to Vladivostok for entertainment, delicious food and beautiful photos for Instagram and Facebook

Is it possible to attract similar tourists from China? Young, affluent, interested, really immersed in the culture of the city, try entertainment, go to a restaurant and go shopping? I think that yes - and for this we need to systematically invest not only in the promotion of our tourist product, but also in the overall level of service in the region. The main events should be aimed precisely at convincing the Chinese to come to Vladivostok again, recommend a tour to Primorye to relatives and friends, and write positive reviews on social networks.

Already, from communication with “advanced” foreign tourists it can be concluded that not all leave Primorye satisfied. Many people pay attention to the shortcomings, mainly their dissatisfaction is caused by the lack of qualified translators at popular attractions, difficulties with transportation, low level of service. Even such a problem as the lack of comfortable public toilets can spoil the impression of the trip so much that a person will not only never return to Vladivostok, but will also discourage all his friends from going to the capital of Primorye. The Chinese neighbors, who come to Vladivostok in large quantities by bus, do not bother. But do we really need to focus on their tastes in the development of tourism?

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Не всем китайцам рад Владивосток

На фоне роста массового “дешевого" туризма из Китая Приморье теряет обеспеченных гостей: им зачастую не хватает внимания и сервиса

Не всем китайцам рад Владивосток
Фото: ananaline / Shutterstock.com
Последние годы во Владивостоке наблюдается значительный прирост туристического потока из стран Северо-Восточной Азии. В 2018 году Приморский край посетило рекордное за 10 лет количество иностранных гостей – 780 тысяч. Эта цифра на 20% больше, чем показатель 2017 года. Наибольший рост в 120% показал туристический поток из Южной Кореи, достигнув цифры в 220 тысяч человек. Однако самыми многочисленными в Приморье по-прежнему остаются туристы из Китая. В 2018 году регион посетило 422 тысячи граждан КНР, из них 365,5 тысяч - с туристическими целями. Количество туристов из Японии хоть и выросло на 20% по сравнению с 2017 годом, их общее количество составило всего 20 тысяч человек, что на фоне турпотока из КНР и РК сравнительно не велико.

Жители Владивостока уже привыкли ко множеству прогуливающихся по центру города дружелюбных азиатов. Однако, взглянув на ситуацию глазами представителя туриндустрии, становится ясно: если южнокорейский и японский турист едут смотреть красивый русский город Владивосток, то большинство туристов из Китая, сами того не осознавая, фактически знакомятся с достижениями китайского бизнеса во Владивостоке.

Не поддающиеся статистике наблюдения говорят о том, что «качество» туристического потока из КНР заметно снижается. Так, в 2014-2015 годах, сразу после резкого падения курса российского рубля, столицу Приморского края посещали преимущественно состоятельные граждане Китая, большинство из которых ранее не выезжали в Россию. Для них поездка во Владивосток становилась своего рода ознакомлением с российской культурой в целом. Сегодня же подобная категория китайских туристов предпочитает посещать такие города как Москва, Санкт-Петербург, Сочи, где они получают туристические услуги высокого качества, соответствующие уровню их доходов.

Во Владивосток же всё чаще приезжают средне- и слабо обеспеченные слои населения КНР (члены профсоюзов, студенты, пенсионеры) из близлежащих китайских провинций Хэйлунцзян и Цзилинь, которые посещают Приморье в составе организованных туристических групп. По различным оценкам участников туристического бизнеса Приморья, в 2018 году эта цифра составила от 50 до 70% от общего числа турпотока из КНР.

Казалось бы, какая разница кто и как посещает Приморье? Главное, что посещают и тратят деньги на территории России. Однако в случае с китайскими организованными туристами ситуация совсем не так проста, как кажется на первый взгляд.

Дело в том, что подобные тургруппы из КНР находятся во Владивостоке в пределах созданного китайцами же «туристического сектора», включающего подконтрольные китайскому бизнесу кафе, магазины, базы отдыха, транспортные компании. Оплата тура производится ещё на территории КНР. При этом, учитывая «серую» схему предоставления туристических услуг, стоимость путёвки в Россию обходится очень дёшево. Минимальная цена тура в столицу Приморья может достигать 6-7 тысяч российских рублей. В эту сумму обычно входит транспортное обслуживание от Китая до Владивостока и обратно, проживание в скромной гостинице, посещение магазинов, прогулка по городу в сопровождении китайского гида. Дополнительные услуги, такие как питание, посещение музеев и выставок, внутрироссийские транспортные расходы и прочее – оплачиваются отдельно.

При этом подобным тургруппам зачастую не по карману посещение ключевых достопримечательностей Владивостока, без осмотра которых поездку в столицу Приморья нельзя назвать полноценной. Как следствие, культурная программа таких эконом-туров сокращается до фотосессии у подводной лодки С-56 и иногда поездки на Токаревский маяк.

Кроме того, организованные тургруппы из КНР не в состоянии посещать дорогие и известные рестораны Владивостока, составляющие «туристический бренд» столицы Приморья. Вместо этого приезжие граждане Китая питаются морепродуктами сомнительного качества в подконтрольных китайскому бизнесу дешёвых кафе или вовсе в нелегальных столовых, организованных предприимчивыми коммерсантами из КНР в частных домах.

Российские участники туриндустрии, хорошо знакомые с историей Приморья и готовые показать истинное туристическое лицо Владивостока, практически исключаются из цепочки предоставления соответствующих услуг для гостей из КНР.

Данная ситуация имеет целый ряд негативных последствий. Во-первых, расходуемые туристами деньги на деле не покидают пределов экономики КНР, фактически переходя из одного китайского кармана в другой.



Во-вторых, у жителей северо-восточных районов КНР постепенно формируется несколько искаженное представление как о Владивостоке в целом, так и о его истории, культуре, жизненном укладе. Практика общения с жителями приграничных с Россией провинций Китая показывает, что многие из них при разговоре о Владивостоке могут вспомнить лишь «рынок на Спортивной» (оптово-розничный центр реализации продукции из КНР) и «подводную лодку» (Музей «Подводная лодка С-56»). Таким образом, уже сейчас китайские торговые ряды во Владивостоке набирают среди жителей северо-востока КНР большую популярность, чем уникальные укрепления Владивостокской крепости, Приморская сцена Мариинского театра и океанариум.

Почему же подобное «расслоение» на бедных и богатых свойственно именно для китайских туристов, в то время как из Южной Кореи прибывают довольно обеспеченные туристы, пользующиеся всем спектром услуг, предоставляемых местным российским бизнесом?

Одна из причин кроется в особенностях географического расположения Китая и Республики Корея по отношению к России. КНР и РФ имеют длинную сухопутную границу, вследствие чего туристы из Поднебесной имеют возможность посещать Россию дешёвым автомобильным транспортом, а туристические компании – максимально снижать цены путём увеличения количества продаваемых путёвок. Из Южной Кореи попасть во Владивосток можно лишь самолётом или паромом. На фоне автомобильного транспорта ни тот, ни другой способ нельзя назвать дешёвыми.

Как следствие, для слабо обеспеченных слоёв населения Китая Владивосток становится одним из самых доступных направлений заграничного туризма. Но только этого фактора было бы недостаточно. Здесь накладывается еще один аспект, а именно давнее поддержание торгово-экономических отношений между Приморским краем и китайскими провинциями Хэйлунцзян и Цзилинь, в результате которого во Владивостоке сформировалась сильная китайская диаспора. В ответ на рост туристического интереса со стороны Китая к Приморью (который произошел после девальвации рубля) многие проживающие во Владивостоке предприниматели из КНР взялись за организацию новых видов бизнеса, связанных с приёмом туристов из Поднебесной. И начали откровенный демпинг, снижая качество сервиса, уходя в тень и зарабатывая на объемах туристического потока.

То, какой турист действительно нужен экономике Приморского края, мы хорошо видим на примере гостей из той же Кореи. Благодаря социальным сетям в отношении столицы Приморья у корейцев сформировался образ красивого и романтичного города на берегу моря. Как следствие, по данным туристических компаний РК, около 65% посещающих Приморский край южнокорейских туристов – это молодые девушки в возрасте до 35 лет, которые едут во Владивосток за развлечениями, вкусной едой и красивыми фото для Instagram и Facebook

Можно ли привлечь аналогичных туристов из Китая? Молодых, обеспеченных, заинтересованных действительно погрузиться в культуру города, попробовать развлечения, сходить в ресторан и на шопинг? Думаю, что да – и для этого надо системно вкладываться не только в продвижение нашего туристического продукта, но и в общий уровень сервиса в регионе. Основные мероприятия должны быть направлены именно на то, чтоб убедить китайцев приезжать во Владивосток повторно, рекомендовать тур в Приморье родственникам и друзьям, писать положительные отзывы в социальных сетях.

Уже сейчас из общения с “продвинутыми” иностранными туристами можно сделать вывод, что далеко не все уезжают из Приморья удовлетворенными. Многие обращают внимание на недостатки, в основном их недовольство вызывает отсутствие квалифицированных переводчиков на популярных достопримечательностях, сложности с транспортом, низкий уровень сервиса. Даже такая проблема как отсутствие комфортных общественных туалетов может настолько испортить впечатление о поездке, что человек не только никогда не вернётся во Владивосток, но и будет отговаривать всех своих знакомых от поездки в столицу Приморья. Китайских соседей, массово приезжающих во Владивосток на автобусах, все это не смущает. Но разве на их вкусы мы должны ориентироваться  в вопросах развития туризма?